hey i'm a new guy here...just finish my first yr MBBS at IIUM Kuantan!
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center
Jun 14 2011, 10:02 PM
45 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: KL |
hey i'm a new guy here...just finish my first yr MBBS at IIUM Kuantan!
Jun 20 2011, 01:26 PM
2,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Utusan Malaysia, 16 june 2011: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y...um&pg=fo_04.htm
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « MOHE, undated, via Bernama: http://bpa.bernama.com/details.php?id=1753 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Nothing new here, but the fact that this issue is penetrating the Malay speaking community is telling in it self. Now if only the Chinese/Mandarin speaking community would look beyond their Chinese telescope. That said, it is a bit of a stretch to say that the students are nothing but the victims in this matter. At the very least, they (or their parents) were contributory negligent in getting themselves in this mess. This post has been edited by haya: Jun 20 2011, 01:29 PM |
Jun 29 2011, 06:22 PM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
If door open for entry into John Hopkins Serdang, Selangor. How ah?
Jun 29 2011, 06:48 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 29 2011, 06:22 PM) there is no such thing......read the adverts and website carefully......at no point is it said you will receive a jh degree.....they just say they use their programme (franchise arrangement) and have assistance from their academic staffs...........they are silent on exactly what degree you get (in contrast to the other degree, where they were very quick to say you get the irish degrees)........and i suspect it will be the perdana uni's own degree......... caveat emptor...... |
Jun 29 2011, 07:04 PM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 29 2011, 06:48 PM) there is no such thing......read the adverts and website carefully...... Degree not from John Hopkins nor taught by john hopkins standards?at no point is it said you will receive a jh degree.....they just say they use their programme (franchise arrangement) and have assistance from their academic staffs...........they are silent on exactly what degree you get (in contrast to the other degree, where they were very quick to say you get the irish degrees)........and i suspect it will be the perdana uni's own degree......... caveat emptor...... Doctor degree fr Perdana University? |
Jun 29 2011, 07:09 PM
so you are going to put this after your name?.....
Dr. XYZ, MD (Perdana) (taught to John Hopkins standard, by visiting lecturers)...... |
Jun 30 2011, 04:10 PM
444 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 29 2011, 07:04 PM) Degree not from John Hopkins nor taught by john hopkins standards? what u r getting is just perdana degree. The teaching staffs are not from John Hopkins either. Basically there's no difference with any other private medical schools in malaysia. In the degree it is just stated collaboration with John Hopkins. They just follow their curriculum and students need to pass USMLE in the end. For ur info, perdana degree is not recognised anywhere except malaysia and USMLE can be undertaken by any students. So all the hoo-ha about the John Hopkins is just to mislead potential students. Not to forget the fees is extremely expensive. It's even more expensive than the genuine John Hopkins in USDoctor degree fr Perdana University? |
Jun 30 2011, 07:37 PM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
For medical students on Pathology - I find this very useful in the past...
CHAPTER BY CHAPTER on Youtube~! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m097UUkqU2Q go study~ |
Jul 1 2011, 07:10 PM
52 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
any USM students here??? ill be starting first year this sept at usm kelantan...
Somebody pm me... i wanna ask so many question.. extremely nervous going to kelantan alone. |
Jul 6 2011, 08:03 PM
56 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jun 30 2011, 07:37 PM) For medical students on Pathology - I find this very useful in the past... thanks a lot for this! CHAPTER BY CHAPTER on Youtube~! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m097UUkqU2Q go study~ |
Jul 7 2011, 10:33 AM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
Can someone enlighten me what colon cleansing is?
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...6594&sec=nation » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jul 7 2011, 11:38 AM
the standard of journalism in msia is very low, especially when it comes to technical matters, like medical, legal, engineering areas......
there is not enough information from the article to even conclude what the events were, and the term 'colon cleansing' is likely the reporter's layman translation of a medical term...... |
Jul 7 2011, 08:12 PM
28 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
The only form of 'colon cleansing' i can think of = laxatives.
Jul 10 2011, 12:38 AM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
got a question. Anyone can tell me alternative treatment for AB resistant H.pylori in Malaysia? First line (amox+clarithro+PPI) failed. Aussie therapeutic guideline says metro+tetra+PPI for resistant strain, just wondering what does malaysian guideline says. Or is it the same? =) thanks~
Jul 12 2011, 04:58 PM
156 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hello everyone. I recently have quite a few dilemmas about what to study and where. I've just done my foundation in science program at Aimst University, and i'm looking into Medicine, Dentistry or Pharmacy.
