Shoes for (real) men

TSkotmj
post Nov 22 2017, 04:13 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 22 2017, 11:10 AM)
Jeremy Tok was waxing lyrical (pardon the pun) about starwax in this very thread a few years back. I bought some, didn't like it. Based on what I own and have used, Saphir>Kiwi>Starwax.

Never tried liquid starwax...don't think I've even seen it before.
What don't you like about Starwax?
niakulah
post Nov 22 2017, 04:17 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 22 2017, 04:13 PM)
The prodigal son returns!

Too soft. Didn't seem like it was adding anything to the surface of the leather.
cheefai7
post Nov 22 2017, 05:14 PM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(ahmadkhairil @ Nov 7 2017, 07:29 PM)
How was your MD Nicole Nerini? I bought one too but received much later than you. This is my first leather sole dress shoes. Have you encountered runny dye from the sole? And the main body itself would discolor with a few water drops.
Guess should have gotten a rubber sole dress shoes first.
It served well for me, very comfortable after it breaks in a few wears. No issue on the running dye and discoloration. Rubber sole might consider Dainite sole on a Cheaney, good for raining weather now.
Kelvw
post Nov 22 2017, 09:31 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Nov 21 2017, 06:17 PM)
You're probably right, thanks for the confirmation. I've been just told the same by a professional cobbler. I'll take note on the shoe tree tip, I plan to buy a few for my other existing shoes and I've been looking at a few places including Lazada and https://shoetreeproject.com/sg/shop/shoe-trees/ , such a huge price difference. Now I'll have to do a little bit more research on these. Unless there are recommendations on what I should be looking for at an entry level?
Np, you don't really need expensive generic shoe trees as most would do the job. I usually prefer full cedar wood shoetrees and can be had for quite reasonable prices.

There are some fancier ones and some supplied by the shoemakers themselves. I tend to spend a bit more on manufacturers shoetrees on my more expensive shoes.
Tbh they all do the same job.
heavyduty
post Nov 23 2017, 12:24 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Nov 21 2017, 06:17 PM)
You're probably right, thanks for the confirmation. I've been just told the same by a professional cobbler. I'll take note on the shoe tree tip, I plan to buy a few for my other existing shoes and I've been looking at a few places including Lazada and https://shoetreeproject.com/sg/shop/shoe-trees/ , such a huge price difference. Now I'll have to do a little bit more research on these. Unless there are recommendations on what I should be looking for at an entry level?
Get shoetrees from taobao,full cedar shoe trees cost rm40 a pair there,find ones with high reviews

I don't like to buy from Lazada coz they don't label products properly
light_up
post Nov 23 2017, 03:39 PM

171 posts

wow, never know there's a great discussion here until i search around for leather care info for my shoe

hi guys, i've learned my lesson the hard way for not maintaining my leather shoe properly, they have cracked & damaged and there's nothing i could about it cry.gif

anyway, i just purchase a pair of brown leather shoe yesterday, should i put on some wax or any leather care product before wearing it?

thanks in advance.. smile.gif

emechelmi
post Nov 23 2017, 04:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 22 2017, 04:13 PM)
the paste version is good for spit shine as it has plenty of oils.
Ah Shawn
post Nov 23 2017, 11:16 PM

512 posts

Hi gents of the thread, I have just purchased a pair of Kulitkraf brogue goodyear welts today. I was actually quite apprehensive as they initially looked rather bulbous and short, hence not so stylish. But I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the shoe in the flesh, since I was a UK10, this made the proportions longer and looked less bulbous. Stitching is not perfect and some blemishes can be seen on the corrected leather. But overall for RM130, a great steal!

cheefai7
post Nov 24 2017, 09:09 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

Gents, how are you guys resist the temptation of Black Friday!!! Help

https://skoaktiebolaget.us7.list-manage.com...23&e=570ec9104d

http://www.theshoesnobblog.com/2017/11/bla...k-footwear.html
alternativehype
post Nov 24 2017, 10:13 AM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Nov 23 2017, 11:16 PM)
Hi gents of the thread, I have just purchased a pair of Kulitkraf brogue goodyear welts today. I was actually quite apprehensive as they initially looked rather bulbous and short, hence not so stylish. But I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the shoe in the flesh, since I was a UK10, this made the proportions longer and looked less bulbous. Stitching is not perfect and some blemishes can be seen on the corrected leather. But overall for RM130, a great steal!

