4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

Ojimaru
post May 1 2010, 07:52 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(izact @ May 1 2010, 07:34 PM)
WTA : we all know that MAC OS is virus-free OS..but what if i opt to install windows on MAC..does it still vulnerable to the viruses and as such? this my first time using MAC OS..has anyone ever encountered crashes or corruption over MAC OS? i know windows always do..is it save for me to not have partitions rather than keeping my files on 1 partition?
Mac OSX is not virus-free or has flawless security.

As for Windows-based infections, it depends on the nature of the virus. E.g. if it exploits an EXE executable, then it won't affect OSX because the latter runs on a completely different framework. In most cases, your OSX system is safe.
Ojimaru
post May 2 2010, 12:13 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 2 2010, 12:01 AM)
Ok heres the thing remember in OSX not to put yourself as an ADMIN, make a separate Admin account and relegate your primary as a standard user,just in case someone wants to remotely control something.
This is a great tip if you don't trust the user to not open random attachments, visit unverified links, install random crap, etc. It's inconvenient, but safe.

There have been many security exploits for the OSX in recent years, mostly from Safari. But definitely nothing compared to Windows, of course.
Ojimaru
post May 4 2010, 10:27 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ May 4 2010, 05:26 AM)
Seriously mate? I'm planning to order the MBP 17 i7 next week. I've already read that it might have heat issues. I'd understand that if the laptop is under strain, but 15 mins of cafe world? I've never used mac in my life so i don't know if this is normal
Running any Flash programs is resource intensive and will cause ANY machine to heat up. The difference is that other brand laptops will use some ridiculously noisy fan to compensate for the heat. Laptops will always run into more heat issues than desktops due to the much smaller enclosure.
Ojimaru
post May 6 2010, 10:38 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(lancefire @ May 6 2010, 09:39 AM)
After using my new 13" mbp for one week, I must say that I have no regrets at all switching from Windows. This is one of the best IT purchases I've ever gotten. I'm still being surprised by what I can do with this machine. Customising the multitouch trackpad is a must.

However my battery life is only around 5 hours if I'm reading Google Reader on Chrome with iTunes with 50% brightness - far from the 10 hours battery life claim. I know that some are saying that it's due to flash. But how is browsing nowadays possible flash-free right? (Apple based their 10 hours on "light web browsing at 50% brightness") I wonder if my battery life is "normal"..
Get Flash Block and AdBlock for Chrome.

To date, the only computer device I've known to meet battery life claims (without need to bend over backwards) is the iPad (Wifi only). Multitasking (e.g. iTunes), using WiFi, viewing Flash, etc will reduce your battery life significantly. 5 hours is pretty normal and is what most reviewers have reported, where 8-9 hours is when you REALLY bend over.
Ojimaru
post May 6 2010, 11:30 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 6 2010, 11:11 AM)
Maybe try using other browser other than chrome like safari? Maybe chrome takes up much more memory compared to safari thus depleting your battery charge faster
Chrome is more lightweight than Safari, assuming both are running the same extensions. You could stretch it by claiming that Safari is optimised for OSX and thus more efficient, though I don't recall anybody reporting such.

Cool tip: with Chrome and Safari opened, go into Chrome's address/search bar and enter about:memory for browser comparison. Take this info with a grain of salt if you so wish.
Ojimaru
post May 6 2010, 03:24 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(olly @ May 6 2010, 02:26 PM)
did any comparison chart is showing which browser actually the most save energy???
i personal like opera... look like a lot ppl using chrome... just wondering is chrome better???
Wikipedia: Comparison of web browsers
I've switched from Firefox 3.6 to Chrome because the latter is less resource intensive, assuming no extensions are involved in either browser. Each Chrome tab is its own process, so if one (or more) crashes, it won't take the whole browser down with it. Chrome also allows you to create application shortcuts to websites. For example, I have Gmail as a separate application shortcut from the actual browser, so I don't need to worry about closing the tab or whatnot.

Opera loads pages faster, true. The browser essentially takes the contents of the website you're visiting, pre-render it in Opera's own servers, and feeds it back to your browser. But the main problem is that it strips SSL certifications from the sites, basically removing the security layer from secure sites, e.g. Gmail, online banking sites, etc.

