dxjb
post Apr 14 2010, 03:36 AM

807 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Apr 13 2010, 11:48 PM)
Just wonder, is B'yond using the exact same type of cable as compare to current decoder?
Wah, if really need to change the cable, then messy again, from roof to hall ...... rclxub.gif
I tried asking TallJustin the Astro tech guy bout this
He said, signal lost depends on a number of factors and not just the cable
He said no need to worry about changing cables because Byond works perfectly fine with old cable
If u have serious and continuous problems yes probably could call up Astro and ask for assistance

Added on April 14, 2010, 3:42 amQash-M,

Is it true ur signal problem occurs during afternoons only?
Well my grandparents Astro had a similar problem
After 7pm right until the next morning around 7am, some channels would not be available and some will have bad signal
Like channel 103,501,502 would have signal problems..119 would go blank all together..
I called Astro for assistance and the tech guy came..
What happened was that the dish had slightly changed direction..
Means moved a bit..
So the installer came and fixed it without taking any service charge..coz he said it wasnt a matter of changing stuff
So maybe ur facing the same problem
Dont go changing cables coz it wont guarantee ur problem will be solved

This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 14 2010, 03:43 AM
smileguy
post Apr 14 2010, 06:24 AM

3,147 posts

Losing signal is included in our package ! I lose complete signal most of the time around 12.40pm to 12.55pm. then 5.45pm to 6pm hmm.gif Most of the time I look outside as you all know ours is also a weather detector.Unfortunately its so clear outside. I rather live like this then to call the silly CS,pls dont call it wld turn into a nightmare, try to get used to it. If only all of us watch 24hhs we may discover more blunders. The scientists wld of course say solar outrage....ass is a complicated thing! drool.gif
zonan4
post Apr 14 2010, 08:07 AM

561 posts

hmmmmm maybe try changing setting inside beyaond decoder... all SIFU pls help them I already forgot how to change satellite setting

This post has been edited by zonan4: Apr 14 2010, 08:08 AM
TSapexg2
post Apr 14 2010, 08:45 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

MAYBE CAN REFER TO OLDER POST

Qash-M
post Apr 14 2010, 09:37 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 14 2010, 03:36 AM)

Added on April 14, 2010, 3:42 amQash-M,

Is it true ur signal problem occurs during afternoons only?
Well my grandparents Astro had a similar problem
After 7pm  right until the next morning around 7am, some channels would not be available and some will have bad signal
Like channel 103,501,502 would have signal problems..119 would go blank all together..
I called Astro for assistance and the tech guy came..
What happened was that the dish had slightly changed direction..
Means moved a bit..
So the installer came and fixed it without taking any service charge..coz he said it wasnt a matter of changing stuff
So maybe ur facing the same problem
Dont go changing cables coz it wont guarantee ur problem will be solved
Ok. I did make a report about it. Then i realized that when i take old copper wire i put over the dish, the problem solved. So, what other excuses i have too?

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 14 2010, 12:51 PM
klseet
post Apr 14 2010, 03:05 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 14 2010, 03:36 AM)
I tried asking TallJustin the Astro tech guy bout this
He said, signal lost depends on a number of factors and not just the cable
He said no need to worry about changing cables because Byond works perfectly fine with old cable
If u have serious and continuous problems yes probably could call up Astro and ask for assistance
But the Astro dealer is advising me to change it since the current one "quality might not be as good due to aging", furthermore is FREE 20m now ..... unsure.gif
That's why I'm actually worrying now and been trying to see where & how the cable can come into hall "nicely".... imagine the cable run across the hall sweat.gif

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 14 2010, 06:24 AM)
Losing signal is included in our package ! .....
Is it ? Under which package er?! Can "unsubscribe" or not ?! tongue.gif
This is good one!! biggrin.gif
dxjb
post Apr 14 2010, 03:23 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Apr 14 2010, 03:05 PM)
But the Astro dealer is advising me to change it since the current one "quality might not be as good due to aging", furthermore is FREE 20m now ..... unsure.gif
That's why I'm actually worrying now and been trying to see where & how the cable can come into hall "nicely".... imagine the cable run across the hall sweat.gif
Yes..I know its free and probably the quality might be better but most of us have experienced Byond and HD with old cable
No problems if u prefer to hack ur walls and ceiling to replace ur old cables with new ones
But rest assured most of us have lived perfectly fine watching HD with the old cable
I would probably suggest to u to change the cables if u are very worried about quality
U should probably ask TallJustin about the tech stuffs such as cables and signal quality since he is an Astro tech guy
He would definitely have the better advice for u than the Astro dealer ur in contact with

klseet
post Apr 14 2010, 03:55 PM

130 posts

To TallJustin,

Can you share some technical experience in terms of old Vs new cable for the B'yond?

- My current cable was concealed when I moved in about 6 years ago.
- Except for the usual raining black-out no image problem, so far my Astro has no problem at all.

I can understand the advantage of new cable but I don't think it will be conceal again due to messy work involved....
But is it ok if the new cable is not conceal ? blink.gif

While I'm writing this, I just received an SMS and the installer confirm will come over tomorrow morning to install rclxms.gif
I ask him the same question, he said better change and he said ok if unconceal.....

