Even the black one is nice

Anyone using them?
SUSchokia
post Nov 22 2010, 02:12 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 20 2010, 10:38 PM)
get HDMI as it is future proof too
Yeah HDMI ftw!

RCA, RGB, VGA DVI, Optical, S-video all are evil and should just die. vmad.gif

See what they did when they are together?

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:07 AM)
Wah... Very easy to say buy buy buy.  rclxub.gif What about speakers? sweat.gif

How much lah?

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:07 am

Yup. No decent speakers too. I'm currently using analog out to my old Pioneer AIO HT system.
Buy HTiB lorr less headache to find speakers and more cheaper

SUSchokia
post Nov 24 2010, 08:32 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I wish Dell Zino HD doesnt have AMD inside but Intel instead, for me to turn it to multiboot with osx htpc.
SUSchokia
post Nov 25 2010, 05:45 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Wow so generous of pioneer to throw in free speakers.

SUSchokia
post Nov 26 2010, 08:26 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

You forgot no.6, IPhone also can record video up to 720p only mah

Hehe
SUSchokia
post Dec 6 2010, 03:59 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

According to the specs of HD4850, with HDMI adapter you'll be able to get 7.1ch audio

Source: http://www1.sapphiretech.com/cr/products/p...ew.php?gpid=244
SUSchokia
post Dec 13 2010, 01:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

But if you plan to make your HTPC to multiboot OSX then choosing Intel - nvidia combination will save you a lot of panics (kernel panic that is) LOL
SUSchokia
post Dec 16 2010, 10:09 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

This Zino HD review claimed

Audio

Since we used HDMI we were able to get 5.1 audio out of DVDs, OTA HD and Blu-ray movies. One thing that dissapointed us was that we could not get Dolby True HD or DTS Master Audio out of the Blu-ray discs. We can’t tell if this is an issue with PowerDVD or the Zino. We’ve read on some forums that PowerDVD does not support Dolby True HD. You can get 5.1 out of the Zino without HDMI but you need make sure you upgrade to the ATI Radeon HD 4330. The audio sounded great but we’d expect nothing less with the receiver we were using.

Is this true?

Source : http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/podcast/2010/0...ron-zino-hd.php

This post has been edited by chokia: Dec 16 2010, 10:10 AM
SUSchokia
post Jan 21 2011, 11:05 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

i want to ask instead of outputing HD video to the AVR/HDTV has anyone successfully turned the HTPC to a HD video recorder capability?

So that able to record anything from Astro Byond/TV/PS3 etc.
SUSchokia
post May 16 2012, 10:51 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Has any of you using your HTPC as PVR? recording game play, astro byond, movie all in HD, digital via HDMI?

Mind sharing your Hardware / Software setup?
SUSchokia
post Dec 22 2012, 11:18 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I think just connect the optical cable to the AVR and see what happen.

DTS carries 6 channels sound so optical no problem

DTS-HD or TrueHD carries 8 channels sound can also pass through via optical but the sound is not HD, you need HDMI coz optical can carry 6 channels sound only.

So i suggest find sound card /mobo with HDMI output if you wish you upgrade.

SUSchokia
post Mar 16 2013, 04:09 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Mar 16 2013, 08:00 AM)
m thinking of using a Mac Mini to play lossless songs and movie. my concern is how to connect the audio to my hifi. coz mac Mini only has a headphone out socket. if we use the headphone to RCA splitter, will it affect the sound quality?
MacMini ===HDMI===AVR(Home theatre)

Things to consider:

1. Lossless = CD sound, can only tell quality with good headphone. With AVR everything sound good including lossy like mp3

2. Mountain Lion doesnt support DTS-HDMA or Dolby TrueHD.

If you havent bought mac mini and plan to make it HTPC, u'll be wasting money.

SUSchokia
post Jan 27 2014, 10:58 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 25 2014, 02:10 PM)
Anyway for those who are interested in building HTPC , I've written a simple guide on using pi as HTPC and as well as configuring XBMC to stream a lot of content

http://prasys.info/2014/01/building-your-o...er-rm-200-us60/
Great stuff, thank you for sharing
SUSchokia
post Jun 13 2015, 11:19 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I see many miniPCs around 500bux running Windows 8.1 with 4K capability.

Are these good enough for HTPC ?

i.e http://www.lazada.com.my/voyo-win-81-mini-...ry-1074943.html
SUSchokia
post Jun 16 2015, 10:19 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(wliat @ Jun 15 2015, 01:39 PM)
Hi matrix,

thanks for reply.

yeah currently running wired connection to my android box, so once i get the NUC i will trash my android box hehehehe

you cannot output dolby digital plus from netflix, but what about my movie files from my NAS? DTS master HD can decode?

Ok please share what's your NUC specs and confirm whether it could handles DTS-HDMA, DDTrueHD or even DTS-X & DD ATmos
SUSchokia
post Jun 16 2015, 12:57 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(wliat @ Jun 16 2015, 11:40 AM)
I was referring to the latest intel nuc 5th gen.

Specs as the link

intel nuc

Can this handle dts hdma and dd truehd?
All these links on this search sound not promising

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrom...NUC%2C+DTS+HDMA

even on intel forum

https://communities.intel.com/message/221266

So instead of spending 1K + on NUC, we shall buy China cheap windows 8.1 mini PC then

http://www.lazada.com.my/voyo-win-81-mini-...ry-1074943.html

Waddaya think?

0.0467sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:41 PM