iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

boringpig
post Mar 30 2010, 12:31 PM

1,344 posts

iPhone Generation : 3GS
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Officially unlocked (Maxis set)
Current Firmware : 3.1.2
Current network: Maxis
iTunes Version : 9.0.3
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : blackra1n
Problem Encountered : unable to boot, can't go into DFU, no response from the phone
Steps Taken So Far : restoring to previous firmware
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) : attached
Other Information/Remarks :

Okay, I'm dumb. I was trying out sn0wbreeze to jb 3.1.3 and somehow itunes gave me 1600 error. After that, my iPhone is basically a dummy set.

I tried to go into DFU mode but after more than 20 seconds of holding home + power button, nothing happen. Funny thing is iTunes detected my phone is in recovery mode. I tried restoring to 3.1.2 and 3.0.1 but iTunes showed me "error 1600"..

I guess from this point onward, it does not relate to jailbreaking. My phone is just not booting up. I've been searching over the net for solutions and sending it back would be my last option since they'll most probably replace with a new set with 3.1.3 OS..

Thanks!

boringpig
post Mar 30 2010, 12:56 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Mar 30 2010, 12:45 PM)
@boringpig
1600 occurs due to the fact that the firmwares u tried to restore are not signed by apple anymore.

restoring the phone with 3.1.3 will work, and i don't think maxis will honour your warranty if they are able to restore to 3.1.3, which i'm sure it can be done.
hi Hanxz,

Yes, I do aware of that. I will attempt to update to 3.1.3 if there are not available solutions available. If it does work, then I guess I'd have to leave with it. Else, no choice but to send it back..
boringpig
post Apr 2 2010, 10:51 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(bridge22 @ Mar 30 2010, 02:27 PM)
omg... upgrading to 3.1.3 no more jb for yr iphone.. worst action.. cry.gif
pity for you.. rclxub.gif
Ooo.. no more pity. I managed to bring it back onto 3.1.2. Seems like my office network block the connection to Saurik's server. I've jailbreak it again with blackra1n and it work like charm now.

I'd guess I will refrain from updating 3.1.3 for now.

QUOTE(mois @ Mar 30 2010, 02:45 PM)
guy, how to cut a portion of a song in itune? i want to cut song for ringtone. and how can i choose my ringtone from my music? Because i check in the ringtone, there is no any songs from my music. All default songs.
[1] Right-click the song you want to edit, click "Create AAC Version"
[2] Right-click on the AAC version, click "Get Info"
[3] Go to Options tab
[4] Check the box "Start time" and specify the start time of your intended ringtone
[5] Check the box "End time" and specify the end time of your intended ringtone
[6] Click OK
You'll have your ringtone but you can't use it yet because it's not in iPhone ringtone format
[7] Right-click on the edited ringtone, click "Show in Windows Explorer"
Your ringtone will be in .m4a format
[8] Change the extension by renaming it to .m4r
[9] Add it to your iTunes library
You may find the ringtone in "Ringtone" library instead of "Music"

Hope it's not too confusing.

boringpig
post Apr 4 2010, 05:30 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 2 2010, 11:38 PM)
Hi, on the first part already kantoi liao, when I right click, the Create AAC Version did not come out leh. Any idea? Sorry just got my iphone today
Hope you managed to create your custom ringtones.
The AAC version of the tone will usually appear under the same list as your original song.
boringpig
post Apr 5 2010, 08:38 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 4 2010, 06:48 PM)
Yeah manage to convert the ringtone already, thanks alot.by the way is it iTunes limit the ringtone to 30 second?
no idea about that..
for me 27-28 seconds is enough cos by the time the ringtone ends, the call will be diverted into my voicemail.. tongue.gif
boringpig
post Apr 6 2010, 08:25 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Apr 5 2010, 08:54 PM)
need somebody to confirm about the latest update for itunes..
is it true that it can spoil jailbreaked iphone during sync??
i'm using the latest itunes.. and still have my jailbreak

QUOTE(vernard @ Apr 6 2010, 07:28 PM)
Hi, I just got myself Iphone 3Gs (AT&T) from ebay.
Apparently I can't use it unless I unlock it.
How much it cost to unlock it and after so I can use it?
Information needed, thanks!
you can do it for free.. on your own..

refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=174&t=1223378 to know how..
boringpig
post Apr 7 2010, 08:44 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(lkp857 @ Apr 6 2010, 11:39 PM)
Anyone of you experience this before? after you enable the tethering, the config disappear from your setting menu? How to ennable tethering? I cant find anything in the Windows XP control panel, no modem or anything added after I connect it using USB and itune 8.2 installed.
I did.. but it kinda intermittent.. when i first got the phone, it was there.. i jailbreak it, it was still there.. i enabled the tethering once and after that it's gone.. restore is back to original firmware, it's still not there.. jailbreak it again, it's back.. and in between then and now, i've restored and jailbreak for numerous times.. testing jb tools.. and now i dun even bother whether it's there or not..

btw.. i've did the carrier bundle and tethering enabling thingy..

