9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 09:45 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 14 2010, 04:04 PM)

I think AVR is just absolute unnecessary , desktop 5.1 speakers good enough plugged into SC..
desktop 5.1 can't tune the time alignment, LFE attenuation, room equalization, channel calibration.
desktop 5.1 can't tune a lot of things like an avr could, which makes the surround experience much more surreal.
paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 07:28 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 15 2010, 03:18 PM)
Of course AVR can do wonders, we are talking about HTPC , not Home Theater for your living room bro.. icon_idea.gif
i believe HTPC is a computer built for home theater use, no? hence the Home Theather Personal Computer name.
paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 07:57 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Mar 15 2010, 07:35 PM)
My take is slightly different.  For me sound quality is of higher priority, so for me, an AVR is basic necessity.  But this following configuration is more future proof :

1. Get HTPC with basic graphic configuration (enough to run HD video of course.)

2.  Buy a soundcard that can decode HD audio and with analogue audio output that supply latest sound config such as lossless HD sound.. unfortunately there are not many in the market place. One good product is Auzentech Home Theater HD which cost about RM1K !  I am still waiting for other product with similar spec.

3. Get a used out of date AVR, with NO HD DTS, even with normal Dolby Digital will do, but must have analogue audio input, ideally with 7 audio input, ie. an AVR that can serve as a power amp.  Coupled with a set of speakers which u can upgrade initially from 5.1 to 7.1 in future.

Then use the Audio PCI card to decode HD DTS or lossless audio, feed its audio output to an old and much cheaper AVR as power amp.

In future, should there be any new audio format, just change the PCI audio card will do.  It maybe expensive, but its still cheaper than RM6K AVR with latest technology.

Thats my take. and my sincere advice.
latest AVR that can decode DTS-HDMA & true-HD could be had for around RM1.5k
pair it with a cheap graphics card (ATI 5670, RM300) that could bitstream HD-audio, you're off with a good combo costing under RM2k
paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 08:27 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 15 2010, 07:59 PM)
Already the HTPC cost us approx 1XXX , now additional 1.5k for DTS-HD MA?. I like peter32's suggestion, get an AVR old ones with no DTS, Dolby should fit the bill..

Not everyone has the sort of cash to spend bro..but obviously im not against your idea, its far cheaper than HOME THEATER SETUP.. notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
THAT is a home theater setup bro haha
ain't cheap i know. i could've gotten some media player to go with my home theater, but i chose the htpc way because i don't need a NAS setup for media library as the htpc supports a few hdd itself. if i went the media player way, i'm sure i'm gonna have to buy a NAS station after a while.

ain't no way a single 2TB hdd gonna be enough for my movies
paskal
post Mar 17 2010, 06:15 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 17 2010, 12:19 AM)
HTPC is a cheap solution if you want have a universal Home Theatre. With HTPC, you can play VCD, DVD, Blu-Ray and can play all kind of format available on the planet. But still, decent HT setup is far more better than HTPC with the cost of money. If not, those AVR, speaker, amp and all those HT equipment maker will gulung tikar.

For me, HTPC is one part of the HT. Instead of buying multiple player (DVD, Blu-ray etc), we can have all-in-one player. The most important we built it ourselves part by part!

Currently, I have bought all the part I mention in 1st page. Now in the process of installing.

BTW, anyone here now any free software for remote key mapping? I bought a cheap remote with IR blaster and it can control navigation of MCE quite well. Some button need to be change like fast forward/backward.
no idea whether this fits your bill, but maybe you could give EventGhost a try. it supports a multitude of IR receivers

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 17 2010, 01:03 PM)
Anyone heard about Lenovo HTPC ? Please look at the specs. USD499

"Lenovo has introduced a new HTPC, the IdeaCentre Q700. The system is comfortably nestled between the size and specifications of a nettop and full-blown HTPC. It should fit in perfectly with your other home theater equipment, and its hardware ought to chew through basic HTPC-oriented tasks.

The IdeaCentre Q700 is equipped with an Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz CPU and X4500 integrated graphics, 4GB of RAM, and the choice between a 320GB, 500GB or 640GB HDD. Although it's not available with a Blu-ray drive at the moment, it does come with a DVD burner.
It also houses an HDMI and VGA-out, TV tuner, eight USB 2.0 ports (split between front and back), Firewire, an eSATA connector, a 4-in-1 card reader, 5.1 surround sound outputs, gigabit Ethernet and Wi-Fi connectivity. Models are available with a remote and USB receiver dongle, and all ship with Vista Home Premium 64-bit installed.

