Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

HxiiiK
post Feb 2 2012, 10:19 AM

hi everyone, i'm rather new at this painting thing because so far i've only done straight build for gunplas biggrin.gif
so i decided to pick up some painting.. i recently found a vid on youtube painting a normal Sinanju into something of a titanium effect.. the person in the vid used paints i think from Games Workshop such as Mithril Silver, Burnished Gold, Chaos Black etc.. and for the red parts, the person used Mithril Silver on the bottom and coated with Tamiya Clear Red
well i don't think we have games workshop products here but any advice on good paint colors and where to find them? i would definitely like to try my hand at this, although i can only use handbrush as i don't have any airbrushes with me.
also i intend to do some reverse washing for the gold trims
spray might be an option too but i think handbrush would be cheaper? any advice on paint selections, technique and where to find paints for specifically an MG Sinanju for now would be very appreciated!

This post has been edited by HxiiiK: Feb 2 2012, 10:20 AM
HxiiiK
post Feb 2 2012, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(shauno @ Feb 2 2012, 12:18 PM)
good to know you're taking the plunge! biggrin.gif

if you're planning on painting a whole MG kit, and a Sinanju at that, i would definitely advice against hand painting it, especially as you are just starting out. brush marks will be very obvious, and will not look very nice, so if you're planning on going the silver > clear red route, spray painting is most advisable. easiest (and cheapest) would be to use spray cans for your paint job.

if you look back to a few pages before this, there is some mention of ICW, which is a workshop cum modelling supplies place for modellers to hang out, and work on their kits.
ah thanks! i was also unsure of whether or not i should handpaint it, seeing as it seems to be the cheapest (?) method to achieve the wanted results biggrin.gif
maybe i will look into some spray paints as well as the place you recommended. any particular brands or colors i should look out for? to achieve the maximum effect

oh i found the ICW link u said.. maybe i will pay them a visit biggrin.gif hopefully i can pick up a few good techniques there

QUOTE(Noysan @ Feb 2 2012, 01:32 PM)
normal spray can can be used to achieve metallic effects.
used primer-->black-->silver-->candy red.. The more layer of candy red you apply, the darker tone it gets.
thanks for your suggestion! but if i put black on the primer would it dull the silver coat? and how long do i have to wait in between the coats you suggested?

This post has been edited by HxiiiK: Feb 2 2012, 05:40 PM
HxiiiK
post Feb 3 2012, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(shauno @ Feb 2 2012, 11:23 PM)
a black under coat doesn't dull the primer, but in fact gives it a heavier metallic feel. as for how long, as long as it is dry, you're good to put the second layer on already. perhaps you might wanna wait about 30 mins to be safe?

if you're looking for cheap, nothing beats industrial spray cans. i think there was discussion a few pages back on what brands are good. otherwise, if you're willing to spend more money, get tamiya sprays. cost a lot more tho.. if you're going for titanium finish, what noysan said of primer > black > silver>clear red would work..
alright i'll give that a go! thanks for both of your help thumbup.gif
HxiiiK
post Apr 14 2012, 01:08 AM

i have something i need help with,

my Zeta Plus C1

this part that is highlighted with the red circle, it snapped while i was trying to flip it down, i don't know why it just refused to turn down and snapped off
so i need a guide or some help on how to repair or fashion out a replacement piece, such as materials which are useful for the task.. any help would be greatly appreciated! thank you very much
HxiiiK
post Apr 14 2012, 01:30 AM

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Apr 14 2012, 01:17 AM)
any pic for actual one? i think you can still fix it with hobby cement
cant take a pic of the real one right now, sorry
the part is quite small, though.. i will give hobby cement a try if i can find some tomorrow.. how long does it take to cure, by the way?

HxiiiK
post Apr 14 2012, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(Haruyuki @ Apr 14 2012, 01:38 AM)
fix it with plastic glue and epoxy
would it retain it's ability to move or is it better stuck in one position forever?
HxiiiK
post Apr 14 2012, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(Haruyuki @ Apr 14 2012, 02:18 AM)
u didnt use glue to stick the parts ya?
either it's too tight or some glue stick it to the parts
nope, straight OOB, no paint, no modding.. i don't know why it just refused to turn at the time
anyway now i've used some modelling glue and it's stuck there fairly tight, although it might split again if i apply too much force on it...
HxiiiK
post Apr 25 2012, 05:51 PM

i would like to ask if anyone knows where i can find clear rods, like the ones in this pic?

