134 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

zstan
post Jul 31 2010, 10:44 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 31 2010, 10:23 PM)
Ah I thought a good analogy. Tier system is much like the social class in society. It's not official, but it's just taken as it is.

But locally, Nott and Monash graduates are considered competitive candidates, right?
not really as well.

after your first/2nd/3rd job... nobody will ask where did you graduate from anymore...
DJFoo000
post Jul 31 2010, 10:51 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

@entryman, i dunno, i always look up to those from UM USM and UKM (in that order). Had a choice to join them but decided I could do better. smile.gif

@zstan aiyo now all noob like me worry is about 1st job ma. haha. But if the boss happens to be an alumnus, got advantage brows.gif whistling.gif
entryman
post Jul 31 2010, 10:53 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 31 2010, 10:44 PM)
not really as well.

after your first/2nd/3rd job... nobody will ask where did you graduate from anymore...
Well, it definitely is important too.

Think along the lines of recognition, prestige, and the multiplier effect and trust/favouritism people have on you.
zstan
post Jul 31 2010, 10:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 31 2010, 10:51 PM)
@entryman, i dunno, i always look up to those from UM USM and UKM (in that order). Had a choice to join them but decided I could do better. smile.gif

@zstan aiyo now all noob like me worry is about 1st job ma. haha. But if the boss happens to be an alumnus, got advantage  brows.gif  whistling.gif
ahahhaa... dun need worry too much la if u plan to work locally...my cousin from kbu also managed to get into intel.. wink.gif
DJFoo000
post Jul 31 2010, 10:57 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

lol UNMC thread really nothing to chat about ah, have to chat about non-UNMC-related stuff.
zstan
post Jul 31 2010, 11:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 31 2010, 10:57 PM)
lol UNMC thread really nothing to chat about ah, have to chat about non-UNMC-related stuff.
UNMC students all busy enjoying summer holidays where will come one... unsure.gif
tanjinjack
post Jul 31 2010, 11:13 PM

4,122 posts

Might be a bit late for the comments about the rankings. No points arguing between ARWU and TIMES for them using different methods.
Just poking each other's weakness does not make one being inferior to the other, and people will just argue in an endless loop.

Which one is better, depends on how the reader interprets. Which criteria is important to the reader? Does having more Nobel laureate more important than peer review? Sort of.

Just go with the one you think you can live with.
entryman
post Jul 31 2010, 11:48 PM

2,179 posts

bro i think u missed my posts tongue.gif
Cenarius
post Aug 1 2010, 02:13 AM

173 posts

for the september intake foundation programmes, if i completed until spm (11 years) + another year foundation in another college, does that count as 12 years of formal edu?
entryman
post Aug 1 2010, 10:24 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(Cenarius @ Aug 1 2010, 02:13 AM)
for the september intake foundation programmes, if i completed until spm (11 years) + another year foundation in another college, does that count as 12 years of formal edu?
Should be alright. Why don't you just give them a call, takes only a minute to answer your question.

This post has been edited by entryman: Aug 1 2010, 11:20 AM
Cenarius
post Aug 1 2010, 02:27 PM

173 posts

doubt they'll pick up my call on a sunday wink.gif
entryman
post Aug 1 2010, 02:30 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(Cenarius @ Aug 1 2010, 02:27 PM)
doubt they'll pick up my call on a sunday wink.gif
Haha, Shouldn't be a problem though.

Can't verify for you as I don't think anyone in here went into the Sept intake. I was in April intake.
rxy
post Aug 4 2010, 12:13 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

@zstan:Summer holiday might have other things to do also.
Such as internships or works.

@Cenarius:I think yes.
If you completed foundation programme in other college,then I think you can get into undergraduate program.
But if your results couldn't fulfil their requirements,guess you have to get into Sep intake.
Anyway,check with the Nott admission officer.
And I really don't think there is someone working on Sunday at the office.
yixuany
post Aug 4 2010, 05:28 PM

53 posts

may i know how does the four shared room look like?
rubrubrub
post Aug 4 2010, 05:35 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 1 2010, 02:30 PM)
Haha, Shouldn't be a problem though.

Can't verify for you as I don't think anyone in here went into the Sept intake. I was in April intake.
u r unmc student? what are u majoring in?
tanjinjack
post Aug 4 2010, 06:27 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(yixuany @ Aug 4 2010, 05:28 PM)
may i know how does the four shared room look like?
Get OFF campus instead. It will be better.

Okay, open the door, to your right is your first bed, and then second and then third and forth.
In front of each bed, is the table. So, there's 4 in total.
Then at the other end, is the toilet and wardrobe.

If I recall correctly it's like that. In short, for the money, it's a lot better for off campus accommodation.
entryman
post Aug 4 2010, 06:51 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Aug 4 2010, 05:35 PM)
u r unmc student? what are u majoring in?
Finance and Accounting
rubrubrub
post Aug 4 2010, 07:06 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Aug 4 2010, 06:51 PM)
Finance and Accounting
is the course any good?
yixuany
post Aug 4 2010, 07:23 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 4 2010, 06:27 PM)
Get OFF campus instead. It will be better.

Okay, open the door, to your right is your first bed, and then second and then third and forth.
In front of each bed, is the table. So, there's 4 in total.
Then at the other end, is the toilet and wardrobe.

If I recall correctly it's like that. In short, for the money, it's a lot better for off campus accommodation.
ohh that sounds horrible. i thought it'd be something like this http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pho...&id=31806985228

by off campus do u mean edu square or rent a room outside not thru pioneer?
tanjinjack
post Aug 4 2010, 07:40 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(yixuany @ Aug 4 2010, 07:23 PM)
ohh that sounds horrible. i thought it'd be something like this http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pho...&id=31806985228

by off campus do u mean edu square or rent a room outside not thru pioneer?
The picture shown is the twin-shared bedroom. Notice those doors, they are the room where two bedrooms are placed, where the tables are placed at the outside. Total 3 rooms (i.e. 6 people) in 1 unit, that comes with a shared washroom that has 1 hot water bath, 1 cold water bath and 2 toilet bowls.

It may be hard for you to secure off campus on your own. But if you have friends at UNMC, get them to help you if possible. Pioneer overcharges the off-campus rates, so does their on-campus rate. But the on-campus at least has the proximity and convenience that are quite good. If you cannot secure even the on-campus with twin shared, then find something else. I was told (in fact, chased out) from the on-campus accommodation as all the 1200 units will be opened for new students. So, I believe you can't fail in getting a room you want if you apply early.

134 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0273sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:37 PM