134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

rxy
post Aug 7 2010, 12:04 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

@Cenarius:Didn't notice your post earlier.
Otherwise could have sth figured out.
Now is summer.
Mostly is January intake students,July foundation students and some postgrads.I'm neither lol.

@youzef:There is.
The nearest would be shops at TTS 2.
Rest would be in Semenyih/Broga.

Actually,if someone wanted to find off campus,u really need to find real cheap ones.
I have a friend paying like RM385 for a shared master bedroom at TTS 4 Wifi Precinct.
If including utilities(electric,water and also internet),that would cost more than on campus single room already.
But provided that on campus single shared room doesn't have aircond.
That's why it's still depends in the end.

This is the file that I saw in email.
Hopefully it can help those who wanna seek for off campus accommodation.

This post has been edited by rxy: Aug 7 2010, 12:48 PM
DJFoo000
post Aug 7 2010, 02:41 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

@rxy, i keep getting index.php instead...
tanjinjack
post Aug 7 2010, 03:37 PM

4,122 posts

Wow, based on the .doc by rxy, my upcoming academic year accommodation is a steal! LOL..
rxy
post Aug 7 2010, 06:18 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

index.php?
i uploaded the whole file to here..
i tried and it should be ok.
@tanjinjack:where u staying on the upcoming academic year?
DJFoo000
post Aug 7 2010, 08:37 PM

3,000 posts

hrmm... Chrome keeps downloading it as an 'index.php' file. ANyway renamed the extension and now can open already. Hrmm...
rxy
post Aug 8 2010, 12:18 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

Perhaps Chrome detects it as something else.
Previously when I use Chrome,sometimes also will like that.
tanjinjack
post Aug 8 2010, 02:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Aug 7 2010, 06:18 PM)
index.php?
i uploaded the whole file to here..
i tried and it should be ok.
@tanjinjack:where u staying on the upcoming academic year?
TTS 5, and I got the price of a single room lower than those listed in your .doc file.
Not going to disclose the price though. smile.gif
kaleem
post Aug 9 2010, 06:16 AM

question

what cellular network to get for an intl student , data plans any good?
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 9 2010, 08:41 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Cenarius @ Aug 6 2010, 04:40 PM)
seriously? the admission guy said it is bloody important.

i spent half an hour drafting it, and another 15min writing it. wtf?
I'm sorry for the late reply, no internet.

Yeah, that's what I'd done. Probably can't give a damn as I enter as a scholarship holder tongue.gif

But at least write something, unless you have superb results. (I know friends that ignore that part as well)
eugene90
post Aug 9 2010, 09:22 AM

251 posts

what's the specific entry requirement??

Nottingham always give me an impression that they are in deep financial difficulty as there are rumours saying that my cohort has 25% more intake than it's capacity.

I have some friends who do not own Alvl qualification (foundation from other college) but he's got the admission.

Somemore, the tuition fee is more expensive than public university in the region (overseas).

anyway, the quality of education is acceptable, if i am given the chance to rate, i will rate it 6 out of 10.
entryman
post Aug 9 2010, 11:48 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ Aug 9 2010, 09:22 AM)
what's the specific entry requirement??

Nottingham always give me an impression that they are in deep financial difficulty as there are rumours saying that my cohort has 25% more intake than it's capacity.

I have some friends who do not own Alvl qualification (foundation from other college) but he's got the admission.

Somemore, the tuition fee is more expensive than public university in the region (overseas).

anyway, the quality of education is acceptable, if i am given the chance to rate, i will rate it 6 out of 10.
Specific entry requirements would be clear cut in the cases of entering with common qualifications, e.g. SPM A-levels and other similar qualifications. Uncommon ones would be as what you've mentioned, e.g. foundation from other college.

Now the financial difficulty part could be debatable, not sure about that.

Now, about 5 or 6 years back I heard Monash did the same thing too, slack on the entry requirements, thus admitting more students.

But you should view it as follows: Even if you get in, coping within would be another thing. Even if you cope, and just meet borderline passes, no one really cares. It's your own career at stake anyway, when you show your transcript to future employers.

It's only when they fluctuate the internal quality process that's when I start to get worried about the reputation.

How do you define quality of education?

