126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

JohnnyBeGud
post Jul 5 2010, 03:57 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(rockstar_ @ Jul 5 2010, 03:16 AM)
i used macbook for more than a week now. all functions is good and really satisfy with the quality except for:
1. a red stuck pixel. feels like crazy when looking at it.
2. no cut-paste function. i used moveAddict software. so no problem anymore.
3. huge memory consumption.
4. cannot close lid while letting my macbook on.

maybe im not quite familiar with mac because before this i used windows and ubuntu. can anyone can give me opinions? thanks.
My opinions:
1. Try to ask the shop where you bought it for replacement
2. Already solved
3. Neither deny nor agree(Don't really know tongue.gif )
4. There are 3rd party softwares such as caffeine or InsomniaX

I've nerver really tried the softwares though..
Ojimaru
post Jul 5 2010, 06:33 AM

561 posts

i used macbook for more than a week now. all functions is good and really satisfy with the quality except for:

maybe im not quite familiar with mac because before this i used windows and ubuntu. can anyone can give me opinions? thanks.
1. That's a dead pixel and you are eligible for a replacement if you're still under warranty.
2. CMD + C, CMD + X, CMD + V. RTFM
3. Are you referring to the OS? If so, huge consumption in comparison to what?
4. How is this a problem? I'd rather know that my Macbook is asleep than stick it into the bag while it's reading and writing from a harddisk drive.
dvlzplayground
post Jul 5 2010, 07:36 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

1. there are plenty of guides on how to remove dead pixels online. maybe u can give them a try?
2. there IS cut&paste function but for text (it's cmd+x). it works a bit different for files. drag-n-drop a file from one place to another within the same volume is a move (or cut&paste) action. drag-n-drop a file from one volume to another is a copy&paste action. you know it's a copy&paste when there's a green circle with a plus sign at the cursor. so if u want to cut&paste a file from one volume to another, hold down Command while dropping (the green circle will vanish, indicating u're cut&pasting). to change a cut&paste action (when drag-n-dropping within the same volume) to a copy&paste action, hold down Option while dropping
3. what makes u say huge memory consumption? maybe u can share how did u determine that. how much memory u have and what apps are you running?
4. insomniaX, or if u're talking about using an external display... plug in a keyboard/mouse, connect display, close the lid, n wake up ur mac using the keyboard/mouse

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jul 5 2010, 07:37 AM
Voxe
post Jul 5 2010, 06:00 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

After using my White Unibody Macbook for 3 months, here's a few unsatisfactory things I feel about it.

1. Despite the trackpad's multitouch awesomeness, it hinders typing on the keyboard because my hands tend to glide over it causing it to register a tap. This is because of its large size.

2. The battery does not last as it is advertised. Mine was advertised for a full 7 hours but this is nearly impossible to get unless you just run a browser only with lights dimmed until the lowest. Normal usage with usable lighting will last 4 hours tops.

3. Design flaw in the screen frame scratches the laptop frame surrounding the keyboard. When the Macbook is closed, the screen frame touches the frame around the keyboard and trackpad. I can see a perfect scratch line on the keyboard frame, mirroring my screen frame.

4. Bootcamp drivers are not well made. The brightness control at the dimmest for Windows is still brighter than the dimmest on OSX. Very limited settings for Windows too.
inachi
post Jul 5 2010, 08:46 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jul 5 2010, 06:00 PM)
After using my White Unibody Macbook for 3 months, here's a few unsatisfactory things I feel about it.

1. Despite the trackpad's multitouch awesomeness, it hinders typing on the keyboard because my hands tend to glide over it causing it to register a tap. This is because of its large size.

2. The battery does not last as it is advertised. Mine was advertised for a full 7 hours but this is nearly impossible to get unless you just run a browser only with lights dimmed until the lowest. Normal usage with usable lighting will last 4 hours tops.

3. Design flaw in the screen frame scratches the laptop frame surrounding the keyboard. When the Macbook is closed, the screen frame touches the frame around the keyboard and trackpad. I can see a perfect scratch line on the keyboard frame, mirroring my screen frame.

