HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

g5sim
post Nov 25 2010, 03:10 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 22 2010, 04:56 PM)
That's a very organised mess !
Yeah, during pre-HDMI days, I was actually looking at Onkyo's HTIBs. They were very well recommended but couldn't find them anywhere here.  sad.gif
Pioneer Infinity from SenQ. DTS HD MA and DD True HD supported. Comes with VSX520K AVR

RM2600 after discount.

http://www.senheng.com.my/senq/20101102/FA...over_NOV10.html

http://www.pioneermalaysia.com.my/product_details.php?id=385

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 25 2010, 03:12 AM
SUSchokia
post Nov 25 2010, 05:45 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Wow so generous of pioneer to throw in free speakers.

calvin_ng
post Nov 25 2010, 09:49 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

nice stuff

ahem... has been added to my wish list kekeke
jutamind
post Nov 25 2010, 10:06 AM

2,429 posts

when you connect dell zino hd to your lcd, can you see the words from your browser/desktop in the lcd clearly?

as mentioned before, i have a pc to tv converter connecting my laptop to crt to watch movies, but the words are barely readable in the crt tv.
calvin_ng
post Nov 25 2010, 10:55 AM

1,583 posts

CRT will not display clearly no matter what resolution you throw at them it is the limitation of CRT TV

LCD yes provided you match the LCD TV native resolution...
jutamind
post Nov 25 2010, 11:04 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 25 2010, 10:55 AM)
CRT will not display clearly no matter what resolution you throw at them it is the limitation of CRT TV

LCD yes provided you match the LCD TV native resolution...
LCD native resolution is 1920x1200?

calvin_ng
post Nov 25 2010, 11:05 AM

1,583 posts

your CRT has a reso so high... are you sure??
jutamind
post Nov 25 2010, 11:07 AM

2,429 posts

i'm asking what's the lcd native resolution?

my crt...no idea what's the native resolution...i tried to change my laptop resolution from 1920 to 1600 to all the way down to 800, still not clear. could be like what you said....crt is not meant to be connected with computers.

but watching movies is really not too bad.
calvin_ng
post Nov 25 2010, 11:39 AM

1,583 posts

LCD depend on what LCD TV lah you need to refer to manual

my sony Bravia is 1366x768
jchue73
post Nov 25 2010, 07:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 25 2010, 11:39 AM)
LCD depend on what LCD TV lah you need to refer to manual

my sony Bravia is 1366x768
Any reason why you got a canggih HTPC when you're only running a HD ready TV?

Or is a Full HD TV in the works? thumbup.gif

Added on November 25, 2010, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 25 2010, 03:10 AM)
Pioneer Infinity from SenQ. DTS HD MA and DD True HD supported. Comes with VSX520K AVR

RM2600 after discount.
Arrgh ! Thanks for the poison. rclxub.gif Will take a look at it.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 25 2010, 07:32 PM
calvin_ng
post Nov 26 2010, 08:08 AM

1,583 posts

well why I got a changgih htpc but use 720p TV simple actually...

1. my TV is only 32" and this size is perfect for my small apartment... a little bigger and my neck will be quite tiring panning left and right (you know what I mean)

2. 720p resolution for 32" is just nice big enough to read any higher resolution like 1080p the display will be too small to read on 32" TV

3. Most of the Internet streaming content is in 720p and if you wanted to stream 1080p movies you need 30+ mbps line...

4. Playing games at 720p is 40fps if you play at 1080p your frame rate will be lets see 10fps... how to play... then you need i7 pc as HTPC...

