125 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

toolkit21
post Mar 19 2010, 09:53 PM

37 posts

Better take note that RX-V365 has only HDMI video out, no audio out.
Move 1 model up, RX-V465, has HDMI audio/video out.
I got it at RM1600
minimize
post Mar 20 2010, 03:24 PM

1,543 posts

For future invesment better go for at least RX-V465. RX-V365 is very basic AVR and it don't support video through HDMI and HD audio.
LoonFay
post Mar 24 2010, 03:42 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Mar 20 2010, 03:24 PM)
For future invesment better go for at least RX-V465. RX-V365 is very basic AVR and it don't support video through HDMI and HD audio.
it only supports video signal using HDMI n no audio signal
Skylinestar
post Mar 24 2010, 07:26 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(LoonFay @ Mar 24 2010, 03:42 PM)
it only supports video signal using HDMI n no audio signal
it does support audio, but only switching, not repeater...therefore no audio out from the speaker output terminal.
LoonFay
post Mar 25 2010, 09:52 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 24 2010, 07:26 PM)
it does support audio, but only switching, not repeater...therefore no audio out from the speaker output terminal.
yeah, so video using HDMI, and audio signal using either analog or optical
chinook
post Mar 29 2010, 12:29 AM

273 posts

Hi there everyone. New owner of an RX465 here =D

Very satisfied with it so far but I've got a little problem that I can't seem to figure out how to fix.

Currently, I have the AVR set up with 2 HDMI input cables from my Xbox 360(HDMI 2) and my Astro Byond(HDMI 1) decoder.

When I switch from HDMI 2 to HDMI 1 while astro Byond is on a HD Channel (573, 575, 832, etc.), the signal to the TV seems to go on and off(sound and image sometimes come on for a second before going blank again) for about 10-20 seconds before the image appears (properly) on the TV. I can hear a switching noise from the AVR occurring every few seconds during this period. The problem doesn't occur when the decoder is on an SD channel.

Any idea what's the problem and does anyone have any solutions..?

...btw, the Xbox is on 1080p reso while the Astro decoder is set to 1080i. I've tried changing the reso of the decoder to 720p but it didn't make a difference.

Oh yea, I can also feel electricity currents whenever I touch the AVR while it's on. Is that normal..?

This post has been edited by chinook: Mar 29 2010, 12:35 AM
willkso
post Mar 29 2010, 01:03 PM

993 posts

I guess that's HDCP handshake issues... My Pioneer VSX-919 do take a few seconds for the handshake. Actually even switching input on the TV's HDMI port itself will take few seconds too on my Sony TV and theelectic current shock should be from the TV, not the AVR. To solve that, connect and 'earthing' from your RX465 to earthing on your wall plug.
toolkit21
post Apr 3 2010, 12:16 AM

37 posts

Chinook, I understand the issue you're having with 465 and b.yond.

What I do when I turn to Astro b.yond is switch to non-HD channels first, then when receiver doesn't 'flicker on and off', switch back to the HD channels. Seems to work for me this way.

Technically I know nothing about 'HDCP handshakes'. Actually what does it mean?...

ameenskywalker
post Apr 5 2010, 05:57 PM

343 posts

Does this issue occur in all yamaha av ? was thinking to get V765 (over denon 1909)..
willkso
post Apr 6 2010, 01:50 AM

993 posts

QUOTE(toolkit21 @ Apr 3 2010, 01:16 AM)

What I do when I turn to Astro b.yond is switch to non-HD channels first, then when receiver doesn't 'flicker on and off', switch back to the HD channels. Seems to work for me this way.

Technically I know nothing about 'HDCP handshakes'. Actually what does it mean?...
HDCP - High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection. Handshake means authentication process to identify licensed devices from receiving content. More details: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDCP
chinook
post Apr 11 2010, 04:00 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(toolkit21 @ Apr 3 2010, 12:16 AM)

Yeap. That's what I do as well. No big deal actually. Was just wondering why it was happening.
minimize
post Apr 14 2010, 07:42 PM

1,543 posts

Its also happen to me. Its normal for yamaha receiver with byond I think.
Kelv
post Apr 16 2010, 09:39 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Hello everyone,
My current Yamaha RX-V420 has problem in the left surround output.
Is it expensive to send to fix it? Any idea how much will it cost?

mpyw
post Apr 16 2010, 09:49 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Apr 16 2010, 09:39 AM)
Hello everyone,
My current Yamaha RX-V420 has problem in the left surround output.
Is it expensive to send to fix it? Any idea how much will it cost?
Try open up can clean the contact point or dust inside the AVR 1st....it might just becos of the dirty dust
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 16 2010, 04:42 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Fellow friends,

I'm trying to setup a HT soon at my apartment. If you guys could tell me, if i were to get a Yamaha AVR, and plug it to HTIB [some brand , maybe Pioneer]

Is that possible to do? Im not familiar with this stuff. Please advise.

Sub maybe i will use the one from HTIB
paskal
post Apr 16 2010, 10:08 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 16 2010, 04:42 PM)
Fellow friends,

I'm trying to setup a HT soon at my apartment. If you guys could tell me, if i were to get a Yamaha AVR, and plug it to HTIB [some brand , maybe Pioneer]

Is that possible to do? Im not familiar with this stuff. Please advise.

Sub maybe i will use the one from HTIB
most of the HTIB that i've came across have all the power amp module for the speakers AT THE SUB.
so plug everything at the sub. meaning there's no upgrading the sub to another AVR.

some HTIB that has separate amp for the satellite have passive sub meaning there's no amp in the sub. to pair it with an AVR, you need an active sub.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 16 2010, 10:11 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 16 2010, 10:08 PM)
most of the HTIB that i've came across have all the power amp module for the speakers AT THE SUB.
so plug everything at the sub. meaning there's no upgrading the sub to another AVR.

some HTIB that has separate amp for the satellite have passive sub meaning there's no amp in the sub. to pair it with an AVR, you need an active sub.
Ok noted..
gilbertlhl
post Apr 17 2010, 12:23 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 16 2010, 10:08 PM)

Another thing is HTIB speaker some time is 4 omh, so dun over power it... sweat.gif

and get a active subwoofer...
Kelv
post Apr 18 2010, 10:16 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 16 2010, 09:49 AM)
Try open up can clean the contact point or dust inside the AVR 1st....it might just becos of the dirty dust
You are right. I open it and found out too many dust.
I simply clean, then it works again.
Perhaps will spend more time cleaning in thoroughly again.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Apr 18 2010, 10:34 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Apr 17 2010, 12:23 AM)
Another thing is HTIB speaker some time is 4 omh, so dun over power it... sweat.gif

and get a active subwoofer...
My cousin has a sub woof, something called Velodyne? Is that correct the spelling?

He said, he wants to sell it off. I asked him the price RM4k , sub only. cry.gif

125 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0349sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:26 AM