Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V2

darksider
post Jan 27 2010, 11:23 AM

868 posts

hey guys I would like to ask if in the past the streamyx connection in my area (1mbps package rm88) was pretty slow when connecting to overseas website such as downloading from Rapidshare, megaupload and some direct links (about 1kb/s - 15kb/s) and also slow youtube, will this situation change if I subscribte to 4mbps package?

The only good thing was that I was able to download during midnight and morning but not in the afternoon and evening. I could watch ppstream well. I guess this problem arose due to many streamyx users in my apartment.

Recently I went to check my cousin's streamyx connection who lived 600m apart (he is using 512kbps) and his speed is quite stable especially when downloading from rapidshare and so on.

I would like to know if I were to subscribe to 4mbps package will the situation change better. Thank you.
darksider
post Jan 28 2010, 08:11 PM

868 posts

mine is going to 5mbps too...
my statistic is extremely good.

Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB): 33.0 24.0
Attenuation (dB): 4.0 4.0
Output Power (dBm): 12.6 13.7
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 10976 1216
Rate (Kbps): 1024 512
K (number of bytes in DMT frame): 33 17
R (number of check bytes in RS code word): 8 8
S (RS code word size in DMT frame): 2 4
D (interleaver depth): 2 2
Delay (msec): 1 2

I will get the speed in this coming monday.
darksider
post Feb 1 2010, 07:01 PM

868 posts

4 days since installation... still 1mbps... called customer service, said i m cappad at 4mbps when i checked again it is still 1mbps...
darksider
post Feb 3 2010, 08:45 PM

868 posts

it's been 1 week since my line is activated. but now im still 1mbps. Tm net really f*ck off. I called the contractor everyday , from afternoon to night and he told me from morning to night that they are going to reset the port but in the end nothing happen. pay rm160 for 1mbps.

What a nut company.
darksider
post Feb 6 2010, 11:49 PM

868 posts

I'm bored. already 10 days and my connection is still capped at 1mbps. The technician promisd to do it today but nothing changed sad.gif. Guess I've to keep calling them and file complaints to make them work.
darksider
post Feb 8 2010, 08:29 PM

868 posts

my speed is finally capped at 4096 512 but there is no difference betweeen 1024 512 and 4096 512 for me.

My connection to US sites are within 0.09mbps - 0.15mbps
Rapidshare, windows live mail download, youtube, tudou, hotfile, megaupload, all dl speed about 5KB/s - 25KB/s.

My cousin who is subscribing to 512kbps package managed to achieve 60KB/s easily in websites mentioned above. So what's wrong here? My intuition tells me that my line is throttled. it has been happening for 5 years.

Is it possible for me to downgrade my package or even unsubscribe it since I don't get the speed as advertised? It's 11th day since subscribed to 4mbps combo package. I just got my line capped at 4096 512 today.

Added on February 8, 2010, 8:31 pmIs it possible that I will enjoy fast connection like my cousin who pay only rm66 ? I've sent all the speedtest results to tmnet cs employee as requested.

Added on February 8, 2010, 8:34 pmuser posted image

Added on February 8, 2010, 8:38 pminteresting sad.gif who will pay rm160 for this

This post has been edited by darksider: Feb 8 2010, 08:38 PM
darksider
post Feb 9 2010, 09:10 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(msolah @ Feb 9 2010, 08:51 AM)
Your line can cap for 4mb now but not your id..you have to wait for at least 24 hours after they activated your streamyx id..
It's alreayd the 11th day since my line is activated.

I could get 398 KB/s when I download something from streamyx.com
For other websites I manage to obtain 100kb/s - 200kb/s, not even 40% of 4mbps.

For youtube, rapidshare, megaupload, hotfile and various other, I got constant 5 KB/s - 20 KB/s. I don't know what's wrong, my cousin who subscribed to 512kbps package can download faster than I do in these websites.

From P1 speedometer,

Download Speed : 1680kbps (210 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed : 337 kbps (42.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency : 41

Should I downgrade to 2mbps since I always get speed of that range? Don't bother about youtube rapidshare, they are always within 1KB/s - 15KB/s for me in the past 6 years. I don't know why my friends and relatives don't have this problem.

This post has been edited by darksider: Feb 9 2010, 09:13 AM
darksider
post Feb 9 2010, 12:32 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(msolah @ Feb 9 2010, 10:53 AM)
Yap..mine too...that's actually for the technician visit..no charge for 1mbps to 2mbps..

Added on February 9, 2010, 11:03 am
Any TM guy come to your house and check? If not maybe u can try with other modem first...sometime the modem also can give you problem..just my opinion..

Added on February 9, 2010, 11:08 am
mmmm...need to get new modem then..cause the TM provided modem can't use port routing....
he only came in the first day and at that time my line is capped at 1024 512. only yesterday it started to be capped at 4096.

