Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 12:01 AM

11,861 posts

ahem, use brush painting will have what effect? with mr.colour?

i plan to get for my metal slug kit hmm.gif

no need use coat right? because i dun have large space to spray.
Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 02:44 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Sep 26 2011, 02:33 PM)
better use spray can.. coz hand painting have bad brush stroke if you dont use retarder
no need to buy top coat.. the color already have glossy effect unless you buy flat colour
use spray can ar? thinking what type to use since i wan a realistic feel yet fancy colour...flat?
then when spray i need cut all parts and put on newspaper? i need find some space too for spray ^^''
need spray under sunlight?

then spray can how much estimate? since i just want to do on metal slug kit with magenta/pink XD
spray 1 layer?
then when dry use tamiya chrome for paint?

totally no experience on this...the only spray experience is spray minyak nyamuk in room.
Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 03:20 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Sep 26 2011, 02:51 PM)
buy metallic color since it look good on your MS tank

based on my experience, you need to buy and apply primer spray or the paint may chipped off
can try use on unused runner to try out.. i also newbie in spray colour so cannot help you much sweat.gif

my way
primer> silver >any metallic color

got people did it... can ask him for assistance
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2023013
you mean noysan?

too shinny for me XD

prefer something like matte

Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 03:25 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Sep 26 2011, 03:24 PM)
btw military tank should use green color..
green apple maybe?
i still wan use pink whistling.gif
to match my tako luka tongue.gif
Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 04:25 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Sep 26 2011, 04:13 PM)
pink color spray can hard to find
good luck to you, post pic when you are done
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 26 2011, 04:15 PM)
fluorescent pink spray can very common  whistling.gif
thinking like this colour

unsure.gif
Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 05:12 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 26 2011, 05:11 PM)

I saw my tank... biggrin.gif

If you want a matte finish, you can always use clear flat top coat to "kill" the glossiness.
Prime your kit first boss, metal bug kit plastic is not really that good.. sweat.gif
ya thinking lesser glossy to make lesser toy feel but yet i wan a fancy colour in same time tongue.gif

how you spray? cut all part first then spray? unsure.gif

thinking get 2 colour, dark grey and pink only...

wait PRIME? need get 2 also? so i total need 4?

or spray 2 layer?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Sep 26 2011, 05:14 PM
Agito666
post Sep 26 2011, 05:21 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Griever5177 @ Sep 26 2011, 05:19 PM)
what you mean by warming the spray first? hmm......will probably try flat coat and try out first if the results is nice. Technically once applied need to leave it to dry for how long?
i know, burn with lighter? laugh.gif

or

Shake it first? unsure.gif
Agito666
post Sep 27 2011, 10:06 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 26 2011, 08:22 PM)

Prime = primer paint so your base paint will have something to adhere to.
If you straight away paint dark grey to the kit, your paint will chip easily. 
So you need three, primer (usually comes in grey/white) + based ( ur dark grey and pink)

Cut all part coz you need to assembly it first so you have the feel on how each parts goes with the kit.
If necessary, sand/file  the parts that needs to be sanded. Remember, plastic quality is not really good.
Leave the tire tracks of the tank uncut. This part you can paint first before cutting. It's easier this way. biggrin.gif
spray paint in my impression is very big one, got small one just enough for metal slug one? tongue.gif
how much for one? tongue.gif
Agito666
post Sep 27 2011, 11:19 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 27 2011, 11:05 AM)
Tamiya / Mr Color got small cans but that's just expensive.
Me on a budget + too cheap + too poor to buy this spray paint.. sweat.gif

I use Nippon Pylox / Anchor. Around Rm7.00
nippon pylox and anchor is same brand? unsure.gif
i saw anchor before in hardwareshop unsure.gif

need estimate the price of mr.colour/tamiya one... unsure.gif
since plastic is not good, so if use better paint will good or not or use "chapalang/cap ayam" brand will more worst? rclxub.gif
Agito666
post Sep 27 2011, 11:44 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Sep 27 2011, 11:39 AM)

they're different brand.
also not sure how much tamiya/mr colour is. But i bought last time tamiya flat coat, same size around RM45. Estimate the price from that... sweat.gif

The results will depend on your painting skills... tongue.gif
omg i thought rm20+-
shocking.gif

okay maybe stick on those anchor one sweat.gif

or maybe use hand brush painting...

