129 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

gooni3
post Sep 16 2009, 03:59 PM

529 posts

don't think so.. aih.. i need some experienced macbook air owner over here ><!! stringfellow where u! hehe

im starting to wonder if it's safari's problem or snow leopard.. haha
nimrod323
post Sep 16 2009, 05:23 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 16 2009, 10:51 AM)
Apple News |  Redesigned iMac and MacBook Coming Within Weeks?

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5209

http://blogs.barrons.com/techtraderdaily/2...cs-coming-soon/
Oh no.... i just got my macbook pro sad.gif
it states there Macbook not the MBP.Plus its roughly 3months and 8 days since the launch of new MBPs.
cRazYee
post Sep 16 2009, 09:29 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Sep 16 2009, 09:24 AM)
Windows 7 Professional? Where and how did you acquire them?
Will upload the photo later. I got from msdn, our school provides all legal copy of windows OS 32 & 64 bit
kyon22
post Sep 16 2009, 10:13 PM

141 posts

hi can I ask some advice on macbook white and macbook pro? I'm planning to get my first mac next week. I was aiming for the 13' Macbook pro but the macbook white is quite tempting. What's the advantages that the macbook white has over the macbook pro? Does polycarbonate body get discolored very fast?
jinaun
post Sep 16 2009, 10:46 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:13 PM)
hi can I ask some advice on macbook white and macbook pro? I'm planning to get my first mac next week. I was aiming for the 13' Macbook pro but the macbook white is quite tempting. What's the advantages that the macbook white has over the macbook pro? Does polycarbonate body get discolored very fast?
other than faster processor / aluminum unibody / backlit keyboard.. i guess that's it for abt additional RM800

but i read there will be a refresh or imac and macbook white in the coming weeks and its going to be cheaper.. y dun u wait and see first?

kyon22
post Sep 16 2009, 11:07 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 16 2009, 10:46 PM)
other than faster processor / aluminum unibody / backlit keyboard.. i guess that's it for abt additional RM800

but i read there will be a refresh or imac and macbook white in the coming weeks and its going to be cheaper.. y dun u wait and see first?
kinda need a new laptop urgently and my budget is around RM5000. I want something that can last for a long time...
bibg
post Sep 17 2009, 12:09 AM

141 posts

finally gotten my first mac after so much hesitation! <3

one hour only and i'm already loving it, zero regrets man! smile.gif
Hongraphics
post Sep 17 2009, 12:50 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 16 2009, 10:46 PM)

With better display and better trackpad as well. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 17 2009, 01:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Sep 16 2009, 03:59 PM)
don't think so.. aih.. i need some experienced macbook air owner over here ><!! stringfellow where u! hehe

im starting to wonder if it's safari's problem or snow leopard.. haha
You called?

I've neither problems or complaints about mine, and just went up to SL as well. And I impose the same abuse and torture to the MBA through the same thing I did to my Mini, video encoding on-the-fly, photo-editing and occasional home movie edits while I'm away from home.

My SL was "installed over", and not from a clean install FYI. I'm still witholding installing SL on my Mini, as that is my workhorse/home media server/primary everything, so the MBA is the guinea pig. But as porkish as it is, the MBA passed with flying colours.

Just slip me a PM if you need me further. I'm trying to get away from this forum as much as I can.
rx330
post Sep 17 2009, 09:18 AM

11,808 posts

today was reading macrumour, got this new chip coming out during 4th quarter

maybe imac gonna use it? hence an all new model?
ginolo
post Sep 17 2009, 04:56 PM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

hi guys, just got my casing today, here's my review and pics. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1005083/+60
cRazYee
post Sep 17 2009, 06:18 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Sep 16 2009, 03:09 PM)
my MBA is still lagging =( i don't know wads going on..

i just got the 2.13ghz dual core model 2 days ago.. and used migration asistant to clone it from my other mac..

sometimes.. it starts to lag when there's 5-6 windows open when using expose.. but it last for mayb a minute or 2 and during that time when i try to scroll up and down safari it has about 2 second delay..

old mac doesn't have any of this shit.. aih..
Probably cause by you SSD, could be a mlc type which is slower than hard drive
MetalZone
post Sep 17 2009, 09:50 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(gooni3 @ Sep 16 2009, 03:09 PM)
my MBA is still lagging =( i don't know wads going on..

i just got the 2.13ghz dual core model 2 days ago.. and used migration asistant to clone it from my other mac..

sometimes.. it starts to lag when there's 5-6 windows open when using expose.. but it last for mayb a minute or 2 and during that time when i try to scroll up and down safari it has about 2 second delay..

old mac doesn't have any of this shit.. aih..
Are you using one with the SSD? Contrary to crazyee's comment, modern well designed MLC drives are much faster than mechanical hard drives. The symptoms you mentioned sounds like MLC SSD drives using the JMicron controller which fares badly in average latency and random read/write. However, I highly doubt Apple would put such drives in and they normally stick to the main vendors with samsung controllers. To get an idea of what I'm talking about check this article: http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3531&p=1
If you are not using the SSD, ignore the above.
Have you tried calling apple?

