Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V2
Wan
Feb 10 2010, 01:13 AM
Glory Hunter
QUOTE(darksider @ Feb 9 2010, 08:49 PM) I got 218.111 ip but youtube, tudou, rapidshare all <20kb/s. disappointing, I'm throttled. Almost everyone is since around November last year. Dunno whats wrong with their line. Before that youtube was blazing fast for a few months(I think). Get VPN. 20-30 a month, fast speed again on everything.
msolah
Feb 10 2010, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Feb 9 2010, 06:49 PM) i been using this model so long time on my 4mb, no issues, firmware 1.01.09 I've been using the same firmware version..can u share with me the connection setting? i mean the first page of the router management admin.
MX510
Feb 10 2010, 10:23 AM
The issues is 218.111 ip address is kinda fakap right now
merru
Feb 10 2010, 10:26 AM

totally agreed its incredibly slow for most of international sites
MX510
Feb 10 2010, 10:33 AM
Guys u need to complaint using this form pls perform visual route routing or ping plotter results Use internet explorer otherwise u can't submit http://www.tm.com.my/contact-us/Pages/product-service.aspxLucky i got 4 Mbps one with 218 and another one with normal ip . Proven with normal ip i can go high into the sky and 218 so fakap
eternity4av
Feb 10 2010, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 10 2010, 01:13 AM) Almost everyone is since around November last year. Dunno whats wrong with their line. Before that youtube was blazing fast for a few months(I think). Get VPN. 20-30 a month, fast speed again on everything. mind to share any vpn that improves browsing? i've used before sg vpn's before long time ago, i just wanna know now which vpn is most reliable for this
mr_faidhi
Feb 10 2010, 09:14 PM
damn it. i complained to tm about my 1mbps account and i managed to get 218 ip. but now its worse than before (115 ip). not really excited with this ip now.
squall_12
Feb 10 2010, 09:32 PM
wahh is 218 ip worst than 115 ip as i find it hard to believe..
HiT-AbLe
Feb 10 2010, 09:48 PM
My modem can't use anymore thanks to lightning strike. The modem was given when I subscribed to 4MB, so can I just go to TMpoint and ask them to replace one for me?
This post has been edited by HiT-AbLe: Feb 10 2010, 09:54 PM
msolah
Feb 10 2010, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Feb 10 2010, 09:48 PM) My modem can't use anymore thanks to lightning strike. The modem was given when I subscribed to 4MB, so can I just go to TMpoint and ask them to replace one for me? If still under warranty then yes you can..but don't tell them it caused by the lightning laa..
MX510
Feb 11 2010, 08:39 AM
4 Mbps modem is covered by lightning / warranty
Dial 1300889515 and make a report they send a new one to you
darksider
Feb 11 2010, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 11 2010, 08:39 AM) 4 Mbps modem is covered by lightning / warranty Dial 1300889515 and make a report they send a new one to you I got 218.111 ip but my speed is freaking slow. My port is capped at 4096 512 but not sure if my account is capped at that speed too. The highest speed i can get with a few websites is 280KB/s. For most others, it's averagely 5-25kb/s even when using IDM to download. Now I'm in working place with streamyx 2mbps connection, no problems at all connecting to international web and can watch youtube without buffering. Do you know what's wrong with my home 4mbps account? Is it due to the telephone cables in my apartment or is it throttled by streamyx? Thank you.
binary
Feb 11 2010, 09:08 AM
Just got my 4MB working yesterday and it seems that the speed not really convincing. Speedtest showing around 2.8 - 3Mbps only  . I will monitor the connection for few more days if still like this, I am gonna ask them to give me 5MB cap instead.
MX510
Feb 11 2010, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(binary @ Feb 11 2010, 09:08 AM) Just got my 4MB working yesterday and it seems that the speed not really convincing. Speedtest showing around 2.8 - 3Mbps only  . I will monitor the connection for few more days if still like this, I am gonna ask them to give me 5MB cap instead. Pls do not mention premium ip 218.111 because it's kinda fakap for their routing but for Gaming it's good lah but for downloading slow bro max 250kb/sec for 8 ftp connections must use 16 connections to reach max speed
darksider
Feb 11 2010, 09:24 AM
I tested my account in my working place which is capped at 2048 512. It works flawlessly, speed could go up to 1.72mbps easily in local and international websites. Even when watching youtube there is no buffering. My working place is penang international airport.
My home is in apartment. I used to experience slow direct connection over there. Youtube buffers a lot (for single direction connection, usually the speed is just 5KB//s - 15KB/s and so are rapidshare, megaupload and hotfile). I was wondering what is actually the culprit? Throttled by tmnet(at the moment capped at 4096 512 ? or telephone cable problem?
If it were telephone cable problem, how can I change it since I live in apartment. Should I request tmnet to change the telephone cable or the management team in my apartment?
Thank you, pls help clarify me.
HiT-AbLe
Feb 11 2010, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 11 2010, 08:39 AM) 4 Mbps modem is covered by lightning / warranty Dial 1300889515 and make a report they send a new one to you Can I go to TMpoint instead of calling them?
kaiserreich
Feb 11 2010, 04:03 PM
@mx510
what to attach to ask for a change in IP from 218 to normal I know you mentioned ping plotter/visual route, but could you please be more specific?
iZZiDeltA
Feb 11 2010, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Feb 11 2010, 04:03 PM) @mx510 what to attach to ask for a change in IP from 218 to normal I know you mentioned ping plotter/visual route, but could you please be more specific? attach ur account info is more than enuf there are more than happy to migrate u to normal IP since 218 is limited ip blocks however 218 is gud for gaming so think twice, and i can get max 500kbps dl even with 1 connection downloadin from megaupload, so i dn think 218 ip is so `fakap`! This post has been edited by iZZiDeltA: Feb 11 2010, 05:21 PM
TehWateva
Feb 11 2010, 05:36 PM
Tried to ping to the DNS server and found packet loss around 25% all the time.
kaiserreich
Feb 11 2010, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(iZZiDeltA @ Feb 11 2010, 05:21 PM) attach ur account info is more than enuf there are more than happy to migrate u to normal IP since 218 is limited ip blocks however 218 is gud for gaming so think twice, and i can get max 500kbps dl even with 1 connection downloadin from megaupload, so i dn think 218 ip is so `fakap`! I gets less than 100kb/s on my tFlux service hosted in Europe. The only time i ever breach 300kbps is 5-7am based on my Tomato Graphs. Go figure. Gonna go back hometown for CNY and test the service kaokao on the 2Mbps before making calls This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Feb 11 2010, 06:03 PM