Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

tsm
post Jan 26 2010, 10:53 PM

261 posts

it's all depend on what you want in your near future. What is your main objective to decide to stay in Australia. Could you sure that you can find your ideal job in Australia? I know that someone who got their PR but couldn't find their ideal job. What they're doing now as a waitress or cleaner (they own the company), run their restaurant, etc.

Actually my situation almost like you but I did a week attachment in Singapore (I know a week can't give any conclusion but I ask people in that field and try to build up networking with them), I feel that Singapore is not a bad choice. Some people might claim that working conditions in Singapore might not as good as in Australia. Anyway, it depends what you would like to achieve. I ask another person about working in these both countries, he told me that equally same. Working in Singapore, the tax is lower than Aus and you can buy your own house faster than Australia. However, the benefits after retirement not as good as in Australia.

Anyway, Malaysia also not too bad. Some people they work in Malaysia and try to apply to be located at other countries and migrate.
tsm
post Feb 4 2010, 10:10 PM

261 posts

Dryer, I don't think you need it. The weather in Aus quite dry and hair get easily to become dry as compared with Malaysia.

For bed sheet, it's slightly different with Malaysia. I would recommend you only bring fitter sheet. After that, you can buy quilt cover and pillow cover over here. You can't get quilt cover in Malaysia (Please correct me if I'm wrong). If your living place got dryer, then 1 fitter sheet should be enough.

Don't bring too many things. Think how do you move back to Malaysia if you bring a lot after finishing study. Besides, you also will buy something over her eg. books which you will move back to Malaysia. Foods you can get it over here. If girls maybe bring more sanitary pads. It's quite expensive over here. Anyway, this is not priority:P

Added on February 4, 2010, 10:15 pmWinter wear, then scarf would be very useful. Wool type of clothes not necessary and you can wear more layers. If you want wool jacket maybe 1 should be enough. I notice that some Korean shops in Melb sell very nice winter wear. Some of the price also quite expensive as compared to internet.

This post has been edited by tsm: Feb 4 2010, 10:15 PM
tsm
post Feb 5 2010, 10:50 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Feb 5 2010, 01:00 AM)
Hi... I'm going over to Monash's Parkville (near Melbourne Uni) campus for a semester. I think it's located just right outside Melbourne CBD.

So I've got some enquiries on the accomodation. I've checked realestate.au and the nearest location would be on Royal Parade.

Averagely what would rental (single bedroom) be like for a location like Parkville? I reckon it's expensive. But approximately what amount is appropraite? I've seen an average of $250-350 per week (cheapest I've found so far). Some can even go up to $500++.. Naturally I'd prefer to stay alone in a service apartment or townhouse.

So my other options would be either to live further out and commute by tram everyday. Or to rent an apartment unit and share out with a few friends.

So my questions are...

1. Which is a more practical/convenient option?
2. How much does rental cost along Royal Parade and The Avenue?
(I'm willing to spend on accomodation, but I'd like to know if what I see on realestate.au is way too expensive or reasonable)
As limeuu go to try student accommodation.

For far the place that I have asked (few days or weeks ago):

(a). O'Connell Residence has already full

(b). Unilodge @ Melbourne this is the email they replied
Rooms available to book:
Available in 2010
1. a standard single room lease beginning immediately at $975 per month for a 12 month lease. 6 month leases available at $1018 per month.
2. a SINGLE VIEW room lease beginning immediately at $997 per month for a 12 month lease. 6 month leases available at $1,040 per month.
Please note: for all other room types are booked out for semester 1, 2010.

More infor refer here http://www.unilodge.com.au/Melbourne/

©. Arrow on swanston
standard room has already full, certain type of studio apartment still available. Call them or email them. Call faster than email.

More infor refer here http://arrowonswanston.com.au/index.php?pi...t&cid=29&mid=26

(d). Rooms I got mine over here but seems online booking has already closed. You only can get your room if you pay personally or ask your friend to help you to pay
More infor refer here http://www.rooms.net.au/

Maybe there are other student accommodations which I don't know. You also can ask others over this forum

Good luck.

Added on February 5, 2010, 10:55 amother websites for seeking accommodation
a. http://flatmates.com.au/home.html
b. http://melbourne.gumtree.com.au/f-Unit-Hou...W0QQCatIdZ18294
c. www.domain.com.au

This post has been edited by tsm: Feb 5 2010, 10:55 AM
tsm
post Feb 5 2010, 12:52 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Feb 5 2010, 11:48 AM)
thanks for the info tsm...cause im going to monash mel uni this july...hey is it practical to drive in mel?cause driving in perth is smooth and there is few congestion around here so im wondering whether the road in mel is congested or moderate?
Around CBD of course don't drive. Which monash campus do you refer to? Clayton? If you want you can buy a car. In the city my advice is no. Parking is so expensive. Congestion wise, quite jam but not as jam as KL shakehead.gif

tsm
post Feb 5 2010, 01:58 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Feb 5 2010, 01:05 PM)
Thanks a lot for the info, tsm & limeuu. I'll look those up. smile.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 1:12 pm
For this... how did you get yours?
Ask my friend pay for me lol.
tsm
post Feb 6 2010, 08:17 AM

