Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3
limfreelance
May 10 2012, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(FoxFace @ May 10 2012, 03:27 PM) not sure if this is the right topic, but i plan to sculpt this guy here and add revo joints what should i use? putty or sculpey? Wrong section bro. Here this: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/214896
limfreelance
Jun 5 2012, 05:58 PM
Sharing for super metallic paint» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
limfreelance
Oct 3 2012, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(shauno @ Apr 21 2010, 01:43 PM) guys, another thing. how much different is mr hobby thinner from their paint remover? its almost the same thing right? I try Mr hobby, but it really expensive, so i go hardware shop to get 500ml paint remove to remove my GK paint. It work, but the remover r thinner based so it harm your figure (like burning) when u touch it. Must wear glove. Btw it work really fast & no damage for the GK. For palstic, i use Mr hobby to remove. Havent try paint remover in plastic. Perhap u can let me know after u tried it.
limfreelance
Oct 3 2012, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Zephro @ Oct 3 2012, 12:44 PM) Hello sifus. Want to ask something. What are your methods for really fine panel lining? Like, even more fine than your standard Gundam Panel Liner pen (which I'm currently using now). Can't seem to reproduce really thin lines on my models. I use faber castel G 0.3 pen, it water based. when it dry i use rubber to rub it & it become thin.. I do it in my Macross & jet plane
limfreelance
Oct 3 2012, 04:06 PM
U tooo Near spraying that cause "air liur" + over spraying.
Must shake well bfore spraying, & have a distance about 20-25cm. sambil spray sambil move your can to left & right, right to left.
This post has been edited by limfreelance: Oct 3 2012, 04:06 PM
limfreelance
Oct 5 2012, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 4 2012, 11:23 PM) brake fluid is not a fast effect like how thinner strips paint. put it in, and wait for a good 30 minutes at least. then you'll still need to give it a slight scrub to get rid of the paint. wear gloves tho. that stuff is nasty! wanna ask the brake fluid r diference from paint remover or it same type ? cos i only know paint remove & thinner to remove paint.
limfreelance
Oct 8 2012, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(Noysan @ Oct 7 2012, 02:36 PM) Just sharing.. Hulk Avengers 1/9 Model Kit » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Bro, alway the impressive artwork.
limfreelance
Oct 9 2012, 08:37 AM
Testing the latest Mr color Super metallic SM08 Plate Silver Next: 1) Like a plate silver, very shine. 2) Paint not stick enough, when touch it the paint easi to drop. (topcoat advice) 3) If spray a thick layer it will become 60% chrome.
limfreelance
Oct 9 2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Oct 9 2012, 09:08 AM) Did you even primed/surfacer it? If no, that's why..  Prima based with Mr color C8 silver prima, Then addon the plate silver. Bcos the plate silver very expensive, so i just spray a thin surface & it more shine compare to C8 silver. I use the remaining drop to text the chrome effect, & it looki like 60% chrome. This Lubu kit....i want to paint it as shadowmoon, that y i apply the plate silver. & the effect as close at the color of shadowmoon & Ironman Mark2.
limfreelance
Oct 9 2012, 11:02 AM
Yup.
I didt no primed. Bcos i topcoat with clear gloss to prevent the paint fall.
Added on October 9, 2012, 11:02 amI dont think even u primed the based the silver color r as strong as enough.
Added on October 9, 2012, 11:04 amI had a experince, aftera Mr surface & based color applied, then i apply the tamiya enemal red. When dry, i gosok the red, the red drop. At the end only topcoat solve the problem.
This post has been edited by limfreelance: Oct 9 2012, 11:04 AM
limfreelance
Oct 9 2012, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Oct 9 2012, 12:07 PM) you're suppose to prime/surfacer --> base coat --> topcoat(gloss for enamel) --> enamel --> topcoat That is why your paint didn't stick well.. and why you go gosok your paint. lol Thank for inform. I gosok bcos tat a mecha tranform kit. Wanna try the paint hard or not.
limfreelance
Jan 14 2013, 04:23 PM
I do search about the Mr masking sol neo, but ppl complaint it ruin the paint when u try to take it out. sO need to coat a clear gloss coat bfore apply the masking sol neo. bside this, got any other way like wash the masking sol neo with water, so only the masking sol neo dropoff instead of paint?? Acrylic & laque paint included.
planing to get mR masking sol neo as i tired of masking tape.
Thank.
limfreelance
Jan 14 2013, 04:35 PM
OK. i try to use Glue as masking, as it is water based. can wash by water. LOL
limfreelance
Jan 17 2013, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jan 16 2013, 11:38 PM) The old masking sol sux but the new one is just nice. I've never heard of the masking sol ruining the paint unless the person did some wrong steps. r u refer to Masking sol NEO or Masking sol R?? wat the diference?? This post has been edited by limfreelance: Jan 17 2013, 09:32 AM
limfreelance
Jan 17 2013, 10:39 AM
OK Thank.
I buy 1 to try try first.
limfreelance
Jan 17 2013, 11:37 AM
Thank for the sharing tips. appreaciated.
limfreelance
Feb 7 2013, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Feb 7 2013, 10:14 AM) I wondering if I paint the clear green on originally clear red part will it turn into clear green?  cannot. it will become darker. u need to paint a silver coat as based coat, then only can paint clear green. I done the green core of GN drive for my exia.
limfreelance
Feb 7 2013, 03:04 PM
if the plastic is clear transparent, then u can apply the clear green. unfortunately, it red trasparent plastic.
anyway, good luck.
This post has been edited by limfreelance: Feb 7 2013, 03:05 PM
limfreelance
Mar 5 2013, 05:57 PM
woo, nice mecha...btw, the red nu can show abit.
limfreelance
Mar 7 2013, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(sekngucing @ Mar 6 2013, 11:58 PM) i thin it with thinner first. take some time to dry? its already more than a week if i put the gunpla part near to each other, it will stick to each other and the paint will loose off  do u paint in plastic part or rubber/joinment part? Is that the paint is Gloss finish?