125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

rayloke
post Mar 15 2013, 03:31 PM

34 posts

for airbrush, it's personal preference; depends on what a modeler wants. If u want a good finishing why not? if u want to have fun, quick snapfit n play the kit, then i wont recommend it.

For the cost, i have seen people who complain they dont have the money for air brush set but they have boxes n boxes of model kit.

basic set:

hand piece + compressor = RM500~RM600.

Take average: How much is RM550? It is 1 MG unicorn (RM160) + 1 MG sinanju (RM230) + 3 HG kits (RM160) (agak agak la the price tongue.gif)

Again depends on what u want. I m the type who prefer to have 5 nicely painted kit with an air brush set; compare to 10 snapfit kits......

If u r very unhappy with the painting, and having a nicely displayed kit is what u want; again, why not air brush?

z3r0717
post Mar 15 2013, 08:08 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Mar 15 2013, 11:25 AM)
I know but it is very hard to maintain good result sad.gif
but hand painting is a good practice for all first timers. I started hand painting and sucked at it too and slowly evolved to AB. ahaha

QUOTE(rayloke @ Mar 15 2013, 03:31 PM)
for airbrush, it's personal preference; depends on what a modeler wants. If u want a good finishing why not? if u want to have fun, quick snapfit n play the kit, then i wont recommend it.

For the cost, i have seen people who complain they dont have the money for air brush set but they have boxes n boxes of model kit.

basic set:

hand piece + compressor = RM500~RM600.

Take average:  How much is RM550? It is 1 MG unicorn (RM160) + 1 MG sinanju (RM230) + 3 HG kits (RM160)  (agak agak la the price tongue.gif)

Again depends on what u want. I m the type who prefer to have 5 nicely painted kit with an air brush set; compare to 10 snapfit kits......
If u r very unhappy with the painting, and having a nicely displayed kit is what u want; again, why not air brush?
well said well said. thumbup.gif
onnylam
post Mar 16 2013, 02:06 AM

20 posts

I kinda disagree when everytime someone says 'I don't know this, I don't know that'. You must have known that, we don't know a single thing when we were born; you just have to learn it.
Me for example, I just started AB a few weeks back. Got some advise from a bro, now I can say I'm quite good at it.
There will always be some pros and cons on AB, but from my point of view, definitely pros are more than cons, in terms of quality, quantity and cost.
If you need a starter set of AB, pls PM me, I'll show you the way, then you decide whether you wanna start a different route. Cheers biggrin.gif

PS: I'm not a seller; just promoting AB tongue.gif
Shiniz
post Mar 16 2013, 02:21 PM

112 posts

i gonna start on playing around with 1/24 scale model cars...but i wan it to look at least "metal" like...like real car paints..with the shines and stuff...

so i see that i need...clear coat? not sure wat the other one
madmoz
post Mar 16 2013, 06:32 PM

4,250 posts

Shauno, good call on the gaia paints!
Quite shiny they are smile.gif

Grey basecoat only, no black base.
starkiller
post Mar 17 2013, 12:38 PM

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 15 2013, 09:06 AM)
If you're from PJ, then you just need to get the handpiece and paints. There's a place called ICW@aman suria which provides compressor and spray booth FOC.
WOW googled bout the place and seems like a really good spot. I'm staying at Cheras but working in PJ so will definitely check out the place.
I think I'm easily satisfied with my work since still newbie..but the more I see how awesome other modelers' works are I also want to achieve better results. AB will surely be an option next time

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Mar 14 2013, 11:19 PM)
if possible can you put the pic of your gunpla that have been painted with this Folkart paint? if it is good, i will consider to buy the brand
Posting these pictures just to show the colour of the Folkart paint i mentioned. Only the red and black parts are painted with it. the rest used markers.

Didn't prime or sand the parts so I think some parts look like its unpainted..nor did I thoroughly sand out nub marks,fill up seam lines. After looking through alot of sifus work and peoples' comments on their work, looks like thousand miles more away for me so any comments/advice most welcome smile.gif
madmoz
post Mar 17 2013, 01:45 PM

4,250 posts

Wow smooth!
starkiller
post Mar 17 2013, 07:53 PM

the lighting helped it look better and I took from only one angle, alot of flaws if u can see it clearly.probably need to prime or sand and paint more layers for best results.
those brands never seen before but if it says can be used on plastics should work out, with AB i'm not sure
steph13
post Mar 17 2013, 11:59 PM

22 posts

folkart? what base is this paint? acrylic? if it's rm7++ i dont mind trying. Any close up shot?
starkiller
post Mar 18 2013, 08:07 AM

didnt take close up shots but it works quite well should be even better if u prime or sand your kit first. its acrylic based . only 6.90 at the artshop in gardens mall. iinm the shop is artfriend
steph13
post Mar 19 2013, 12:00 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(starkiller @ Mar 18 2013, 08:07 AM)
didnt take close up shots but it works quite well should be even better if u prime or sand your kit first. its acrylic based . only 6.90 at the artshop in gardens mall. iinm the shop is artfriend
cool will definately take a look. thx

SUSadvocado
post Mar 21 2013, 05:59 PM

2,948 posts

Top loaded is more customizable but consistency depends on user, unlike bottom loaded which you can set everything and just press.

