Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 02:26 PM

13,781 posts

oh ya depends u ok with other brands or not..if u go for example esprit,etc then i would buy it from msia...
u can find many types of hair dryer n i saw the cheapest will be $25+ at Big W
s373n
post Feb 4 2010, 02:30 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 4 2010, 02:26 PM)
oh ya depends u ok with other brands or not..if u go for example esprit,etc then i would buy it from  msia...
u can find many types of hair dryer n i saw the cheapest will be $25+ at Big W
yeh, if you go for branded, I say Malaysia is cheaper tongue.gif
KVReninem
post Feb 4 2010, 03:14 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Feb 4 2010, 03:17 PM)
wow..guess I'll just leave the food then. heheh.

oh! i've heard of spacebag before..just like the vacuum bag. but i have no idea where to get it though..

and erm. I haven't even bought any jackets yet. Thought I'd buy it over there.
I'm afraid the jackets here aren't warm enough because the material is mostly cotton blend. And those with wool in it is crazy expensive! >_<

AND I thought I'd but a hair dryer there..not too expensive right?
https://www.spacebagtogo.com/ here it is. I`m not sure how the Kl retail`s like.
Maybe you can look around storage seller. That probably will help.

Jacket, you can get here but it aint that cold so far till maybe about end of April.
Melb had not reach any cold yet, but forecast its going to be cold.
Depends on the quality of jacket, maybe you will get more bargain here than in Msia.
the winter here aint like Northern Hemisphere. Its pretty mild.

QUOTE(s373n @ Feb 4 2010, 03:30 PM)
yeh, if you go for branded, I say Malaysia is cheaper  tongue.gif
brands like?
dont tell me you can get Politix in Msia, or Kathmandu laugh.gif Else, i`ll fly back too! laugh.gif
s373n
post Feb 4 2010, 04:43 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

mhmm, new semester starts in a month time. tongue.gif

anyway, Haya, if you`re reading this, can you please update the "LIST OF MEMBERS STUDYING/STUDIED IN AUSTRALIA", mine to Curtin University?

cheers.
onelove89
post Feb 4 2010, 05:07 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

Oh, um Haya can you update mine to UTAS pls? Think I'm still under Perth section. Thanks a bunch.

QUOTE(ostangel @ Feb 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
wow..guess I'll just leave the food then. heheh.

oh! i've heard of spacebag before..just like the vacuum bag. but i have no idea where to get it though..

and erm. I haven't even bought any jackets yet. Thought I'd buy it over there.
I'm afraid the jackets here aren't warm enough because the material is mostly cotton blend. And those with wool in it is crazy expensive! >_<

AND I thought I'd but a hair dryer there..not too expensive right?
Um, winter in oz is still ok, depending on where your location is. I'm bringing over a thick one and a not so thick jacket. =) Prob can go look for jackets in Kmart or Myers when there's a sale =)
hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 05:55 PM

13,781 posts

winter is not so cold compare to other europe places except the wind
the wind can make u moody..lol
s373n
post Feb 4 2010, 06:24 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

I prefer Autumn, it`s just fine biggrin.gif
onelove89
post Feb 4 2010, 06:40 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Feb 4 2010, 06:24 PM)
I prefer Autumn, it`s just fine biggrin.gif
spring and autumn, esp autumn FTW! those two seasons are the best for jogging =), unlike winter, which gets dark SO early and the super strong wind.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Feb 4 2010, 06:41 PM
SUSb3ta
post Feb 4 2010, 06:45 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 4 2010, 08:55 PM)
winter is not so cold compare to other europe places except the wind
the wind can make u moody..lol
i dont mind the wind. it's the early sunset that gets to me hmm.gif
tsm
post Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM

261 posts

Dryer, I don't think you need it. The weather in Aus quite dry and hair get easily to become dry as compared with Malaysia.

For bed sheet, it's slightly different with Malaysia. I would recommend you only bring fitter sheet. After that, you can buy quilt cover and pillow cover over here. You can't get quilt cover in Malaysia (Please correct me if I'm wrong). If your living place got dryer, then 1 fitter sheet should be enough.

Don't bring too many things. Think how do you move back to Malaysia if you bring a lot after finishing study. Besides, you also will buy something over her eg. books which you will move back to Malaysia. Foods you can get it over here. If girls maybe bring more sanitary pads. It's quite expensive over here. Anyway, this is not priority:P

Added on February 4, 2010, 10:15 pmWinter wear, then scarf would be very useful. Wool type of clothes not necessary and you can wear more layers. If you want wool jacket maybe 1 should be enough. I notice that some Korean shops in Melb sell very nice winter wear. Some of the price also quite expensive as compared to internet.

This post has been edited by tsm: Feb 4 2010, 10:15 PM
s373n
post Feb 4 2010, 10:53 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM)
You can't get quilt cover in Malaysia (Please correct me if I'm wrong).
If I`m not mistaken, my mum once brought quilt cover from Aussino in Malaysia. tongue.gif

but then, It will be bulky and add to luggage load. so yeh, buy it here in Australia. biggrin.gif

hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 11:17 PM

13,781 posts

n get ur own trusted moisturizer for ur skin too if ur skin sensitive from winter/cold wind
but u still can get it over Oz..
panda-man
post Feb 4 2010, 11:26 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Feb 4 2010, 06:45 PM)
i dont mind the wind. it's the early sunset that gets to me  hmm.gif
yeah man. nothing kills your mood like going to school when theres daylight and leaving school in the dark.... and its only 5pm doh.gif really blehhh.

