CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Dec 26 2010, 06:45 PM

12,290 posts

society mores have a big impact of decision making regarding health care.......

what they choose is strongly influenced by their health believe systems........thus many people will seek bomohs, sinsehs, alternatives, even direct sale products, over modern healthcare.....

society mores will also influence how they respond to illness......in the example above, some women would rather die, than loose their breasts and risk ostracisation by their husbands........it obviously still happens in Kelantan........but as late as 20 years ago, it was the same in KL......

a study done in the late 80's in KLH showed 60% of breast cancers present in late stages (defined as 3 and 4).........the figures is now about 10% or less........

the difference is patient education, awareness, and i think most importantly, the financial independence of women, and the changing status of the women in a marriage......

as it changed in kl, it will change also in Kelantan, albeit more slowly.......

in the meantime, we continue to do our best to educate the population.......

not just in breast cancers, but in all aspects of health care, including their health belief systems.....we still see people going to bomohs for treatment of dengue, malaria etc.......and some people are still very critical of the modern scientific health care system...........
alvisto
post Dec 28 2010, 10:12 PM

122 posts

Hi guys,

I have reached the period where I was required to choose 3 hospitals for my housemanship next year after I have graduated.

I am from Penang, and I am still undecided where to put my choices at.

My preliminary choices would be Hospital Pulau Pinang, then maybe either Kulim, Seberang Jaya, Sungai Petani, Taiping or Ipoh.

How you guys think ? Can anyone give me some insights into these hospitals ? xD

Thanks a bundle.
CyberSetan
post Dec 28 2010, 10:19 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(alvisto @ Dec 28 2010, 10:12 PM)
Hi guys,

I have reached the period where I was required to choose 3 hospitals for my housemanship next year after I have graduated.

I am from Penang, and I am still undecided where to put my choices at.

My preliminary choices would be Hospital Pulau Pinang, then maybe either Kulim, Seberang Jaya, Sungai Petani, Taiping or Ipoh.

How you guys think ? Can anyone give me some insights into these hospitals ? xD

Thanks a bundle.
You may choose, you may not necessarily get~
You're single? You'll be sent to Sabah/Sarawak for sure~ laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Better you choose any hospitals from these states rather than having the govt. choose it for you~
(you'll probably be sent into the interior part of these two states)

Anyway see this:

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 28 2010, 10:20 PM
cckkpr
post Dec 29 2010, 10:11 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 28 2010, 10:19 PM)
You may choose, you may not necessarily get~
You're single? You'll be sent to Sabah/Sarawak for sure~  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Better you choose any hospitals from these states rather than having the govt. choose it for you~
(you'll probably be sent into the interior part of these two states)

Anyway see this:

So, if you are attached, better get it registered b4 you are despatched to the jungle fringes!

If the gomen is going to improve health care, sacrifices all round is very essential.

Easier said than done. But if you dont start, when will it happen?
onelove89
post Dec 30 2010, 09:41 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

so if say my wife is in KL, that means I will have a higher chance of getting an intern spot in KL hospitals and not dispatched to other places? just curious =P
zstan
post Dec 30 2010, 10:29 AM

15,856 posts

KL hospitals really cannot la...all damn full already...

the best thing you can get might be melaka and perak or penang and not those ulu places....
DireAnguish5678
post Dec 31 2010, 08:16 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 30 2010, 10:29 AM)

the best thing you can get might be melaka and perak or penang and not those ulu places....
H.O. only in GH. like e.g. SP, HSAJB, Ipoh. Only capital cities have GHs, I don't think there're many 'ulu' places that have GHs. For M.O., then only district hopsitals all over etc. Is it so important? If you're not in ulu place also you'll still be working all day. If you got through your HO, then you should be tough enough to handle 'ulu' places.
onelove89
post Dec 31 2010, 09:37 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 30 2010, 10:29 AM)

lol, you're kinda not answering my question by focusing on the 'kl' part. and personally, i don't mind rural areas. cos where i am from, some ppl even thought I lived on trees. good for them.

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Dec 31 2010, 08:16 PM)
H.O. only in GH. like e.g. SP, HSAJB, Ipoh. Only capital cities have GHs, I don't think there're many 'ulu' places that have GHs. For M.O., then only district hopsitals all over etc. Is it so important? If you're not in ulu place also you'll still be working all day. If you got through your HO, then you should be tough enough to handle 'ulu' places.
I think you'll be even busier in the rural areas. Eg the rural clinics/ hosp in aussie. Our tutors told us there's most probably just one H.O/M.O attending patients at night. Good in a way, you'll learn heaps, and you're forced to learn. bad thing is the pressure is just overwhelming. but I don't mind getting some experiences from those places. You have a point, if your passion is to 'HELP OTHERS/SAVE LIVES', why can't you handle 'ulu' places? You're practically doing a big favor to the community and you're definitely saving lives and helping others. Guess when ppl's selfish ambitions kick in, hypocrisy surfaces.

still, anyone can enlighten me on the whole 'registered/married' thing and placements for H.O/M.O? =)