Top Loaded:
Pros:
1.Good for advance users where you control the paint output while spraying
2.Top loaded means most of the paint can be used due to gravity
3.More paint efficient as you have more control over paint amount
4.Easier to Clean, just pour thinner & spray.
5.Lighter
6.Almost all steel parts

Cons:
1.Need to buy different airgun for different nozzle to spray different thickness. End up spending alot more money, space & time to swap gun.
2.Good quality ones are expensive as cheap ones the springs break easily (as mine after 3 time use the paint throttle spring broke)
3.Cannot carry too much paint, need to keep refilling.
4.Troublesome to salvage unused paint in compartment.
5.Hard to fully clean the airgun interior paint.
6.Weight not as balanced as bottom loaded.
7.Risk of paint coming out from top if not careful.

Bottom Loaded:
Pros:
1.Good for beginners where you only press for air pressure.
2.Spray thickness can be changed by changing paint needle size.
3.Spray amount can be tuned with the turnable paint needle height.
4.Can hold more paint with larger paint bottle & easy to refill by swapping new bottle. Gunzo paint bottles are compatible.
5.Unused paint in the bottle can be kept easily.
6.Can be cleaned more throughly as paint doesn't go into airgun.
7.Less likely encounter paint spill.

Cons:
1.Bottom loaded means some residue paint where the sucking straw can't reach can't be used.
2.Some inconsistency may be encountered where paint doesn't come out from straw due to misaligned needle/loose straw etc
3.Troublesome to clean as you need to disassemble all the parts to clean and many small parts like spring & cleaning needles. Takes more time to clean out each part with paper & thinner. Lots of thinner needed just to clean.
4.More paint wastage as you have limited paint control with the paint needle.
5.Some parts made of Plastic which is not good with Thinner.
6.Parts require replacement like plastic straws may crack after taking in/out too often, springs/cleaning needle may get lost.

I have used both, i like the total control of top loaded but it broke too fast. Couldn't justify myself to spend the extra money for few higher quality (more expensive) top loaded, so i'm stucked with my original Gunzo bottom loaded (but giving me inconsistency on setting up).

For those that have no money issue & like the convenience you can alwasy buy multiple of same airgun so you can just unplug/replug the gun to the compressor.

Always clean airguns immediately after use.

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Mar 15 2013, 12:05 AM)
this is the excuse for lazy guys, the AB ia not hard to learn; just push the tip of pen, adjust the pressure etc... etc
dont tell me you paint straightly paint on kit without test on runner first?

JarJarBiinks
post Mar 26 2013, 03:22 PM

Hello all,

I'm new here. have been building my gundam and painting using spray can and handpaint for almost a year. i'm thinking of trying for airbrush and come across this product http://www.mudah.my/Makeup+Airbrush+with+M...it-20090562.htm

Do you guys think the spec is enough for beginner airbrush? i'm just trying to be familiar first in airbrushing before investing more heavily on better equipment.

Thanks in advance. notworthy.gif

shauno
post Mar 26 2013, 05:17 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(JarJarBiinks @ Mar 26 2013, 03:22 PM)
Hello all,

I'm new here. have been building my gundam and painting using spray can and handpaint for almost a year. i'm thinking of trying for airbrush and come across this product http://www.mudah.my/Makeup+Airbrush+with+M...it-20090562.htm

Do you guys think the spec is enough for beginner airbrush? i'm just trying to be familiar first in airbrushing before investing more heavily on better equipment.

Thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif
i think you might have problems with the compressor. if you're airbrushing make up, i suspect you wont need to use it for as long as when you spray your model kit. handpiece should be ok tho..

to make things easier, get a proper compressor with tank. it will cost slightly more, but that will probably be the last time you never need to get one. they require close to no maintenance, and quite impossible to spoil. you will never need to upgrade either, unless you suddenly want to have 3 ppl in your place, airbrushing at the same time.

shinkawa
post Mar 27 2013, 10:19 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

anyone bought this? want to see some review before i get one
http://www.amiami.com/top/detail/detail?gc...-19379&page=top
shauno
post Mar 27 2013, 11:02 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Mar 27 2013, 10:19 AM)
anyone bought this? want to see some review before i get one
http://www.amiami.com/top/detail/detail?gc...-19379&page=top
the item is a pre order. please refer to this for the meaning of pre order. i'll help you out in case anyway
A pre-order is an order placed for an item which has not yet been released

if item is not released yet, where are you going to find someone to give you a review? doh.gif doh.gif

p/s this is a modelling thread, not a ask for review thread whistling.gif
shauno
post Mar 27 2013, 11:02 AM

249 posts

oops. double post blush.gif

This post has been edited by shauno: Mar 27 2013, 11:03 AM
shinkawa
post Mar 27 2013, 11:12 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Mar 27 2013, 12:02 PM)
the item is a pre order. please refer to this for the meaning of pre order. i'll help you out in case anyway
if item is not released yet, where are you going to find someone to give you a review?  doh.gif  doh.gif

p/s this is a modelling thread, not a ask for review thread  whistling.gif
dude...
it was out already la at this month. sold out at 1st.
this is second PO coming out next month

i heard someone said it has metal piece at the turret there. Just want to confirm.

di3hard
post Mar 27 2013, 12:31 PM

62 posts

I am familiar with normal air brush, never try chrome color before. Any sifu can teach how to do those metallic airbrush?

Found some "magic powder" on hobby shop. what is the function of those?
limfreelance
post Mar 27 2013, 02:32 PM

343 posts

as i know chrome color only can be achieved by Coating skill (electrolysis).

125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:38 AM