QUOTE(shopaholic_1199 @ May 6 2010, 03:14 PM)
oh thanks for the info. by the way would u mind to show me the link of apple online store? cos i googled n i saw few. dono which one is the one that u said. sorry if i m too noob. noob+ computer idiot here.  sad.gif
Apple Online Store (Malaysia)

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: May 6 2010, 03:24 PM
Ojimaru
post May 6 2010, 06:27 PM

561 posts

SSD on a laptop is the ideal. While most HDDs have accelerometers and other safeguards, there will still be (minor) damage and wear when you move your laptop around and such. SSDs have no moving parts, reads very much faster, generates less heat and silent.

However, it'll be another 3-5 years before SSDs can match HDDs in size and cost.
Ojimaru
post May 7 2010, 10:04 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 7 2010, 01:38 AM)
me relative's one. saw it sometime back:
http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww88/je...n8/95730054.jpg

but i personally think this is the coolest but cant seem to find it anywhere:
http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww88/je...n8/956aef16.jpg
Gelaskins and Uniqueskins let you make custom skins for your devices.

QUOTE(mois @ May 7 2010, 08:12 AM)
hi guy, im considering to buy a laptop. Macpro come out of my mind. Is it worth to pay the price where i can get better laptop specs with that price? or just because it is an apple product where premium price must be paid like my iphone 3gs?
My tech guru Leo Laporte gave one of the best answers to this query last Sunday: get the machine that runs the programs you want. id est the best way we can help you decide is if you let us know what the main purpose of the laptop will be for.
Ojimaru
post May 7 2010, 12:58 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mois @ May 7 2010, 10:44 AM)
Im going to enter an university around october. So purpose would be gaming, assignment, normal usage n so on as a student. So i guess there will be no video editing and no some professional usages.
iWork (including Pages and Keynote) are way better than MS Office for assignment work. As for gaming, all of Blizzard's games are Windows and OSX compatible, Steam is coming to the OSX in May 12 and you can always Bootcamp into Windows 7; you won't have the ideal specs for quality gaming purposes, but that's an area best left to desktops.

For uni, I would also suggest investing in a mini-display to VGA adapter for presentations, etc. Otherwise the portability-to-power ratio of the 13" and even 15" Macbook Pro is tough to beat.
Ojimaru
post May 7 2010, 02:06 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 7 2010, 01:39 PM)
this is debatable... compatibility is very important for group projects n reports. i stick with microsoft office... 2010 even tongue.gif
What matters for group projects is the content, while you only need one person to do the formatting. If you're collaborating on content, Google Docs is king - or at least until Office 2010's web apps can prove otherwise.
Ojimaru
post May 7 2010, 04:04 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 7 2010, 02:30 PM)
for more complicated documents with diagrams (drawn in the word editor), equations (google docs isnt really good with this), then yes compatibility is important
Diagrams - Copy and paste in Google Doc's Drawing

Equations - I used to use MathType. But I hear you can use Grapher as an equation editor.

Ojimaru
post May 9 2010, 05:31 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ May 9 2010, 01:12 PM)
this is actually very subjective..i agree with  dvlzplayground..because most of the uni is using windows..therefore using iwork might be some problems in converting the format..but in terms of function which is better?
I still prefer iWork's UI over Office 2007. In my opinion, there are plenty of simple ways to work around the gap, without involving Office. So I suppose the unfortunate answer is that this is subject to personal preference.

My MBP 13.3 came with a dead pixel !!!

Return it and get it exchanged. It's not an uncommon defect in any LCD screen, sadly.
Ojimaru
post May 10 2010, 09:33 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 10 2010, 02:32 AM)
yeah most uni uses windows. i personally liked iWork alot better but the compatability issue has forced me to stick to microsoft office, if not there is no other way for me to publish my work. powerpoint doesnt support most of keynote's formate (ie. transitions and fonts). well unless of cos you publish them as a movie.  shocking.gif
iWork can save files as PDFs. This is assuming your institution accepts PDFs...

As for Keynote, I just bring my laptop to the presentation and hook it up to the VGA display/projector. I will, however, admit that it's SO much easier to fall into Keynote's trap of over-using transitions, which is never a good thing for professional presentations.
Ojimaru
post May 11 2010, 09:50 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ May 10 2010, 02:32 AM)
yeah most uni uses windows. i personally liked iWork alot better but the compatability issue has forced me to stick to microsoft office, if not there is no other way for me to publish my work. powerpoint doesnt support most of keynote's formate (ie. transitions and fonts). well unless of cos you publish them as a movie.  shocking.gif
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 10 2010, 06:42 PM)
but pdf how to further edit... tongue.gif

haha u're right with keynote. my recent presentations i just use PDF only if i dun need animations biggrin.gif
Saving to PDF is the final step. Nothing makes sense when you quote out of context.

