Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

rayloke
post Apr 21 2010, 12:44 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(orestes @ Apr 21 2010, 12:08 PM)
im building a MG gundam HD ver.

im not familiar how the water decals or dry decals looks like..

i have applied some on my finished gundam, but not sure whether it's the dry or water... it's just a normal clear sticker that sticks on the plastic part ... but once i applied it, i cant take it off .. kinda if i messed and aligned it senget, nothing i can do about it.. either leave it or peel it off and throw away..

and what top coat is good for white parts? where can i buy it?
Those r stickers..... basically u cannot readjust once u stick it onto surface. However, recent few issues of dengeki hobby had been teaching this again n again..... put some water on the surface of your kit before apply the sticker, with the water trap in between the sticker n surface, u still can readjust the sticker position a little.

HD version should come with a set of waterslide decal. The best way is to cut bit of unwanted part out, use water to test, if not coming out, try dry transfer method.

Dont ask how to do water slide and dry transfer, want to know, go check out v3 of this thread....
rayloke
post Apr 22 2010, 12:40 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(orestes @ Apr 22 2010, 09:32 AM)
thankss... the kusaku blog definitely helps alot... biggrin.gif

Added on April 22, 2010, 9:52 ambtw.... yeah, the sticker decals tend to look abit unnatural....
if i want to remove it, do they have any tools or cleaner to do it?
just peeling it off will leave sticky marks ... and the brush it off, will need to rub it ... risky if accidentally hard pressure it while rubbing, might break something...

any polisher or anything to clean them?
Try use blue tag for sticker stain. it might work. or even masking tape.

As for how to apply sticker, with the aid of water, that really helps in adjusting the position.

U from KL? There r quite some places offer after market decal. no need ebay....

This post has been edited by rayloke: Apr 22 2010, 12:41 PM
rayloke
post Apr 28 2010, 01:24 PM

34 posts

Ridt_Henshin: I think inquisytor has already answered all of your question well; but i would like to add a word or two, in the context of modeling.

See, modeling, though is not art, but many of them do come close to art. Take for example the question about painting n thinning the paint; during school time when we do water color painting in kelas lukisan, would anyone of us asked the cikgu "berapa air saya kena tambah dalam water color saya?" Might sound as crude, i would say this is one of the stupidest question ever exist. As inquisytor said, it depends on what u want. too thin? add more paint or wait a while, too thick? add more thinner.

Same thing goes to modeling paint. So people, please do take note.

As for painting, same thing either it's hand paint, spray can, air brush. One needs practice, practice, and practice; exactly like what u did in art class painting a water color picture. The medium is just a medium, technique is just a technique. It's the skill that makes a difference.

ken3230: Hahah I will quote inquisytor "this has been answered 2 million times...." Do check out the previous version of this thread and u will find the answer. Basically, setter does melt the decal a little, and with some adhesive elemenet in it. So it's usually at the bottom. Softener, as its name, soften the decal but melting it. Usually applied on top...
rayloke
post Apr 29 2010, 01:30 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(zieraq @ Apr 29 2010, 08:24 AM)
using setter will create silvering problems. I never use it. always use softer even on flat surface. if not use softer the decal will have wrinkle problem most of the time.
Dont think Gunze will produce a product just to make your decal looks ugly. Mark setter wont and not a cause for silvering. In fact, it reduce silvering.
rayloke
post May 1 2010, 02:22 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Apr 30 2010, 07:55 PM)
guys, where can i find these in KL area? really need it at the moment >_<;; and how much are they? Coz i got go to the hobby shops at Ceneleisure and they don't have any tongue.gif

btw, i get the idea on how to use the spray type, just spray it over. but how bout the bottle type? i don't own an airbrush, but will normal brushes work? how bout its thinner level?  icon_question.gif

i might sound very "potong stim" here.......

Resin kit is much harder to handle than injection kit (Bandai HG, MG r injection plastic kit). In addition, resin usually cause a lot more than injection kit. For now i would recommend u stick to injection kit first, cause to make a resin kit nice, in the most basic level, u need quite some tools n material.....

However, it's still up to u, it's your kit.

Anyway, for your question, i think i used to see resin primer (The first picture) in Time Machine. Go check out there. If not, go back to the shop that sell you the resin; they should carry it. Cause unlike injection kit, resin kit must be painted (unless u like your display kit too look yellow.... without any color). And painting on resin kit must be cleaned thoroughly and almost 100% must have primer to help the paint grab onto the surface.

If the shop not selling primer but just resin kit to his customer....... mebbe u can request them to help you order some primer in.