Added on September 17, 2009, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(kyon22 @ Sep 16 2009, 10:13 PM)
My friend's macbook white got quite a bit discoloured. But then she doesn't care for it very well. If you take care of it well clean it regularly you should be able to keep it in pristine condition.

Here's the differences as far as I can remember. The Pro has:
-Multi-touch trackpad
-Longer battery life
-Backlit keyboard
-Better display
-Aluminium unibody
-Firewire 800 (macbook has firewire 400)
-DDR3 1066MHz RAM (macbook has DDR2 800MHz i think)
-SD Card reader but combined the Headphone out and Mic/Line In into one port (can switch between either or use a 4 pin jack to use both).

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 17 2009, 09:58 PM
nimrod323
post Sep 17 2009, 10:05 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Sep 17 2009, 09:50 PM)
Are you using one with the SSD? Contrary to crazyee's comment, modern well designed MLC drives are much faster than mechanical hard drives. The symptoms you mentioned sounds like MLC SSD drives using the JMicron controller which fares badly in average latency and random read/write. However, I highly doubt Apple would put such drives in and they normally stick to the main vendors with samsung controllers. To get an idea of what I'm talking about check this article: http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=3531&p=1

My friend's macbook white got quite a bit discoloured. But then she doesn't care for it very well. If you take care of it well clean it regularly you should be able to keep it in pristine condition.

-Multi-touch trackpad
-Longer battery life
-Backlit keyboard
-Better display
-Aluminium unibody
-SD Card reader but combined the Headphone out and Mic/Line In into one port (can switch between either or use a 4 pin jack to use both).
i might add its more sturdy,lighter and slimmer.
cRazYee
post Sep 18 2009, 12:35 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Sep 17 2009, 09:50 PM)

-Multi-touch trackpad
-Longer battery life
-Backlit keyboard
-Better display
-Aluminium unibody
yes new age one are fast like intel x25 etc
but factory shipped SSD is not as great as you think. Those really fast SSd cost alot more, so fast samsung one is not high performance type. If apple really ship intel x-25 or ocz brand, the price wont be so cheap
MetalZone
post Sep 18 2009, 03:37 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Sep 18 2009, 12:35 AM)
yes new age one are fast like intel x25 etc
but factory shipped SSD is not as great as you think. Those really fast SSd cost alot more, so fast samsung one is not high performance type. If apple really ship intel x-25 or ocz brand, the price wont be so cheap

As far as I know the SSD's Apple uses are based on Samsung chips and controllers and no they don't make crap. Decent MLC SSD's have been around for a year already and are constantly improving.
Samsung's current MLC SSD's are really not bad at all and holds it's own against the Intel X-25M especially in price vs performance. Btw, OCZ's latest MLC SSD's (Vertex, Agility) are using the Samsung controllers. So tell me what's not high performance about it? On the other hand, OCZ doesn't actually manufacture the SSD's but instead tests/researches and specifies what they need to the manufacturer; so they are considered a small fry in Apple's eyes.
vassalle
post Sep 19 2009, 01:28 AM

610 posts

Anyone with the new mbp (mid 2009) upgraded their hdisk to SSDs? Apparently, apple screwed up real badly with their sata2 interface that a LOT of ppl have been complaining about getting beach balls and the whole system would lock up for like 2 minutes when they use 3rd party sata2 drives with mbp mid 2009 with EFI 1.7..

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?t...art=0&tstart=15

cRazYee
post Sep 19 2009, 05:08 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Sep 18 2009, 03:37 AM)
As far as I know the SSD's Apple uses are based on Samsung chips and controllers and no they don't make crap. Decent MLC SSD's have been around for a year already and are constantly improving.
Samsung's current MLC SSD's are really not bad at all and holds it's own against the Intel X-25M especially in price vs performance. Btw, OCZ's latest MLC SSD's (Vertex, Agility) are using the Samsung controllers. So tell me what's not high performance about it? On the other hand, OCZ doesn't actually manufacture the SSD's but instead tests/researches and specifies what they need to the manufacturer; so they are considered a small fry in Apple's eyes.
Hm.... It's been a while I hand apple shipped ssd MacBook air. Should get myself update!
Maybe it's to throw in some cash on SSd, see how it perform on my mac
ujoewong
post Sep 19 2009, 03:52 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Sep 19 2009, 05:08 AM)
Hm.... It's been a while I hand apple shipped ssd MacBook air. Should get myself update!
Maybe it's to throw in some cash on SSd, see how it perform on my mac
Yea, I'm buying an INTEL X-25M 80GB for mine soon. Can't wait. Using a MacBook 2.4Ghz model. No complaints about it. Thank god not using MacBook Pro mid models one regarding about EFI 1.7.
rx330
post Sep 19 2009, 04:28 PM

11,808 posts

my mbp is late 08, so no issues?

how much is the SSD now, abit itchybawa as well

129 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled