HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

toytoy
post Jan 27 2006, 09:47 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 27 2006, 08:52 AM)
Seriously, the PS2 doesn't support HD gaming. There is only one game GT4 which support 1080i and 480p are very hard to come by.

True HD gaming is 720p and above. Even on XBOX, not many games support 720p and 1080i, but about 99% support at least 480p. The XBOX is not only for FPS, the best version of cross platform action/racing games can be found here and some exclusive (Splinter Cell, Burnout, Prince of Persia etc...i've never bothered with PS2 version for these games). If you can find a 2nd hand XBOX for around RM500, it's well worth the money....not to mention the stuff u can do with a new bigger Hard disk.

Seriously, if u're only playing PS2, i think u better save ur money and forget about the HDTV now, coz the improvement is not really a lot for PS2 games...some games actually looks worst on HDTV for PS2 like DMC3...whatta mess!!!

I still play PS2 using my PC monitor...more convenient and the quality is not much different. More convenient in the bedroom. smile.gif
Yes, i would agreed to stay away from the XBOX360 for now if you'r on tight budget...not many games for that system yet....and not much Japanese games on the horizon either.
Hey, thanks for the reply biggrin.gif

After some thinking i totally agree with you that it's a pure waste getting this tv juz for playing PS2. Some more i don't even have a ps2 yet tongue.gif

Was thinking of getting the TV and PS2 at the same time. Sigh... Come to think of it, PS2 is 6 yrs old. It's really not worth getting it lah. A new PS2 costs around RM660-780 (from what i see in the forum). And i really think it's crazy spending so much money on a 6 year technology. biggrin.gif hehe...

One thing i don't understand though. Xbox oso being replaced with Xbox 360. Is it worth getting it now? No more new games will be released for xbox rite?

Dang, really hate it this opportunity cost thingy. How to get the best from both world with my pathetic pay and not to say 1/2 mths bonus? tongue.gif

Sorry for the rants, my bonus is juz not justified for the work i've done this year sad.gif

cylon
post Jan 27 2006, 09:58 AM

882 posts

They're rumored to be some new PS3 news at the end of Feb. in Miami. Just get the TV first to take the opportunity of the current promotion.Sony usually make minor changes to their TV once a year and major new model probably every 2-3 years.
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 27 2006, 10:04 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 27 2006, 09:47 AM)
Hey, thanks for the reply biggrin.gif

After some thinking i totally agree with you that it's a pure waste getting this tv juz for playing PS2. Some more i don't even have a ps2 yet tongue.gif

I understand how you feel man. Honestly though, if you have Astro at home and like to watch DVDs, those two reasons are enough to switch to a better TV if you can afford it. However I also agree with your points that it won't be such a great idea to buy it for the sake of having a PS2 alone - but if you intend to watch a lot of TV/play games/DVDs/impress people with your sub-3K TV, then maybe a little investment is worth it...
toytoy
post Jan 27 2006, 10:16 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jan 27 2006, 10:04 AM)
I understand how you feel man. Honestly though, if you have Astro at home and like to watch DVDs, those two reasons are enough to switch to a better TV if you can afford it. However I also agree with your points that it won't be such a great idea to buy it for the sake of having a PS2 alone - but if you intend to watch a lot of TV/play games/DVDs/impress people with your sub-3K TV, then maybe a little investment is worth it...
Hehe yeah, since it's not justifiable to buy old consoles and i can't afford any new gaming machines, might as well invest in a good TV first. At least can watch some DVDs tongue.gif. So when the time comes i m "HD Ready" cool.gif

Some more i can get that TV at a very whistling.gif Price tongue.gif
toytoy
post Jan 28 2006, 02:26 AM

875 posts

Dear All, I have one question. Can i use the Sony TV as a monitor? Since it supports 720p and 1080i, can i use my video card's video out and display HD on the TV? If it's possible, can i use S-Video out to display the HD resolutions?

Will the image be blur like conventional PC-TV out? or will it be better? Can someone try it out?