For the second picture, it's a tamiya gray surfacer/primer. U can get that from tamiya underground. For this surfacer/primer, i recommend u used Gunze/ Mr hobby's; easier to find in town. Many model shops carry it.
rayloke
post May 3 2010, 10:59 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(dante_cool @ May 3 2010, 01:26 PM)
hey guys,

Just a quick question. I just completed my very first PG 00 Raiser. I planned to top coat the entire kit with a FLAT coating.

There are some parts which has the transparent plastic ( eg :- Joints of the leg / arms which has the green transparent plastic ), I was just wondering if anybody knows if I should remove those parts and TOP coat it or leave it on ?

I wonder if the transparent plastic gets blurry after being sprayed by coats?

Any answer will be much appreciated.

dante_cool
Bro, clear is (a kind of resin) used for top coat. when u add flat base, a type of micro particle, into clear, it will make the surface become more uneven after dried. Meaning a rough surface, aka flat. add a bit, gloss will become semi gloss; add more it will become flat.

So since flat is add some micro particle into clear, it means the not 100% transparent micro part will disturb light reflecting to our eyes. In short, yes, for transparent part, flat coat will make it blurr.....

and fyi, if u want your kit to look nice, always, always spray or top coat your kit part by part. the smaller u part them, the better. reduce the risk of frosting to the minimum.
rayloke
post May 4 2010, 03:24 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ May 4 2010, 11:51 AM)
wow, thanks lots for the info happy.gif, another question about the resin primer in bottle wan, is it advisable if i prime it by brush instead of putting it inside airbrush?
Yeah i agree with erh_teo, i wouldn't advise to brush it on. For an expensive resin kit, it's just very "sayang" to see it being treated that way.....

This is based on assumption that your resin kit is a bigger one, either mecha or japanese anime based character, which both is preferred to be painted with smooth finishing without weathering.

Probably the only type of resin i could imagine proper to be fully hand painted would be those small, miniature figures. Eg, a 1/24 human figure with quite some washing n weathering.......
rayloke
post May 11 2010, 05:14 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(mywii @ May 11 2010, 08:30 AM)
hi all...need your expertise....do you paint the parts first before assemble or paint after assemble?
Whichever way u r more comfortable n able to produce good work. for me, paint everything in parts, top coat, panel line, decal, weathering; then only assemble.

Only part of weathering will be done after assembled.

Added on May 11, 2010, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(wansirpunk @ May 11 2010, 05:10 PM)
can somebody show how the outcome???

wanna try on sd btw....
Why not u try it and share with us the outcome?

This post has been edited by rayloke: May 11 2010, 05:15 PM
rayloke
post May 13 2010, 03:16 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Blissguy @ May 13 2010, 03:05 PM)
hi i am new b here, like to know a small compressor and air brush. the cost for it. pls advice place to get one . i have try liner time to up grade my self thx
Haha this is probably the 7,355 times the same question is being asked here.

Go af or tkting, both offer some entry-level stuff. For other types and different level usage....... Go check out the thread with the same name as this: V.1 and V.2, plenty of info n discussion.

This post has been edited by rayloke: May 13 2010, 03:17 PM
rayloke
post May 14 2010, 04:11 PM

34 posts

I dont know much about compressor, however i would advise u to get a better one if budget allowed n if u think u will stick to this hobby for long. Mine lasted for 20 years, since the day i was still an illustrator/visualizer.

As erh_teo mentioned, try get one with tank. With a tank means the compressor do not have to work all the time; only when the air pressure in the tank hit a pre-set low mark. Reduce electricity usage n noise pollution. Notice a lot of modelers only have time to work at night so the best is to hear the sound before purchase.

As for hand piece, see it as this: a, air brush hand piece is like a paint brush in water color. basically how fine n well the result majority factor depends on skill. However, with a good tool, it will enhance the outcome of an already skillful work. I guess u mostly do gundam, so i think a 0.3mm would be good; in between 0.2mm n 0.5mm.

This post has been edited by rayloke: May 14 2010, 04:15 PM
rayloke
post May 25 2010, 12:47 AM

34 posts

Really nice explanation with pics inquisytor!!! rclxms.gif

For those who dont bother to remember how do the paint bottles look like, please do read the label too.

if there is a kanji, which is same as chinese, word " æ°´ ", or a word "Aqueous", it means acrylic based..... Gunze only has acrylic n lacquer paint.

rayloke
post Jun 21 2010, 12:57 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(enferion @ Jun 20 2010, 04:13 PM)
Hi all Sifus

need some guidance, so far i go the following process for painting my kits with AB....
1) Mr Surface 1200 - to prime
2) Mr Color - as base color
3) Mr Thinner (dunno if i should go for leveling one or not) - to thin Primer & Mr Color
4) Enamel paints - for lining
5) Zippo fluid - to thin the enamel

Questions :
a) What I dunno is how to do the Top Coat with the AB... dont want to use Top coat spray can if I can.
b) Should i get a retarder? Some sites seems to suggest

Cheers
Air brush your top coat like u r air brushing other colors. Afterall, top coat is basically a paint without color.

