HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

jchue73
post Nov 8 2010, 04:18 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 8 2010, 12:29 PM)
thanks to you for bringing up ReClock to me, i'm now successfully using it on top of my tmt3, resampling all my movie track to 24bit/96kHz on the fly during playback.
SOUNDS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME compared to bitstreaming at 24bit/48kHz. much more detail with better accuracy/sound projection. and made the video playback super smooth. a whole lot smoother than ATI's enforce Cinema Smooth hardware implementation. never video playback have been this smooth on my system.

though i'm running on ATI 5450. will try it out on a friend's system (core i3) once i visit back his place.
If you don't mind, could you share more on your Reclock settings? Thanks.
jchue73
post Nov 18 2010, 11:19 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Nov 16 2010, 03:11 PM)
PLS help if you have PVR and ASTRO.

hi guys, i need some help here. my HTPC has been down for many months but due to busy schedule, i have not restored it as yet. at the same time, i do not watch ASTRO anymore.

i'm asking a favor (I WILL PAY) to help to record a program on astro ch 502 Bernama, on the 21st Nov, Sun 9.30 pm (my wife is on TV). and help me to burn into the DVD. please PM me if you are able to help. thank you very much!
I've yet to connect my standalone HD PVR to my byond. No promises but I'll try and see if I can burn it for you.

Added on November 18, 2010, 11:24 am
QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 17 2010, 11:44 PM)
Actually got problem especially on high bit rate + HD audio m2ts file, it plays but not very smooth and has tearing...

..and it has resync problem too which I'm trying hard to solve it using ReClock now...
I was just about to add... Yeah, it depends on what type of 1080p file. Decoding real Bluray m2ts files on raw CPU power alone is very taxing. I hit about 70 to 80% CPU utilization on a 3.2GHz Q6600. Using DXVA on my lowly ATI 2600, it's less than 5% CPU utilization.

Added on November 18, 2010, 11:25 am
QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 18 2010, 08:24 AM)
Nvidia GTX460 I had no idea if it is perfect for HTPC. But one advantage is it support 3DVision if you have 120hz display.
I've read Nvidia cards are still way behind when it comes to HTPC and HD playback. Which ATI card supports 3D playback with Arcsoft Totalmedia Theatre?

Added on November 18, 2010, 11:30 am
QUOTE(cougar richard @ Nov 18 2010, 10:33 AM)
tat is why i am asking all sifus here.
if the i3's IGP can handle HD audio and HD video using DXVA properly, then i dont need to buy another GPU already.
so i can save money, save electricity, and also less heat dissippation...
I'm also in the category of a non-believer when it comes to built-in graphics card. I would prefer a discreet one. Does not mean you have the i3 you must use the built-in graphics card right? I would rather build a proper HTPC that works than building a half-cook one that supposedly saves electricity.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 18 2010, 11:30 AM
jchue73
post Nov 18 2010, 05:42 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 18 2010, 05:20 PM)
in that case... why not just get a DUNE it is way better and much more flexible...
How is the performance of the Dune in terms of 24p playback compared to HTPC? Smooth without judders? Quality? At the moment, my HTPC is like a Swiss Army knife. Does almost everything.

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 18 2010, 05:20 PM)
I would advise you to take a discreet graphics get a Nvidia 210 or 310
or Ati 5450 it is cheap and made for HTPC...
How much cheaper is the Nvidia chipset vs Intel chipset? I've always gone with Intel for performance and stability. Oh, AMD chipsets are getting better in terms of stability.

Added on November 18, 2010, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 18 2010, 04:11 PM)
2. if you're concerned about 23.976Hz playback and jitter on a htpc, GET A DUNE. no matter what type of graphics card you use, THERE WILL BE JITTER. yes ATi 5XXX card included (not only i3 IGP). and quite possibly any nVidia GC too. a PC uses multiple clock reference unlike a media player that could lock all its clock to a single clock generator. a PC have different clock reference for audio, video, cpu, northbrigde, southbridge and all that crap. and the OS manage everything, usually trying to sync everything to the CPU clock. an impossible feat at best for a software to sync a hardware clock to one another. YOU NEED TO USE RECLOCK.