Wow! 130 very cheap. Have to go to their kilang to buy? Did you see other models?
QuickFire
post Nov 24 2017, 12:51 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

New shoes. I was expecting the colour to be darker with red undertones though. It came out almost tan.

chiahau
post Nov 24 2017, 01:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Nov 24 2017, 09:09 AM)
A pair of John Lobb! biggrin.gif
ahmadkhairil
post Nov 24 2017, 07:29 PM

46 posts

Anyone bought from Ernest Collective from Singapore? Any reviews on the full grain leather? Looking to buy a pair of rubber soled Oxfords.
Ah Shawn
post Nov 24 2017, 08:05 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(alternativehype @ Nov 24 2017, 10:13 AM)
Wow! 130 very cheap. Have to go to their kilang to buy? Did you see other models?
Yes, their kilang is at PJ near Seapark. Just google Kultikraf and you'll find it. I did see them start producing a few other trendier non-black models. This particular pair of brown brogues were quite eye-catching, unfortunately stuck on and only available for batch orders of 300 and more. I dropped my name there to see if they could slip in one order if ever somebody made a bulk order biggrin.gif

They also had another pair of dark brown plain toe oxfods, mass made for UMW, comfier but stuck on type.

Kaka23
post Nov 24 2017, 08:25 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(light_up @ Nov 23 2017, 03:39 PM)
wow, never know there's a great discussion here until i search around for leather care info for my shoe

hi guys, i've learned my lesson the hard way for not maintaining my leather shoe properly, they have cracked & damaged and there's nothing i could about it  cry.gif

anyway, i just purchase a pair of brown leather shoe yesterday, should i put on some wax or any leather care product before wearing it?

thanks in advance..  smile.gif

Nice bro.. Where u get it and what is the damage?
alternativehype
post Nov 24 2017, 08:49 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Nov 24 2017, 08:05 PM)
Yes, their kilang is at PJ near Seapark. Just google Kultikraf and you'll find it. I did see them start producing a few other trendier non-black models. This particular pair of brown brogues were quite eye-catching, unfortunately stuck on and only available for batch orders of 300 and more. I dropped my name there to see if they could slip in one order if ever somebody made a bulk order  biggrin.gif

They also had another pair of dark brown plain toe oxfods, mass made for UMW, comfier but stuck on type.
Looks like I gotta go pay a visit to find my next pair of shoes
cheefai7
post Nov 27 2017, 09:14 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Nov 24 2017, 12:51 PM)
New shoes. I was expecting the colour to be darker with red undertones though. It came out almost tan.
Saphir Pommadier to the rescue.
cheefai7
post Nov 27 2017, 09:15 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 24 2017, 01:15 PM)
A pair of John Lobb!  biggrin.gif
I am not there yet, still Carmina/Carlos Santos/Loake kinda level.
chiahau
post Nov 27 2017, 09:26 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Nov 27 2017, 09:15 AM)
I am not there yet, still Carmina/Carlos Santos/Loake kinda level.
And my Carmina's are still in the drawers, waiting to be used for the wedding this weekend.

Gonna Saphir it later and pair it with my Massdropp-ed N&F perhaps tongue.gif
cheefai7
post Nov 27 2017, 11:56 AM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 27 2017, 09:26 AM)
And my Carmina's are still in the drawers, waiting to be used for the wedding this weekend.

Gonna Saphir it later and pair it with my Massdropp-ed N&F perhaps tongue.gif
CONGRATULATION!!!! Yeah, better buy whatever want to buy before getting married, one more week to #YOLO!!!

290 Pages « < 235 236 237 238 239 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:35 PM