I was told that nowadays, being a doctor is not as good as previously anymore. I was even told that doctors working as if they are slaves in the hospitals and the pay and increment is quite bad. And I even found out that to be a specialists now graduating from a not-so-famous University is almost impossible and very hard to find a job now or even get a license bcos there are just too many doctors! Anyone can help me to verify all these?? Then I was looking into Dentistry. The tuition fees is very expensive. I know Dentistry is not as stressfull and busy as doctors even during study times, am i right? Are there any suggestions of Universities besides Aimst University that are not too expensive? Pharmacy I know it offers a stable job and income, and no as busy as doctors as well. But how's the demand of pharmacists the field now? As for what i know, there are many pharmacists nowadys and getting more already. I saw many countries are in demand of accountants and stuff, but no pharmacist! And also where should I study at? I actually planned to go overseas after i've finished my studies regardless of what degree i'll be holding on. I hope someone can do a short analysis for me. About the salary, the demand and the working conditions after I've graduated for any of the 3 courses. By the way, I've got a cgpa of 4.0 for my FIS program. Also, I'm worried about not being able to handle the courses and my ptptn loan wont be funding me anymore. If that's the case, i wont be able to continue my studies. Please help, this is very urgent! thanks =) Also, I would like to know more about MRCP... |
Jul 12 2011, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Jul 10 2011, 12:38 AM) got a question. Anyone can tell me alternative treatment for AB resistant H.pylori in Malaysia? First line (amox+clarithro+PPI) failed. Aussie therapeutic guideline says metro+tetra+PPI for resistant strain, just wondering what does malaysian guideline says. Or is it the same? =) thanks~ there is high resistance to metro in msia, so levofloxacin based therapy would be preferred 2nd line.......... |
Jul 12 2011, 05:20 PM
4,514 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Jul 12 2011, 04:58 PM) Hello everyone. I recently have quite a few dilemmas about what to study and where. I've just done my foundation in science program at Aimst University, and i'm looking into Medicine, Dentistry or Pharmacy. All 3 courses are short in supply and high on demand. Salary and income is not the priority now. Go where your passion is and you will be duly rewarded.I was told that nowadays, being a doctor is not as good as previously anymore. I was even told that doctors working as if they are slaves in the hospitals and the pay and increment is quite bad. And I even found out that to be a specialists now graduating from a not-so-famous University is almost impossible and very hard to find a job now or even get a license bcos there are just too many doctors! Anyone can help me to verify all these?? Then I was looking into Dentistry. The tuition fees is very expensive. I know Dentistry is not as stressfull and busy as doctors even during study times, am i right? Are there any suggestions of Universities besides Aimst University that are not too expensive? Pharmacy I know it offers a stable job and income, and no as busy as doctors as well. But how's the demand of pharmacists the field now? As for what i know, there are many pharmacists nowadys and getting more already. I saw many countries are in demand of accountants and stuff, but no pharmacist! And also where should I study at? I actually planned to go overseas after i've finished my studies regardless of what degree i'll be holding on. I hope someone can do a short analysis for me. About the salary, the demand and the working conditions after I've graduated for any of the 3 courses. By the way, I've got a cgpa of 4.0 for my FIS program. Also, I'm worried about not being able to handle the courses and my ptptn loan wont be funding me anymore. If that's the case, i wont be able to continue my studies. Please help, this is very urgent! thanks =) Also, I would like to know more about MRCP... |
Jul 12 2011, 05:47 PM
156 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 12 2011, 05:20 PM) All 3 courses are short in supply and high on demand. Salary and income is not the priority now. Go where your passion is and you will be duly rewarded. But ofcos the working condition is most important to know where my passion is... Also, do u know anything about MRCP??May I know what are the prospect that i should look into before choosing to study at any universities? |
Jul 12 2011, 06:40 PM
8,023 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: :: Cheras :: |
QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Jul 12 2011, 05:47 PM) But ofcos the working condition is most important to know where my passion is... Also, do u know anything about MRCP?? Your passion comes first, yo.May I know what are the prospect that i should look into before choosing to study at any universities? If you're passionate about medicine you dont even mind being sent to Africa or a warzone. |
Jul 12 2011, 08:52 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 12 2011, 05:02 PM) there is high resistance to metro in msia, so levofloxacin based therapy would be preferred 2nd line.......... thanks limeuu =)QUOTE(cmyzhu @ Jul 12 2011, 05:47 PM) But ofcos the working condition is most important to know where my passion is... Also, do u know anything about MRCP?? These 3 jobs can pretty much take you anywhere with a cert from a reputable university. For now think of what you want to do in the future, as in where do you see yourself in 10 years time. Though financial security is important, passion is also very important. you'll be stuck with the job for the next 20-30 years.May I know what are the prospect that i should look into before choosing to study at any universities? |
| Change to: | 0.0320sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:34 PM |