iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

hades86
post Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Apr 7 2010, 04:01 PM)
One noob question..

Let say i have a lot of applications total of 10 pages.. what's the fastest way to go to page 10 (last page)? I saw there are 10 dots at the bottom of the screen, I thought pressing the last dot will auto get me there.. very time consuming to flip through 10 pages le..
Hi, if you have a jailbroken phone. You could try Overboard or Orbit.

Overboard

Orbit
yuvanesh
post Apr 8 2010, 12:36 PM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM)

Overboard

Orbit
but there is simpler opton to search for the app right....you that...is much easier..your for jailbroken i might recommend categories...is looks simpler..

Added on April 8, 2010, 12:55 pmpredicted wwdc dates till 2015....
Tentative WWDC Dates:
2010: June 27th - July 2nd
2011: June 5th - June 10th
2012: June 10th - June 15th
2013: June 9th - June 14th
2014: June 1st - June 6th
2015: June 7th - June 12th

This post has been edited by yuvanesh: Apr 8 2010, 12:55 PM
mrportable
post Apr 8 2010, 01:18 PM

247 posts

I deleted media folder under var/mobile, accidentally through ifunbox. I am using Iphone 3gs FW 3.1.2. so far the phone is working fine except i can't open app store. i need a fix here. anyone has any idea?

Moderator's Note: PLEASE DO NOT DOUBLE POST!!!!
hades86
post Apr 8 2010, 02:16 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Apr 8 2010, 12:36 PM)
but there is simpler opton to search for the app right....you that...is much easier..your for jailbroken i might recommend categories...is looks simpler..
well, the original question was how do he switch between pages instantly without having to swipe page by page. that app let you do so.

QUOTE(mrportable @ Apr 8 2010, 01:18 PM)

Moderator's Note: PLEASE DO NOT DOUBLE POST!!!!
No other option. Restore is the only way to go. The phone might works now but once you reboot your phone you will be in trouble.

This post has been edited by hades86: Apr 8 2010, 02:22 PM
Ahkwang
post Apr 8 2010, 03:45 PM

684 posts

Sifus-sifus sekalian, need some help regarding my iphone. notworthy.gif

iPhone Generation : 3G 8G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Official Unlocked (S'pore set)
Current Firmware : 3.1.3 (7E18)
Current network: Celcom (P148 data plan)
iTunes Version : 9.0
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : Used to JB using quickPWN (b4 v3.1.3), now tarak JB

Problem Encountered :
Iphone will lag on several occasions such as:
- When clicking on 'Home Button' and slide to unlock , the "Slide to Unlock" slider will hang for a few seconds b4 responding.
- Keyboard will lag when typing SMS.
- Lag when sliding apps from left to right (and i have only 3 pages sad.gif )
- Lag when closing apps.

Another (even worse) problem is the dropped calls and incoming call failure problem.
- Calls will drop suddenly when on the phone (mostly when just pick up - sometimes tak sempat say Hello sudah drop >< )
- Incoming calls cant get thru A LOT of times. Friends and family describe as - when calling me, no dial tone. Have to try a lot of times baru get thru.
- SMSes will only reach me a few hours after ppl send, sometimes wont receive.

T_T HELP!

Steps Taken So Far :
1. Problems happened in 3.1.2 (WITH JB) - so i restored my phone and upgrade to 3.1.3 WITHOUT JB. - both problems still happen.
2. I tot dropped calls due to celcom 3G line not stable, so i disable 3G on the settings, but both problems still happen.

Other Information/Remarks :
1. The lag problem happens intermittently (a lot of the time, but not ALL the time), the dropped call problem happens ALL THE TIME, no matter WHERE i go or WHEN. Sim card problem? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
2. My HOME button is kinda insensitive (not responsive). Is the problems all bcoz of this?