The highest speed i can reach is 280kb/s. but for rapidshare, youtube, and most websites. "I can only manage to get average 20kb/s .

darksider
post Feb 9 2010, 08:49 PM

868 posts

I got 218.111 ip but youtube, tudou, rapidshare all <20kb/s.

disappointing, I'm throttled.
darksider
post Feb 11 2010, 08:45 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 11 2010, 08:39 AM)
4 Mbps modem is covered by lightning / warranty

Dial 1300889515 and make a report they send a new one to you
I got 218.111 ip but my speed is freaking slow. My port is capped at 4096 512 but not sure if my account is capped at that speed too.

The highest speed i can get with a few websites is 280KB/s. For most others, it's averagely 5-25kb/s even when using IDM to download. Now I'm in working place with streamyx 2mbps connection, no problems at all connecting to international web and can watch youtube without buffering. Do you know what's wrong with my home 4mbps account?

Is it due to the telephone cables in my apartment or is it throttled by streamyx? Thank you.
darksider
post Feb 11 2010, 09:24 AM

868 posts

I tested my account in my working place which is capped at 2048 512.
It works flawlessly, speed could go up to 1.72mbps easily in local and international websites. Even when watching youtube there is no buffering.
My working place is penang international airport.

My home is in apartment. I used to experience slow direct connection over there. Youtube buffers a lot (for single direction connection, usually the speed is just 5KB//s - 15KB/s and so are rapidshare, megaupload and hotfile). I was wondering what is actually the culprit? Throttled by tmnet(at the moment capped at 4096 512 ? or telephone cable problem?

If it were telephone cable problem, how can I change it since I live in apartment. Should I request tmnet to change the telephone cable or the management team in my apartment?

Thank you, pls help clarify me.
darksider
post Feb 11 2010, 06:58 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ Feb 11 2010, 09:24 AM)
I tested my account in my working place which is capped at 2048 512.
It works flawlessly, speed could go up to 1.72mbps easily in local and international websites. Even when watching youtube there is no buffering.
My working place is penang international airport.

My home is in apartment. I used to experience slow direct connection over there. Youtube buffers a lot (for single direction connection, usually the speed is just 5KB//s - 15KB/s and so are rapidshare, megaupload and hotfile). I was wondering what is actually the culprit? Throttled by tmnet(at the moment capped at 4096 512 ? or telephone cable problem?

If it were telephone cable problem, how can I change it since I live in apartment. Should I request tmnet to change the telephone cable or the management team in my apartment?

Thank you, pls help clarify me.
Can anyone clarify my problem with me?
darksider
post Feb 11 2010, 11:38 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Feb 11 2010, 07:59 PM)
Call customer service and ask them? We're not TMnet's staff, so we don't have much to give you. Even if we do, it'll end up wrong and would make things complicated and confusing for you. Yeah their customer service suck, but there're the proper people, not us.

Or if you want a better customer service, lodge an official complaint to either SKMM or CFM. They usually yield better result than calling TMnet's customer service.

Make sure to attached speedtests screenshots, ping to popular site (google, youtube, yahoo etc) for proof of problem.
already did most of them. Now waiting for their reply as my case is still being monitored.

My speed now... 4mbps package... is slower than 512kbps @@... is this problem caused by DSLAM? my fren living in 500m away have fast connection.
darksider
post Feb 13 2010, 12:18 AM

868 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 12 2010, 10:58 PM)
tatday i call tmnet teachinician to install 4m
that guy told me my area confirmed got 4M
but the cable box beside the road got problem..dun know what SALAH PLUG..need fixed it first baru can use 4M..
he said khamis fix it and friday call bek me
but 2day i wait until 4pm also din't received any call
so i call bek him
then he said
aiya
notyey check
after check call bek u 2day
then i wait until now also dun have any call from tmnet!!!!!
ANGRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
same like mine... i got it capped at the 11th day but hardly anything difference is seen....
darksider
post Feb 13 2010, 01:17 PM

868 posts

my ip is 218.111 but my speed is not even 1% of 4mbps... and now normal downloading using idm ranges around 50KB/s - 70KB/s... o.o... guess it's the dslam in my area that is the culprit. it's been 6 years.
darksider
post Feb 22 2010, 04:33 PM

868 posts

Something quite ironic happened yesterday in my home.
Tmnet sent 2 technicians. They came and tested my connection speed. Well, it is around 0.80 mbps and they said my area cannot support 4mbps line which is contrary to what contractors have told me.

Surprisingly, today one technician called me to check my speed at 4 pm. Near 3.55pm, my line disconnected and after connecting back, my speed is totally different. Now I'm constantly getting 3.55mbps speed both to local and overseas. Youtube no buffering, everything becomes juz fine.
darksider
post Feb 22 2010, 07:58 PM

868 posts

I got mine 15 days after my port is capped at 4096

0.0352sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:49 PM