HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

cylon
post Dec 14 2005, 12:03 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(agingamer @ Dec 14 2005, 10:48 AM)
I am also perplexed why I am seeing poor setups at most showrooms.
Some showed Astro ESPN that looked so bad that its a turn off.  shakehead.gif

Is cost (cabling, hidef players, etc.) the reason why they have such poor setups?
The're using cascading concept..used 1 astro, hooking it up to a tv , and from that tv to multiple tv's usually via rf cable.
cylon
post Jan 12 2006, 10:42 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 12 2006, 09:17 PM)
Now, if only my PS2 component cable arrived..sigh...should have done some shoppig at Sg Wang instead of buying from online store...

Please post the review after it arrives..i'm using 3rd party cable though and ironically there's doesnt much difference playing GOW or Burnout Revenge...trying to get original from Sony but they're out of stock!

Anyway, one thing about 720p though....all the games are in widescreen format!! That means i get black borders on top n bottom. Is this only happens to the SONY HDTV?? What about other 4:3 HDTV??
It's mentioned in the manuals...720p and 1081i will always be displayed in widescreen format...i think its the official format unlike 480p and i believed 480p is not actually considered HDTV.
cylon
post Jan 14 2006, 11:03 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 14 2006, 09:52 PM)
Update:

(2) Devil May Cry 3 - (normal 480i)
Unfortunately this game doesn't support progressive. What's even worst is for some reasons, maybe it's due to the SONY DRC sharpening the images, it actually looks WORST than on my old SDTV. Jaggies are so abundant it hurts my eyes. In fact it looks almost like a PS1 game!!! sad.gif

I think i'm having the same problem..and i dont think there's an option to turn DRC off..at least not for this tv! That's why subtitles text looks awful on this set compared to other brand of tv's.

For some reason, i can't find the HDTV option in the menu. Can anyone tell me how to set this game to 480p/1080i?? How i wish PS2 games is more like XBOX...auto detection of the TV mode once after it has been set in the system. sigh...
Will try to do more testing of PS2 games later.
Are u using "ahem" games..because if u do probably u're getting the PAL version of the game..but if u're using NTSC original or "ahem" game the option is right before u start the race...the time when u select the race ( any mode be it arcade or gt mode ) there's option to select A-spec or B-spec option kind of thing, there's a display option.

This post has been edited by cylon: Jan 14 2006, 11:04 PM
cylon
post Jan 15 2006, 12:23 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 14 2006, 11:21 PM)
you're using the same tv as matrix is? there should be a choice of DRC1250 / DRC1050(?) / progressive rite?
DRC1250/DRC100/progressive..but no switch off..but they do have that option i think on some Grand Wega tvs...but basically it depends on your source!
cylon
post Jan 15 2006, 10:24 AM

882 posts

If u bought "ahem" version of F1 2005 for PS2 it'll says that its NTSC..but of course there's no such game for American market..only for the Japanese market ( and i'll think its in Japanese ).
cylon
post Jan 15 2006, 11:17 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 15 2006, 11:06 AM)
btw, the text looks okay to me. You see "ghosting" with text? If u see ghosting. most likely is ur component cable/adapter problem.

Yeap..i think its okay...watched TV3 last night and the substitles are fine..just having problem with Astro though maybe due to those substitles are processed internally on the decoder.

btw, do u have ahem GT4 NTSC? Tested with 1080i? Got screenshot or not?
Got original version..it does 480p and 1081i which renders the displays to widescreen...try to get a new "ahem" version and tested it in the shop...basically the PAL version of most game dont have HDTV/progressive option just like the F1 game..it supposed to have progressive option. U can try Hdgames.net to found out games which support Progressive/HDTV.
cylon
post Jan 15 2006, 02:07 PM

882 posts

Yeap...on 7/12/05...tak boleh tahan already...tv lama rosak..unrepairable, 1 week mati kutu takde tv!!
cylon
post Jan 15 2006, 03:52 PM

882 posts

Hard to say
1.One of the thing is brand recognition (some people calls me "Sony Freak"...Sony Clie, VCR, PSP, PS2, MiniDisc, Vaio Audio Player),
2. HDTV ready ( full range from 480i-1081i ),
3. Cheap compared to others,
4. Features ( at least 2 HDTV component input )

Think its easier for me buying something on brands i confortable with and believe me that i've been scouring everthing since i knew about component input and HDTV.
cylon
post Jan 16 2006, 04:09 PM

882 posts

Yeap...just spend that money on cheap CRT and only spend on newer display only after those that do support 1081p matured enough.
cylon
post Jan 18 2006, 02:15 PM

882 posts

Sure plasma...Sony didnt sell plasma anymore.
cylon
post Jan 27 2006, 09:58 AM

882 posts

They're rumored to be some new PS3 news at the end of Feb. in Miami. Just get the TV first to take the opportunity of the current promotion.Sony usually make minor changes to their TV once a year and major new model probably every 2-3 years.
cylon
post Feb 2 2006, 05:38 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(researcher @ Feb 2 2006, 01:02 PM)
and noob question (maybe i didnt read thru all the discussion...)

