iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread
jonest
Jun 8 2010, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(yezhacolic @ Jun 8 2010, 03:02 PM) I believe there is blackmarket in SG. Something like lowyat plaza. But then have to pay more of course. Or else find for SG forum will work as well. As said, some people does not want the phone, just aiming for the contract. Either way works fine.  It's not really blackmarket larr... it's sold off by those phone dealers....
mrportable
Jun 8 2010, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 03:03 PM) @s3an_looi, You must not know stringfellow very well; he's been one of the few pioneers here who's very helpful; doing tumpang threads. Plus I don't think he's aiming to be the first around here to get one; though it'll be nice  wats the point to be the first in LYN
hihihehe
Jun 8 2010, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 04:57 PM) @stringfellow, Lol... But I thought you'd always been generous with us here. Alrighty then, U know my email/phone number/IM so muAHaahHAhahAHahahA whatever entails, don't forget me. I now only hope the AU units will be launched early Jul cause I've someone coming back (from Perth though) on 15 Jul - let's see how it rolls  Vodafone Australia stated it will be coming in weeks.. but i saw some article that Telstra & Vodafone will bring it at end of July...
stringfellow
LOL, read my post history, I've always helped others but my efforts are always misconstrued as something else, or worse, insinuated and thwarted by jealous and spiteful individuals. Since then, I keep my REAL friends closer to me, as I have learned (the hard way) that only when you keep REAL friends close to you, you SHARE the beneficial rewards and able to depend on each other. The rest are just "in for the ride", taking advantage of me, or "buy and forget". These kinds of folks are the ones I'd rather avoid than share ANYTHING with them. I also keep tabs on those who have insinuated or just plain trash-talked on me in the past. Why should I help those who have stabbed me in the back before? So yes, s3an_looi, if that makes me pitiful, I'd rather not be anything else. To the rest who knows me and I'm glad to have you as a friend, you know where my loyalty and friendship lies. @Tink, I may end up having to call favours with you. Seeing how you have someone residing "there". I'd be glad to offer my service as postmen. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 03:17 PM
tinkerbel
Fanaddict!
@yezhacolic, Yes I know what you mean, but still.. I rather get mine officially from an Apple Store
yezhacolic
Jun 8 2010, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 03:06 PM) @yezhacolic, Yes I know what you mean, but still.. I rather get mine officially from an Apple Store  From apple store online or? As far as i concern, you will need to sign contract with AT&T in order to get the phone. Saw this heading in the webby.. " Select your iPhone, then choose your AT&T rate plan." for the lulz.
stringfellow
Jun 8 2010, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 03:03 PM) @s3an_looi, You must not know stringfellow very well; he's been one of the few pioneers here who's very helpful; doing tumpang threads. Plus I don't think he's aiming to be the first around here to get one; though it'll be nice  Exactly! It's the fun in communing with like-minded people during launches like these which intrigues me, the iPhone itself everyone else can get if you do enough research and legwork finding things out. Plus, WTF! Australia is not even FIRST, the American are. If I am THAT kiasu, I'd just get someone from work get me one in LA and claim "FIRST! 1st!!!!oneone!" here.  Edit: Retweeted Maxis's most recent tweet on my twitter feed about iPhone 4. Same info as I've posted before, Q3 2010. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 03:13 PM
andrewtho
Jun 8 2010, 03:14 PM
I wonder how much will iPhone 4 will cost :/
tinkerbel
Jun 8 2010, 03:14 PM
Fanaddict!
@mrportable, No one is aiming to be the first; it's not like U win some kinda prize or something lah !  @hihihehe, End July?! Damn... so late meh?!  @stringfellow, No problemos - that's what friends are for; plus let's keep our fingers crossed the dates will be as perfect a match as it was in 2009  @yezhacolic, Yes official Apple Store; in Australia/NZ that is
SSJBen
Jun 8 2010, 03:16 PM
I'm liking the IPS display on the iPhone4. I thought they'd go with AMOLED, but squeezing the IPS panel into the iPhone4 commands some respect there.
tinkerbel
Jun 8 2010, 03:16 PM
Fanaddict!