3. some people won't notice motion jitter. a lot won't. i never noticed it when i was running on my LCD. because LCD just don't have that fast of a response rate. jitter is a dead giveaway after i installed my 50" full hd plasma. and mind you, ATi have a perfect 24p (23.976Hz) refresh rate. even then motion jitter is hugely noticeable on the new screen. refer above for reason.
On my system, I only find that my audio skips. Playback is smooth with or without DXVA. The occasional slight judder on fast action panning scenes is mostly due to my LCD TV not able to keep up. So that may be the case with your Plasma.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 18 2010, 05:56 PM
jchue73
post Nov 19 2010, 02:49 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 19 2010, 01:25 PM)
Minimum Phenom II X3 and MXM descreet Ati 5450 Graphics
I think built-in graphics from the mobo also can. But if you want to bitstream TrueHD etc, then the ATI 5450 discreet card is a must.

Added on November 19, 2010, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 19 2010, 11:53 AM)
what is the screen resolution supported in dell zino? want to hook up my hdready crt tv to dell zino if possible, via a pc to tv converter (which supports up to 1600x1200 resolution).
Why would you want to use the PC to TV convertor? I'm sure you would not have problems to connect directly. I believe the Zino can support resolutions up to and including 1920 x 1080.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 19 2010, 02:50 PM
jchue73
post Nov 19 2010, 04:24 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 19 2010, 03:46 PM)
He is asking about Bluray playback of course it is a TrueHD

if normal MKV a build in Ati 4330 will do... but hey look at Zino it is so cheap might as well throw a few upgrades for future proofing...
True. If I was starting out, the Zino presents as a very viable option.

Anyway, I'm also playing Blurays. I don't have any HDMI AVR and rely on soundcard downmix to stereo. sad.gif Still can play lah. Not to say that I cannot. biggrin.gif

Added on November 19, 2010, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(jutamind @ Nov 19 2010, 03:58 PM)
coz my crt tv only have component/RCA video/S-video port. so i guess component cable shld give the best video quality in this situation. therefore the pc to tv converter is used to connect from my pc (or future dell zino) using vga port to component video
Ok, understood.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 19 2010, 04:29 PM
jchue73
post Nov 19 2010, 06:44 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 19 2010, 06:30 PM)
I think current AMD chipset still cannot handle HD audio bitstream.
Yeah, I'm aware of this. Only thing coming from AMD / ATI that can do bitstream is the ATI 5xxx graphics card.

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 19 2010, 06:30 PM)
If u need a HTPC that can bitstream HD audio, look for Intel HD55 chipset motherboard and paired it with Core i3 cpu, no need to buy additional GPU, Intel Integrated Graphic is good enough liao. smile.gif
That's correct. For those who are stuck with G45 / P45 chipset platform like myself, the ATI 5xxx or the Asus Xonar soundcard is the way to go.

Anyway, what's the point of TrueHD bitstreaming when I don't have an AVR and speakers to fully utilise it?
jchue73
post Nov 22 2010, 11:07 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Nov 19 2010, 10:10 PM)
Just buy one la  laugh.gif
Mostly all latest AVR nowdays already have a TrueHD/DTS-HD feature.
Wah... Very easy to say buy buy buy. rclxub.gif What about speakers? sweat.gif

How much lah?

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:07 am
QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 20 2010, 07:19 AM)
i reckon he said he don't even have speakers for it. probably no HT setup yet.
Yup. No decent speakers too. I'm currently using analog out to my old Pioneer AIO HT system.

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:10 am
QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 20 2010, 11:13 AM)
motion judder are largely more noticeable on bigger screen. more area for the unresolved lines to appear.
Definitely. It takes both sides to make a smooth playback. PC hardware and display. The bigger the screen, any small judder is amplified.

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:12 am
QUOTE(paskal @ Nov 20 2010, 10:20 PM)
the link he put is for the sapphire card. SAPPHIRE HD 5570 1GB DDR3 DP
AFAIK, there's usually 2 models of the card, one with VGA, DVI and HDMI and the other model comes with VGA, DVI and Display Port.
I'm actually also looking for a decent card to replace my aging 2600. Would a ATI 6xxx series be better? I'm actually looking into future proofing the system till 3D. rclxms.gif

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:28 am
QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 22 2010, 12:19 AM)
if you guys are using ReClock, what is the media adaption that you are using? I have tried to set my display freq to 50Hz, AVR input to 50Hz, and if I set the ReClock to 50Hz, it will become green but it will stutter a lot ... if I set to Auto or original refresh rate, it will become yellow but playback not so smooth...
I set the media adaptation to original speed (for 23.976Hz source) with my Sony Bravia at 59.98 Hz. ReClock icon is green. Of course, I output to analog so the settings are different.

