15,022 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Dec 6 2010, 03:16 PM)
hi i am newb here, been searching through the forum but cant find a good answer

I am planning to build a HTPC using my old pc connect to new LED TV

my Rigs:
E6600, 3GB RAM,
Sapphire HD 4850

Now my problem is :
1.  Could my 4850 output sound at TV via its DVI to HDMI output ? since my sapphire 4850 only got 2 DVI output, i planning to use the DVI to HDMI converter to enjoy the 1080p quality

Sample output port of my GC

2. If No.1 is not possible to output audio via DVI, what else can i do ?
Yes you can. I use to do that 1 or 2 years back. But beware of the HDMI-DVI converter. I use the one that comes with the box, works fine. If you buy outside, some might not transmit audio properly.
kopking10
post Dec 15 2010, 03:55 PM

83 posts

Guys, I am noob at HTPC. Hence, pls give a slight recommendation for RM1500 budget on PC setup. I will pair with 40" LED Tv and 5.1 speakers

I play:
1) Movie - MKV 720/1080
2) Games - No a fanatic but home the setup are able to support

Pls recommend me the spec. TQ.

This post has been edited by kopking10: Dec 15 2010, 03:57 PM
TSstan001
post Dec 15 2010, 04:33 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kopking10 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:55 PM)
Guys, I am noob at HTPC. Hence, pls give a slight recommendation for RM1500 budget on PC setup. I will pair with 40" LED Tv and 5.1 speakers

I play:
1) Movie - MKV 720/1080

Do yr own research and come up with the spec and others will give you comments on yr suggested specs..

or just get those HTPC ready products like Dell or others..

minimize
post Dec 15 2010, 08:05 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(kopking10 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:55 PM)

I play:
1) Movie - MKV 720/1080

Get Dell Zino. smile.gif
kopking10
post Dec 16 2010, 08:59 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 15 2010, 08:05 PM)
Get Dell Zino.  smile.gif
yes went n have a look at it last nite...easier package. thanks for those who has helped. I have gotten the spec i required.

Btw, i have a set of 5.1 home theater speaker NOT pc 5.1. May i know how to connect to PC since they are running the black n red cables?
SUSMatrix
post Dec 16 2010, 09:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kopking10 @ Dec 16 2010, 08:59 AM)
yes went n have a look at it last nite...easier package. thanks for those who has helped. I have gotten the spec i required.

Btw, i have a set of 5.1 home theater speaker NOT pc 5.1. May i know how to connect to PC since they are running the black n red cables?
Look for optical-in or coaxial-in on your AVR. Your mobo/souncard usually has at least one of these optical out or coaxial out.
calvin_ng
post Dec 16 2010, 09:35 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Windows 7 can convert white and red cable to 5.1 Dolby surround... I have tried on my dell zino it works...
SUSchokia
post Dec 16 2010, 10:09 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

This Zino HD review claimed

Audio

Since we used HDMI we were able to get 5.1 audio out of DVDs, OTA HD and Blu-ray movies. One thing that dissapointed us was that we could not get Dolby True HD or DTS Master Audio out of the Blu-ray discs. We can’t tell if this is an issue with PowerDVD or the Zino. We’ve read on some forums that PowerDVD does not support Dolby True HD. You can get 5.1 out of the Zino without HDMI but you need make sure you upgrade to the ATI Radeon HD 4330. The audio sounded great but we’d expect nothing less with the receiver we were using.

Is this true?

Source : http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/podcast/2010/0...ron-zino-hd.php

This post has been edited by chokia: Dec 16 2010, 10:10 AM
djlah
post Dec 16 2010, 12:13 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 16 2010, 10:09 AM)
Is this true?

partially true. zino should able to get 5.1 dobly digital.
ati 4000 series card only can transfer PCM 7.1, but not hd bitstream TrueHD and DTS-MA. Start from ati 5000 series card resolved this issue.
gtd
post Dec 16 2010, 02:39 PM

planning to built this setup:

i3 540
asus p7h55m usb3 or gigabyte h55m-usb3
1gb x2 corsair pc1333 ddr3
wd 1tb green
samsung dvdrw
psu: seasonic 520w s12ii or silverstone 500w strider
atx casing

bajet 1.5k

sifu2 here pls comment.........

This post has been edited by gtd: Dec 16 2010, 02:42 PM
calvin_ng
post Dec 16 2010, 04:04 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 16 2010, 10:09 AM)
Is this true?