QUOTE(realpesky @ May 11 2010, 04:09 AM)
hey guys, i ordered my macbook pro on friday online and the estimated delivery date is 13/5 to 19/5. really cant wait for it to reach my door steps.. my first mac =)

Added on May 11, 2010, 7:49 amguys, i've customized mine to the matte screen and i've read some reviews online that the colors on the matte screens seems washed out. anyone here using a matter screen. can you give me some feedback on it? i don't think i can change the settings as the order status now shows "prepared to be shipped". Just want to know the feedback though.. Thanks in advance
Matte screens are preferred by people who work around places with lots of sunlight. The colours aren't as vibrant as the glossy screen, but you'll get a better contrast ratio.
Ojimaru
post May 11 2010, 12:12 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 11 2010, 11:17 AM)
yea.. updated..

btw.. any of u guys feel that the screen of MBP is sometime too bright? as in when u see a photos.. it will be a lil bit over-exposed.. u guys get what i mean?
Glossy or matte screen? What ambient lighting condition? Have you used a screen calibrator?
Ojimaru
post May 11 2010, 12:54 PM

561 posts

My HP Presario C700 sure can't. :/

---
May 11, 2010 12:26 Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia Processed -
ZOMG~!
---

Does anybody here use palm guards? Are they of any help on a 2010 MBP?

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: May 11 2010, 04:52 PM
Ojimaru
post May 12 2010, 05:20 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ May 12 2010, 05:11 PM)
May 11, 2010   18:31   Shanghai - China, People's Republic   Departed from facility - Shanghai - China, People's Republic
May 11, 2010   18:31   Shanghai - China, People's Republic   Processed - Shanghai - China, People's Republic
May 11, 2010   17:38   Shanghai - China, People's Republic   Shipment picked up - Shanghai - China, People's Republic

eh. Guys. How come mine shipped from china wan? Some get it from Singapore right?what's the difference actually. Any idea how long more it will take to arrive? By the way. Thanks for the feedback on the screen. I guess I'll have to stick with the matte screen since my order has already been processed. Just in case I really hate the matte one, is it possible for me to return and change to the glossy one?
All Macbooks are assembled in China. You can find the ETA of your Macbook in the email confirmation Apple sent you. Once it reaches Malaysia, it'll then depend on which company delivers the package. DHL was super fast for me: 12pm processed, 2pm received.

And I don't recall Apple having a return policy for such changes.
Ojimaru
post May 13 2010, 06:22 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ May 12 2010, 08:14 PM)
well..personally not really, because i don't really know a lot people who use mac..but i seen all these probs in apple byte here..i seen a few people that they have to send back the shipment and wait for few weeks for replacement and stuff..wouldn't it be troublesome?
Think of what you just said and contrast that with Windows PC/laptops. Now think of the customer service provided by Windows PC/laptop vendors. Let me know if you think the general situation is really SO much better Apple's.

QUOTE(Qubezo @ May 12 2010, 11:37 PM)
Do you guys have any rubber below your MacBook? Coz I feel annoyed everytime when I place my MacBook onto other surfaces the thud sound is heard. It's just so pain haha.
Wei, be gentle lah.

QUOTE(keepme88 @ May 13 2010, 03:27 AM)
hi..my macbook arrived ysterday..13" base model..
jst now, i've try coconut battery 2.6.6..the charge capacity is ok, but i wonder why my macbook age is 5 weeks..since it arrived ysterday, n i made my order on 7 may..jst a week past..my model is a custom model(320gb)
anyone hve any idea?? here my screenshot..
They probably installed the OS 5 weeks ago. That's my best guess.
Ojimaru
post May 13 2010, 10:10 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ May 13 2010, 07:33 PM)
is it better just placing the order online or call them?
my 1st time thinking about mac. i used my friend's mbp once and got poisoned tongue.gif
With Incognito mode (or similar Private Browsing functions) and a private internet network (not open WiFi), it's much safer to order online. It's also a better experience for customising your order, should you want to. If you're unsure what you want, you can ask here or call Apple's switchboard.
Ojimaru
post May 14 2010, 02:26 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(LAZZIBaoY @ May 14 2010, 02:22 PM)
how much is the Macbook Pro 15 inch with 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 processor sold here in Malaysia?

And what is the price difference between 2.53GHz and  2.4GHz spec?
http://store.apple.com/my/

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:03 AM