Too excited now drool.gif tonight probably insomnia until morning..... tongue.gif
AjkR06
post Apr 14 2010, 04:19 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Apr 14 2010, 03:55 PM)

Too excited now drool.gif  tonight probably insomnia until morning..... tongue.gif
you're same with me...
i also got "insomnia" when installer called me to install the byond...
but, my "insomnia" has gone only about 1 weeks after byond installation..
for now, I feels boring with most of the repeated shows on HD channels....
TSapexg2
post Apr 14 2010, 04:27 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

haha...then ur insomnea cured oledi ar..
chuppachop
post Apr 14 2010, 05:17 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(sufian89 @ Apr 12 2010, 08:56 AM)
i just open HBO asia website and pick a country/language : Malaysia,
it shows 3 channel HBO, Cinemax & Screen RED. Does it mean we will get new channel or they want to show their new "family member" ??  rclxub.gif

BTW, anyone watch The International yesterday on HBO HD?? Got subtitle or not?
Very interesting forum! Am across the causeway and chance upon this forum while searching the terms "ESPN HD" on the net.

f.y.i. Chinese Subtitles [Simplified characters] is available on HBO HD here.....it should be available depending if Astro wants to turn it on....there could be Malay Subts too.

Also,

HISTORY HD - Chinese Subtitles [Traditional characters]
Discovery HD World - no subtitles here cos Starhub took the fiber optic feed from the HQ here but understand there is Chinese Subts while watchin' in a friend's home in HK

not sure how to post pixs here.....so hope this helps.

cheers!
kayly
post Apr 14 2010, 05:28 PM

68 posts

sometime i prefer there should be english subtitle too becoz ocasionally, we are not able to catch up the english dialect..
AjkR06
post Apr 14 2010, 07:16 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kayly @ Apr 14 2010, 05:28 PM)
sometime i prefer there should be english subtitle too becoz ocasionally, we are not able to catch up the english dialect..
and also, we can learn English easily... biggrin.gif
TallJustin
post Apr 14 2010, 08:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Apr 14 2010, 03:55 PM)
To TallJustin,

Can you share some technical experience in terms of old Vs new cable for the B'yond?

- My current cable was concealed when I moved in about 6 years ago.
- Except for the usual raining black-out no image problem, so far my Astro has no problem at all.

I can understand the advantage of new cable but I don't think it will be conceal again due to messy work involved....
But is it ok if the new cable is not conceal ? blink.gif

While I'm writing this, I just received an SMS and the installer confirm will come over tomorrow morning to install rclxms.gif
I ask him the same question, he said better change and he said ok if unconceal.....

Too excited now drool.gif  tonight probably insomnia until morning..... tongue.gif

Sorry guys been really busy & it ain't stopping, on top of work my wife is going to deliver our first born tomorrow (induced)

So to quickly answer you.

Get the installed to check first hand. Don't use concealled. You don't know if it's spilt or broken or damaged.

Give me a few weeks to settle things down & I'll return to being a regular on here & updating my blog
cheers
klseet
post Apr 14 2010, 09:38 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Apr 14 2010, 08:47 PM)
Sorry guys been really busy & it ain't stopping, on top of work my wife is going to deliver our first born tomorrow (induced)

So to quickly answer you.

Get the installed to check first hand. Don't use concealled. You don't know if it's spilt or broken or damaged.

Give me a few weeks to settle things down & I'll return to being a regular on here & updating my blog
cheers
No worry bro, family matters always come first!
Congratulation in advance, cheers! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 14 2010, 04:19 PM)
you're same with me...
i also got "insomnia" when installer called me to install the byond...
but, my "insomnia" has gone only about 1 weeks after byond installation..
for now, I  feels boring with most of the repeated shows on HD channels....
It's good to have some kind of excitement once in a while, especially after so many years on the current Astro.....
I think my excitement will continue for a while, at least I was told even the SD channels are better than old one, also the up-coming worldcup!! thumbup.gif
Qash-M
post Apr 14 2010, 09:47 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Apr 14 2010, 09:38 PM)
It's good to have some kind of excitement once in a while, especially after so many years on the current Astro.....
I think my excitement will continue for a while, at least I was told even the SD channels are better than old one, also the up-coming worldcup!! thumbup.gif
H.264 magic. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 14 2010, 09:50 PM
kayly
post Apr 14 2010, 09:56 PM

68 posts

my installer was using the new cable together with the old one due to my unit is quite far from my dish but i still enjoy hd quality on my plasma tv without any lack of the quality.
whatsupbro
post Apr 14 2010, 09:58 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Apr 14 2010, 08:47 PM)
my wife is going to deliver our first born tomorrow (induced)

Congratz bro.. biggrin.gif
neb
post Apr 14 2010, 11:06 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(kayly @ Apr 14 2010, 09:56 PM)
my installer was using the new cable together with the old one due to my unit is quite far from my dish but i still enjoy hd quality on my plasma tv without any lack of the quality.
cable join will deteriorate satellite signal over time, using one piece cable is better thumbup.gif
RAMChYLD
post Apr 14 2010, 11:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 14 2010, 05:17 PM)
Very interesting forum!  Am across the causeway and chance upon this forum while searching the terms "ESPN HD"  on the net.

f.y.i. Chinese Subtitles [Simplified characters] is available on HBO HD here.....it should be available depending if Astro wants to turn it on....there could be Malay Subts too.

Also,

HISTORY HD - Chinese Subtitles [Traditional characters]
Discovery HD World - no subtitles here cos Starhub took the fiber optic feed from the HQ here but understand there is Chinese Subts while watchin' in a friend's home in HK

not sure how to post pixs here.....so hope this helps.

cheers!
You Singaporeans have it good. You guys have Discovery HD among many other things. We dun even have Discovery HD....

And oh, our HBO HD is one-hour-delayed for no good reasons (I do not consider censorship a good reason). At least you guys get HBO HD "live".

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 14 2010, 11:13 PM

108 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:36 PM