CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

Jolynn7797
post Jul 14 2011, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 12 2011, 10:17 PM)
Well I do pass the requirement. That tells all right? No need to tell the exact mark lah. Shy... blush.gif smile.gif

Thanks for your answer. Personally, I'm more inclined to PMC currently (Twinning with Ireland), due to shorter duration (5 yrs vs 6 for JCU). Plus, I know that I'll work in Malaysia after that, so clinical years in Malaysia really will helped me a lot. But the rumors about PMC do scares me. Plus, the prospect of studying overseas fully vs twinning program really makes me go haywire  rclxub.gif

Already got unconditional offer for both. So now, I'm really thinking hard. Really hard at both option.
Dear Zkb,

Is studying 1 year more really such a disadvantage? I'd rather go with the 1 year more knowing that I'd be 1 year more prepared to face the patients than rushing through med school. There is a general misconception that the earlier you graduate, or the earlier you specialize, the better you are; Not true.

There will be days when you wonder what on earth have you gotten yourselves into when your dental counterparts (pun unintended) are going home before 5pm and you're stuck for your next shift going on call. You'll definitely need more than just the thought of 'im going to get through this in five more years!' to pull you through. Plus, you're sponsored so financially you don't have to worry about burdening your parents. So unless you've got a time limit to chase (for example: wanting to specialize before 35 so you can start your family and have babies with a lesser risk of trisomy 21 tongue.gif) 1 more year, no sweat. Having said that, if you are good, by all means achieve your specialization the earliest you can. I guess my only point I'd like to drive home is that an extra year is no bane.

and...
WHAT RUMOUR?! laugh.gif

0.0387sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:44 AM