iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread
MrSars
Apr 9 2010, 05:25 PM

ok im new with iphone and wanna ask is there anything i should turn off for my iphone 3gs v3.1.3. Im buying without any package because my place wifi is always available. So is there anything i should turn off to prevent my credit deducted for something i dont use.
ksc_3688
Apr 9 2010, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 9 2010, 05:25 PM) ok im new with iphone and wanna ask is there anything i should turn off for my iphone 3gs v3.1.3. Im buying without any package because my place wifi is always available. So is there anything i should turn off to prevent my credit deducted for something i dont use. you can call your service provider(maxis/celcom/digi) and tell them to disable your 3G/gprs service. if they ask what phone you are using DONT tell iPhone as they will tell for iphone they cant(bla bla bla). and make a good reason to tell them why you need to disable it and they will do it for you. (did this for my friend hp, maxis user)
MrSars
Apr 9 2010, 06:00 PM

If i turn off the 3g from iphone setting, does the iphone still use 3g connection?
Is there any other solution to share, anyone?
boringpig
Apr 9 2010, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 9 2010, 06:00 PM) If i turn off the 3g from iphone setting, does the iphone still use 3g connection? Is there any other solution to share, anyone? Of course not.. Just disable the location services, push notifications and everything that uses data.. http://iphonenodata.com/site/questions that u might wanna ask - http://iphonenodata.com/site/faq/This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 9 2010, 07:20 PM
MrSars
Apr 9 2010, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(boringpig @ Apr 9 2010, 07:18 PM) Of course not.. Just disable the location services, push notifications and everything that uses data.. http://iphonenodata.com/site/questions that u might wanna ask - http://iphonenodata.com/site/faq/thanks for reply but I got question regarding on the comment from the second link u give, I'm using v3.1.3 if I disable the 3g then I want to enable it back is it no failure. Anyone try this b4.
NgYanFei
Apr 9 2010, 10:07 PM

Hey..I am using 2g iphone and I already registered for the unlimited plan from digi but I couldn't connect to the internet...Anything to do with the settings? I tried to reset network settings but its still the same..any other way?
This post has been edited by NgYanFei: Apr 9 2010, 10:22 PM
SUSnatzakaria
Apr 9 2010, 10:12 PM
I have a 3GS Jailbroken tethered and on Celcom unlimited I somehow lose my data connection and hv to reboot and jailbreak again to get my data connection Any fix? Thanks
bluehyppo
Apr 9 2010, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(NgYanFei @ Apr 9 2010, 10:07 PM) Hey..I am using 2g iphone and I already registered for the unlimited plan from digi but I couldn't connect to the internet...Anything to do with the settings? I tried to reset network settings but its still the same..any other way? If you have the correct cellular data network settings and it still doesn't work, suggest you contact DiGi and check if the issue is on their side. Added on April 9, 2010, 11:42 pmQUOTE(natzakaria @ Apr 9 2010, 10:12 PM) I have a 3GS Jailbroken tethered and on Celcom unlimited I somehow lose my data connection and hv to reboot and jailbreak again to get my data connection Any fix? Thanks Hi, please provide more info (there's a template on the first page of this thread). This post has been edited by bluehyppo: Apr 9 2010, 11:43 PM
SUSnatzakaria
Apr 10 2010, 12:30 AM
iPhone Generation : 3GS 32GB Unlocked? (or Part Number): Software Unlock Current Firmware : 3.1.2 Current network: Celcom iTunes Version :9.1 PC/MAC  C Jailbreaking software :Blackra1n Problem Encountered : Losing data connection and no 3G or E sign Steps Taken So Far : What else - reboot and rejailbreak la Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) : Other Information/Remarks :
FCUK89
Apr 10 2010, 09:58 AM
Hello
I just want to know how can I know how many pages is my SMS? Cause like sony ericsson previous, when it reaches one page already, then they will let you know. But how to check for iphone?
iori57
Apr 10 2010, 11:19 AM
Today morning I was still using it normally, then later without any symptoms my phone suddenly like turn off permanently... now cannot power on, the screen just stays black.. like totally no power like that.. This morning just charged till around 80% battery so not because of that.. now plugged in the power cable also no respond..
It happens just like that, so sudden =.= anything i could try now to revive it?
Added on April 10, 2010, 11:28 amIs it because I never off the phone and let it rest once in a while? Sometimes only I charge the phone till 100%, then pull out the cable and then off and on back the phone (according to one of the iphone tips thread) other than that i never off the phone for more than 1 minute... T-T
This post has been edited by iori57: Apr 10 2010, 11:28 AM
karyeowl
Apr 10 2010, 11:29 AM
Mine too!
I think the battery went flat. Recharge it again.
Then you power up by pressing on ON/OFF button and HOME button simultaneously to reset it.
saksoba
Apr 10 2010, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Apr 10 2010, 09:58 AM) Hello I just want to know how can I know how many pages is my SMS? Cause like sony ericsson previous, when it reaches one page already, then they will let you know. But how to check for iphone? SMSHelper. Try to search in cydia.
iori57
Apr 10 2010, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(karyeowl @ Apr 10 2010, 11:29 AM) Mine too! I think the battery went flat. Recharge it again. Then you power up by pressing on ON/OFF button and HOME button simultaneously to reset it. charging right now.. how long do i need to wait for it to charge? was at 80% battery level wor, can suddenly become flat wan meh?
SUSMNet
Apr 10 2010, 11:38 AM
wat set?
digi ?
iori57
Apr 10 2010, 11:44 AM
Thanks dude!!! I hold the home + power button for 10 seconds and it still doesn't have any response, but when reached 11 seconds the apple logo came out... it stayed there for like 20-30 seconds, vibrate one time (scared me), played the startup music, then back to normal again! And the battery shows 73%... IT'S ALIVEEEEEEE.... IT'S ALIVEEEEE cheers man! Added on April 10, 2010, 11:45 amQUOTE(MNet @ Apr 10 2010, 11:38 AM) maxis set, got it last year This post has been edited by iori57: Apr 10 2010, 11:45 AM
boblp
Apr 10 2010, 12:08 PM
i bet u must be scared to death.. hahaha
anyway.. is it related to the new firmware?
CallMeMonkey
Apr 10 2010, 12:17 PM
wow.. that's scary
question : is your iphone jailbroken?
denzel88
Apr 10 2010, 12:19 PM
Are you using iPhone 2G or 3G? most probably you battery is dead
iori57
Apr 10 2010, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(boblp @ Apr 10 2010, 12:08 PM) i bet u must be scared to death.. hahaha anyway.. is it related to the new firmware? ya lor just now heart stopped for 10 mins... so scary... dunno what causes the problem too.. dunno how to prevent.. using 3.1.3.. dunno QUOTE(CallMeMonkey @ Apr 10 2010, 12:17 PM) wow.. that's scary question : is your iphone jailbroken? nope cannot JB because is 3.1.3  iphone 3gs