post Sep 19 2012, 02:44 PM

1,415 posts

Hi, im also new to panel lining..

i just bought this

and this

if say i want to do planel lining with X-1 is it advisable? or is it better just to use 2B pencil on top of the Dark Ghost Gray color??

Please all sifu give some advice.....
Agito666
post Sep 19 2012, 02:59 PM

11,861 posts

want to ask anyone got use sharpie silver colour on gundam? how is it?
eastern
post Sep 19 2012, 04:22 PM

289 posts

Dear sifus,

Any idea where to purchase those Tamiya weathering kits in klang valley? (probably around PJ / subang area).

Thank you
leongkokloon
post Sep 19 2012, 04:35 PM

1,415 posts

QUOTE(eastern @ Sep 19 2012, 04:22 PM)
Dear sifus,

Any idea where to purchase those Tamiya weathering kits in klang valley? (probably around PJ / subang area).

Thank you
i also finding....
Agito666
post Sep 19 2012, 04:39 PM

11,861 posts

i also want ask, Tamiya vs Monami vs Sharpie Silver marker reviews...anyone? tongue.gif
devil_x
post Sep 19 2012, 04:39 PM

483 posts

u can find it in B1, One Utama new wing. u can take the escalator at Gardens Restaurant.
HxiiiK
post Sep 19 2012, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(eastern @ Sep 19 2012, 04:22 PM)
Dear sifus,

Thank you
there's a Tamiya shop at B1 1Utama, like devil_x said.. you can find all your Tamiya needs there laugh.gif
eastern
post Sep 20 2012, 05:26 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(devil_x @ Sep 19 2012, 04:39 PM)
u can find it in B1, One Utama new wing. u can take the escalator at Gardens Restaurant.
QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Sep 19 2012, 04:45 PM)
there's a Tamiya shop at B1 1Utama, like devil_x said.. you can find all your Tamiya needs there laugh.gif
Thank you to the both of you.

Will drop by the place during the weekends.
TheGreatBahamut
post Sep 29 2012, 11:13 AM

86 posts

This question maybe ask before but I have to ask again,
I painted my kit with lacquer paint and I want to panel line with Gundam/Tamiya Gold Marker. What shall I use to clean the excessive panel line without removing the lacquer base paint?
If you guys have any other way to panel line over lacquer painted kit may share here too...
General_Nic
post Sep 29 2012, 01:41 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Sep 29 2012, 11:13 AM)
This question maybe ask before but I have to ask again,
I painted my kit with lacquer paint and I want to panel line with Gundam/Tamiya Gold Marker. What shall I use to clean the excessive panel line without removing the lacquer base paint?
If you guys have any other way to panel line over lacquer painted kit may share here too...
u can use Gundam Marker Remover
TheGreatBahamut
post Sep 29 2012, 03:32 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 29 2012, 01:41 PM)
u can use Gundam Marker Remover
Oh thanks... So it won't remove the lacquer paint right?

Btw anyone here have experience in making own panel line?

This post has been edited by TheGreatBahamut: Sep 29 2012, 04:33 PM
htpkevin
post Oct 2 2012, 01:54 PM

1,052 posts

guys, just ordered airbrush from my seller. But i got one question, my seller included a GX100 clear for me(i think is Mr. Color one), he said that one can make it as a protective layer(something like top coat, but this one is glossy i think). but this is first time i use airbrush, so i also dunno about this and i need advice on this. So i just spray this after finish painting?

the sequence is like(correct me if i'm wrong)

primer-->2 to 3 layers of paint-->then this GX100 clear-->decals?-->GX100 again?-->then only panel line wash-->then lastly what?

please bear with me coz totally new in airbrush@@.

