Shoes for (real) men
QuickFire
Nov 7 2016, 01:31 PM
Carmina now has a customisation option for their shoes on their website. The normal markup is 30% I think, but over the weekend they offered it with no extra charge. Not sure if the promo is still valid but you could try. Promo code WELCOME-CUSTOMISATION.
I got a 6-eyelet derby in polo suede in the Simpson last with dainite soles. Added shoe trees too since they were discounted as well.
This post has been edited by QuickFire: Nov 7 2016, 01:32 PM
niakulah
Nov 7 2016, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Nov 7 2016, 01:31 PM) Carmina now has a customisation option for their shoes on their website. The normal markup is 30% I think, but over the weekend they offered it with no extra charge. Not sure if the promo is still valid but you could try. Promo code WELCOME-CUSTOMISATION. I got a 6-eyelet derby in polo suede in the Simpson last with dainite soles. Added shoe trees too since they were discounted as well. That sounds awesome! Alas... I dare not buy online for a last that I've never tried before.
QuickFire
Nov 7 2016, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 7 2016, 03:03 PM) That sounds awesome! Alas... I dare not buy online for a last that I've never tried before. Well I've tried the Simpson last at WJ & Co... haha. (I did buy a pair from them too)
d3vilzzzz
Nov 8 2016, 02:22 PM
Guys, Some shameless advertising; I just got stock for cedar shoetrees uk8/uk9s, sample -> here
niakulah
Nov 14 2016, 03:50 PM
St Crispins trunk show at WJ & Co: http://www.saintcrispins.com/trunk-shows/November 29th and 30th, 2016 WJ & Co - Kuala Lumpur with Phillip Car
champu
Nov 14 2016, 04:26 PM
to the initiated sifu's here,
Any thoughts on Burton's brogue's? Are they reputed?
Iqbal_kakashi
Nov 15 2016, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 14 2016, 03:50 PM) St Crispins trunk show at WJ & Co: http://www.saintcrispins.com/trunk-shows/November 29th and 30th, 2016 WJ & Co - Kuala Lumpur with Phillip Car Interesting. Open for all?
niakulah
Nov 15 2016, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(Iqbal_kakashi @ Nov 15 2016, 11:19 AM) Interesting. Open for all? Their FB page says to email info[at]wjandco.com for details and bookings.
spacelion
Nov 17 2016, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Nov 3 2016, 11:29 PM) Need advice here guys. I want to buy my first real men shoes as I just started working as intern. I want a shoes that is either black or dark brown. I am still in dilemma which color to choose. Black seems like it is more formal and easier to match with clothes, but I personally love dark brown as it stands out from the color of pants/shirt so people will notice it immediately. And also with black If I were to buy a black suit I can match it easily and with dark brown it is harder to match. And also brogue or wholecut oxford or cap toe is better as my first shoe? Few years back then, brogue was my favourite, but after doing research online lately I am okay with any of the three as long as it looks good. If money isn't an issue I would choose Crockett and Jones, but I would like to keep my budget below Rm1k for a pair of shoes. I am going to P.Lal and WJ and Co to check it out next weekend. So black or dark brown, and what type(brogue etc..) do you guys recommend along with the brand. suit colour go dark blue or gray, not black. Black is extremely formal, worn to weddings and funerals and dresscode events. This post has been edited by spacelion: Nov 17 2016, 02:47 PM
Shinka
Nov 23 2016, 12:08 AM
How much would you guys pay for a pair of designer loafers?
I saw a pair of calf skin loafers/moccassins from Louis Vuitton. Very nice, except that they cost around RM3200 per pair. They have the LV emblem at the front.
Is that considered too pricey to pay for a pair of loafers?
stargamer
Nov 23 2016, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(Shinka @ Nov 23 2016, 12:08 AM) How much would you guys pay for a pair of designer loafers? I saw a pair of calf skin loafers/moccassins from Louis Vuitton. Very nice, except that they cost around RM3200 per pair. They have the LV emblem at the front. Is that considered too pricey to pay for a pair of loafers? if u need to ask, then u cant afford it.