QUOTE(tsm @ Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM)
For bed sheet, it's slightly different with Malaysia. I would recommend you only bring fitter sheet. After that, you can buy quilt cover and pillow cover over here. You can't get quilt cover in Malaysia (Please correct me if I'm wrong).

Added on February 4, 2010, 10:15 pmWinter wear, then scarf would be very useful. Wool type of clothes not necessary and you can wear more layers. If you want wool jacket maybe 1 should be enough. I notice that some Korean shops in Melb sell very nice winter wear. Some of the price also quite expensive as compared to internet.
yeah you can get quilts in malaysia at lots of places. but i think most of the stuff is imported. so maybe aussie is cheaper. i never bought a quilt in aussie so i dunno the price tongue.gif i curi one quilt from my cuz over there hahah.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 4 2010, 11:17 PM)
n get ur own trusted moisturizer for ur skin too if ur skin sensitive from winter/cold wind
but u still can get it over Oz..
if you looking for moisturiser i think the most popular in aussie is the sorbolene. its like AUD$5 for like 500ml or something ridiculous like that. so cheap over there. its quite heavy to bring your own. one thing i did buy is shampoo from malaysia. and btw. if you get cough often then you should bring cough syrup. those tiny bottles in aus cost a bomb. well the one i bought did. maybe there are cheaper brands hmm.gif
hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 11:34 PM

13,781 posts

not all moisturizer suitable for all ppl
some of it maybe gif bad effect to the skin
like i bought the 1st moisturizer n use it..the more i use the more serious it is
so i change to other type n is getting better
anyway is just moisturizer so it is not rly heavy(at least lighter than shampoo)
onelove89
post Feb 4 2010, 11:51 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

i just pack mini shampoo just for the initial few weeks usage. =) I dont use moisturizer though, just occasional use of lip balm when my lips are very dry. =)
hihihehe
post Feb 5 2010, 12:03 AM

13,781 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 4 2010, 11:51 PM)
i just pack mini shampoo just for the initial few weeks usage. =) I dont use moisturizer though, just occasional use of lip balm when my lips are very dry. =)
i also dun use it but sudd the weather at melbourne makes my skin sensitive n very itchy(nvr happen b4)
once i back to malaysia,i nvr itchy until now...
ostangel
post Feb 5 2010, 12:15 AM

143 posts

sorbolene should be suitable for everyone especially those with sensitive skin or eczema..because its mainly plant derived glycerin. biggrin.gif

If you have sensitive skin, try not to use one with perfume/scent in it biggrin.gif
baoz
post Feb 5 2010, 01:00 AM

963 posts

Hi... I'm going over to Monash's Parkville (near Melbourne Uni) campus for a semester. I think it's located just right outside Melbourne CBD.

So I've got some enquiries on the accomodation. I've checked realestate.au and the nearest location would be on Royal Parade.

Averagely what would rental (single bedroom) be like for a location like Parkville? I reckon it's expensive. But approximately what amount is appropraite? I've seen an average of $250-350 per week (cheapest I've found so far). Some can even go up to $500++.. Naturally I'd prefer to stay alone in a service apartment or townhouse.

So my other options would be either to live further out and commute by tram everyday. Or to rent an apartment unit and share out with a few friends.

So my questions are...

1. Which is a more practical/convenient option?
2. How much does rental cost along Royal Parade and The Avenue?
(I'm willing to spend on accomodation, but I'd like to know if what I see on realestate.au is way too expensive or reasonable)

lawl
post Feb 5 2010, 01:06 AM

574 posts

Do u guys bring over test pad to aussie? Or abt the same only in both places?
limeuu
post Feb 5 2010, 08:02 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Feb 5 2010, 01:00 AM)
Hi... I'm going over to Monash's Parkville (near Melbourne Uni) campus for a semester. I think it's located just right outside Melbourne CBD.

So I've got some enquiries on the accomodation. I've checked realestate.au and the nearest location would be on Royal Parade.

for just one semester (4 months), it will be too short for a formal lease, which is usually for at least 1 year...........and certainly to rent a whole unit to expect to share with others will be out of the question.......

the most convenient option is to stay in a hall of residence, there are many around parkville, some within melbourne u, and some independent.........they should all be walking distance from the victorian college of pharmacy..........

otherwise, if you have friends, just do an informal 'sublease' from them........

Added on February 5, 2010, 8:04 am
QUOTE(lawl @ Feb 5 2010, 01:06 AM)
Do u guys bring over test pad to aussie? Or abt the same only in both places?
don't bother to bring heavy stuffs like paper lah..........oz is quite a civilised place, and they have paper there too.......... biggrin.gif

your overweight baggage charge will be more than whatever savings you get from buying paper in msia..........

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 5 2010, 08:04 AM

141 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:35 PM