Neofushion
post Oct 2 2012, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Oct 2 2012, 01:54 PM)
guys, just ordered airbrush from my seller. But i got one question, my seller included a GX100 clear for me(i think is Mr. Color one), he said that one can make it as a protective layer(something like top coat, but this one is glossy i think). but this is first time i use airbrush, so i also dunno about this and i need advice on this. So i just spray this after finish painting?

the sequence is like(correct me if i'm wrong)

primer-->2 to 3 layers of paint-->then this GX100 clear-->decals?-->GX100 again?-->then only panel line wash-->then lastly what?

please bear with me coz totally new in airbrush@@.
Well, GX100 is a top coat to protect your paints. IMHO, some slight changes is required on your steps above.

primer-->2 to 3 layers of paint-->then this GX100 clear-->panel line-->GX100-->decals--->Depending on the finish you are going for, GX100 or flat coat.

Reason is that panel lining can be messy. Also ppl do another round of coating after applying decals is to prevent the decal edges from showing.

You might neeed to exercise caution when using clear. Never spray when its humid, raining.
Khai62
post Oct 2 2012, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(Neofushion @ Oct 2 2012, 03:22 PM)
Well, GX100 is a top coat to protect your paints.  IMHO, some slight changes is required on your steps above.

primer-->2 to 3 layers of paint-->then this GX100 clear-->panel line-->GX100-->decals--->Depending on the finish you are going for, GX100 or flat coat.

Reason is that panel lining can be messy. Also ppl do another round of coating after applying decals is to prevent the decal edges from showing.

You might neeed to exercise caution when using clear.  Never spray when its humid, raining.
Just to add you go with out use primer since most paint stick to plastic solidly just that you need primer if you want to do shading or if you want to paint over a dark color part with light color.
alexwyl
post Oct 2 2012, 11:54 PM

hmm, any sifu can teach/ correct me?
i wanted to do undercoat with decorative silver but why my kit will become lik this?
it is normal? Attached Image

but i wanted the effect like this Attached Image
General_Nic
post Oct 3 2012, 01:26 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Oct 2 2012, 03:34 PM)
Just to add you go with out use primer since most paint stick to plastic solidly just that you need primer if you want to do shading or if you want to paint over a dark color part with light color.
not sure with airbrushed paints since I havent started trying, but acrylic paint from spraycans can be easily removed from plastic with just fingernails sweat.gif

QUOTE(alexwyl @ Oct 2 2012, 11:54 PM)
hmm, any sifu can teach/ correct me?
i wanted to do undercoat with decorative silver but why my kit will become lik this?
it is normal?

the top pic u're showing is still just decorative silver or you painted a layer of candy paint?
alexwyl
post Oct 3 2012, 01:41 AM

just decorative silver ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by alexwyl: Oct 3 2012, 01:42 AM
General_Nic
post Oct 3 2012, 02:02 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(alexwyl @ Oct 3 2012, 01:41 AM)
just decorative silver  ohmy.gif
then that's just how decorative silver looks like
if you want similar with the red one, you need to add another layer of different type of silver
TT lim
post Oct 3 2012, 03:08 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Sep 29 2012, 03:32 PM)
Oh thanks... So it won't remove the lacquer paint right?

Btw anyone here have experience in making own panel line?
this will dissolve your lacquer paint too, even when u use gundam marker on lacquer paint,it will dissolve your lacquer paint too,
for gold and silver u can try Artline 990xf series metallic color marker,it have few diff size tips,and it is enamel base,it won't dissolve your lacquer paint and can be wipe off with Tamiya enamel thinner.
General_Nic
post Oct 3 2012, 03:46 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(TT lim @ Oct 3 2012, 03:08 AM)
this will dissolve your lacquer paint too, even when u use gundam marker on lacquer paint,it will dissolve your lacquer paint too,
for gold and silver u can try Artline 990xf series metallic color marker,it have few diff size tips,and it is enamel base,it won't dissolve your lacquer paint and can be wipe off with Tamiya enamel thinner.
I'm pretty sure Gundam Markers' paint are acrylic, sorry if I'm wrong(with exception GM01 & GM02)
if it's acrylic then i wouldn't affect lacquer paint as lacquer is stronger

as for Artline gold & silver markers, cheaper alternative is to use WD40 No Mess Pen icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 3 2012, 03:47 AM

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:13 PM