iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

iori57
post Mar 25 2010, 06:12 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Hello, can iphone send sms instantly to a group of contacts?

I manage to create a few groups like 'family', 'colleagues', 'friends' and added contacts to each of them.. is there a way to type an sms and send to all contacts under 'family'?

Thank you!
iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 03:06 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Since in the newbie guide it says 'If all fails and you truly think you have an unique problem, feel free to post up a new thread (with a clear title to help improve search results) or give a shout out to the regulars in the iPhone Club pinned thread following the recommended question template.'

So I made this thread.. sorry for any inconvenience!

iPhone Generation : iPhone 3GS
Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlocked. MC132MY.
Current Firmware : 3.1.3.
Current network: (for example Maxis) Maxis
iTunes Version : 9.0.3.15
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : No Jailbreak
Problem Encountered : Cannot disable Edge/GPRS (when wifi and 3g are OFF) even after following newbie guides and forum sifus
Steps Taken So Far :
1) Followed this guide http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226/ to use iPhone_3.1_Maxis_my.ipcc file, now can choose 'Cellular Data Network'. Changed APN to gibberish as explained in various guides.. also tried using http://iphonenodata.com/ and http://unlockit.co.nz/
2) Followed the advise For Maxis Users: If all of the above suggestion fails, you need to insert a non maxis simcard and then set the APN with some gebberish words and then swap back your simcard. Your internet connection should fail to connect. swapped friend's celcom and digi simcards, changed APN, my iphone still can use edge/gprs after done everything..
3) I also noticed that if i swap digi/celcom sim card, changed APN, when swap back my maxis sim card, the APN resets to default maxis correct APN settings! it's like they hard coded in the sim card and i can't change them sad.gif
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks :
HELP~~ The maxis internet bill is killing me! i read every thread in lowyat edi still no solution T-T

iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 09:34 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Mar 26 2010, 08:59 AM)
plz do not open a new thread for this...use the existing one...do some research before opening a thread..here are link...thank you..

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1223378

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1037479
do some research before opening a thread..
Bro, if you actually read my post, you'll know that i did all my research.. Thanks for reminding though.

Mackiddo: according to the links quoted by yuvanesh, threads, you can disable even without jailbreaking wor.

This post has been edited by iori57: Mar 26 2010, 09:35 AM
iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 10:33 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:11 AM)
Call up maxis and request to disable GPRS/EDGE/3G services and you are done!
This is the frustrating part, i called them and they say iphone is a smart phone, maxis cannot do anything to disable it. Then i tell them my friends at digi can disable, they say impossible, you cannot disable for the iphone.. Iphone smart then that means maxis stupid lo...
iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 12:10 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Mar 26 2010, 11:10 AM)
actually, the info from Maxis CS is correct. iPhone = INTERNET phone. since Maxis is the approved iPhone carrier, and the settings are installed via iTunes, there's no way for you to totally disable the data access via GPRS / EDGE.

I read thru your thread, why are you trying to skip out on the 2nd most important feature on iPhone, anyway? its like buying a Sony PSP to listen to MP3 songs smile.gif
I don't agree, so many lowyat forumers already disabled the data access via GPRS / EDGE following the guides..

As for the second point, I'm mostly around Wifi areas, can use internet for free via Wifi smile.gif
iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 12:33 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Mar 26 2010, 12:16 PM)
@iori57

You can call Maxis to unsubscribe the EDGE and 3G connections. They will disable them upon your request.

You'll have no problems with credits running out the windows.
I just called them and they say they can't unsubscribe for iphone.. keep promoting their rm58 500mb package..

I give up... I think I'll just get that package, thanks for all the replies!
iori57
post Mar 26 2010, 02:39 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 26 2010, 01:41 PM)
@iori57,
U don't haf to tell them you're on the iPhone; just tell Maxis U want to totally disable the 3G/EDGE services.  They can do it on their main system and U will no longer have to worry about $ flying out the window.
Thanks smile.gif will try that!
iori57
post Mar 27 2010, 12:36 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 26 2010, 11:53 PM)
Hey guys does all iphones have the problem can't turn off 3g & edge or  only iori57 iphone?
wah personal attack lol

if the iphone you got is 3.1.2 firmware or below, you can jailbreak it and disable edge/3g/gprs. But if you're 3.1.3. like mine then the best is wait for them to release new jailbreak solution..
iori57
post Mar 31 2010, 10:40 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

is there any apps to lock/hide videos? i mean the videos i converted and upload to iphone, not the videos in camera roll...

thanks!
iori57
post Apr 7 2010, 04:01 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

One noob question..