For those who bitstream to AVR, their settings should be different. You should use "select original speed", check the "locked" and "slave reference to audio" boxes. This will give you WASAPI exclusive-bitexact. The ReClock icon in this case will be yellow.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 22 2010, 11:28 AM
jchue73
post Nov 22 2010, 01:24 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 22 2010, 12:40 PM)
Is there anyway to set the ReClock media adaption setting automatically each time a movie is played?
I may be wrong but I believe it's at the Video Settings tab in the Reclock Properties?
jchue73
post Nov 22 2010, 04:56 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 22 2010, 02:12 PM)
Yeah HDMI ftw!

RCA, RGB, VGA DVI, Optical, S-video all are evil and should just die. vmad.gif
That's a very organised mess !

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 22 2010, 02:12 PM)
Buy HTiB lorr less headache to find speakers and more cheaper
Yeah, during pre-HDMI days, I was actually looking at Onkyo's HTIBs. They were very well recommended but couldn't find them anywhere here. sad.gif
jchue73
post Nov 25 2010, 07:27 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 25 2010, 11:39 AM)
LCD depend on what LCD TV lah you need to refer to manual

my sony Bravia is 1366x768
Any reason why you got a canggih HTPC when you're only running a HD ready TV?

Or is a Full HD TV in the works? thumbup.gif

Added on November 25, 2010, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 25 2010, 03:10 AM)
Pioneer Infinity from SenQ. DTS HD MA and DD True HD supported. Comes with VSX520K AVR

RM2600 after discount.
Arrgh ! Thanks for the poison. rclxub.gif Will take a look at it.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Nov 25 2010, 07:32 PM
jchue73
post Feb 6 2011, 11:47 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(jscyl1980 @ Feb 3 2011, 10:27 PM)
Plan to assemble the Asus E35M1-M PRO (dual-core AMD® Zacate APU) , 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, LITE-On BD-ROM, silverstone Ml-03 case and 6gb RAM HTPC system, want to ask this AMD CPU+IGP=APU system can handle Blueray 50GB 1080 24P well? means without judder problem hmm.gif
the tv i may b use is Panasonic v20k plasma tv with 24p smooth/playback smile.gif thanks
Supposedly, the built-in 6310 GPU is capable.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4134/the-bra...n-for-miniitx/4

The link above is for the MSI mobo but you get the idea since the Asus runs the same chipset.

p/s: Not possible to run 6GB memory on the board with 2 empty DDR3 slots.
jchue73
post Dec 31 2012, 11:24 AM

2,496 posts

I'm currently having an issue with playback under TMT5 (5.3.1.172) in Windows 7 64 bit with ATI Radeon HD 7750 graphics card. Full ISO BD playback is fine and smooth but the colour is greenish grey.

Drives are the latest but I cannot pinpoint the problem. Anybody with the same setup? Would appreciate if I get a solution before the year ends. LOL
jchue73
post Jan 2 2013, 04:20 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Dec 31 2012, 01:07 PM)
It sounds like the monitor issue actually. 

Can you set your graphic card to default setting first, and test the playback again ?
Output is to my Sharp TV. If I play normal mkv files with Windows Media Player, colour is perfect. Just under TMT5 the colour is greenish / purplish / greyish.
jchue73
post Jan 27 2014, 06:13 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(acegreaser @ Jan 27 2014, 04:30 PM)
Also, I installed Plex Media Server into my PC based NAS and use Plex Home Theatre for my HTPC.
Also there's mobile apps for iOS and Android too if you wanna pay for it. Haven't tried it though.
For your mobile decvices, you probably want the Plex but for your HTPC with the Radeon card, it's already powerful enough to direct decode and playback movies from your NAS.

0.0397sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:57 PM