Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
nimrod323
Jul 20 2009, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 20 2009, 02:42 PM) fyire just adjusted the topic to reflect on macbook air too - I am sure that there are macbook air users too !im sure string and other will appreciate this gesture
nimrod323
Jul 20 2009, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 20 2009, 09:12 PM) Just bought Macbook Pro a few hours ago. How long do i have to charge? 6-8 hours? you can still use it in the mean time
nimrod323
Jul 21 2009, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(Crusader @ Jul 21 2009, 03:27 PM) Yes, will not be that happy because the MBP is just over 1 year plus.  then you should screw that guy you see in your room mirror for being to cheap not getting ACPP for a very expensive investment like yours  , lol i dont get why people should be angry at Apple just because they didnt get the ACPP in the first place, when you buy an electronics good you have to sink in to the fact they do fail, nothing is soo impervious or "KEBAL".
nimrod323
Jul 21 2009, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(chizzu @ Jul 21 2009, 11:12 PM) my macbook pro start giving me problem as well  the superdrive refused to read a blank CD R or DVD R when i wanted to burn something but when i put in commercial dvd like os x leopard dvd it works fine  what brand are those? sometimes it depends on the disc manufacturers also.
nimrod323
Jul 23 2009, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Jul 22 2009, 11:38 PM) act for ACPP is good to invest for peace of mind if anything happen your Mac... Any other major issue regarding the latest 13.3" MBP? Was planning to purchase 1 very soon.... not that i know of,my gf's still working well.
nimrod323
Jul 25 2009, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(arshad @ Jul 25 2009, 07:22 PM) I got poisoned for the new Macbook Pro 13"  lol. Anyway, will they give the OEM disc installation? Thanks. they have been doing this for many many many many years Added on July 25, 2009, 10:16 pmQUOTE(basura @ Jul 25 2009, 08:11 PM) Yes, but it will only work on Aluminium Macbook Pros. Maybe even just your model, as the 15 and 17" has different hardware.
Can anybody answer my question whether or not Aluminium Macbook Pros have burnt out graphic cards or melted components after some intense gaming (everything full for newest games except AA) each cd kit will only work with its accompanying laptop it cant be used for another computer. The Alu Unibody MBP as far as Applebyte is concerned,there have been no users that complained about it so far. This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 25 2009, 10:16 PM
nimrod323
Jul 26 2009, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(lb2k9 @ Jul 26 2009, 07:40 PM) hi, here's a simple step by step tutorial on how to change harddrives in a macbook. It's not that hard and only takes little of your time! Good Luck!! http://computerticket.blogspot.com/2009/07...k-drive-in.html  thats a very old topic to comment on haha
nimrod323
Jul 30 2009, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(deleted @ Jul 30 2009, 01:32 PM) Hey guys, I was wondering if you guys knew how well the new 13" MacBook Pro (the starting 4.5k one) can run FCPAnd yes that's the max I can afford for a laptop right now, it's either move to a mac or get a more powerful dell albeit sans FCP definitely why not? FCP doesnt come alone its under FCS ready, so after installation it takes about 60++ GBs of your HDD space so the stock 160GB wont do, its better to upgrade the internal HDD and get an external HDD as a scratch disk for your SD or HD camcorder. Though rendering the video may take up some time due to its default memory being at 2GB unless you upgrade to 8GB which is more expensive.
nimrod323
Aug 1 2009, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(deleted @ Jul 31 2009, 02:06 AM) I have a 1TB external currently in use for video capture So the CPU and GC(is this even involved much? lol) and RAM (lets say i stick to 2gb or up it to 4gb) is sufficient?
i read somewhere that it wont be good because of the GC or maybe that was for motion, i'm not entirely sure depending on your work also,if heavy duty stuff probably it'll take a longer time period. Well motion is compatible with the 9400M not the older intel GCs like mine thats why im sticking to FCE,and use FCS at the bigger machines @ college,i only bring my work back if theres an emergency, using a canon XL2 btw, very old SD camera.
nimrod323
Aug 6 2009, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(neoadv @ Aug 6 2009, 11:57 AM) iphoto is bundled w ilife, come together w ur mac apperture had to buy.. i dun own any mac yet, but by going thru d apple site, u may learn a lot
the best advice if you are new,worthwhile to note this. Unlike HP or DELL they dont really have a step by step learning curve set in their webpage.