Many has this idea that top coating is after u assembled the whole kit, then "Psst...." the whole kit a few times with top coat. Well, if u do that, i would expect next thing u will start to ask question like "Why got frosting?" "Why not top coat even" "why not enough gloss?" etc etc

Again, top coating is spraying another layer of paint that has no color onto the kit. Spray part by part.
rayloke
post Jun 21 2010, 01:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(enferion @ Jun 21 2010, 06:30 AM)
Hi Thanks for the reply, which means I can just buy Tamiya Arcylic Flat base XF-21 and use as top coat right?

@Harddisk : I get my paint from Japan, i am in tokyo right now and will be back again in July.

After july, i need to find alternative sources sad.gif
Be careful, Tamiya flat base, or other brands' flat base, is just an addictive to be added into clear.

Ok the concept of top coat:

paint consist of the resin n the pigment. paint with red pigment is red paint. paint with pigment, just only the resin, usually what u ll see in the market is usually labeled as "Clear" or "Gloss". This type of resin, we spray on top of our paint kit surface, to serve as a protective layer onto the paint. Since it has no pigment, it will not alter the color at the bottom. (Same concept as u use a transparent plastic sheet to wrap your book during school days).

In short, those spray can "top coat" is basically same thing as those bottled "clear" or "Gloss".

The resin, however, when sprayed and dried, it tends to level up itself and as a result it looks kinda shinny or glossy. So we can add some additive into it: some micro-size powder, to make the final outlook to look more flat, or less gloss. The more u add, the more flat it will be. This additive, micro size particle is generally called "Flat base". So basically if u look at Gaianote's or Mr Hobby's Semi gloss or Flat, u can achieve the same effect by getting a bottle of gloss, and add flat base into it. Add a little, it will be more like semi gloss; add more, it will become flat.

This additive micro particle, basically is just particle alone. So if u spray it without adding it into the resin (clear or any color), where there is nothing to hold them together; when it dries, it will become like powder on top of your kit: Like u have sprinkle some baby talcum onto the kit.

So flat base CANNOT be used alone, it must be added into clear or color (Eg adding flat base in Yellow u will get a semi gloss yellow, or a flat yellow).

So i guess what u should be looking for is color labeled as "flat", or if u r using tamiya acrylic, u should get yourself a clear n flat base and mix them urself. If i m not mistaken, Mr Hobby n Gaia do manufacture a pre-mix flat, but tamiya doesn't.
rayloke
post Jun 26 2010, 08:10 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 25 2010, 03:16 PM)
erm.... i don't think that will work too..
It will give a chemical reaction... It's just that lacquer and acrylic just can't "be together"
Enamel > Lacquer
Enamel > Acrylic

Well, you can always give a try on a "test subject" rather than your own kit to be safe
no worries. if the lacquer is at the base, after it cure, u can actually paint acrylic paint on top, with acrylic thinner. no reaction.
rayloke
post Jul 9 2010, 10:47 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 8 2010, 03:13 PM)
hey guys, how essential is it to get a spray booth when using an AB? if i just spray outdoors, is it fine? or should i get a spray booth anyways?
an air conditioned room, without any direct wind (by fan) blowing towards u, a focus table lamp (check error n spray condition), window closed (less dust) is very good for air brushing. However, with this condition, a spray booth is necessary, or u ll be killed by the fume.

If u r spraying outdoor, there is not need of spray booth obviously. However, u will get impromptu wind direction, uncontrollable humidity level, changes of the color of sunlight in different time, bugs, cats, dogs, and extremely important: DUST.

If availability in terms of finance n real estate, would strongly recommend u set up a spray booth n do air brush in a closed area.

Eg, some car workshops do spray paint onto cars outdoor. But the high quality ones always have their closed-area spray area. Same concept.
rayloke
post Jul 9 2010, 01:07 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 9 2010, 12:32 PM)
ah~ current workplace is just indoors, window open, ventilated by a ceiling fan with no table lamp to check on errors.. bad conditions for airbrushing?  =/
It all depends on $$$ n space as i mentioned. For me, I slowly add one thing to another.

When u spray, normally what's the problem u encounter? dust? paint consistency? etc? Obviously, if u have a space dry, with low air movement, and comfortable (air cond room); a spray booth with a vent fan, with filter, and clean/dust free (have your maid to clean for ya everyday); good light source; plenty of space for pre n post air brushing; comfortable chair, silent n stable compressor, good handpiece; that would be perfect.