True for Dell Zino 400 series
Reason
1. HDMI card does not support DTS-MA / Dolby True HD
2. It has no optical out

Not true for Dell Zino 410 series (Except those with build in card -no HDMI but can use optical)

1. Use the discreet ATi5450 card which can out 7,1 via HDMI

Basically Dell have solved this issue all together with the new graphics smile.gif
echoesian
post Dec 16 2010, 06:45 PM

3,294 posts

Recently found out bitstreaming hd audio using the ffdshow audio via audio passthru is actually sounds better without using Reclock...
kaiwong1020
post Dec 16 2010, 07:35 PM

86 posts

hi...below is my own rig found from internet....
any comment?
casing i tend to buy from china....
malaysia have so less htpc casing....
any suggestion on PSU? rclxms.gif

Gigabyte H55M-USB3
Core i3 530
Corsair DDR3 PC1333 * 2
Samsung F3 1TB
Leadtek Winfast TV2000XP
icon_rolleyes.gif

paskal
post Dec 17 2010, 03:26 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 16 2010, 06:45 PM)
Recently found out bitstreaming hd audio using the ffdshow audio via audio passthru is actually sounds better without using Reclock...
upsampled hd audio?
i can't seem to diffentiate bitstreaming mode (avr does the decoding) to decoded mode (tmt3 decodes to lpcm and sent to avr). theoritically it should sound the same as tmt3 does the same thing otherwise the avr would be doing.

but upsampled to 96kHz using reclock (tmt3 decodes to LPCM, then passed to ReClock for upsampling), everything sounds much better with much better integration and seemless transition between speakers.

for music i never do any resampling. everything are played at its native 16bit 44.1kHz
echoesian
post Dec 17 2010, 11:53 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 17 2010, 03:26 PM)
upsampled hd audio?
i can't seem to diffentiate bitstreaming mode (avr does the decoding) to decoded mode (tmt3 decodes to lpcm and sent to avr). theoritically it should sound the same as tmt3 does the same thing otherwise the avr would be doing.

but upsampled to 96kHz using reclock (tmt3 decodes to LPCM, then passed to ReClock for upsampling), everything sounds much better with much better integration and seemless transition between speakers.

for music i never do any resampling. everything are played at its native 16bit 44.1kHz
Not upsampled audio, it's mainly loseless audio like DTS-MA and TrueHD, to my ears it sounds better without using ReClock...
paskal
post Dec 18 2010, 07:39 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 17 2010, 11:53 PM)
Not upsampled audio, it's mainly loseless audio like DTS-MA and TrueHD, to my ears it sounds better without using ReClock...
try and upsample the lossless to 24/96. set tmt3 to decode to lpcm then reclock to upsample to 96khz.

you do know that ffdshow can't decode dts-ma/truhd right? if you let ffdshow decode the track, it'll only decode the ac3/dts track. explains the loss of quality compared to bitstreaming.
and if reclock just handle the clock sync and still passes the bitstream without decoding, then it shouldn't sound any different with or without reclock.
peter32
post Dec 20 2010, 12:53 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Today is the release day for the latest stable version of XBMC.

Just to inform the HTPC kakis.
TSstan001
post Dec 20 2010, 01:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kaiwong1020 @ Dec 16 2010, 07:35 PM)
hi...below is my own rig found from internet....
any comment?
casing i tend to buy from china....
malaysia have so less htpc casing....
any suggestion on PSU? rclxms.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
For PSU, pls get those high efficiency 80PLUS with Active PFC rating with bigger silent fan (140mm)

I'm a fan of Xigmatek powersupply for their "green/environmental friendly" for both the recycle paper packaging and high energy efficiency..

400W or 500W will depend on yr HTPC requirements as power supply unit will last the longest compared to cpu/memory/mobo/hdd/lcd..

Added on December 20, 2010, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(gtd @ Dec 16 2010, 02:39 PM)
planning to built this setup:

i3 540
asus p7h55m usb3 or gigabyte h55m-usb3
1gb x2 corsair pc1333 ddr3
wd 1tb green
samsung dvdrw
psu: seasonic 520w s12ii or silverstone 500w strider
atx casing

bajet 1.5k

sifu2 here pls comment.........
Some comments...

[errors corrected and comments deleted]
i3 is a DUAL CORE CPU!!!

If you plan for 2 x 1GB memory, might as well go for 1 x 2GB and later upgrade another 2Gb to make it 4GB.

What about a "decent" graphic processor like nVidia or ATI for HD video decoding ?

This post has been edited by stan001: Dec 21 2010, 12:23 AM
paskal
post Dec 20 2010, 01:39 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Dec 20 2010, 01:13 PM)
Pls be aware the i3 is a "fake" dual core ( it is only 2 thread instead of 2 CPU core, ) the i5 is a real dual core cpu like the Core 2 Duo.
are you sure it's a single core?
because the intel product page specifically said that it has 2 cores and are capable of handling 4 threads.

101 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:40 PM