Very the vmad.gif vmad.gif Please help icon_question.gif icon_question.gif . anybody with same problem? I dun wan to throw my beautiful iphone away. sad.gif
mrportable
post Apr 8 2010, 05:02 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Apr 8 2010, 02:16 PM)

No other option. Restore is the only way to go. The phone might works now but once you reboot your phone you will be in trouble.
i need to try to copy media folder from another iphone to my iphone. but i guess no one here would be that nice to share so nvm, i am turning to look in other forums.
iori57
post Apr 8 2010, 05:38 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM)

Oh thanks smile.gif My phone can't be JailBroken for now though! T-T

I'm gonna JB it again and again day and night when they release JB for 3.1.3 blush.gif
PeeEl
post Apr 8 2010, 05:42 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Apr 7 2010, 05:27 PM)
From iclarified, it is not recommended to let your phone battery drain till finish.
Other authorities state otherwise, so who are you going to believe???
mrportable
post Apr 8 2010, 08:40 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Apr 8 2010, 02:16 PM)
just to share, there is other option, i copied the media folder from other iphone to my iphone and thats all, simple, thought of that just no one would give the files
=Hanxz=
post Apr 8 2010, 08:47 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

QUOTE(Ahkwang @ Apr 8 2010, 03:45 PM)
Sifus-sifus sekalian, need some help regarding my iphone.  notworthy.gif

iPhone Generation : 3G 8G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Official Unlocked (S'pore set)
Current Firmware : 3.1.3 (7E18)
Current network: Celcom (P148 data plan)
iTunes Version : 9.0
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : Used to JB using quickPWN (b4 v3.1.3), now tarak JB

Problem Encountered :
Iphone will lag on several occasions such as:
- When clicking on 'Home Button' and slide to unlock , the "Slide to Unlock" slider will hang for a few seconds b4 responding.
- Keyboard will lag when typing SMS.
- Lag when sliding apps from left to right (and i have only 3 pages sad.gif )
- Lag when closing apps.

its a 3G, not a 3Gs of course slow la, it will be even more evident when you put lotsa stuffs in
I have been saving my SMS since 1/4/08, mine is as slow as it can get but i don't mind laugh.gif

Another (even worse) problem is the dropped calls and incoming call failure problem.
- Calls will drop suddenly when on the phone (mostly when just pick up - sometimes tak sempat say Hello sudah drop >< )
- Incoming calls cant get thru A LOT of times. Friends and family describe as  - when calling me, no dial tone. Have to try a lot of times baru get thru.
- SMSes will only reach me a few hours after ppl send, sometimes wont receive.

either signal chip problem or antenna faulty. Most probably occurs when you slipped the phone into some water or something.
T_T HELP!

2. My HOME button is kinda insensitive (not responsive). Is the problems all bcoz of this?

Wear and tear la bro, mine is as insensitive as it gets. smile.gif

Hyde`fK
post Apr 8 2010, 08:53 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Just to clarify one thing, ss there any stability differences between 16GB and 32GB model of IPhone 3GS?

bluehyppo
post Apr 8 2010, 10:25 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Apr 8 2010, 08:40 PM)
just to share, there is other option, i copied the media folder from other iphone to my iphone and thats all, simple, thought of that just no one would give the files
Hi there, not pointing fingers at anybody, but your original post was that you had accidentally deleted the folder, and asked if anybody had a fix? Saw a couple of replies that suggested to restore the phone (I guess this is based on the replier's best knowledge). It's fantastic that you managed to fix it (without restoring) by copying back the media folder from another iPhone, as now all forumers have learned a new solution.

However, I don't recall reading your requesting assistance for anyone to copy out and give you their media folder (to try, instead of restore)? So I'm a bit puzzled by your statement that "no one here would be that nice to share so nvm" or "no one would give the files"? Please accept my apologies and correct me if I missed your post requesting this smile.gif

fizz6487
post Apr 9 2010, 08:55 AM

92 posts

maybe it is a FUNNY QUESTION..

but i need to know... Now, what i see in current market, there are many kind of iphone..