nimrod323
Aug 10 2009, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(yi11 @ Aug 8 2009, 05:12 PM) does apple provide housing painting to cover the scretch? apple doesnt own a custom paint house,scratches caused by the user are not covered by warranty,just live with it bro. Added on August 10, 2009, 8:59 amQUOTE(llsphinxll @ Aug 10 2009, 12:51 AM) wow dude you shud count yourself really lucky man. the usual cases like yours wud take months to resolve.  cheers for apple international warranty. oh and you are now rm800+ richer!  hahha. really? how come so long at most also its 2-3 weeks depending on the service center mate. This post has been edited by nimrod323: Aug 10 2009, 08:59 AM
nimrod323
Aug 10 2009, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Aug 10 2009, 11:18 AM) i'm sure the immersion sensor is triggered too.. and apple tech will check for that first and also the crytalised sugar as well as the champagne scent would still be there,you'd better not lie man or act innocent they might nullify your warranty. Added on August 10, 2009, 11:27 amQUOTE(elfreakz @ Aug 10 2009, 10:06 AM) wanna ask screen capture by default format is png? is there anyway to set it auto or default to jpg? you can use onyx bro,it'll help you change the format. This post has been edited by nimrod323: Aug 10 2009, 11:33 AM
nimrod323
Aug 10 2009, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Aug 10 2009, 02:35 PM) very simple question from me, js wondering is there any appz which can run with rapidshare for mac?? as far as i know flashget is not able to run with mac... please advise  speed downloader? i just buy the 30 days account,pretty cheap dont need additional software for it. Added on August 10, 2009, 6:44 pmQUOTE(MetalZone @ Aug 10 2009, 04:10 PM) Thanks for bringing up the immersion sensor. Having my first apple product, I'm not aware they had that. Some research showed that they had put several in the macbook, notably under a few of the keys in the keyboard. http://www.hardmac.com/news/2009/07/16/mor...ensors-of-appleThe thing that freaks me in out apple's policy is this: We live in Malaysia. And typically our humidity level is at least 70% R.H. EDIT: to as much as 100% in prolonged heavy rain. Apple's operating specs say up to 90% non-condensing. High humidity alone will turn the indicators pink in due time as shown in the above article. Plus, every week I shut down my MBP and clean it with a damp cloth. Thats more humidity for you. Condensation? Another whole new topic. Wearers of glasses will know. I don't know how tolerant is Apple towards triggered immersion sensors in humid Malaysia, but having read how in a worse-case-scenario someone had their warranty void just because ONE sensor was triggered when it in fact has not been in contact with water.
The above reasons plus the fact that spilling anything on your keyboard, however minor it may be, may have serious consequences; makes me consider getting a keyboard protector.
Any input on the above? actually apple wouldnt nullify your warranty if the immersion sensors were indeed triggered by humidity alone,they would probably look behind your keys or the logic board for any sign of liquid spill, for me though the likelihood of anything spilling on my keyboard is far lesser than dropping the laptop on the floor. I'd not recommend a keyboard protector as it covers the heat vents underneath the keyboard, which is a wide area to disperse heat. This post has been edited by nimrod323: Aug 10 2009, 06:44 PM
nimrod323
Aug 14 2009, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Aug 14 2009, 11:26 AM) to all the sifus...im still able to get a proper downloader for rapidshare...advise pls... aiya just get speed download or laternatively get a 30days account for under RM20 via ebay,in that way you dont need to get any specific software.
nimrod323
Aug 14 2009, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(shumaky @ Aug 14 2009, 10:10 PM) So best place to get AppleCare is online or retailer (machines, etc..)..? Better be safe than sorry I guess. ebay also can but ask them to send the ones sealed in box not codes only.
nimrod323
Aug 15 2009, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Aug 15 2009, 09:21 AM) Dear MacBookians, I have purchased my MacBook Pro less than 6 months, and yesterday, I received an email stating it is the last day I am eligible to purchase my ACPP. Is there some kind of error, or they have recently changed their policy? was yours a secondhand unit? refurbished? a new MBP should be 1 year.
nimrod323
Aug 15 2009, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Aug 15 2009, 10:35 AM) New, ordered from Apple Store on June/July 2009. Added on August 15, 2009, 10:37 amThis is the content. better call them up on monday and email them your invoice.
nimrod323
Aug 21 2009, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(steven_phs @ Aug 21 2009, 02:38 AM) I am using MBP 13.3inch 2.26GHz, bought last month. I install windows but somehow the speaker voice level is very soft. When i plug in earplug or run Mac OS the voice level is ok. Anyone with same problem? left or right side?
nimrod323
Aug 28 2009, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(daydreaming @ Aug 28 2009, 06:50 PM) i think i'll need to wait for a couple of weeks b4 the current mbp get preloaded with SL :| or...they need to wait for next refresh for the preloaded thing? O_O you dont have to, apple would already have inserted the uptodate disc on all macs made one month ago or two,it gets typically shipped around these timeframe so the next time the resellers stock up their macs it shuld contain the SL uptodate.
nimrod323
Aug 31 2009, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Aug 31 2009, 10:39 AM) is there any good image viewer can b recommended?? btw im having 1 question, when im using the Image view default from mac im not able to move next image although the images r in the same folder... PREVIEW is a very good image viewer,if you want to view everything in one folder shift select everything in the folder and click on them,you get everything organized fr viewing under preview!