5. it is the cheapest 32" then (got promo so I buy kekeke)

SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2010, 08:26 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

You forgot no.6, IPhone also can record video up to 720p only mah

Hehe
calvin_ng
post Nov 26 2010, 09:15 AM

1,583 posts

my iphone is 3gs.... cannot hahahaha so I decided to exclude no.6 until I get iphone 4 kekekeke
mirakim
post Dec 2 2010, 12:08 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 24 2010, 03:15 PM)
how long for delivery?
less than 1 weeks..they send twice..1st the logitech keyboard..than the complete unit..
jutamind
post Dec 2 2010, 01:14 PM

2,429 posts

anyone connected dell zino HD to 40" lcd tv before? will the words appear to be too small on the lcd tv? or need to lower the resolution in dell to show bigger fonts?
mrgekko81
post Dec 2 2010, 01:19 PM

I am also tempted to try the Zino but a quick search online states that there is a overheating issue under usage (playing BD or just some HD content), some even start to overheat in 15 minutes, effects of that are hdd failures and screens that goes blank. So i was just wondering how was the Zino performing under our weather?

pOlipOng
post Dec 2 2010, 10:25 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 26 2010, 08:08 AM)
well why I got a changgih htpc but use 720p TV simple actually...

1. my TV is only 32" and this size is perfect for my small apartment... a little bigger and my neck will be quite tiring panning left and right (you know what I mean)

2. 720p resolution for 32" is just nice big enough to read any higher resolution like 1080p the display will be too small to read on 32" TV

3. Most of the Internet streaming content is in 720p and if you wanted to stream 1080p movies you need 30+ mbps line...

4. Playing games at 720p is 40fps if you play at 1080p your frame rate will be lets see 10fps... how to play... then you need i7 pc as HTPC...

5. it is the cheapest 32" then (got promo so I buy kekeke)
how about 40" full hd? will the display be too small to read as well?

im thinking of getting 40" to use with mac mini. what u think?
shuto1
post Dec 2 2010, 11:16 PM

233 posts

Does anyone know how to fix this problem? :-

For some unknown reason, recently, my when I pause my Bluray movies (Read via BDMV folder) on Total Media Theatre 3, the sound (HD) goes to mute. If it's Dolby Digital or DTS, there's no problem, unpause and the sound comes right back up. But for TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, when I pause, I lose the sound after I unpause. I have to change the sound to DTS/DD then back again to whichever HD sound option the BDMV has. THEN only I get back the sound.

Anyone knows why and how to resolve this?

Thanks and appreciate any help.
paskal
post Dec 4 2010, 08:09 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Dec 2 2010, 01:14 PM)
anyone connected dell zino HD to 40" lcd tv before? will the words appear to be too small on the lcd tv? or need to lower the resolution in dell to show bigger fonts?
increase the font size or font DPI (or issit lowering the DPI can't remember)

QUOTE(pOlipOng @ Dec 2 2010, 10:25 PM)
how about 40" full hd? will the display be too small to read as well?

im thinking of getting 40" to use with mac mini. what u think?
i used to run 32" LCD (720p) and sitting 3 meters away. by increasing the font size, it's viewably comfortable. and got a friend running 40" full hd and sits 3.5 meters away. just a simple increase in font size to make bigger.

QUOTE(shuto1 @ Dec 2 2010, 11:16 PM)
Does anyone know how to fix this problem? :-

For some unknown reason, recently, my when I pause my Bluray movies (Read via BDMV folder) on Total Media Theatre 3, the sound (HD) goes to mute. If it's Dolby Digital or DTS, there's no problem, unpause and the sound comes right back up. But for TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, when I pause, I lose the sound after I unpause. I have to change the sound to DTS/DD then back again to whichever HD sound option the BDMV has. THEN only I get back the sound.

Anyone knows why and how to resolve this?

Thanks and appreciate any help.
1. try updating the audio drivers (or the GC drivers if you're bitstreaming from GC).
2. try updating TMT3 to the latest update (version 3.0.1.1.85)
3. if you're running an ATI card with catalyst >10.6 then patch the TMT3 after update for ATI card.
shuto1
post Dec 4 2010, 09:15 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 4 2010, 08:09 AM)
Thanks Paskal. Will try it out!

101 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:12 PM