QUOTE(littlediana @ Apr 7 2010, 12:09 AM)
can i ask iphone can use as a modem for notebook?

sorry quite blur on this iphone  blush.gif
yes.. it's call internet tethering.. if u're not experiencing like what i did as mentioned above.. u would be seeing that option in Settings > General > Network

QUOTE(cikguazleen @ Apr 7 2010, 09:54 AM)
Hello guys,
This is what I found under the General>About
Company One: My Maxis
Usable content: 25.7 Gb
Total content: 29.42 Gb
Software version: I835S_CHN_CA_W_V1_1_3
Edit time: 2010/02/03 16:16
BT Name: iPhone
BT Address: 7a:e2:11:8d:66:01
Phone Mac Address: Not Available
Maybe just grab a photo of the whole box + phone..
but definitely a fake one.. iPhone's About doesn't have those things.. it should look like <as attached below>

QUOTE(zhumak @ Apr 7 2010, 12:14 PM)
dear all fellow iphone users,

can i know for Iphone 3gs, how can I:

1. transfer documents - microsoft application (words,excel, powerpoint) from Iphone to Laptop, Laptop to Iphone?

2. possible to take iphone as Mass Storage where i can store some file/laptop software/documents/etc?

thank you so much.
1. Yes by using 3rd party application.

2. Yes. Other than those suggested in previous posts, I've been using Discover Pro. It uses wifi connection to transfer documents and files from iPhone > PC > iPhone.

QUOTE(iori57 @ Apr 7 2010, 04:01 PM)
One noob question..

Let say i have a lot of applications total of 10 pages.. what's the fastest way to go to page 10 (last page)? I saw there are 10 dots at the bottom of the screen, I thought pressing the last dot will auto get me there.. very time consuming to flip through 10 pages le..
iPhone's touch screen is quite responsive and sensitive.. u can just flip through the pages by sliding faster.. not too much of effort to do that..

This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 7 2010, 08:54 PM

boringpig
post Apr 9 2010, 04:16 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(fizz6487 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:55 AM)
maybe it is a FUNNY QUESTION..

but i need to know... Now, what i see in current market, there are many kind of iphone..

IPHONE 2G
IPHONE 3G
IPHONE 3GS

my funny question is what's the different of all that iphone?

i'm so happy if someone here can give a short answer to me in explaining this iphone... thanks. smile.gif
http://www.apple.com/iphone/compare-iphones/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPhone (there are some photos comparison too)

you can get a lot of information by just Googling..

QUOTE(kazumanj3 @ Apr 9 2010, 03:17 PM)
~ iPhone 3G 8GB
~ iTunes 9.1 (latest update)

prob : when i plug in iPhone to iTunes appear this error
CODE
itunes was unable to load data from sync services. reconnect or try again later

but, when i plug in ipod touch had same error but can still sync like b4
have u try re-installing iTunes?
btw, is ur set jailbroken?

try this:
- Close iTunes.
- Remove contents of folder "C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Apple Computer\SyncServices\Local"
- Start iTunes and reconnect your iPhone.

This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 9 2010, 04:21 PM
boringpig
post Apr 9 2010, 07:18 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 9 2010, 06:00 PM)
If i turn off the 3g from iphone setting, does the iphone still use 3g connection?

Is there any other solution to share, anyone?
Of course not..
Just disable the location services, push notifications and everything that uses data..

http://iphonenodata.com/site/

questions that u might wanna ask - http://iphonenodata.com/site/faq/

This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 9 2010, 07:20 PM
boringpig
post Apr 11 2010, 06:40 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 9 2010, 07:44 PM)
thanks for reply but I got question regarding on the comment from the second link u give, I'm using v3.1.3 if I disable the 3g then I want to enable it back is it no failure. Anyone try this b4.
Internet tethering, yes (my case).. 3G, never heard off..

QUOTE(iori57 @ Apr 10 2010, 11:19 AM)
Today morning I was still using it normally, then later without any symptoms my phone suddenly like turn off permanently... now cannot power on, the screen just stays black.. like totally no power like that..
This morning just charged till around 80% battery so not because of that.. now plugged in the power cable also no respond..

It happens just like that, so sudden =.= anything i could try now to revive it?

Added on April 10, 2010, 11:28 amIs it because I never off the phone and let it rest once in a while? Sometimes only I charge the phone till 100%, then pull out the cable and then off and on back the phone (according to one of the iphone tips thread) other than that i never off the phone for more than 1 minute... T-T
QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 10 2010, 03:51 PM)
Err.... are you sure bro?
Mine also 3GS from Maxis original set, but mine never vibrate when startup and never play any startup music since day 1...!
Did I missed anything?  cry.gif
possible battery faulty... my friend's set was like that too.. suspecting jailbreak causing that but even after restoring to original firmware, the battery still drain like nobody's business.. brought it back to maxis then sent back to apple for couple of weeks to have a new set replacement..

QUOTE(MrSars @ Apr 10 2010, 05:03 PM)
I cant choose none for payment method. Only can choose 3 types of credit card, there is no  other choice.

Edit : Put a blank an error will come out saying that i have to fill in the blank.
iTunes update, perhaps? When I first registered, it did have "None" and i chose "None".. After that, when I was trying to register another new account for my friend, "None" was no longer there..
boringpig
post Apr 12 2010, 07:20 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:53 PM)
ya me too... i think all iphone user got same problem wif facebook via safari...
facebook apps also got some problem wif notification..
anyone know why?
QUOTE(saksoba @ Apr 11 2010, 10:56 PM)
the developer of facebook already abandon the app rite? might be there is an issue with the new fb and current current fb app
Not all iPhone users has the same problem.. it's kinda subjective.. mine is working all the while.. before and after jailbreak.. using Safari or the FB apps itself..

btw, I'm on Maxis..

The Internet settings, perhaps?

0.0385sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:46 PM