We all love to have perfect workplace but not many do have the luxury for that. Only when we encounter problems, we try to rectify them. If u r perfectly ok with everything u r having now, then it's always ok to maintain as u r comfortable.

Great work comes from the skillful hands n passionate heart of the artist. Workplace is important but not crucial.
rayloke
post Jul 20 2010, 04:46 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 18 2010, 10:57 PM)
Hi, sifus

I have done some research on acrylic vs enamel vs lacquer paint.

1. If I were to choose acrylic paint for hand painting, Gunze Aqueous Hobby Color or Tamiya Acrylic, which is better in terms of:
(i) ease of painting,
(ii) durability of paint layer and
(iii)smell etc?
2. By the way, how does the lacquer-based gaiacolor smell? I mean does it smell nice or does it smell awful?
3. May I know if the Mr. Base White 1000 is one type of primer?
Thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif

Cheers.
1. i won't label/compare them as which one is easier to use. I prefer Tamiya cause it's more opaque, means easier to over the base color. That's the only reason. In terms of brush stroke, i think Gunze's easier to control. Besides that, Gunze is easier to be dilluted by water, while Tamiya, i would recommend using thinner as the medium to dillute.

In terms of durability, I think Tamiya is better.

In terms of brightness of color, Gunze is better.

2. If u like petroleum smell, u will love everything with resin n thinner. I have the potential to sniff super glue, so it smells ok to me. If u hate petroluem based products smell, I think u will find it smell awful, just like any other hobby paint.

3. no. Base white is NOT primer, it is paint. A very concentrated n opaque one.

rayloke
post Jul 24 2010, 01:08 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(hellforce @ Jul 22 2010, 02:59 PM)
hi Guys

Im trying to Mod the eye for my MG zaku and i do not where to find the battery holder >.< i have tried Ace h/w and a few DIY shop

No luck so far. below picture is how it looks like

the outcome will be something like

if sifu prof out there have any other method can please share smile.gif

thanks ^^
Look for tkting.

Search MGS2u.com
rayloke
post Aug 9 2010, 01:42 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Haneda @ Aug 7 2010, 12:22 AM)
will lacquer clear coat (gunze or gaia) ruin the chrome parts of Hyaku Shiki?
Even chrome, there r various thickness n different plastic component underneath the chrome that makes a chrome strong or weak.

For hyaku, i m not too sure. Used to coat car chrome bumper n no problem.

Even if i say no problem, i believe not all cars, different brand might have different reaction.

Best is to cut of part of the chrome spru/runner and spray it on yourself. Within minutes, u will already know whether it can be done on hyaku or not instantly. Aint that faster n easier than asking question while nobody answer u for a week?

Something that can be easily tested out is always best to test than keep on asking.

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 7 2010, 12:41 AM)
hi, i just bought HG Reborns Gundam but i dont like the lame yellow parts and want to colour it... anyone can suggest what colour can replace the yellow one?

and one noob question, what tool can cut the fabric tube from MG RX-178 MK-II 2.0? the one that use for backpack and leg parts sweat.gif
go search the net, gets lots of references, not only on reborn but other mecha that can help u visualize the color on your reborn.

Being irresponsible, i can just tell u "Red". But there r millions of tones in red. So if u screwed up, it's not my fault.

Hence in forum discussion, it's always good to at least find some reference, share them, and state your opinions n questions. With that, it's always easier to start a discussion n other people to throw u ideas.

For your reference, there's a tutorial on how to customize the color of your mecha digitally. I think it's pretty easy to use.
http://forum.zerogunz.com/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=8378

*mod, if u think this is not proper, please delete this.

This post has been edited by rayloke: Aug 9 2010, 01:52 PM
rayloke
post Aug 12 2010, 12:24 PM

34 posts

Are u serious about this?

Recasting is pretty advance level stuff in modeling; or it can be a hobby by itself. Be ready to invest quite a bit for first, the resin n the molding rubber aint cheap; plus other accessories. Besides that, need to do some trial n error plus some experiment or practices first. To me, throw in at least 2 MG's price for it.

Besides that, resin does release fume n it's quite toxic.

So i suggest u go find more tutorial about recasting first. If u dont even know the component n materials needed, we r not even talking about chemical components, I would foresee there ll be some disaster.

Go search, there r quite some tutorial about this matter. Even Dengeki Hobby did featured some in some issues a few years back.

There's another cheaper n fairly easy way to do some simple recasting by using epoxy putty or polyster putty with molding rubber. Is actually quite effective especially if u r doing one side mold. For the molding rubber, do check out with tkting or mgs2u.com.

In fact tkting has some experience in resin recasting. If u manage to meet up with him, nag him n ask lots of questions. However i still recommend u to search n read a bit before u do so. U wouldnt want to annoy him by asking general or stupid questions right?

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:23 PM