If i use S-Video out from PC to watch divx and dvd on the tv, will the quality be nice?

Will it spoil the TV?

Please advise. Thanks biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jan 28 2006, 07:36 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 28 2006, 02:26 AM)
Dear All, I have one question. Can i use the Sony TV as a monitor? Since it supports 720p and 1080i, can i use my video card's video out and display HD on the TV? If it's possible, can i use S-Video out to display the HD resolutions?

Will the image be blur like conventional PC-TV out? or will it be better? Can someone try it out?

If i use S-Video out from PC to watch divx and dvd on the tv, will the quality be nice?

Will it spoil the TV?

Please advise. Thanks biggrin.gif
Technically, you CAN use almost any TV with an Svideo input as a monitor. However please bear in mind that you cannot transfer HD quality video over S-video. There's just not enough bandwidth in that connection.

For HD on your TV, I'd recommend a TV with DVI in, or some way you can force the HD vid into a component input to stream to your TV. Otherwise, if you decide to watch divx files on your S video connection, with a little tweaking the image will be quite acceptable (especially on Pixel Plus 2 sets) BUT you'll have to remember to route the audio into the TV too, since you don't want to watch on a 29" but have to listen thru your laptop speakers...

hope this helps!
toytoy
post Jan 30 2006, 04:07 AM

875 posts

I have a LG TV at home now. I've tried watching divx on it and the image quality is very much acceptable. I've got the sound working using a stereo-->RCA cable. I can say everything works fine.

But due to the fact that my 29" TV only displays 1024x768, the wordings are very blur. My question is, if it is displayed on a 720p or 1080i resolution, will the wordings/text be smooth and at least readable? The normal SDTV is almost impossible to read any text. biggrin.gif

My PC Video Card has got a DVI-OUT but i m not sure if the Sony HD TV got any DVI-IN? Will do a bit of research on that. So DVI = same quality as component? Please advise.

Thanks and Happy Chinese New Year biggrin.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jan 30 2006, 05:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 30 2006, 04:07 AM)
I have a LG TV at home now. I've tried watching divx on it and the image quality is very much acceptable. I've got the sound working using a stereo-->RCA cable. I can say everything works fine.

But due to the fact that my 29" TV only displays 1024x768, the wordings are very blur. My question is, if it is displayed on a 720p or 1080i resolution, will the wordings/text be smooth and at least readable? The normal SDTV is almost impossible to read any text. biggrin.gif

My PC Video Card has got a DVI-OUT but i m not sure if the Sony HD TV got any DVI-IN? Will do a bit of research on that. So DVI = same quality as component? Please advise.

Thanks and Happy Chinese New Year biggrin.gif
Sorry to tell u...but ur LG SDTV definitely DOESN'T display at 1024 x 768. I guess you're using the normal S-VIDEO out to the TV. What it does is the GPU downsample the output to fit the 640x480(i)(more like 640 x240, IMO), thus u get all the blur picture.

And no, it won't be a good idea to use HDTV as a monitor. AFAIK, there is only ATI that has a special converter from certain ATI cards to convert to HDTV. The problem is, the output in HDTV is widescreen...i'm not sure how ur output will looks like, but my guess is most PC games will ends up looking elongated coz they dun support widescreen like console games (1 up for console gamers! smile.gif

and IMO, it's worth to buy XBOX now...coz it'll be extinct very soon. A hacked XBOX can do a lot of stuff that even an XBOX360 might not able to....PS2 also great buy now...tons of games. If ur're on tight budget, then i dun advise u getting a next-gen system until another 2 years.

