141 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

ostangel
post Mar 18 2010, 11:03 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Mar 18 2010, 07:38 AM)
Reporting in from canberra...just moved into my new house after being house-less for 1 week..it's really a disaster here in Canberra..
By the way, which is the best telco for international calls? i'm using 3 prepaid now..the sound quality isn't that good, the rate is expensive ($2+ per min) and there's a $100 limit for international calls..
FML, I signed on for a contract already. Want to change to Optus also can't now T_T
witchx
post Mar 18 2010, 11:36 AM

121 posts

Reporting in from canberra...just moved into my new house after being house-less for 1 week..it's really a disaster here in Canberra..
By the way, which is the best telco for international calls? i'm using 3 prepaid now..the sound quality isn't that good, the rate is expensive ($2+ per min) and there's a $100 limit for international calls..
im using gotalk... you can find them at www.gotalk.com.au the rates to malaysia are flagfall (30 cents) + 1/2 cent (halfa a cent) per minute call to malaysia landline and mobile... im using it now and the lines have not disappointed me yet. its prepaid btw and on the straight talk plus plan

oh you can also register an account and buy the prepaid starter with credit and then register on the site and choose the plan and off you go. its not a cap plan but for sure its way cheaper than 3... else get a prepaid phone card for instance daybreak and then use a public payphone if you do not have a landline
highwind85
post Mar 18 2010, 12:01 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Mar 18 2010, 11:03 AM)
FML, I signed on for a contract already. Want to change to Optus also can't now T_T
My idea was to test with prepaid 1st, see how much i need, then only sign up for a plan...still thinking whether wanna stick with 3..when i read optus's cap plan, international call is not included in the cap...unless you're not going to call back malaysia frequently or you always skype...
onelove89
post Mar 18 2010, 12:40 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Mar 18 2010, 11:03 AM)
international call : optus international for less ftw. =)
I reckon turbo charge and 3 postpaid are equally good depending on which plan your friends are using. =) sadly, we dont have 3 in tasmania =.= so everyone's with optus. good in a way. lol. esp with free minutes and stuff. xD
highwind85
post Mar 18 2010, 01:48 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

If the rate is good for international calls, i would love to sign up for a 24 month contract with phone plan...
tsm
post Mar 18 2010, 02:24 PM

261 posts

try this go call back if your parents don't want to use skype http://www.lebara-mobile.com.au/en/

I not sure about coverage in Canberra but in Melbourne seem ok. Most of my friends use it for international call. It's just only 1 cent per minute!!!!! Basically they have 2 mobile phones. One for local either 3 or optus (mostly optus), 1 for international call which they use lebara.
StarGhazzer
post Mar 18 2010, 04:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Switch to the new 3 mobile post-paid plans if you're using more than $30 per month, and get your mates to switch as well. Any 3 plan >$29/month gets unlimited call time to other 3 mobiles. I jumped ship from optus prepaid last weekend as I'm already paying $30 per month for my prepaid... Even the $19/month plan has a better offer as 3 gives $70 worth of credit compared to Optus's $50. The only downside is that 3's coverage may sometimes be inferior to Optus but generally it's about the same.

For international calls, Skype is still the best choice. Most of the time there will be some slight lag but who cares when you're able to talk non-stop for free?

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 18 2010, 12:40 PM)
sadly, we dont have 3 in tasmania =.= so everyone's with optus.
Tassie often loses out on stuff tongue.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Mar 18 2010, 04:55 PM
NUR_VER.3
post Mar 18 2010, 05:09 PM

308 posts

Helo guys,

Just wondering, does anyone here thinking of importing cars from Aussie to Msia?

im planning to do so,i just visited MITI website for the procedures.

so right now im looking for those who already have the experience of bringing cars from aussie to Msia.