This post has been edited by Agito666: Sep 27 2011, 11:44 AM
Agito666
post Sep 29 2011, 05:03 PM

11,861 posts

anyone can share hand painted kit here?
Agito666
post Sep 30 2011, 10:34 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 29 2011, 08:52 PM)

wah nice, mind to share the too and brushes you used? hmm.gif a

and setup for painting notworthy.gif
Agito666
post Oct 23 2011, 06:14 PM

11,861 posts

wan to ask, mr. colour the rm8 per small can one can paint on this?
i accident drop my tako luka on hard rock's floor cry.gif cry.gif

i mean the figure usually is using what type of paint and how i should get what type paint to paint over? enamel or acrylic? need spray? unsure.gif

wan ask like this let say how much cost for the each little can of colour and the the rest? wan estimate.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 24 2011, 10:24 AM
Agito666
post Oct 24 2011, 12:32 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 24 2011, 12:16 PM)
you should be able to use any type of paint, no problem. only thing is will you be able to get the same color as your figure? since its only chipped, i think just touching up with a brush would do.

if you wanna find price, go mgs2u and see see.. paint is tamiya enamel, about 7.50 each. the masking tape, thinner and top coat can easily find out price on website
that a frosting effect. to avoid, try spraying when it is not as humid, and also part by part.
thanks for info, ya i need check the price first then before decide what paint to get... notworthy.gif
Agito666
post Oct 24 2011, 09:32 PM

11,861 posts

wan to ask anyone got purchase thing from msg2u? or got a better suggestion for me people that only can rely public transport to KL BTS area? XD

just now admuser told me " BTS dont have enamel paint, only lacquer

the only place i see got enamel paint is ICW"... but ICW is pretty far for me... even the AF hobby sad.gif
Agito666
post Oct 24 2011, 11:25 PM

11,861 posts

edit:

1) wan ask something, figure paint torn off, what type paint is suitable to paint it back?
i research on the first post found out got 3 types, enamel , laquer , acrylic...

okay so what is the major difference of this 3 type of paint?
a) based?
b) will melt plastic? especially figure.
c) price, brand? ( and i plan to search in Times Square area, so if out of that got any suggestion to order via postage? MYR one)

2) i gonna paint on graident type (air brush) paint... due to air brush is expensive and i m not really plan to paint for long term ,i just wan to repair my figure for shooting purpose, so i gonna stick on paint.
a) what steps i need to beware?

3)http://gscmikatan.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/diy-figure-repairs-part-3-scuffed-paint/
this side is teaching how to paint back the worn off paint but never teach how to wash the brush....so what liquid we need to use to wash brush it the paint is not water-based?

notworthy.gif

thanks.

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 25 2011, 08:55 AM
Agito666
post Oct 25 2011, 10:20 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 25 2011, 10:07 AM)
for #1.

credit goes to inquisytor. all this info can be found on the tutorial sticky..
b) if you don't flood the part in the relevant solvent, there should not be a problem with breaking/cracking
c) price and brand you can easily find.

2. you will need to beware of brush strokes when handpainting. i believe i've posted on handpainting a few pages back, look back

3. as for how to wash brush.. really? you're done painting at some level before right? watercolor during art class, the paint is water based solvent, so wash off paintbrush with water.. if paint is thinner solvent, wash with thinner la..
3. because i saw the bottle of the thinner is kinda small so i wonder wan to get 2 instead of 1, scare cepat habis lol unsure.gif

so if i order X-20 thinner is that sufficient to use or need order a bulkier one? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 25 2011, 10:36 AM
Agito666
post Oct 25 2011, 11:33 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Oct 25 2011, 11:24 AM)
For hand brush, either u r using a nylon type or a genuine animal hair type, usually i wash with cheap industrial thinner instead of expensive hobby thinner. Beware, just for cleaning only, not to use to dillute paint for painting. This is to save myself some green notes.
As for Mgs2u, u can try contact them, i m not sure whether he does personal delivery (unless your place is convenient to him). But at least u can buy stuff from him delivered to your door, with a small amount (local delivery) charged.
thinking what cheap industrial thinner you use... i m not sure wan to get or not since i purchase paint just for repair figure once, after all got leftover i think i will paint on my metal slug kit ...after all i didnt plan to paint on my gunpla since RG grade i usually do lining is nice enough haha.
Agito666
post Oct 25 2011, 01:19 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Oct 25 2011, 11:38 AM)
cheap industrial thinner come in different sizes... got bottle and big one.. a bottle one is sufficient for you already.
you mean the normal hobby size one? smile.gif

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:04 pm
Paint strength : Lacquer > Enamel > Acrylic
Lacquer and enamel and oil base paint. That's why you must use thinner to thin it.
Acrylic is water base paint. That's why you can choose to use water to thin it, But I would still recommend using thinner

just wonder Lacquer > enamel > acrylic....

so normally PVC figure paint was what type? scare later i use enamel paint then for longer time being, lets say i put figure together in Tupperware during travel for shooting, will it torn off? unsure.gif (if i no spraying coat)

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 25 2011, 02:05 PM
Agito666
post Oct 25 2011, 02:09 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Oct 25 2011, 02:05 PM)
he mean the hardware shop ones.

the bottle is like 750ml or something, something like your small mineral water. The bottle is glass.

usually cost around RM3 ~RM5 per bottle
thanks boss. now browsing the msg2u for colour... the search function in da website is not good doh.gif

anyway what kind of spray should spray on figure? unsure.gif

it looks like matte type. so should i choose FLAT?

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 25 2011, 02:18 PM

0.0291sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:48 AM