So current gen system is ur best bet.

redbull_y2k
post Jan 30 2006, 10:14 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

Actually most PC games do support widescreen format, in fact i've played Neverwinter Nights on a resolution of 2048x768 before, and that was years back. You could check what tweaks needed to support widescreen gamine format from the Widescreen Gaming Forums. Also there's several Geforce cards bundled with HDTV component video output as well, but most of 'em are the high end series. cool.gif
xxboxx
post Feb 1 2006, 05:42 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

ever heard of HDTV PAL?

anyone thinking about buying the samsung slimfit 32" WS-32Z31HE widescreen should take notes of this. it seem that even thought the tv support 1080i, it is only @50Hz. in other words, this is a PAL tv. ps2/xbox/xb360 ntsc console will output 1080i @60Hz, which is the standard Hz for ntsc system. what happen if you hook up ntsc system running 1080i on HDTV PAL is you get a blank screen.

for a tv with HD Ready usually means it support both 50Hz and 60Hz. this clearly was a lacking in information from samsung as the brochure only stated it support 1080i without saying about the Hz. the 1080i 50hz was not stated anywhere except on the manuals, which means you need to buy the set in order to know that this set only accepts 50hz signals.
researcher
post Feb 2 2006, 01:02 PM

13 posts

hello everyone...
i'm new here...
searching for information on HDTV...
and likely i've been poison by u all...

at first, actually i want to build my multimedia CPU connect with HD...
but seem going thru u all discussion, its not very applicable...
i just thinking i will be very nice to play pc games in bigger monitor...
likely i will stick to play diablo in my laptop only...

btw, i have PS2... no astro... my dvd player likely to die very soon...
so, myb playing ps2 in HD will be great...
just browsed thru sony style web and found that the price...
SONY 29" DB29M61 HDTV is RM1899...
and thinking to grab dvd player also for RM299...
can get 24 months installment... heheh...
is it ok to buy online???

and noob question (maybe i didnt read thru all the discussion...)
can i watch normal TV program in HDTV without astro???
tq for ur information...

cylon
post Feb 2 2006, 05:38 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(researcher @ Feb 2 2006, 01:02 PM)
and noob question (maybe i didnt read thru all the discussion...)

You should have smile.gif

can i watch normal TV program in HDTV without astro???
tq for ur information...
You get it all wrong...the purpose of this thread is to enjoy High Defination gaming on HDTV tv's..not so much of watching terrestrial/satellite programming coz'..we dont have it yet! As such..yeah we can watch normal tv program on HDTV..but u wont get the "ummph" factor..even PS2 on HDTV wont gave u much satisfication either, unless u're running certain game in HDTV mode like GT4.
researcher
post Feb 2 2006, 08:04 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Feb 2 2006, 05:38 PM)
You should have smile.gif
You get it all wrong...the purpose of this thread is to enjoy High Defination gaming on HDTV tv's..not so much of watching terrestrial/satellite programming coz'..we dont have it yet! As such..yeah we can watch normal tv program on HDTV..but u wont get the "ummph" factor..even PS2 on HDTV wont gave u much satisfication either, unless u're running certain game in HDTV mode like GT4.
hmm... i know that ps2 doesnt give much satisfaction...
i'm preparing to purchase xbox360 or ps3...heheh... biggrin.gif
somebody said that the price of HD will up next month??? is that true?

i went to senheng this evening... it sold at RM2099... up ++200...
if installment even expensive...
if can watch normal program TV just nice le...
actually want to change my Zapporro TV... hahah...
been 2 years now... but still ok... bought at makro...
anyway... tq... thumbup.gif
shumaky
post Feb 2 2006, 10:37 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