Granted, you won't be playing high-end games on max with smooth frame rates but the Q700 crams a lot into its 2.36" x 7.87" x 9.84" box. The offer only looks better when you consider its $499 asking price
"
$499 X 3.4 = around RM1.7k
for that price, you could get much much better spec
paskal
post Mar 18 2010, 05:33 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 17 2010, 06:11 PM)
GTX275, the least i want to go for, plus its HDMI output , so no coversion required from dvi to hdmi..
but still there's no support for HD audio bitstream.
a waste of money IMHO to buy a HDMI enable card, and still have to buy another card that supports HD audio streams in the future (when there is solutions to buy just one card)
paskal
post Mar 18 2010, 05:33 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 18 2010, 09:41 AM)
At least to utilize the Picture quality for movie playback. Sound doesnt matter at the moment.. brows.gif  whistling.gif
no offence, but that is a failed logic.
you do know there's a graphics card that support both HDMI and HD bitstreaming. why you still wanna get something that lack one over the other?

and IMHO PQ for movie playback are not affected by which GC you have in the system. you could be running Intel GMA and still get the best PQ (if your CPU powerful enough to software decode the video)

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 18 2010, 05:13 PM)
Bro Paskal, are u using BD-ROM in your HTPC?
not currently. will be buying one in the near future.
why you ask?

Added on March 18, 2010, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(kianwee @ Mar 18 2010, 08:46 AM)
QFT.
i never used QFT before and it turns out:

Shorthand for Quit F*(&ing Talking, QFT is slang used in chat and online forums to tell another user to stop talking.

if i'm spreading wrong info please correct me all knowledgeable one.
it would much appreciated if you could explain why i got a QFT from your holiness

This post has been edited by paskal: Mar 18 2010, 05:36 PM
paskal
post Mar 18 2010, 06:25 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 18 2010, 06:06 PM)
Just curious , seriously you guys want DTS HD and HD audio out. Even the current 5.1 is good enough and yet some of us want full HD output for it. Anyway as long its digital and 5.1 and its HD , for me I'm okay with it.
some could hear the difference, some don't. like comparing mp3 to FLAC/APE.
most people can't hear the difference and are satisfied enough playing 192kbps mp3.
some on the other hand, hear a lot of difference between those two.
paskal
post Mar 18 2010, 07:19 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 18 2010, 07:10 PM)
Turns out most people cant actually differentiate, but from a POV of a geeky person like most of us here (LYN), it appears that we always want the best in terms of hardware regardless the necessity..

It's sad I am running my HTPC at stereo..

I have a question, izzit possible to convert spdif into coaxial or optical?
IINM, SPDIF IS transmitted over coaxial. SPDIF is the codec used, and could be transmitted over coax or optical.
SPDIF is a stereo codec
paskal
post Mar 19 2010, 12:30 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Mar 18 2010, 11:42 PM)
My experience says there is a difference. I was using Nvidia 7100 IGP then switched to discrete Nvidia GT210.... big difference in colour and everything else....
there is a difference in PQ when watching movie?
guess i gotta have to plug my PCI-e GC to test it out. i'm sure i left it in a drawer somewhere
paskal
post Mar 19 2010, 07:15 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Mar 19 2010, 03:47 PM)
i3 & H55? if i have those kind of budget, i will not be asking in the first place....hahahahaha..!!
IMHO the lowest budget HTPC right now should be from AMD chip.
paskal
post Mar 20 2010, 06:38 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Mar 20 2010, 02:12 AM)
mobo ~200, processor ~200. The lesser the better..tongue.gif
after browsing so far, realized impossible to get mini-itx with that kind of budget.
So have to settle for AMD micro-atx.....and based on my reading...i can even go for x2 (instead of x4) cpu if i get a 'sufficient' GPU to do the decoding....
Question now, what is the minimum GPU shud i go for..?
the cheapest gpu that could do hd audio bitstreaming is the ati 5450. do check if it's available now in stores. last time i check it's not yet in the market, but already released overseas.
other choices is the ati 5670 or the ati 5770. cheapest should be RM300.

but if budget is really limited, then you might as well let the cpu decode and just run the internal graphics
paskal
post Mar 20 2010, 11:29 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Mar 20 2010, 09:23 AM)
QFT = Quoted for Truth la. doh.gif

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 20 2010, 09:34 AM)
Paskal, please use google next time.

weh i did use google lah.
i put 'jargon qft' into the search field.
the quit fuking talking is the first result. doh.gif

haha. mana i know the abbreviation for other thing. tongue.gif
sorry sorry

Added on March 20, 2010, 11:39 am
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Mar 20 2010, 07:01 AM)
Hello mate,

Good morning.. woke up so early today eh? Going to work? Btw, IYHO , do you think ATI GPU are better than NVIDIA GPU's?.