IPHONE 2G
IPHONE 3G
IPHONE 3GS

my funny question is what's the different of all that iphone?

i'm so happy if someone here can give a short answer to me in explaining this iphone... thanks. smile.gif
Ahkwang
post Apr 9 2010, 09:35 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Apr 8 2010, 08:47 PM)
its a 3G, not a 3Gs of course slow la, it will be even more evident when you put lotsa stuffs in
I have been saving my SMS since 1/4/08, mine is as slow as it can get but i don't mind laugh.gif

I used to think is becoz i put lots of stuff inside. That's y deleted 99% of my SMS, removed all my JB apps (now left 3 pages), removed all my songs, removed contact lists, cleared Safari's cache and history - mana tau......da same..... doink =_=

either signal chip problem or antenna faulty. Most probably occurs when you slipped the phone into some water or something.
Hmm..any idea who can fix this? and how much it costs?  rclxub.gif

Maybe it's time to put my half dead iphone up for sale and go get a BB. cry.gif Any takers? brows.gif
mrportable
post Apr 9 2010, 10:09 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(bluehyppo @ Apr 8 2010, 10:25 PM)
Hi there, not pointing fingers at anybody, but your original post was that you had accidentally deleted the folder, and asked if anybody had a fix? Saw a couple of replies that suggested to restore the phone (I guess this is based on the replier's best knowledge). It's fantastic that you managed to fix it (without restoring) by copying back the media folder from another iPhone, as now all forumers have learned a new solution.

However, I don't recall reading your requesting assistance for anyone to copy out and give you their media folder (to try, instead of restore)? So I'm a bit puzzled by your statement that "no one here would be that nice to share so nvm" or "no one would give the files"? Please accept my apologies and correct me if I missed your post requesting this smile.gif
coz they won't, want to try a bit? delete one of ur vital folders and ask (precondition, they don't read this hence act nice), spend some time and think, will u if u haven't read my 'statement'?
or r u expecting me to request the folder when the D straight away said 'no other option' and closed it?
yuvanesh
post Apr 9 2010, 10:40 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Apr 9 2010, 10:09 AM)
coz they won't,  want to try a bit? delete one of ur vital folders and ask (precondition, they don't read this hence act nice), spend some time and think, will u if u haven't read my 'statement'?
or r u expecting me to request the folder when the D straight away said 'no other option' and closed it?
well you should understand for the basic saying if you have any hardware problem on your iphone..the best solution is to give in for warranty or we would recommend to one of the forumer who does iphone service...meanwhile for software problem the easiest ever way is just restore...and whatever missing and not working will be back to normal...thats the reason most of them commented saying that asking you to restore...at least most of the forumer have a courtesy to reply to your comment..since when you open a new thread you and i direct you here and you were telling that if you post in the common thread they wont bother looking at it....well relax at least now you had found a better solution and share the knowledge with us..so when other face it we would recommend that.....
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 9 2010, 11:39 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(fizz6487 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:55 AM)

but i need to know... Now, what i see in current market, there are many kind of iphone..

IPHONE 2G
IPHONE 3G
IPHONE 3GS

i'm so happy if someone here can give a short answer to me in explaining this iphone... thanks. smile.gif
im begging u to read this!
fizz6487
post Apr 9 2010, 02:37 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Apr 9 2010, 11:39 AM)
THANKS A LOT... YOU'VE HELP ME..
kazumanj3
post Apr 9 2010, 03:17 PM

GamerzUnited BEST!
3,006 posts

~ iPhone 3G 8GB
~ iTunes 9.1 (latest update)

prob : when i plug in iPhone to iTunes appear this error
CODE
itunes was unable to load data from sync services. reconnect or try again later

but, when i plug in ipod touch had same error but can still sync like b4

This post has been edited by kazumanj3: Apr 9 2010, 03:18 PM
boringpig
post Apr 9 2010, 04:16 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(fizz6487 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:55 AM)

IPHONE 2G
IPHONE 3G
IPHONE 3GS

http://www.apple.com/iphone/compare-iphones/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPhone (there are some photos comparison too)

you can get a lot of information by just Googling..

QUOTE(kazumanj3 @ Apr 9 2010, 03:17 PM)
~ iPhone 3G 8GB
~ iTunes 9.1 (latest update)

prob : when i plug in iPhone to iTunes appear this error
CODE
itunes was unable to load data from sync services. reconnect or try again later

but, when i plug in ipod touch had same error but can still sync like b4
have u try re-installing iTunes?
btw, is ur set jailbroken?

try this:
- Close iTunes.
- Remove contents of folder "C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Apple Computer\SyncServices\Local"
- Start iTunes and reconnect your iPhone.

This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 9 2010, 04:21 PM

125 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:37 AM