The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far
yixuany
Aug 4 2010, 08:53 PM

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 4 2010, 07:40 PM) The picture shown is the twin-shared bedroom. Notice those doors, they are the room where two bedrooms are placed, where the tables are placed at the outside. Total 3 rooms (i.e. 6 people) in 1 unit, that comes with a shared washroom that has 1 hot water bath, 1 cold water bath and 2 toilet bowls. It may be hard for you to secure off campus on your own. But if you have friends at UNMC, get them to help you if possible. Pioneer overcharges the off-campus rates, so does their on-campus rate. But the on-campus at least has the proximity and convenience that are quite good. If you cannot secure even the on-campus with twin shared, then find something else. I was told (in fact, chased out) from the on-campus accommodation as all the 1200 units will be opened for new students. So, I believe you can't fail in getting a room you want if you apply early. I think i'll stick with the on campus accommodation coz i don't have a car, and it's safer on campus right? I heard there are many theft cases off campus.. How do they select roommates? is it at random or same course? Is the library open 24/7?
tanjinjack
Aug 4 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(yixuany @ Aug 4 2010, 08:53 PM) I think i'll stick with the on campus accommodation coz i don't have a car, and it's safer on campus right? I heard there are many theft cases off campus.. How do they select roommates? is it at random or same course? Is the library open 24/7? Theft case or not, you can't blame if you don't make your own precaution. I have no idea about the selection of roommates as the University themselves are taking over the management with Pioneer only doing some simple jobs I think. Previously, when Pioneer has all the says, they want to minimise jobs and decide to assign randomly. But I have heard the other company Perintis allows assignment of roommates on request, as long as the application is done together. Library does not open 24/7. It's, however, open at extended hours during exam period.
entryman
Aug 4 2010, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Aug 4 2010, 07:06 PM) Solely limiting ourselves to Malaysia, is there anything better? Alternative, (but doesn't mean better/worse). 1. Monash 2. CAT&ACCA tuition This post has been edited by entryman: Aug 4 2010, 10:11 PM
zstan
Aug 4 2010, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 4 2010, 10:08 PM) Solely limiting ourselves to Malaysia, is there anything better? Alternative, 1. Monash 2. CAT&ACCA tuition i salute your speed of editting. almost wanted to comment about that
entryman
Aug 4 2010, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 4 2010, 10:10 PM) i salute your speed of editting. almost wanted to comment about that  Haha... Need to be careful with my statements nowadays. I guess my finger clicks "post" faster than my thoughts arriving and processed, lol.
eXPeri3nc3
Aug 5 2010, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 4 2010, 07:40 PM) The picture shown is the twin-shared bedroom. Notice those doors, they are the room where two bedrooms are placed, where the tables are placed at the outside. Total 3 rooms (i.e. 6 people) in 1 unit, that comes with a shared washroom that has 1 hot water bath, 1 cold water bath and 2 toilet bowls. It may be hard for you to secure off campus on your own. But if you have friends at UNMC, get them to help you if possible. Pioneer overcharges the off-campus rates, so does their on-campus rate. But the on-campus at least has the proximity and convenience that are quite good. If you cannot secure even the on-campus with twin shared, then find something else. I was told (in fact, chased out) from the on-campus accommodation as all the 1200 units will be opened for new students. So, I believe you can't fail in getting a room you want if you apply early. In short, the accommodation is stay-able, Pioneer is a pioneer in overcharging. Don't trust what they say, they always have their way to go around the statements they said. Best is to walk around off campus and look for student houses for rent.
Cenarius
Aug 5 2010, 08:28 PM

went to nottingham today to apply. weird though, maybe i went on a wrong timing, but the whole campus looks deserted. i swear the number of students i saw were less than my total fingers.
btw, anyone heard of applicants facing rejection from the institution? the office guy told me that successful application is based on the results and how strong my personal statement is. my results are mediocre, not sure if the statement will propel me forward..
zstan
Aug 5 2010, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(Cenarius @ Aug 5 2010, 08:28 PM) went to nottingham today to apply. weird though, maybe i went on a wrong timing, but the whole campus looks deserted. i swear the number of students i saw were less than my total fingers. btw, anyone heard of applicants facing rejection from the institution? the office guy told me that successful application is based on the results and how strong my personal statement is. my results are mediocre, not sure if the statement will propel me forward.. it's SUMMER holiday broooooo~~
DJFoo000
Aug 5 2010, 09:50 PM
@Cenarius, isn't it a bit too late to be applying? Induction is a month from now, and the earliest they can reply is 2 weeks later. Why so late though?
I'm fairly confident that as long as your results satisfy the requirements, you'll be given entry.
entryman
Aug 6 2010, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(yixuany @ Aug 4 2010, 08:53 PM) I think i'll stick with the on campus accommodation coz i don't have a car, and it's safer on campus right? I heard there are many theft cases off campus.. How do they select roommates? is it at random or same course? Is the library open 24/7? I think if you buy a 2nd hand kancil, and then sell it off again once you've graduated, You can then benefit from (i) cheaper/same rental but larger space (ii) much more comfort (iii) ease in mobility At the end of your study period, when you sell off the kancil, the benefits that you've obtained over 3 years will still strongly outweigh the devaluation.
Cenarius
Aug 6 2010, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 5 2010, 09:50 PM) @Cenarius, isn't it a bit too late to be applying? Induction is a month from now, and the earliest they can reply is 2 weeks later. Why so late though? I'm fairly confident that as long as your results satisfy the requirements, you'll be given entry. is it too late?, coz the orientation day begins on september 20 so the personal statement isnt that much of a importance? i did managed to write a full fledged essay on it though. there is also a problem, my spm results doesnt really meet the requirement, so i'm a little worried.
youzef
Aug 6 2010, 03:54 AM
Is there an alternative to the cafeteria on campus? Are there any restaurants near the campus?
DJFoo000
Aug 6 2010, 12:25 PM
PS important also la (coz i dunno wut they do with them also, hehe).
Entryman, what about the single rooms? They are still good, right?
entryman
Aug 6 2010, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 6 2010, 12:25 PM) PS important also la (coz i dunno wut they do with them also, hehe). Entryman, what about the single rooms? They are still good, right? Single rooms are just basic rooms, I don't know how to define good or not, lol. It's just like a basic no frills motel room. But make sure you buy a stand fan or a portable air cooler. Sometimes it gets pretty warm in there.
eXPeri3nc3
Aug 6 2010, 01:25 PM
Since when personal statement is sooooo important?
I left mine blank.
DJFoo000
Aug 6 2010, 01:28 PM
 so my hypothesis about results is everything really rings true... should've copy-pasted my UCAS one...
Cenarius
Aug 6 2010, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 6 2010, 01:25 PM) Since when personal statement is sooooo important? I left mine blank. seriously? the admission guy said it is bloody important. i spent half an hour drafting it, and another 15min writing it. wtf?
tanjinjack
Aug 6 2010, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(Cenarius @ Aug 6 2010, 04:40 PM) seriously? the admission guy said it is bloody important. i spent half an hour drafting it, and another 15min writing it. wtf? My personal statement for Nottingham is boring. I later applied to UK university (through UCAS) and had a bombastic one, but I didn't go for it in the end. Personal statement comes important when your grades are not up to par for admission or consideration for scholarship. Think it in a way that it's an additional push. So, don't take too lightly on personal statement.
limeuu
Aug 6 2010, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 6 2010, 01:25 PM) Since when personal statement is sooooo important? I left mine blank. which is why you are NOT in oxbridge/imperial/lse/ucl/warick and the likes..........
youzef
Aug 7 2010, 05:40 AM
can anyone please answer my question above