13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

DJFoo000
post Mar 29 2010, 08:32 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
2,996 posts

what's the speed of the internet connection at the hostel?
DJFoo000
post Mar 30 2010, 09:46 PM

2,996 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Mar 30 2010, 01:45 PM)
It's called very slow. Enough for you to surf... for homework I guess.
Have a speedtest screenshot for that?

What about the internet connection at the computer lab? And the learning hub beside it?
DJFoo000
post May 5 2010, 11:18 AM

2,996 posts

Hey guys, there aren't a lot of information about the on-campus accommodation. Are they all similar, just different amount of area?
DJFoo000
post May 5 2010, 07:07 PM

2,996 posts

^ hrmm... I have queries regarding the included internet connection and the weather. I asked before and was told it wasn't that quick. But since it's included in the payment, why isn't the quality any better? And is the night weather at the campus humid? Air-cond necessary? I don't have to sleep in a freezing cold room, just cool enough that I'm not sweating.

Basically am asking for recommendation for on-campus accommodation. Sharing bedroom, good idea? The notice at the entrance of one of the dorm buildings asking students to take care of their laptops is a bit worrying.
DJFoo000
post May 6 2010, 03:11 PM

2,996 posts

Then I guess any type of accommodation would do the job. Thanks a lot.

@happy_pink
you submitted to JPA regarding Tajaan Tambahan already? Don't you want to look at what UPU is going to offer you first?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: May 6 2010, 03:12 PM
DJFoo000
post May 6 2010, 06:15 PM

2,996 posts

LOL. I guess accommodation is something the main management can't really control?

Housing aside, Mech Eng students, how's the teaching going? The 'tour guide' talked about how everyone gets to use the fabrication apparatus instead of sharing it like what is being done in other establishments.
DJFoo000
post May 7 2010, 08:17 PM

2,996 posts

Hrmm... I guess I won't know about the easy version of the course since i'll probably be doing the 'tough' version. If can't compare, then won't feel that it's difficult, I hope. LOL. Just hope fabrication is just as fun as they make it look on TV.

It seems the SA doesn't sound that efficient based on you guy's feelings towards it.

@happy_pink
you mentioned in the thread that you're under it. That's how I know. I mean, you confirmed with JPA that you want them to sponsor you in UNIM already?

Yeah, I was under the Tingkatan Enam one. Just hope they fulfill their promise and continue the sponsorship for me.
DJFoo000
post May 14 2010, 06:57 PM

2,996 posts

Wow, that pretty much killed any thoughts of stayng on-campus. Good thing I haven't apply for accommodation.

There's a residential area just outside of the campus, right? TTS i think is wut it's called. I guess that one need to find few mates to pakat and rent?
DJFoo000
post May 16 2010, 11:15 AM

2,996 posts

That's some pretty helpful words you guys give there! Hopefully things will turn out great.
DJFoo000
post Jun 3 2010, 03:10 PM

2,996 posts

what is the normal intake for a particular course, say mechanical engineering? How many ppl, on average?
DJFoo000
post Jun 5 2010, 10:45 AM

2,996 posts

wah. Seriously ah? This includes all engineering branches, not just one branch, right?
DJFoo000
post Jun 5 2010, 09:50 PM

2,996 posts

yer, dun feel that special anymore... hahaha
DJFoo000
post Jun 17 2010, 09:46 PM

2,996 posts

when should I expect further instructions/information from UNMC to arrive for new students coming in this September? Till now no information, nothing. The last time I heard from them was to reply to my offer in April.
DJFoo000
post Jun 21 2010, 12:52 AM

2,996 posts

@rxy
nope, like I said, never heard from them since replying to the offer. My last contact with them was when they reply to me saying that i've accepted the offer. I guess I just have to show up on 20th Sept as shown in the Academic Calender?

http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Students/Cale...lendar1011.aspx

You didn't get any package or anything from them prior to registration/orientation?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jun 21 2010, 12:53 AM
DJFoo000
post Jun 30 2010, 11:03 AM

2,996 posts

I read somewhere that say the standards in M'sia campus (MBA course, IIRC) is higher coz our students are too competitive. They had to lower their passing mark (or some other indicator) in UK Campus to compete wit M'sian campus students. Forgot where already.

EDIT: Found it. http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2006...nottingham.html

Take the rest of the article with a pinch of salt and pepper coz the post is 4 years old.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jun 30 2010, 11:15 AM
DJFoo000
post Jun 30 2010, 07:07 PM

2,996 posts

GMaps direction

I was stuck in traffic in the town the last (and first) time I went there.
DJFoo000
post Jul 4 2010, 11:46 AM

2,996 posts

wah. how come they so fast can let you know what room you get already one? They told me I can only get to know in August.
DJFoo000
post Jul 5 2010, 09:12 PM

2,996 posts

lol. I do STPM also not sure whether it's good enough a preparation for engineering studies.

Hey guys I'm rotting here after all my friends left for IPTA. Is there anything I can do to ease my transition to UG studies? Like maybe refresh skills on specific parts of maths like calculus?

Basically anything that you wished you've had known/prepared before starting 101.
DJFoo000
post Jul 5 2010, 09:29 PM

2,996 posts

haha. C'mon I know it's a myth that F6 is more or less the same as UG Yr1. Unless ppl do further maths in F6. I didn't la boss. I've peeked into mechanics book in a library and they have all sorts of formulas to calculate all sorts of stuff.

My F6 maths ok la, when taking the STPM paper. Now 6 months didn't touch the book already feeling not that confident.
DJFoo000
post Jul 5 2010, 09:44 PM

2,996 posts

aiyo F5 dun mention. F5 is nothing. Ppl think their F5 get straights think they are god or something. LOL topic for another day.

So, there's nothing you wished you knew before you started 101? Sure or not my friend who took A levels say he might be having trouble even passing his papers for Sem2 that juz ended weeks ago. Haven't got to meet him again though. To be fair he's in Imperial so standards might vary a bit(?).

For the record, will be goin MechEng. So any prep will be helpful.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jul 5 2010, 09:44 PM

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0703sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:16 PM