CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

limeuu
post Jul 12 2011, 10:52 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 12 2011, 10:41 PM)

Both degree doesn't recognized in Singapore? Do you mean JCU as well? I was briefed during my interview session that it is recognized worldwide. May I know the source?

Thanks in advance for your input icon_rolleyes.gif
no medical degree is 'recognized worldwide'.......

go to the smc website and look at the list of recognised med schools.........

also note their policy of only recognising the degrees where the clinical years are done in the country of award of degree......which means the pmc/irish degrees and monash msia are not recognised.........
Huskies
post Jul 12 2011, 10:53 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 12 2011, 10:41 PM)
Well, I'm government-sponsored. So money isn't too much of a problem.
Again, thanks for your input. Really- really helped me now. And I can't wait to join this community laugh.gif
BTW, JCU also didn't recognized? May I know the source?
Well, I'm a government sponsored student, so I'll work in Malaysia of course.

Both degree doesn't recognized in Singapore? Do you mean JCU as well? I was briefed during my interview session that it is recognized worldwide. May I know the source?

Thanks in advance for your input icon_rolleyes.gif
Help yourself with this list:

http://www.smc.gov.sg/html/MungoBlobs/23/4...28final3%29.pdf

Only degrees from UM & UKM (from Malaysia) are recognised in Singapore.

zstan
post Jul 12 2011, 11:11 PM

15,856 posts

PMC...have you seen their campus at penang? Really small man. sweat.gif
onelove89
post Jul 12 2011, 11:36 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

if you're under govn scholarship, just take up the 6 years in JCU. If not mistaken their tropical medicine is really strong there. =) plus your degree is way well recognized than PMC, even though not in G8, I assume their teachings should have standards to be recognized by the australian board.
cmyzhu
post Jul 13 2011, 02:52 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:52 PM)
thanks limeuu =)
These 3 jobs can pretty much take you anywhere with a cert from a reputable university. For now think of what you want to do in the future, as in where do you see yourself in 10 years time. Though financial security is important, passion is also very important. you'll be stuck with the job for the next 20-30 years.
Reputable university meaning? Any examples?
Jolynn7797
post Jul 14 2011, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 12 2011, 10:17 PM)
Well I do pass the requirement. That tells all right? No need to tell the exact mark lah. Shy... blush.gif smile.gif

Thanks for your answer. Personally, I'm more inclined to PMC currently (Twinning with Ireland), due to shorter duration (5 yrs vs 6 for JCU). Plus, I know that I'll work in Malaysia after that, so clinical years in Malaysia really will helped me a lot. But the rumors about PMC do scares me. Plus, the prospect of studying overseas fully vs twinning program really makes me go haywire  rclxub.gif

Already got unconditional offer for both. So now, I'm really thinking hard. Really hard at both option.
Dear Zkb,

Is studying 1 year more really such a disadvantage? I'd rather go with the 1 year more knowing that I'd be 1 year more prepared to face the patients than rushing through med school. There is a general misconception that the earlier you graduate, or the earlier you specialize, the better you are; Not true.

There will be days when you wonder what on earth have you gotten yourselves into when your dental counterparts (pun unintended) are going home before 5pm and you're stuck for your next shift going on call. You'll definitely need more than just the thought of 'im going to get through this in five more years!' to pull you through. Plus, you're sponsored so financially you don't have to worry about burdening your parents. So unless you've got a time limit to chase (for example: wanting to specialize before 35 so you can start your family and have babies with a lesser risk of trisomy 21 tongue.gif) 1 more year, no sweat. Having said that, if you are good, by all means achieve your specialization the earliest you can. I guess my only point I'd like to drive home is that an extra year is no bane.

and...
WHAT RUMOUR?! laugh.gif
Syd G
post Jul 14 2011, 06:48 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Btw dont you think it's silly to plan your life based on rumors? Why not find out the truth?
raul88
post Jul 14 2011, 07:18 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

walao weh
so many medical student here
i thought msia scarce doctor
reconnaissance
post Jul 14 2011, 08:00 PM

Hero Prodigy
1,253 posts

I think you've been away from medical talks for a very very long time.. From the first time I've been in a professional discussion about medicine, it's all about the inflation of doctors.
The prerequisite of entry decreased since the olden days, and the inflation of grades and abundance of sponsorship aren't a help either. sleep.gif
seiken
post Jul 18 2011, 12:44 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jul 14 2011, 07:18 PM)
walao weh
so many medical student here
i thought msia scarce doctor
Malaysian hospitals are already being flooded by house officers....surgical department in Klang hospital alone has already 70 house officers. Ipoh hospital has more than 300 house officers according to my friend who works there
raul88
post Jul 20 2011, 11:48 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

noob question

cortical bone and cancellous bone which one heal faster?
CyberSetan
post Jul 21 2011, 12:20 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jul 20 2011, 11:48 PM)
noob question

cortical bone and cancellous bone which one heal faster?
cancellous bone.
cckkpr
post Jul 22 2011, 09:25 AM

4,515 posts

Newly minted Premier International University Perak, which is one of the latest MBBS colleges, has changed its name to Quest International University Perak even before commencement of courses.

What happened, huh? Could be feng shui?
Syd G
post Jul 22 2011, 10:13 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 22 2011, 09:25 AM)
Newly minted Premier International University Perak, which is one of the latest MBBS colleges, has changed its name to Quest International University Perak even before commencement of courses.

I think because 'Premier' in BM is 'Perdana' which may lead to confusion yes?
cckkpr
post Jul 22 2011, 11:13 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 22 2011, 10:13 AM)
I think because 'Premier' in BM is 'Perdana' which may lead to confusion yes?
Could be true. There are also too many "Perdana"s nowadays from bakery to dhobi to even car wash!
limeuu
post Jul 22 2011, 01:25 PM

12,290 posts

when any uni needs to trumpet itself with it's name, it is best to steer clear of them......

do you see any such names in the top 100 unis in the world?........or even in the top 1000....smile.gif
reconnaissance
post Jul 22 2011, 02:18 PM

Hero Prodigy
1,253 posts

Top 100 academies consist of colleges and universities that need not to have adjectives in their names.. In contrast, top-tier institutions had the names of the founders and co-founders, such as Harvard University. sleep.gif
kasturipurba
post Jul 22 2011, 08:04 PM

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kasturipurba: Jul 23 2011, 06:47 PM
raul88
post Jul 23 2011, 05:22 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

quick question

is Schatzker type VI and medial plateau fracture-dislocations the same thing?
md.azlan23
post Jul 30 2011, 04:01 PM

Hi folks, I have few doubts to ask you fellas tongue.gif

I'm planning to take up medicine at an IPTS medical school. It's only the 3rd year of commencement so yet to be recognized by MMC and listed under IMED. Attended the interview and currently waiting for the announcement. I'm having few doubts about USMLE.

(1). Is it advisable to sit for Step 1 of USMLE at the end of 2nd year of medical school?

(2). Is it practical for Malaysian IPTS graduate to sit for USMLE to become an IMG with the hope getting a residency in the States? What are the odd?

(3). Errr....any alternative to United States Clinical Experience (USCE) ?

(4). When we should start prepare for USMLE?

Kindly advice.

Added on July 30, 2011, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 22 2011, 09:25 AM)

I heard that it might due o some licensing fiasco with the previous Perak government. Their programme is not advertised in their web. It will cost about RM293K-RM310K depending whether your want thier hostel or not.

Lecturers will shipped in from India, not sure about the quality, intake's in September.

This post has been edited by md.azlan23: Jul 30 2011, 04:15 PM

128 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:16 AM