A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v2, FullHD Network Mediaplayer

Ngto
post Apr 13 2010, 09:47 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ Apr 13 2010, 03:08 PM)
Sifu, how to avoid the problem? It can play nicely at 1st then can't play after a while...
like run a check disk? can it be done?
Also, how to check if it is hot?
Do you copy, move files to diff directories using POHD internal functions. Better avoid doing that and use PC to do that instead.

Last time while using earlier firmware I had some corruption problems. Since then I connect the POHD Internal HD to PC and do my housekeeping from there.
yslysl
post Apr 14 2010, 09:11 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 13 2010, 09:47 PM)
Do you copy, move files to diff directories using POHD internal functions. Better avoid doing that and use PC to do that instead.

Last time while using earlier firmware I had some corruption problems. Since then I connect the POHD Internal HD to PC and do my housekeeping from there.
bro, how do u connect the POHD Internal HD to PC?
can teach me step by step please? kinda noob here... sweat.gif
Ngto
post Apr 14 2010, 09:56 AM

4,350 posts

Just connect with the Cable provided lah (from the POHD USB Slave port to the PC USB port). The cable is the one with the Mini connector on one end and normal connector on the other. When your PC is switched on and you turn on the power of the POHD, the blue light will disappear after a few seconds and the PC will in turn detect it as a USB Drive.

Just use the POHD like any other External USB HD connected to your PC USB port. Make sure you use the "Safely Remove Hardware" feature when you want to disconnect the POHD from the Computer just to be safe (Just like any other USB device).

After you disconnect the cable, the POHD will power on back for normal functions.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 14 2010, 10:01 AM
twenty6
post Apr 14 2010, 10:05 AM

279 posts

Guys, am thinking of getting a mini. So any promotions during KL pc fair?
BoxBuilder
post Apr 14 2010, 10:22 AM

292 posts

Annoucement:

For the coming PC Fair, from 16th to 18th April Only, we have a booth at Hall 2, No. 235, run under Viewnet. Special Offer for
1. PlayOn!HD, RM519.00, You get 1 carrying bag and 1 special Skinz (total worht RM75.00) for free.
2. PlayOn!HD Mini, RM419.00
Both models limited to 50 units only.

For the skinz:

Hope to see you there.

byut74
post Apr 14 2010, 04:13 PM

25 posts

For Mini no free gift aaar
BoxBuilder
post Apr 14 2010, 04:20 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(byut74 @ Apr 14 2010, 04:13 PM)
For Mini no free gift aaar
Nop, sorry. That is why offer very low price to compensate. But all these offer strictly for PC Fair 3 days only.
byut74
post Apr 14 2010, 05:55 PM

25 posts

I want to get POHD mini but got a few question in my mind...

1. I don't home any home theater...can i play mkv file with DTS audio if i connect to my LCD TV
Can i hear the sound.Do i need to convert the audio first.
echoesian
post Apr 14 2010, 06:08 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(byut74 @ Apr 14 2010, 05:55 PM)
I want to get POHD mini but got  a few question in my mind...

1. I don't home any home theater...can i play mkv file with DTS audio if i connect to my LCD TV
If you watch mkv movie with DTS or AC3, it will be fine except for those movies with True-HD or DTS-MA.
byut74
post Apr 14 2010, 06:15 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 14 2010, 06:08 PM)
If you watch mkv movie with DTS or AC3, it will be fine except for those movies with True-HD or DTS-MA.
thanks for the info.........will get it on Friday.
Ngto
post Apr 14 2010, 10:00 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(byut74 @ Apr 14 2010, 05:55 PM)
I want to get POHD mini but got  a few question in my mind...

If you only watch mkv files no need to bother about HD Audio problems biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 14 2010, 10:01 PM
byut74
post Apr 14 2010, 11:23 PM

25 posts

Got 1 question...
Can POHD mini read mkv file in my pc and play it on LCD TV?How it can be done....noob question.
echoesian
post Apr 14 2010, 11:50 PM

3,294 posts

via LAN or Wireless LAN
ufo91919
post Apr 15 2010, 10:06 AM

136 posts

Sifus

Pls bear with me. Am quite illiterate on IT related matters.
I notice that quite a number of forumers mentioned mkv files. Is it the same as the RMVB files ??? icon_question.gif Because most of the movies that I watched from internet carried the RMVB tag ...

Thanks !
Ngto
post Apr 15 2010, 10:33 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ufo91919 @ Apr 15 2010, 10:06 AM)
Sifus

Pls bear with me. Am quite illiterate on IT related matters.
I notice that quite a number of forumers mentioned mkv files. Is it the same as the RMVB files ??? icon_question.gif Because most of the movies that I watched  from internet carried the RMVB tag ...

Thanks !
Not the same, both different. But POHD and other Realtek players can play both.

MKV 'commonly' (not necessarily must be) contain movies ripped from Blu-ray and compressed (sometimes reduced to about 5 times it's original size) and resolution is up to 1080P. Quality is excellent considering it's compresssion ratio (common format H264)

RMVB can have decent resolution too, but however, for TVB series they are commonly compressed to lower resolution and low quality because a whole series will take up too much space.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Apr 15 2010, 10:45 AM
ufo91919
post Apr 15 2010, 10:42 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 15 2010, 10:33 AM)
Not the same, both different. But POHD and other Realtek players can play both.

MKV commonly contain movies ripped from Blu-ray (I said 'commonly' not 'must be') and resolution is up to 1080P.

RMVB can have decent resolution too, but however, for TVB series they are commonly compressed to lower resolution and low quality because a whole series will take up too much space.
Thanks Bro, you are of great help.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 15 2010, 10:50 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Apr 15 2010, 10:33 AM)
With more and more people moving towards have bigger screen and better download bandwidth, I notice many places are now offering TVB series at 720p resolution.
economist
post Apr 15 2010, 11:00 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 15 2010, 10:50 AM)
With more and more people moving towards have bigger screen and better download bandwidth, I notice many places are now offering TVB series at 720p resolution.
yup i only watch tvb in 720p now biggrin.gif
art6969
post Apr 15 2010, 11:33 AM

1,518 posts

im plan to download human target 720p, the size of 1 episode is more than 1 gb
Ngto
post Apr 15 2010, 11:40 AM

4,350 posts

That's the trend nowadays for anything smile.gif . If 20 episodes will take up 20GB or more. How long does it take you to DL. Just curious.

36 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:16 PM