Mar 9 2010, 01:40 AM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Oh dear, is it getting worse in Melbourne?
I just graduated and I hate it when I need to travel using buses or trains. I'm being charged for the full adult ticket price, which is double the concession price. Nevertheless, it's still better than getting on a public transport in Sydney - too expensive. |
Mar 9 2010, 03:45 AM
5,355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cera |
QUOTE(KON-KON @ Mar 9 2010, 01:40 AM) Oh dear, is it getting worse in Melbourne? Don't complain ler... we've been using full adult prices even as a student. Are you a PR or citizen to get concession? I don't think it's that expensive to take public transport in Melbourne especially if you travel long distances. I just graduated and I hate it when I need to travel using buses or trains. I'm being charged for the full adult ticket price, which is double the concession price. Nevertheless, it's still better than getting on a public transport in Sydney - too expensive. Having said that, the trains are getting more and more messed up despite Metro taking over from Connex. Change logo only, same old bloody problems. This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 9 2010, 03:47 AM |
Mar 9 2010, 07:19 AM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
it's weird, it's getting hotter in autumn compared to summer here in hobart. they said that that usually happens before the chills kick in during winter. ><
Mar 9 2010, 07:22 AM
121 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(fir3f0x @ Mar 6 2010, 09:16 PM) im studying in RMIT city campus. so boring cause frens staying in suburb area. any sifu living around here wan bring me jalan jalan? lol.im now living at latrobe st near kbox. btw, are uni students eligible to purchase the metcard with concession fare's price? if you have your own mobile, go for gotalk's prepaid plan that has international calls feature..here's a note to those who calls back the malaysia frequently, u can try to use optus's prepaid plan - International Call 4 Less plan which costs only AUD 0.01 per minute. which is almost 3cents in RM. i heard lebara mobile had the same plan as well but i prefer optus since in the first page stating that optus got better coverage. now im hving problem with signing a plan for calls in aus as im studying for only 1 year. might be working after graduated. any suggestions for me on that? It costs half a cent to call malaysia landline and mobile. but as a mobile provider, they have a flagfall which is 30c.... more @ www.gotalk.com.au. definitely worth a try. flagfall same as per calling from a public phone booth anyway |
Mar 9 2010, 08:03 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 9 2010, 04:45 AM) Don't complain ler... we've been using full adult prices even as a student. Are you a PR or citizen to get concession? I don't think it's that expensive to take public transport in Melbourne especially if you travel long distances. Didnt ya forget mate? Having said that, the trains are getting more and more messed up despite Metro taking over from Connex. Change logo only, same old bloody problems. same goes how company collapsed. Change Logo, swap working people. thats it. Let all the problem untangle itself. Thats Metro. big BS! State govt wont want to do much of it..beside fake promises of new trains etc. Besides, you wont want to be in Sydney situation. double ass for it. This post has been edited by KVReninem: Mar 9 2010, 08:10 AM |
Mar 9 2010, 08:20 AM
43 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: ampang |
I dont know how it is bad and how it could have been better, despite being here for only a month. But i've been travelling from geelong to melb city every weekend since and at $12.80 for a whole day return ticket i think its fairly convinient. (if you dont convert)
anyway, where were you guys during the hail in Melb? it was bad! We were on our way to the bbq gathering and we got stuck on La Trobe between Flagstaff Gardens and Elizabeth St. First hail exp ever. |
Mar 9 2010, 05:51 PM
110 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
hey guys , just wondering how do i renew my passport if im in Adelaide? must i travel to Canberra ? or can i do a mail in?
Mar 9 2010, 10:46 PM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 9 2010, 03:45 AM) Don't complain ler... we've been using full adult prices even as a student. Are you a PR or citizen to get concession? I don't think it's that expensive to take public transport in Melbourne especially if you travel long distances. Haha, I'm not in Melbourne. Having said that, the trains are getting more and more messed up despite Metro taking over from Connex. Change logo only, same old bloody problems. This post has been edited by KON-KON: Mar 10 2010, 01:37 AM |
Mar 9 2010, 11:53 PM
685 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: malaysia |
Mar 10 2010, 12:07 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
better time your renewal when you are back in msia.........it is VERY troublesome to do it there, you need to go to the hc in canberra, and it can take up to 6 months, which means you cannot travel during that period........
Mar 10 2010, 07:22 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
I was wondeirng, if anyone here did Taylor's Software Engineering program. That is 2 + 2. During your third year, what was the life like? As far as I know 3rd year for SE is internship. Does that mean you don't go back to your University? You don't meet new friends
Mar 10 2010, 08:29 PM
13,782 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
recently applied for an apartment but then found out the apartment is open for inspection again..does tht means my application is failed?
Mar 10 2010, 08:48 PM
2,691 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Mar 10 2010, 09:42 PM
i called around 5 times and they said in processing but duno my application included or not because i send via email. i duno they receive or not. i call them to confirm but they keep on saying yes they receive without asking what is my name,etc...then just now saw the apartment open for inspection again at this weekend
so i think tomorrow i will head up to their office and submit hard copy to them...i hope they can accept mine without waiting for inspection..already 3 weeks dun have a home |
Mar 10 2010, 09:57 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Mar 10 2010, 09:42 PM) i called around 5 times and they said in processing but duno my application included or not because i send via email. i duno they receive or not. i call them to confirm but they keep on saying yes they receive without asking what is my name,etc...then just now saw the apartment open for inspection again at this weekend O.o where do you live if you don't have a home...?so i think tomorrow i will head up to their office and submit hard copy to them...i hope they can accept mine without waiting for inspection..already 3 weeks dun have a home |
Mar 11 2010, 10:17 AM
i mean dun have my own home..now staying at fren's thr...6 ppl inside 2br apartment now..all also looking for apartment..
Mar 11 2010, 11:11 AM
308 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Dun ya |
reporting in...
Student of UWA, western Australia... im in my frist semester right now, studying Master of Commerce at the Business school in UWA Just wanna share my experience regarding the accommondation, since i went there before my sem starts(3 weeks before) i managed to get my house near the business school. It was hard and it pushes your limit to the end...luckly enough i managed to deal directly with the landlord... it is best to come earlier first, since its hard to find a good deal for your accommodation. Trust me you'll regret it if you dont... |
Mar 11 2010, 01:56 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:11 AM) reporting in... oh yes, its hard to get a good house, esp when it's near the campus. Those near UWA are super expensive. I lived near leeming last time. haha.Student of UWA, western Australia... im in my frist semester right now, studying Master of Commerce at the Business school in UWA Just wanna share my experience regarding the accommondation, since i went there before my sem starts(3 weeks before) i managed to get my house near the business school. It was hard and it pushes your limit to the end...luckly enough i managed to deal directly with the landlord... it is best to come earlier first, since its hard to find a good deal for your accommodation. Trust me you'll regret it if you dont... |
Mar 11 2010, 02:03 PM
308 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Dun ya |
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 11 2010, 01:56 PM) oh yes, its hard to get a good house, esp when it's near the campus. Those near UWA are super expensive. I lived near leeming last time. haha. haha you got that right, i had to pay 515 dollars per week for a fully furnished house with 2 bedrooms, 1 waching machine room and a parking lot...im kinda lucky since i have another friend staying together...therefore i only had to pay half of the price...im surprised that the university didnt provide enough space to accommodate international students...and yet their international student quota have reach more than 5,000 students if im not mistaken.. |
| Change to: | 0.0190sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:44 PM |