261 posts

the other convenient thing in Aus is you can cash out at supermarket's cashier:P
tsm
post Feb 6 2010, 03:18 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Feb 6 2010, 11:44 AM)
currency drop to 2.9....will it drop further??but the fuel price is increase to 1.24 per litre...pain in the *ss
Watch the fuel price carefully. I notice that every Wed or Thurs is the lowest rate. I not sure true or not blush.gif
tsm
post Feb 10 2010, 10:07 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(LuviT @ Feb 10 2010, 09:34 PM)
hi..wanna ask again..still about money..hehe  tongue.gif
my sponsor asks me to open an account at Commonwealth Bank
i've just browsed through its website and i'm so confused  rclxub.gif
i don't know which type of personal account will be the most appropriate for an international student

for those who use Commonwealth Bank, do enlighten me please...thanks in advance  smile.gif
(Everyday Acc: Read streamline, debit master card) and netbank saver. BTW, tudents are waived from monthly acc fee. Most students in Aus (just only my assumption), they open two types of Acc at bank. One is everyday acc which likes current acc in Mal and netbank saver or online saver for ANZ bank which gives you higher interest rate. You can interchange your money between these two Acc as many times as you like through internet.
tsm
post Feb 11 2010, 09:46 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(hazwan @ Feb 11 2010, 08:48 PM)
i just stumbled upon this topic, which is stupid since its already v3.1. Wished i found it sooner tho. Had lots of Qs before.

Anyway, am in Geelong Waterfront now. Anyone studying here aswell?
Are you studying at Deakin? I'm Deakin's student too but at Burwood campus.
tsm
post Feb 13 2010, 09:05 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(hazwan @ Feb 11 2010, 11:26 PM)
yes i am. just got here for masters in Arch. geelong is a quiet place.
Haiz....Burwood also almost similar. Travel to the city also quite expensive.
tsm
post Feb 13 2010, 01:51 PM

261 posts

Happy CNY and Gong Xi Fat Chai to those who are celebrating CNY^^
tsm
post Feb 22 2010, 02:26 PM

261 posts

aiya, just reach melb and miss home. You ah don't know what should I comment. I landed here on Wed.
tsm
post Feb 22 2010, 05:17 PM

261 posts

Let us tahan together!!!
tsm
post Feb 26 2010, 03:01 PM

261 posts

hey guys,

I got things would like to sell.

1) Rice cooker, chopping board, 2 bowls and a cup at $20

2) 3 storage boxes at $15 which each size is 46cm/35cm/18cm.

Picture can look at here. http://www.flickr.com/photos/47872174@N07/?saved=1

PM me if you want.

Added on February 26, 2010, 3:21 pmBTW, I'm in Melbourne.

This post has been edited by tsm: Feb 26 2010, 03:21 PM
tsm
post Mar 3 2010, 04:21 PM

261 posts

if I'm not mistaken he/she studying at Deakin which at Geelong campus
tsm
post Mar 8 2010, 01:35 PM

261 posts

During hails, I was at Queen Victoria Market and then stuck then and couldn't go home. Few minutes later, heavy pouring and followed by flash floor. We ran away from the flood just like Tsunami. Anyway, finally I managed to get home.
tsm
post Mar 18 2010, 02:24 PM

261 posts

try this go call back if your parents don't want to use skype http://www.lebara-mobile.com.au/en/

I not sure about coverage in Canberra but in Melbourne seem ok. Most of my friends use it for international call. It's just only 1 cent per minute!!!!! Basically they have 2 mobile phones. One for local either 3 or optus (mostly optus), 1 for international call which they use lebara.
tsm
post Mar 20 2010, 07:36 AM

261 posts

What I can conclude. Home always is the best^^. If want to live there, then you need to find a way to adapt there. You can't change to place to become a place which you used to be.
tsm
post Mar 26 2010, 02:13 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(NeO2 @ Mar 25 2010, 09:23 PM)
hi there, can anyone recommend me furniture shops around Monash University(Clayton)?
you can try here http://melbourne.gumtree.com.au/
tsm
post Apr 24 2010, 08:14 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 23 2010, 11:56 AM)

btw who should i complain to if some1 stay in same apartment on the music damn freaking loud at late midnight(ya is late midnight around 2-4am =.=")
building manager not around during night and midnight..so i should call police?but i duno which unit with loud music
Talk to them directly. If this situation still ongoing, tell your management. I tell you, it is really effective. I used to be have the same problem and spoke to them but they were ok for a while but after that they had party again until 3am. I really couldn't stand for it and spoke to management. Now, they have party but until 12am which I think it's still acceptable.

0.0231sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:05 PM