iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

stringfellow
post Apr 9 2010, 09:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The "listen to music" and "make phone calls" refer to the Pandora FM and Skype apps, not the built in phone or iPod app. With both cases of Pandora and Skype, once you skip to Home menu, you basically drop out of these apps, essentially closing them.

Watch the Keynote carefully.
stringfellow
post Apr 9 2010, 10:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Alviano @ Apr 9 2010, 10:10 PM)
Steve did mentioned that "will be shipped in Summer" or something like that.

I wonder if they are selling it. =P A new OS, where you have to buy from store or online to install.  Just wild guess.  Check the conference, he did mentioned about shipping.

Maybe I missunderstand the term used.
I have the podcast with me, and he mention "releasing it this summer", not "shipping". "Shipping" may imply that the new OS comes with a new iPhone, but that is not what Steve says in the Keynote.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 12:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Moving past the petty squabbles we're seeing here, I've read July 18th as the possible date for AUS launch. But looking at the calendar, it's a Sunday, and historically, no iPhone launch has ever been on a Sunday.

I've requested and blocked my roster for next month on the last three Friday-Sunday days, namely 15-17th/22-24th/29-31st for the estimated AUS launch. If I can, I'll even line up.

I'll post another post after this, just got an MMS from my bro in Maxis, screenshot of the FAQ for frontliners in Maxis for their iPhone 4 plans.

EDIt: Meh. Not much of infos on the screenshot FAQ, only tangible info is that Maxis will be launching in "Quarter 3, 2010", which is codename for September.

Fumjusta, where are you bro? Care to shed some light into this? Your senior just sent me the FAQ screenies. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 12:19 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 12:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 8 2010, 12:16 PM)
Thats interesting, i wonder if they'll post this up in their website
They wont, it's internal memo only, distributed so that they can at least arm their frontliners with some form of response should customers starts questioning them on the new iPhone. More like the standard response you'll get when you call Streamyx for package deals or when troubleshooting crappy connections. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 12:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jun 8 2010, 12:22 PM)
Grrrr....DiGi so quiet today...no updates sad.gif
you're part of the "Unlucky" 15. What's your take on the iPhone 4? Want one? Priority first to the folks who stayed and believed in me last time. smile.gif

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 8 2010, 12:22 PM)
haha, i thought they'd have some sort of a new page on iphone 4 on their site just like the DIgi teasers a few months back, ah well the wait continues.
Not until Apple releases more information on how the international rollout will be. What's better this time is the waiting period is more stomachable/managable than the last iPhone launch. Plus there's always Singapore and/or Hong Kong, on the same release date, no less. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 12:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jun 8 2010, 12:37 PM)
wah..abang string sudah sampai ke iphone thread....lama stuck kat apple byte... tongue.gif

well looking for digi and maxis to i think we have to wait till end of july or early august...untill then there wont much updated yet...anyway its good to know that maxis already launch micro-sim..so hoping there would release first...lets see how it goes...
LOL, not gonna be posting much, the gist of it will be where you see me post most: Twitter. Just stay tuned there to see where the upcoming Tumpang is heading.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 12:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 8 2010, 12:45 PM)
haha so fast u tukar avatar? so i guess its the black one for you eh?
Quite right. tongue.gif Now both sides(front and back panel) of the iPhone 4 needs screen protectors, since they're both glass! I don't mind both, white looks nice too.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 12:50 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 01:31 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 01:24 PM)
@stringfellow,
I want I want I want! I've always stood by U
*serenades to Stand By You*

@shanecross,
It'll probably be the same price as the current i3GS.
LOL for you my dear, anything! wub.gif I still remember our 3G[S] experience. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 01:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

AT&T is reporting a no-commitment price of USD699 for the 32GB iPhone 4 on their webpage. The same price they've posted on their webpage during the 3G[S] for the folks who are not eligible for upgrade. Looking at this price level, and the slight premium the Australian iPhones should be as per the last 3G[S] launch, it should be in line with the last tiered pricing, namely RM2900-3000 for the 32GB iPhone 4 and RM2500-2600 for the 16GB model.

stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 01:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@warlockimran

Errrr,...thanks for the re-quote? tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 02:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 01:58 PM)
@stringfellow,
I hope we don't haf to go through the same "heart attack" but you're usually more kan cheong than I am so hehehhehe we'll see where the opportunities are for 2010 smile.gif

Hmm.. no commitment USD699 - but that doesn't translate to the phone being "unlocked"!
American (in fact all the 5 first wave countries) iPhones are locked. Reason that table and its content is posted is because that pricetag is used as a datum to gauge the expected price. The same pricetag was stickered on the 3G[S] last time, so expect the same pricetag this time. The only variable here is the currency exchange. Pray AUD drops in value come July. tongue.gif

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 8 2010, 01:59 PM)
I want one too!! Hahaha.. tinkerbel will pay for mine tongue.gif
What!!? I want Tink to pay for mine too! cry.gif tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 02:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jun 8 2010, 02:39 PM)
Don't so stingy laa.. I didn't like the iPhone previously for lack of some things, now I think it's complete tongue.gif Thanks tinkerbel! tongue.gif When is it arriving?

Bro string, what's the story now to get it in? Unlocked or "unlocked" ???
Australian iPhones are always officially unlocked. You just have to know where to get them.