This post has been edited by entryman: Aug 9 2010, 11:51 AM
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 9 2010, 11:56 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 6 2010, 06:19 PM)
which is why you are NOT in oxbridge/imperial/lse/ucl/warick and the likes..........
For the record, I don't have enough money for those anyway yawn.gif
entryman
post Aug 9 2010, 12:46 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 9 2010, 11:56 AM)
Now in PwC? That's what your tag says..

I thought you're engineering grad?
eugene90
post Aug 9 2010, 01:24 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 9 2010, 11:48 AM)
Specific entry requirements would be clear cut in the cases of entering with common qualifications, e.g. SPM A-levels and other similar qualifications. Uncommon ones would be as what you've mentioned, e.g. foundation from other college.

Now the financial difficulty part could be debatable, not sure about that.

Now, about 5 or 6 years back I heard Monash did the same thing too, slack on the entry requirements, thus admitting more students.

But you should view it as follows: Even if you get in, coping within would be another thing. Even if you cope, and just meet borderline passes, no one really cares. It's your own career at stake anyway, when you show your transcript to future employers.

It's only when they fluctuate the internal quality process that's when I start to get worried about the reputation.

How do you define quality of education?
the quality of education that i'm refering to here is how lecture is being conduct (5/10 is pass) wink.gif

what do you mean by internal quality procesS? if you are concerned about the credibility of the honours, i will have a word.
the case is that, I was just an average student in the class in the past acad. year, but i was quite surprise when i was told that my preformance fell within second upper if i were in yr 2 or above (no grading for yr 1). i ever doubt that how could second uppper be given away so easily? anyway, this honour is good to decorate my cert. though it's quite fake rclxm9.gif hehe...
entryman
post Aug 9 2010, 01:32 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ Aug 9 2010, 01:24 PM)
the quality of education that i'm refering to here is how lecture is being conduct (5/10 is pass)  wink.gif

what do you mean by internal quality procesS? if you are concerned about the credibility of the honours, i will have a word.
the case is that, I was just an average student in the class in the past acad. year, but i was quite surprise when i was told that my preformance fell within second upper if i were in yr 2 or above (no grading for yr 1). i ever doubt that how could second uppper be given away so easily? anyway, this honour is good to decorate my cert. though it's quite fake rclxm9.gif hehe...
You thought wrong.

Year 2 makes up 30%, and Year 3 makes up 70%.
Collectively, both make up the classification of the final degree you're awarded.
Year 1 doesn't count into your final degree classification at all. It's only useful as a track record if shown to employers.

And Year 1 in Nottingham can be taken as a grounding stage, assimilating you from high school into tertiary education, while picking up the basic skills needed for Year 2 and 3. You can even say it's an introductory course to prepare you for your year 2 and 3.

As for the lecture being conducted, some students will have no problem, and some will have lots of problems with the teaching style. Some lecturers might not even know how to lecture. BUT, this ain't high school. The bulk of your learning doesn't come from lectures, in fact, it's the LEAST of the entire learning process. You're SUPPOSED to conduct A LOT of self research and lots of reading, discussions with mates, and direct consultation with the lecturers to suck their knowledge from their brains.

This post has been edited by entryman: Aug 9 2010, 01:46 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 9 2010, 01:40 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 9 2010, 12:46 PM)
Now in PwC? That's what your tag says..

I thought you're engineering grad?
I'm a Comp Sc graduate. smile.gif Yeah in PwC.
entryman
post Aug 9 2010, 01:57 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 9 2010, 01:40 PM)
I'm a Comp Sc graduate. smile.gif Yeah in PwC.
Ooh, what does a Comp Sc grad do in PwC? IT department?
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 9 2010, 02:01 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 9 2010, 01:57 PM)
Ooh, what does a Comp Sc grad do in PwC? IT department?
IT Audit smile.gif
zstan
post Aug 9 2010, 02:25 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 9 2010, 11:56 AM)
for the record, if you can go into those unis i am sure JPA will be more than willing to sponsor you.
DJFoo000
post Aug 9 2010, 02:30 PM

3,000 posts

^not true. 1 friend got imperial, another got UCL, JPA said 'sorry no cash for you'. Paiseh i got Edinburgh but no cash for me too sad.gif

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Aug 9 2010, 02:31 PM

134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:16 PM