Shinka
Nov 23 2016, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(stargamer @ Nov 23 2016, 12:12 AM) if u need to ask, then u cant afford it. Well, I'm just asking for opinions around here. Is that price too exorbitant for a pair of loafers? Affordability is not the issue here, but rather whether you guys have seen better deals for designer shoes elsewhere, which may be more "bang for buck".
rayng18
Nov 23 2016, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(Shinka @ Nov 23 2016, 12:15 AM) Well, I'm just asking for opinions around here. Is that price too exorbitant for a pair of loafers? Affordability is not the issue here, but rather whether you guys have seen better deals for designer shoes elsewhere, which may be more "bang for buck". This thread if I am not mistaken is more on real men shoes rather than designer's shoes which you pay for the brand rather than the quality and durability. Yup a pair of quality shoes from Edward Green, Church's, John Lobb, Berluti amongst others cost RM few Ks a pair
niakulah
Nov 23 2016, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(Shinka @ Nov 23 2016, 12:08 AM) How much would you guys pay for a pair of designer loafers? I saw a pair of calf skin loafers/moccassins from Louis Vuitton. Very nice, except that they cost around RM3200 per pair. They have the LV emblem at the front. Is that considered too pricey to pay for a pair of loafers? Agreed with @rayng18. We are not so into designer brands in this thread. To me, 3.2k is way too much because you are basically paying for the brand name. A good pair of loafers made from good quality calf, in a moccasin construction, I would say max 2k from a good shoemaker for a RTW shoe. Preferably one that only makes shoes and is not a general fashion brand like LV, RL, etc. Not that I would ever spend that much on a casual shoe...but everyone has different priorities.
Shinka
Nov 23 2016, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 23 2016, 10:56 AM) Agreed with @rayng18. We are not so into designer brands in this thread. To me, 3.2k is way too much because you are basically paying for the brand name. A good pair of loafers made from good quality calf, in a moccasin construction, I would say max 2k from a good shoemaker for a RTW shoe. Preferably one that only makes shoes and is not a general fashion brand like LV, RL, etc. Not that I would ever spend that much on a casual shoe...but everyone has different priorities. Thank you for your helpful replies  Yes, I thought so too, considering Tod's is only around 1.7k. I'm more of a sneaker guy and have no experience whatsoever with designer labeled shoes, hence the shock at the price tag. But what you and rayng18 said makes alot of sense, thanks.
H814
Nov 23 2016, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(Shinka @ Nov 23 2016, 12:08 AM) How much would you guys pay for a pair of designer loafers? I saw a pair of calf skin loafers/moccassins from Louis Vuitton. Very nice, except that they cost around RM3200 per pair. They have the LV emblem at the front. Is that considered too pricey to pay for a pair of loafers? Nope wouldn't pay that much for a fashion brand (though being luxury). If you must stay mainstream with the branding, perhaps try Tod's or Church's, which are relatively "affordable" compared to some other shoemakers.
sembilan
Nov 23 2016, 11:38 AM
A pair of loafers from LV for RM3200 is a steal, straight away get tuhao cred man. Get some hermes belt too and you're good to go
patryn33
Nov 23 2016, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(Shinka @ Nov 23 2016, 12:15 AM) Well, I'm just asking for opinions around here. Is that price too exorbitant for a pair of loafers? Affordability is not the issue here, but rather whether you guys have seen better deals for designer shoes elsewhere, which may be more "bang for buck". designers shoes are never best "bang for the buck" in term for quality. many made in Italy using blake welt. they do sell glued sneaker and shoes. U paying for the designer name to show U can afford to spend for a "inferior" product.. or tell ppl "hey I am a carrot"! for quality go for Bespoke/MTO shoes and show U can really afford and blow 11K+ http://www.styleforum.net/t/512506/mto-vs-bespoke-shoeslike many has stated, ppl here are not into designer and pay for marketing over quality
Shinka
Nov 23 2016, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Nov 23 2016, 11:58 AM) designers shoes are never best "bang for the buck" in term for quality. many made in Italy using blake welt. they do sell glued sneaker and shoes. U paying for the designer name to show U can afford to spend for a "inferior" product.. or tell ppl "hey I am a carrot"! for quality go for Bespoke/MTO shoes and show U can really afford and blow 11K+ http://www.styleforum.net/t/512506/mto-vs-bespoke-shoeslike many has stated, ppl here are not into designer and pay for marketing over quality Thanks Patryn, will keep that in mind. Cheers
cheefai7
Nov 24 2016, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 23 2016, 11:38 AM) A pair of loafers from LV for RM3200 is a steal, straight away get tuhao cred man. Get some hermes belt too and you're good to go Dont forget some Gucci satchel, rose gold ip7+, skinny white pants which rolled up to show ankle, rayban aviator to complement. QUOTE(patryn33 @ Nov 23 2016, 11:58 AM) designers shoes are never best "bang for the buck" in term for quality. many made in Italy using blake welt. they do sell glued sneaker and shoes. U paying for the designer name to show U can afford to spend for a "inferior" product.. or tell ppl "hey I am a carrot"! for quality go for Bespoke/MTO shoes and show U can really afford and blow 11K+ http://www.styleforum.net/t/512506/mto-vs-bespoke-shoeslike many has stated, ppl here are not into designer and pay for marketing over quality With the depreciation of ringgit, it will be even further for my dream of caressing my own shoe last. This post has been edited by cheefai7: Nov 24 2016, 02:28 PM