I'm keeping my plans on getting one close to my chest, except to the close few who I can trust. Have to keep some things to myself so that others don't steal the opportunity to get one. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 02:55 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 03:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LOL, read my post history, I've always helped others but my efforts are always misconstrued as something else, or worse, insinuated and thwarted by jealous and spiteful individuals. Since then, I keep my REAL friends closer to me, as I have learned (the hard way) that only when you keep REAL friends close to you, you SHARE the beneficial rewards and able to depend on each other. The rest are just "in for the ride", taking advantage of me, or "buy and forget". These kinds of folks are the ones I'd rather avoid than share ANYTHING with them.

I also keep tabs on those who have insinuated or just plain trash-talked on me in the past. Why should I help those who have stabbed me in the back before?

So yes, s3an_looi, if that makes me pitiful, I'd rather not be anything else. To the rest who knows me and I'm glad to have you as a friend, you know where my loyalty and friendship lies.

@Tink,

I may end up having to call favours with you. Seeing how you have someone residing "there". I'd be glad to offer my service as postmen. blush.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 03:17 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 03:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 03:03 PM)
@s3an_looi,
You must not know stringfellow very well; he's been one of the few pioneers here who's very helpful; doing tumpang threads.

Plus I don't think he's aiming to be the first around here to get one; though it'll be nice tongue.gif
Exactly! It's the fun in communing with like-minded people during launches like these which intrigues me, the iPhone itself everyone else can get if you do enough research and legwork finding things out. Plus, WTF! Australia is not even FIRST, the American are. If I am THAT kiasu, I'd just get someone from work get me one in LA and claim "FIRST! 1st!!!!oneone!" here. shakehead.gif

Edit: Retweeted Maxis's most recent tweet on my twitter feed about iPhone 4. Same info as I've posted before, Q3 2010.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 8 2010, 03:13 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 03:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Jun 8 2010, 03:19 PM)
@stringfellow: I apologize for judging you based on that one post. Let's move on and continue this discussion on this amazing product.
No problems. smile.gif

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jun 8 2010, 03:22 PM)
i agreed with your statement.

@string, i have 2ppl standby in sydney, incase u need it. (but u got to be the postman lar)  tongue.gif
Awesome! More options are always welcomed. One person standing by in Melbourne, 2 in Sydney, and I'll head to Apple Store Brisbane Chermside if I have to. If luck is on our side, the Apple Store in Perth may be completed just in time for the iPhone 4 launch. Fingers crossed! rclxms.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 03:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 8 2010, 03:51 PM)
@honoreric,
Yes it'll be locked!

@stringfellow,
Oh.. got Apple Store in Perth - great.. so at least now we have another contact there too! 

SiGh.. Y do we always have to go through this on a yearly basis - ish! tongue.gif
Because Apple refuse to acknowledge Malaysia as a viable market. At least bring Malaysia up to par with Singapore, as a second-tier market. Until that happens, and revenues starts making them take note of the seriousness of Malaysians with thair Apple-related products, it will always be like this. On a yearly basis.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 07:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I suggest the TS of this thread try and collect all the valuable infos related to the topic title in the form of an FAQ before it gets drowned in the sea of one-liners and irrelevant content. Otherwise we'll just the same thing that happens last time during the iPhone 3G, repeated questions and answers of the same thing.

I myself will refrain from posting irrelevant nonsense so that the thread does not degenerate into mere Kopitiam-style posting. Let's keep that banality in its own allocated space.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 07:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Caveat Emptor @ Jun 8 2010, 07:10 PM)
Up to you, nimrod said it would void your warranty if anything happens to the phone and you cant fix it and you are not a developer.
Anyway to download the GM release you need a dev account. Or you could find a torrent. Anyway, the gm release does not require a uuid so normal users can upgrade. The gm release should be safe as they are probably gonna release the same build to the public on the 21st.
To add further to the caveat emptor tongue.gif, you also need iTunes 9.2 which is not available anywhere but in the dev section. And iTunes 9.2 is only available on Mac OS X at the time of writing of this post. One dev posted on Macrumors caught off guard on this fact after upgrading his iPhone to the GM release on his MAc, and tries to sync on his Windows computer where all his media content reside. iTunes 9.1.x will only spew incompatibility popups if you do so.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 07:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(prototype_x0 @ Jun 8 2010, 07:15 PM)
one thing that i would like to ask, if anyone knows the answer

how about the micro-sim? iphone 4 support only micro sim which we all definitely need to change our sim card, and since maxis and digi will be officially bring it to our shore, how about the rest of the telco? im using celcom right now, does anybody did celcom have micro sim?
Only Celcom knows the answer. Most if not all the microsim in the market right now in Malaysia are used for data packages, bundled with USB modems. Once iPhone arrives, the two already supporting telco will have them in place. As for Celcom you can always mutilate it and use it in the iPhone. If you need to reuse it on another phone with normal sim slot, I can guarantee you that by the time that happens, the market will be flooded with microsim-to-normal-sim adapters that you can get for RM10.

This isnt an issue worth getting worried after IMO.
stringfellow
post Jun 8 2010, 07:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The keynote will come from Apple in the form of a video podcast. Subscribe to it on iTunes for free and it'll download itself automatically when Apple post it online.

0.0380sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:33 AM