4. Bootcamp drivers are not well made. The brightness control at the dimmest for Windows is still brighter than the dimmest on OSX. Very limited settings for Windows too.
ya..but everyone shud know that the 10hours claimed for MBP is actually 5/6hours? mine is around 4hours..

u wan 10 hours u need to set the brightness to the lowest,off bluetooth..with a browser only. sigh..
dvlzplayground
post Jul 5 2010, 10:32 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

that's normal lah... if a manufacturer say a battery can last up to X hours, it normally means when doing minimal task. 4 hours is decent enough for me

i agree with the bootcamp drivers though
sky80
post Jul 5 2010, 10:33 PM

42 posts

I have read so much about the Macbook, after using it for the past 2 months, I am lovin it smile.gif it's easy to use, nice graphic, no hanging up, no blue screen, fast startup and shut down...etc. I can go on and on, just love it, never going back to PC again smile.gif

Added on July 5, 2010, 10:36 pmThe only problem with the Macbook is the the edges of the Macbook is too sharp.

This post has been edited by sky80: Jul 5 2010, 10:36 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jul 5 2010, 10:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

am i the only person who likes the sharp edges? ;P
Voxe
post Jul 5 2010, 10:43 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

My biggest problem with it is the fact that closing the lid, scratches the damn laptop.
gurus
post Jul 5 2010, 11:44 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jul 5 2010, 10:43 PM)
My biggest problem with it is the fact that closing the lid, scratches the damn laptop.
Mind telling how u manage to scratch the lappy while closing the lid? hmm.gif
Voxe
post Jul 5 2010, 11:59 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

The edge of the screen sits on the palm rest of the Macbook when closed. You can see the frame of the screen/lid jutting out in this image.
gurus
post Jul 6 2010, 12:21 AM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jul 5 2010, 11:59 PM)
The edge of the screen sits on the palm rest of the Macbook when closed. You can see the frame of the screen/lid jutting out in this image.
icic...sorry i thought it was the mbp thats causing it blush.gif
Brasco
post Jul 6 2010, 12:52 AM

354 posts

Anyone using any screen protector for their macbook displays? Or anyone using any special products to clean the screen?
dvlzplayground
post Jul 6 2010, 01:12 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jul 5 2010, 11:59 PM)
eh isnt that part made out of rubber?
Voxe
post Jul 6 2010, 01:24 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 6 2010, 01:12 AM)
eh isnt that part made out of rubber?
Nope, plastic.
SUSLYW
post Jul 6 2010, 10:26 AM

197 posts

man this is slow. guys, can u tell me how much longer i have to wait for just to get my mbp 15?? i ordered it thru education store with my visa cc last night around 11pm. until now the product says not yet shipped =,=''. i cant stay at home too long just to wait for the arrival of the product seh. can i hurry them???
terence8
post Jul 6 2010, 10:35 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 6 2010, 10:26 AM)
man this is slow. guys, can u tell me how much longer i have to wait for just to get my mbp 15?? i ordered it thru education store with my visa cc last night around 11pm. until now the product says not yet shipped =,=''. i cant stay at home too long just to wait for the arrival of the product seh. can i hurry them???
it will take around 4-5 business day..as mine also the same..sat and sun not included ya..
CreamMilk
post Jul 6 2010, 10:53 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 6 2010, 10:26 AM)
Oh my god, you expect Apple to work after 11pm?? shakehead.gif
if you didn't do customization, usually it will be shipped within 24 hours, but that is "SHIPPED", not delivery, it might takes another 1-2 days for DHL to deliver it to your door step. But since you purchase from Education store, Apple might call you and ask you to email for verification (e.g. scan copy of Student ID, staff ID and etc.), which happens to me last week. So add up togther all these processes, you might need to wait 1 week+

For my case, I placed my Mac mini order last Monday with customization. It suppose to reach me today as I just tracked the shipment, it arrived KL this morning rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by CreamMilk: Jul 6 2010, 10:54 AM
xaw5126
post Jul 6 2010, 11:06 AM

3,488 posts

@LYW
there's a hotline number for you to call, so call and ask them to deliver to your office la.
SUSLYW
post Jul 6 2010, 11:11 AM

197 posts

wait, that means i can go out on sat and sunday, coz they wont deliver it on weekends??

126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:01 PM