You should have smile.gif

can i watch normal TV program in HDTV without astro???
tq for ur information...
You get it all wrong...the purpose of this thread is to enjoy High Defination gaming on HDTV tv's..not so much of watching terrestrial/satellite programming coz'..we dont have it yet! As such..yeah we can watch normal tv program on HDTV..but u wont get the "ummph" factor..even PS2 on HDTV wont gave u much satisfication either, unless u're running certain game in HDTV mode like GT4.
cylon
post Feb 6 2006, 08:22 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 6 2006, 05:31 PM)
one more tip for SONY DB29M61 owner with ps2. if you want to OFF the DRC when playing ps2, set the GAME mode to ON, this will OFF the DRC.
Nice tip...will try it later on.
cylon
post Feb 7 2006, 10:40 AM

882 posts

I dont know whose mantaining the website though..some of the products are absolete and are supposed to be under the "display category"..tried to buy original PS2 component cable and was told that they didnt carry it anymore..its still listed though.
cylon
post Mar 9 2006, 04:00 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(andrewng88 @ Mar 9 2006, 03:14 PM)
dear all tv sifu, just saw a Sony KP-Fr43m91 projection tv at jusco selling at 3999 only, is it a good buy to use for ps2 and dvd ?
That's RPTV...rear projection tv. Not good for gaming coz burn-in issues.
cylon
post Mar 9 2006, 05:18 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 9 2006, 04:02 PM)
Agreed. If you can afford it, look for plasma or LCD sets. You may even want to check out the Plaxio brand, Malaysia's answer to the price problem.

Failing that, CRT HDTV sets are heavy, but still satisfying.

Good luck!
In other word...dont buy...there's a reason why original game manuals gave a cautios warning on usage of RPTV and any projector of that matter for gaming.
cylon
post Apr 25 2006, 03:59 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 25 2006, 03:30 PM)
can the panasonic display 720p and 1080i? 100hz just the line doubler. which DB29M61 also have with the name DRC. i try to google this panasonic model but come empty handed, is this obsolete model?
I believed this are the newer model to compete with Sony. They used to have the 800, 250 and 180 series. The 800 series are expensive back then and it's the only one supporting HD-Ready...and Sony DA and the subsequent DB series are the only alternative for budget consious consumers.

The problem with Panasonic and some other makers are that they didnt provide explicit details about their display. I've remembered that there's a Panasonic RPTV that supports HDTV ready, an later found out through an online manual that it only supports 480i and i think 580p.
cylon
post Apr 29 2006, 07:21 PM

882 posts

Just got a Xbox 360 and running it in 720p on my DB29M61..man the interface liked it's been photoshopped!!
cylon
post Apr 30 2006, 05:04 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Apr 30 2006, 09:15 AM)
All TV related manuals can be found on this here. Search under online documentation. There they have every single manuals for all models of the tv.
Sorry..but we mostly criticized the lack of manuals for other brand of tv's. Panasonic used to have it online. Kudos for Sony...they have lots of manuals online, even for discontinued models.
cylon
post May 29 2006, 07:17 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ May 29 2006, 02:40 AM)
The sony site says the KLV-V40A10 40" BRAVIA(tm) LCD Flat Panel TV is RM13,999.00. Why did the spec say anything about 1080i, 720P, 576P, 480P. Would plasma have these ratings? Sry im really out.

Any brand u recommend?
Not all plasma support all HDTV mode espescially the cheaper model. They also have a lifespan, usually up to 60,000 hours. But they mostly suffers from burn-in problem, hence they generally are not used for playing games.

QUOTE(koopa @ May 29 2006, 12:14 PM)
And i dont think plasma is cheaper. Form the post before. But i might be wrong. 42" Sony plasma costs RM21k which is RM11k more than the LCD
Basically Sony already out of the Plasma business. That's probabily older models.

0.0562sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:41 AM