@andrewtho, Your guess is as good as mine but I'll say it'll be around the same price as when i3GS was launched
hussain
Jun 8 2010, 03:18 PM
hey guys...its exciting times again isn't it.Feels like being born again ha ha ha..Anyways just wanna get some info from you good folks.When a t and t say no commitment fee cost USD 699...does that mean it's unlock? What else is required? is there a contract to sign..my cousin is bringing down for me but wanna help him get those info as he is not quite into phones...please advice guys
This post has been edited by hussain: Jun 8 2010, 03:20 PM
SUSs3an_looi
Jun 8 2010, 03:19 PM
@stringfellow: I apologize for judging you based on that one post. Let's move on and continue this discussion on this amazing product.
skool87
Jun 8 2010, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(hussain @ Jun 8 2010, 03:18 PM) hey guys...its exciting times again isn't it.Feels like being bor n again ha ha ha..Anyways just wanna get some info from you good folks.When a t and t say no commitment fee cost USD 699...does that mean it's unlock? What else is required? is there a contract to sign..my cousin is bringing down for me but wanna help him get those info as he is not quite into phones...please advice guys maybe u cousin can bring a few also..
tinkerbel
Jun 8 2010, 03:20 PM
Fanaddict!
@hussain, No commitment fees only means there's no plan / contract you're tied to - it doesn't mean the phone is unlocked and as far as I know, all USA phones remain officially locked! @s3an_looi, Lol.... ah well.. if you're new around here we dont' blame U
yezhacolic
Jun 8 2010, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(hussain @ Jun 8 2010, 03:18 PM) hey guys...its exciting times again isn't it.Feels like being born again ha ha ha..Anyways just wanna get some info from you good folks.When a t and t say no commitment fee cost USD 699...does that mean it's unlock? What else is required? is there a contract to sign..my cousin is bringing down for me but wanna help him get those info as he is not quite into phones...please advice guys Bringing back from where dude? I dont think it will be unlocked.
hussain
Jun 8 2010, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(skool87 @ Jun 8 2010, 03:20 PM) maybe u cousin can bring a few also..  wish he could...he aint a seller if u know what i mean
beavis68
Jun 8 2010, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 8 2010, 03:06 PM) LOL, read my post history, I've always helped others but my efforts are always misconstrued as something else, or worse, insinuated and thwarted by jealous and spiteful individuals. Since then, I keep my REAL friends closer to me, as I have learned (the hard way) that only when you keep REAL friends close to you, you SHARE the beneficial rewards and able to depend on each other. The rest are just "in for the ride", taking advantage of me, or "buy and forget". These kinds of folks are the ones I'd rather avoid than share ANYTHING with them. I also keep tabs on those who have insinuated or just plain trash-talked on me in the past. Why should I help those who have stabbed me in the back before? So yes, s3an_looi, if that makes me pitiful, I'd rather not be anything else. To the rest who knows me and I'm glad to have you as a friend, you know where my loyalty and friendship lies. @Tink, I may end up having to call favours with you. Seeing how you have someone residing "there". I'd be glad to offer my service as postmen.  i agreed with your statement. @string, i have 2ppl standby in sydney, incase u need it. (but u got to be the postman lar)
SUSs3an_looi
I have been really excited about this phone ever since I heard of it early this year. It has been a long wait but sadly it's really tough to get it at launch. I just hope the price isn't jacked up too much.
prasys
Heros Never Die
Bah nothing new and it seems to be the biggest hype ever. I think I am going to sell iPhone 3G and move to Android. The reason why is that I dont see anything fascinating with it. Video calls which can't even be used over our 3G network.
I think Android might be the way to go from now. I might have gotten an unit myself if it had extras but then nothing is new apart from the new 5MP camera + flash + iMovie + larger resolution. Sorry Apple , you'll be losing me. A lot of apps yes but then I thought I would get more from it as in like front facing camera , ability to video chat with friends via 3G and not to mention to chat with iChat users/MSN (not sure if Apple is going to open up that). But giving up apps and the nice interface for something umm that well I'll have to think more about it. I guess I'll pass for now