Things that i wonder:

-How long will it take to release your car from the port(once it reached msia)

-Aussie procedure on exporting cars(looking for the website)

-Total cost of importing(everything, inspection, transport, all the paperworks)

Hope someone can clarify me on this.
highwind85
post Mar 19 2010, 06:47 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Mar 18 2010, 02:24 PM)
try this go call back if your parents don't want to use skype http://www.lebara-mobile.com.au/en/

I not sure about coverage in Canberra but in Melbourne seem ok. Most of my friends use it for international call. It's just only 1 cent per minute!!!!! Basically they have 2 mobile phones. One for local either 3 or optus (mostly optus), 1 for international call which they use lebara.
Wow..that's really cheap...i'll try it right away today after lab...i'm looking for ISP now...anyone have experience with the wireless broadband here? How is the quality like?
arton
post Mar 19 2010, 06:54 AM

116 posts

Yesterday I just apply my Visa online and did my medical check up somewhere near PJ Hilton. So now what I need to do is time to tick and wait for the reply about the Visa =P...Anyone have any idea how many days it will take? =D
ostangel
post Mar 19 2010, 07:33 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(arton @ Mar 19 2010, 06:54 AM)
Yesterday I just apply my Visa online and did my medical check up somewhere near PJ Hilton. So now what I need to do is time to tick and wait for the reply about the Visa =P...Anyone have any idea how many days it will take? =D
Probably about 3 weeks or so but most malaysians get theirs confirmed in about a week or so. smile.gif
youcantkillbee
post Mar 19 2010, 01:48 PM

13 posts

Hey guys,

Anyone here from Deakin Uni?

Issit compulsory to do the IELTS? I'ma diploma holder btw. Graduated from a private college.
So all our subjects are in English.

This post has been edited by youcantkillbee: Mar 19 2010, 01:49 PM
december88
post Mar 19 2010, 02:02 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Mar 19 2010, 06:47 AM)
Wow..that's really cheap...i'll try it right away today after lab...i'm looking for ISP now...anyone have experience with the wireless broadband here? How is the quality like?
It depends, if you're a light user wireless is probably good for you.
I am with 3, tethering with my iphone via USB because my signal bar is always full thus i tend to get maximum bandwidth depending on how busy the network is.
From experience, if you have full bar you can get good signal aka no drop out and reasonable download speed(good enough to surf) and for big download i usually download when the network is not busy e.g before 8 am or after 12 pm am.
Go http://www.yourbroadband.com.au/here and check where's your nearest wireless telecom's providers 3G towers from your address, btw i am about 0.5km away from the tower.
Of course other local condition also dictate your signal bars, e.g if you lived in a unit/apartments especially on the ground floor, the signal tend to be lower than the top unit/apartment.
Anyway 3 is good enough for me as a secondary internet access because i lived near by the CBD.

This post has been edited by december88: Mar 19 2010, 04:40 PM
spacelion
post Mar 19 2010, 03:54 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

what's with the thread subtitle. Shouldn't it be "Please use proper English" rather than "Please use English properly" ?
TShaya
post Mar 19 2010, 07:03 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

I will concede "Please use proper English" sounds more formal than "Please use English properly". Noted and corrected.

QUOTE(youcantkillbee @ Mar 19 2010, 01:48 PM)
Hey guys,

Anyone here from Deakin Uni?

Issit compulsory to do the IELTS? I'ma diploma holder btw. Graduated from a private college.
So all our subjects are in English.
You have to ask the institution you wish to credit transfer to. None of us here can answer that question with any authority. Some will need IELTS, some do not.
arton
post Mar 19 2010, 10:56 PM

116 posts

Woohoo.... I got my VISA granted already. It is so effective when apply online...It just take me 1 day...Yesterday applied today granted =P... Australia...Here I come =P
xcullen
post Mar 19 2010, 11:30 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(arton @ Mar 19 2010, 10:56 PM)
Woohoo.... I got my VISA granted already. It is so effective when apply online...It just take me 1 day...Yesterday applied today granted =P... Australia...Here I come =P
Arton, where are you going? Melb or syd?

This post has been edited by xcullen: Mar 19 2010, 11:32 PM
arton
post Mar 20 2010, 06:09 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(xcullen @ Mar 19 2010, 11:30 PM)
Arton, where are you going? Melb or syd?
I'm going to Adelaide...Small town in Australia. From what I heard nothing much I can do there and is kinda bored. It is true?
lawl
post Mar 20 2010, 07:24 AM

574 posts

Im in Adelaide now. LOL.. Not too bad i would say. Dun expect to have big buildings or big malls. It's fine. Even my Melbourne friend is telling me that Melbourne is boring. So, in the end it depends on u and ur friends activities. Cheers. When u coming btw?
tsm
post Mar 20 2010, 07:36 AM

261 posts

What I can conclude. Home always is the best^^. If want to live there, then you need to find a way to adapt there. You can't change to place to become a place which you used to be.

141 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:52 PM