Happy new year to everyone in advance. =)
limeuu
post Dec 31 2010, 09:46 PM

12,290 posts

that is not true........housemans are posted to many bigger district hospitals eg muar, sibu, miri..........
zstan
post Dec 31 2010, 10:19 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 31 2010, 09:37 PM)
lol, you're kinda not answering my question by focusing on the 'kl' part. and personally, i don't mind rural areas. cos where i am from, some ppl even thought I lived on trees. good for them.
I think you'll be even busier in the rural areas. Eg the rural clinics/ hosp in aussie. Our tutors told us there's most probably just one H.O/M.O attending patients at night. Good in a way, you'll learn heaps, and you're forced to learn. bad thing is the pressure is just overwhelming. but I don't mind getting some experiences from those places. You have a point, if your passion is to 'HELP OTHERS/SAVE LIVES', why can't you handle 'ulu' places? You're practically doing a big favor to the community and you're definitely saving lives and helping others. Guess when ppl's selfish ambitions kick in, hypocrisy surfaces. 
still, anyone can enlighten me on the whole 'registered/married' thing and placements for H.O/M.O? =)

Happy new year to everyone in advance. =)
the problem is...if you are stationed to those district hospitals or at those rural areas...you don't get to see much big cases.they will usually be redirected to the big general hospitals..or the worst thing that can happen is that you have to watch them dying right in front of you because those rural hospitals will certainly not have adequate facilities for complicated cases...
wgy589
post Dec 31 2010, 10:23 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 31 2010, 10:19 PM)
the problem is...if you are stationed to those district hospitals or at those rural areas...you don't get to see much big cases.they will usually be redirected to the big general hospitals..or the worst thing that can happen is that you have to watch them dying right in front of you because those rural hospitals will certainly not have adequate facilities for complicated cases...
like what? rolleyes.gif
CyberSetan
post Dec 31 2010, 11:31 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Dec 31 2010, 10:23 PM)
like what?  rolleyes.gif
Like this~ brows.gif

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 2 2010, 04:32 PM)
Here is something~
I will upload some of my past cases - I'm sharing it here, ponder all you like (image is very large):

Note: image taken with permission of the patient under supervision of our prof. Patient identity anonymous.
wgy589
post Jan 1 2011, 01:06 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 31 2010, 11:31 PM)
Like this~  brows.gif
i expected some explanations. hmm.gif
zstan
post Jan 1 2011, 01:50 AM

15,856 posts

try finding AAA cases in kampung areas......... either they die without knowing how'd they die... or the kampung hospitals can't manage it and as said, the patient dies in front of the doctors.
linkeong
post Jan 1 2011, 10:56 PM

813 posts

I am currently doing clinicals in Hospital Kuala Terengganu (Sultanah Nur Zahirah), even here, major cases get sent to HUSM and HUKM. Some cases from Hospital Dungun send over here, then passed over to HUSM or HUKM. So also depends on place, not all major hospital you get to see major case
cckkpr
post Jan 11 2011, 09:44 AM

4,516 posts

Proposed exam to vet foreign medical graduates?

Another stop gap measure with no prime objective in sight AND creating more problems .

Isnt it easier to de-recognise those "usual suspects" rather than having to deal with more graduates from those that are unrecognised at the current moment?
tqeh
post Jan 11 2011, 11:17 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 11 2011, 02:44 PM)
Proposed exam to vet foreign medical graduates?

Another stop gap measure with no prime objective in sight AND creating more problems .

Isnt it easier to de-recognise those "usual suspects" rather than having to deal with more graduates from those that are unrecognised at the current moment?
I guess they'll have to pay for the examination. I wonder how would they conduct the OSCE and long case if there is one lol, it'll be a disaster.

And graduates from 1st world country wont like it, they'll go to sg if they ever consider returning home, lol.

PS cckkpr they cant derecognise those suspects because it's all politically related, either money or election lol.

And also, wouldnt it be funny if a 1st world med grad fail the exam, ie got a case on dengue or something and screw it up entirely, thats just, weird =/.
cckkpr
post Jan 11 2011, 11:57 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Jan 11 2011, 11:17 AM)
I guess they'll have to pay for the examination. I wonder how would they conduct the OSCE and long case if there is one lol, it'll be a disaster.

And graduates from 1st world country wont like it, they'll go to sg if they ever consider returning home, lol.

PS cckkpr they cant derecognise those suspects because it's all politically related, either money or election lol.

And also, wouldnt it be funny if a 1st world med grad fail the exam, ie got a case on dengue or something and screw it up entirely, thats just, weird =/.
The thought of having a !st world graduate and a totally unknown unrated unheard of graduate sitting for the same exam!!
wgy589
post Jan 11 2011, 01:16 PM

759 posts

this happened to usmle when oxbridge graduates sat for the same exam as the the 3rd world graduates. but of course there are some differences eg US as a1st world country as compared to Msia, US own graduates also sit for the same exam etc...

of ya, why they never consider implementing the same exam to the local graduates also? this way we can compare the graduates from the different medical schools.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 11 2011, 01:20 PM
zstan
post Jan 11 2011, 02:03 PM

15,856 posts

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=..._medium=twitter
RAWANG: Private and government hospitals will have to adhere to a new set of guidelines on consultation fees and other hospital charges, to be announced by the Government by March.

Health Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said a National Medical Arbitration Committee had been established by the ministry to draft the fee schedule and guidelines.

He estimated that 30,000 doctors in the country would be governed by the new fee schedule.

Liow said the ministry would also monitor all additional fees charged by hospitals, including those for food and medicine.

He added that the ministry had received many complaints from the public about high fees charged by private hospitals.

"This will ensure that patients are not overcharged when they seek medical care at private hospitals," he said, adding that the guidelines would be effective as soon as the announcement was made.

He said the previous review of doctors' consultation fees by the ministry was in 2004.

hmm i wonder what will the implications be. hmm.gif

128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:57 PM