Let say i have a lot of applications total of 10 pages.. what's the fastest way to go to page 10 (last page)? I saw there are 10 dots at the bottom of the screen, I thought pressing the last dot will auto get me there.. very time consuming to flip through 10 pages le..
iori57
post Apr 7 2010, 07:54 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 7 2010, 04:16 PM)

Added on April 7, 2010, 4:17 pm
no such feature AFAIK.

tough luck

my advice would be arranging the apps/icons according to priority
Too bad.. coz i organize pages based on categories, so all my games is in page 7 page 8.. when want to play games need to scroll to them.. not much problem but gets annoying if you do it all the time haha

QUOTE(zhumak @ Apr 7 2010, 05:47 PM)
Hi, can anyone here assist in this?

thank you so much
Get iFiles from apps store.. costs 99 cents but totally worth your money.. can transfer files between iphone and laptop using wifi connection (if you have one that is).. can read mostly used files like jpg, txt, pdf, mp3, microsoft's excel,word,powerpoint...
iori57
post Apr 8 2010, 12:07 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Apr 7 2010, 11:44 PM)
the onlt thing that bothers me about changing from n97 to iphone is gps...n97 got garmin...
Me too, the only thing i miss in my old n82 is the garmin mobile xt sad.gif other than that.. Iphone all the way smile.gif
oops forgot to mention i miss the java support too smile.gif

iori57
post Apr 8 2010, 11:49 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

I always get instant lock down when using papago.. I don't know why also smile.gif i on the papago and next few seconds it found my location.. so happy heh
iori57
post Apr 8 2010, 05:38 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM)
Hi, if you have a jailbroken phone. You could try Overboard or Orbit.

Oh thanks smile.gif My phone can't be JailBroken for now though! T-T

I'm gonna JB it again and again day and night when they release JB for 3.1.3 blush.gif
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 11:19 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Today morning I was still using it normally, then later without any symptoms my phone suddenly like turn off permanently... now cannot power on, the screen just stays black.. like totally no power like that..
This morning just charged till around 80% battery so not because of that.. now plugged in the power cable also no respond..

It happens just like that, so sudden =.= anything i could try now to revive it?

Added on April 10, 2010, 11:28 amIs it because I never off the phone and let it rest once in a while? Sometimes only I charge the phone till 100%, then pull out the cable and then off and on back the phone (according to one of the iphone tips thread) other than that i never off the phone for more than 1 minute... T-T

This post has been edited by iori57: Apr 10 2010, 11:28 AM
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 11:34 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Apr 10 2010, 11:29 AM)
Mine too!

I think the battery went flat. Recharge it again.

Then you power up by pressing on ON/OFF button and HOME button simultaneously to reset it.
charging right now.. how long do i need to wait for it to charge?
was at 80% battery level wor, can suddenly become flat wan meh?
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 11:44 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Thanks dude!!!

I hold the home + power button for 10 seconds and it still doesn't have any response, but when reached 11 seconds the apple logo came out... it stayed there for like 20-30 seconds, vibrate one time (scared me), played the startup music, then back to normal again!

And the battery shows 73%...

IT'S ALIVEEEEEEE.... IT'S ALIVEEEEE

cheers man!

Added on April 10, 2010, 11:45 am
QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 10 2010, 11:38 AM)
wat set?

digi ?
maxis set, got it last year smile.gif

This post has been edited by iori57: Apr 10 2010, 11:45 AM
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 02:25 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(boblp @ Apr 10 2010, 12:08 PM)
i bet u must be scared to death.. hahaha

anyway.. is it related to the new firmware?
ya lor just now heart stopped for 10 mins... so scary...
dunno what causes the problem too.. dunno how to prevent..
using 3.1.3.. dunno

QUOTE(CallMeMonkey @ Apr 10 2010, 12:17 PM)
wow.. that's scary

question : is your iphone jailbroken?
nope cannot JB because is 3.1.3 smile.gif

iphone 3gs
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 03:47 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

of coz iphone 3gs can upgrade..
all also can upgrade actually, but only 3gs and above will have multitask function
iori57
post Apr 10 2010, 06:07 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Guys, i found out a bug or some sort.. I have 11 pages of apps though they are not full.. Still got some spaces left on few of the pages.. But i purposely fill the last page (11th page) till full, then when i drag one app from other pages to this page therefore 'push' the last app out of page 11.. The app icon was gone! I cannot find it in any of the pages.. However i can still start the app from the spotlight page by typing out the app name smile.gif haha can hide an app from your friends such as those 18sx apps wink.gif can anyone confirm this bug?

Thanks!

Added on April 10, 2010, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 10 2010, 03:51 PM)
Err.... are you sure bro?
Mine also 3GS from Maxis original set, but mine never vibrate when startup and never play any startup music since day 1...!
Did I missed anything?  cry.gif
No need to worry la bro, i think it only vibrates and play funny music when doing a hard reset.. Or recover from error gua.. I just off and on my phone, this time no vibrate no sound smile.gif

This post has been edited by iori57: Apr 10 2010, 06:11 PM

0.0437sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:46 AM