astro is not hdtv
normal channel is not hdtv..
the sony is capable of displaying hdtv images provided the source is also hdtv..
ur xbox will be able to project hdtv images.. thus u will onli enjoy hdtv when ur playing xbox thru the sony..
if ur watching astro thru ur sony.. pics will not improve as per watching astro on normal tv..
so ur answer is YES u still can watch normal programs on the sony.. but the quality will be the same as ur old TV..
xxboxx
post Feb 3 2006, 12:17 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Feb 2 2006, 10:37 PM)
if ur watching astro thru ur sony.. pics will not improve as per watching astro on normal tv..
so ur answer is YES u still can watch normal programs on the sony.. but the quality will be the same as ur old TV..
yes, you can watch normal broadcast on hdtv. and no, the quality is not the same as normal tv, it is better. because sony has DRC, and philips has pixel plus 2, other branded tv has some other line doubler technology. the better quality is proved when my non-technical friend saw my sony tv displaying normal broadcast, he say the picture is somehow better but he couldn't tell how it was better. the answer is when DRC kicks in, the black interlace line and the flicker has been eliminated, so you're getting picture almost as good as 480p even thought the source is only 480i.
Lord_Ashe
post Feb 3 2006, 09:52 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Feb 2 2006, 10:37 PM)
Yup I agree with xxboxx. Try watching an astro broadcast via S-video on a Pixel Plus 2/DRC set. Even the A Team looks like it was just filmed last week instead of 20 years ago. However, normal terrestrial reception won't differ so much because we're still relying on good old RF.

QUOTE(xxboxx)
anyone thinking about buying the samsung slimfit 32" WS-32Z31HE widescreen should take notes of this. it seem that even thought the tv support 1080i, it is only @50Hz. in other words, this is a PAL tv. ps2/xbox/xb360 ntsc console will output 1080i @60Hz, which is the standard Hz for ntsc system. what happen if you hook up ntsc system running 1080i on HDTV PAL is you get a blank screen.

This is good info, and only confirmed my suspicions that Samsung's looking to make a quick buck in the entry-level HD-ready TV market. Maybe this'll save someone RM 4000?
SUSMatrix
post Feb 4 2006, 10:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Wow! great info XBOXXX, wah...if spent rm4k+ only discovered it can't support NTSC@60hz...then ja-lak lor!

researcher: Don't go to SENQ. They always charge higher price and doesn't follow the SONY retail price. Go Best Denki or some small electrical shops elsewhere. They'll sell u at the RM1799 price tag as recommended by SONY.

SENQ=The sux.

Zerg1008
post Feb 4 2006, 10:50 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 4 2006, 10:13 AM)
Wow! great info XBOXXX, wah...if spent rm4k+ only discovered it can't support NTSC@60hz...then ja-lak lor!

researcher: Don't go to SENQ. They always charge higher price and doesn't follow the SONY retail price. Go Best Denki or some small electrical shops elsewhere. They'll sell u at the RM1799 price tag as recommended by SONY.

SENQ=The sux.
Sadly only Xbox 360 PAL version can play on Samsung Slimfit.

Yeap... I did research for LCD TV on DEC 2005 and also found out SENQ..
+ Unfriendly Services.
+ New model arrive at SENQ slower than other shops.

So i ended up ignore shopping at SENQ.
xxboxx
post Feb 4 2006, 01:49 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 4 2006, 10:13 AM)

SENQ=The sux.
i thought this price is only till end of january? haven't go to see what is the new price thought.

i bought my tv from them tongue.gif not the senQ but it's Seng Heng shop. they put the price higher RM100 but with their card the price less RM100. also with additional 1 year warranty. then i also take their additional 2 years warranty for around RM150 if not mistaken. so total is 5 years warranty at almost RM2k. doh.gif

in melaka there's no best denki or other big eletrical shop. other small independent shop all blood sucker wun, they can up the price until RM500 also got.
researcher
post Feb 4 2006, 09:34 PM

13 posts

tq matrix for ur advice...
i think i will try to buy online at price RM1899...
here at banting no big electrical shop...
only available seng heng...
sure the price is higher...
just want to see with my own eyes...

my eyes barely to see the difference between normal TV with HDTV...
maybe it just show normal TV program...
compared to LG29", damn cheap... for about RM1299 plus DVD player some more...
but its for future investment...
some more SONY brand...

i survey xbox at mines today... no more...
its likely very hard to find xbox...
just want to try first before buying xbox360 or ps3...
emm... maybe i will wait and save my money for xbox360/ps3...
anyway, tq guys for ur opinion...

129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:45 AM