I'm considering of migration to ATI instead of my current GeForce 210, to ATI GPU, but haven't got a clue which i should go for..

Please shed some light.. icon_question.gif
i'm an early bird tongue.gif
today is weekend la, nobody works on weekend. no offence to you guys that's working. biggrin.gif

you wanna game or not?
if wanna game then get the highest that supports hd bitstreaming, ati 5770.
else get the 5670. if budget really short wait and get the 5450.
but don't trust me, as i have no idea whether the 5770 is any good for gaming. i don't game for many years. i just think the higher number translates to higher gaming performance biggrin.gif

i think i read somewhere that gaming for hdtv should only be left for console. and i do agree. get a ps3 slim and you could do gaming plus you get a blueray player with bitstreaming ability. i think just RM1k-something now.

This post has been edited by paskal: Mar 20 2010, 11:39 AM
paskal
post Mar 20 2010, 10:45 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 20 2010, 09:26 PM)
Like above suggestion, AMD Athlon II X2 250 is good enough or you can get Phenom II x2 550 and unlock it core to get quad.
this is the first time i've heard such thing. biggrin.gif
any tips on buying these unlock-able chips? any particular batches to look for?
paskal
post Mar 20 2010, 11:29 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 20 2010, 11:03 PM)
Like you, I planned to build cheap HTPC months ago and I stumbled on the unlocking idea from some forums. I still don't have any experience on the unlcoking part so don't know about the stability or the success rate, but as far as I know, with a good chipset like 785g, you can unlock several processor like AMD 140 and 550BE. Please google "Phenom 550 unlocking" and you'll find lots of articles.
i've already got me a htpc as i've salvaged parts from my unused desktops and got me a free one. tongue.gif
and right now i'm contemplating to either buy a cheap ati 5450/5670 to get hd audio or get me an i3 and h55 because i have 4gb of ddr3 module lying around tongue.gif

my current htpc mobo only supports 4 sata drive and i'm gonna need at least 6 (more like 8 ports) for all my media library. laugh.gif
paskal
post Mar 21 2010, 08:07 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 21 2010, 12:08 AM)
shocking.gif So many. Why not build a NAS?

Currently I'm using i3+h55 but still haven't test the HD audio because no avr to test. For 1080p video, it can play the video smoothly with my cpu utilization barely reach 20%.
i've filled 3 of my 1.5tb in 3 month laugh.gif now on the 4th drive
NAS with 8 port is expensive. i reckon the same price (or higher) than a htpc.
then you'd need another media player to read from the NAS. and you'd also need a gigabit switch (just to be safe) for a judder free bd.iso playback.
and the last i checked, all (or nearly all) media player have at least some problem reading streamed bd.iso from the network.
the total procurement cost of 8 port NAS with all supporting hardware could be even higher than me upgrading to a new mobo and cpu.

so all in all, a htpc is the most logical choice.
gigabyte h55m-usb3 has 7 internal sata port and 1 external esata port. jayacom pricelist states RM395 for it
paskal
post Mar 22 2010, 06:06 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Mar 22 2010, 04:02 PM)
Asus HDAV 1.3 doesn't decode HD audio? Sure or not?  hmm.gif
i think it's done on the software side, by a decoder like the ffdshow audio decoder.
go into ffdshow audio decoder config, check the codes page.
by default ffdshow uses libavcodec to decode trueHD stream.

i might be wrong though, since i've never played any truehd stuffs on mine.yet.
paskal
post Mar 22 2010, 08:51 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Mar 22 2010, 07:56 PM)
So, Asus HDAV 1.3 doesn't do hardware decode of HD audio?
HD audio decoding are done on the software level. it's not done by the pc hardware, but by the pc software playing the video stream.
and most of the time audio-aware people don't like this to happen. they want the AVR to do all the decoding using the avr's high performance DAC and DSP.

i think you still don't understand all this jargon laugh.gif
paskal
post Mar 26 2010, 03:04 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 26 2010, 02:36 PM)
5670->Asus HDAV1.3 is the correct way to go...
pass video and sound to the receiver via a single hdmi cable...
so you're saying he should put the output from the 5670 to the Asus HDAV1.3?
paskal
post Mar 26 2010, 09:16 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 26 2010, 09:07 PM)
no waste..can play games and bitstream  thumbup.gif
bitstream could be done using only the 5670. no need HDAV.
could game using the 5670. could bitstream using the 5670.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:41 AM