appreciate the help biggrin.gif
HxiiiK
post Jul 28 2012, 09:10 AM

hi, i was snooping around FB and found some customization pics that claim usage of H.I.P.S. (i googled it and i think it's high impact polystyrene (plastic) sheet or something)
any idea how the material is like? of course google images will not help much tongue.gif seeing it is not quite like feeling it in hand.. if the material really is acceptable for customizing, where can i find some? laugh.gif
HxiiiK
post Aug 5 2012, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Jul 28 2012, 09:10 AM)
hi, i was snooping around FB and found some customization pics that claim usage of H.I.P.S. (i googled it and i think it's high impact polystyrene (plastic) sheet or something)
any idea how the material is like? of course google images will not help much tongue.gif seeing it is not quite like feeling it in hand.. if the material really is acceptable for customizing, where can i find some? laugh.gif
ask this earlier, didn't get an answer, thought i'd try again smile.gif thanks!
HxiiiK
post Aug 5 2012, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(Noysan @ Aug 5 2012, 05:38 PM)
it's like pla plate. it comes in white gray color. I'm not sure if it comes in different color. It's cheaper than pla plate and I bought mine outside malaysia by the meter. Can't remember the exact width but I payed around rm3 after conversion. Easy to sand and cut but if you apply to much pressure it will break easily. I used it to model wolverine claws. It was introduced to me by a college buddy of mine.He's been using it on his gundam customs. He just won first prize last year on GBWC 2011 Philippine open so my best guess is it can work for customs.. but I'm not really sure though.. tongue.gif
i see, first of all thanks for the reply tongue.gif
i don't mind them being slightly more fragile, if accessibility is less of an issue, anyone has any idea where i can find some of these aside from outside of malaysia?
HxiiiK
post Sep 3 2012, 11:42 AM

wow the painting thread sunk so far down rclxub.gif

anyway! i have a question.. what is the cheapest possible paint i can use with an airbrush? i'd like to do a bit of practice runs before i go get the proper paint.. cheap, but workable and final product looks decent enough is fine for me.. just need for a little practice before jumping to the good stuff laugh.gif
HxiiiK
post Sep 3 2012, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Sep 3 2012, 02:57 PM)
I read that oil paint can also be used but you still need to thin it down and take hours or days to dry, but to be honest just go for the good stuff since you really need to practice the thinning ratio of paints since different brand have different consistency, not to mention cleaning the airbrush itself.  rclxub.gif

Not sure if decanting spray paint is cheaper tho.  hmm.gif
i see, so no shortcuts there huh rclxub.gif thanks for your help.. so for AB painting, i will definitely need paint thinner too?

and i'm actually upgrading from spray cans to AB tongue.gif so i know how to handle cans, but not the AB yet
HxiiiK
post Sep 3 2012, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Sep 3 2012, 03:32 PM)
Yep, you need to buy the thinner just that i recommend getting the same brand as the paint and keep in mind the type of paint like acrylic paint thin with acrylic thinner and so on.
alright, got it! thanks for the help notworthy.gif
HxiiiK
post Sep 3 2012, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(Neofushion @ Sep 3 2012, 03:56 PM)
Since you've been using spray can previously, why not just decant your existing spray cans? http://www.ghostofzeon.com/diy/paintxtract/xtract.html.
AH thanks for clarifying... i skimmed through the decant part they said because i had absolutely no idea what that was.. thank you for the link too biggrin.gif
HxiiiK
post Sep 19 2012, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(eastern @ Sep 19 2012, 04:22 PM)
Dear sifus,

Any idea where to purchase those Tamiya weathering kits in klang valley? (probably around PJ / subang area).

Thank you
there's a Tamiya shop at B1 1Utama, like devil_x said.. you can find all your Tamiya needs there laugh.gif
HxiiiK
post Oct 3 2012, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 3 2012, 11:54 AM)
if you wanna strip paint on the cheap, use brake fluid, NOT industrial thinner. not unless you value your plastic kit that is..
brake fluid? i recall the sales thread in LYN, there was one guy who destroyed his PG Wing by trying to strip paint with brake fluid shocking.gif
HxiiiK
post Oct 3 2012, 07:51 PM

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 3 2012, 06:00 PM)
petronas dot3 brake fluid. tried and tested method which does not compromise your plastic at all..  dont know what type of brake fluid that guy used.

similarly, using other brands of lighter fluid besides zippo fluid will give you different results when panel line washing.
interesting hmm.gif after i saw that picture of the destroyed PG Wing i never even thought about using brake fluid.. at least it's one more alternative there.. thanks for clearing that up
HxiiiK
post Nov 5 2012, 10:36 PM

okayyy so i'm thinking of starting some scratch building soon, so i'm wondering, what are the materials used and how are the parts molded? need a bit of tips and tricks to get me started so i don't fumble about like a headless chicken laugh.gif
any tips and advice are greatly GREATLY appreciated laugh.gif
HxiiiK
post Feb 25 2013, 10:19 AM

guys i want to ask, any way of finding alclad II in KL? i know i'm really slow and only found out about this now.. and i'm looking to get my hands on some..

someone told me ICW has some.. it's a bit far for me to go check and if anyone can confirm, that would be great so i don't have to make a dry run

0.0212sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:00 AM