Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

Superman7
post Jul 16 2009, 10:41 AM

11,086 posts

I think the iData 2 (RM50 for 500MB/month) is more worthy.
Taking the example of 16GB 3GS, the RRP is RM2490.
With the contract of 12 months: 12 x RM50 = RM600.
With such contract you get a rebate of RM400.
In total after 12months your iPhone 3GS (16GB) = 2490-400+600 = RM2690.

You only pay additional RM200 in comparison with the Hotlink plan (without contract) but you get to enjoy 500MB of data plan every month for the next 12 months.

This calculation is without any other plans, which means your "Value Plus Plan" is not calculated. It is only basically the price of the iPhone.
It is calculated this way as it makes no sense cause either way you would have one of the plan from maxis be it a Value Plus50 or Value Plus80.
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 10:46 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Superman7,
Er.. I haven't checked your calculations but if it is right, then the Hotlink plans are more worth it because:-

1) You pay RM200 less (U said "You only pay additional RM200 in comparison with the Hotlink plan")
2) The Hotlink plans come with 500MB of FOC data usage.
ndri11
post Jul 16 2009, 11:00 AM

Validating
25 posts

does maxis iphone's warranty can be extended using ACPP for iphone from apple spore?
jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 11:00 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 10:46 AM)
@Superman7,
Er.. I haven't checked your calculations but if it is right, then the Hotlink plans are more worth it because:-

1) You pay RM200 less (U said "You only pay additional RM200 in comparison with the Hotlink plan")
i agree with tinkerbel too. the Hotlink plans are more worth it. but if you're like me, who's very nostalgic about their current number and already have it for years and don't want to change, think of the RM200 as the cost of keeping that little piece of nostalgia, haha wink.gif

but then leh, Hotlink call charges are nearly double the rates of the Value Plan call charges right? if you're heavy on the calls, you gotta consider that too, no?
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 16 2009, 11:02 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

@Superman7,

the hotlink plans of 500mb, it is on iphone 3gs? i mean i've saw the advertisment alike for iphone 3g, but due on 31 July... just want a confirmation
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 11:06 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ndri11,
No.. ACPP for iPhones are bounded to the country of origin/sale.

@jackhammer84,
U haf another alternative. Get the Hotlink plan, forgo the 500MB data and continue using the iPhone 3GS with your existing number. For when U need to use data services then just uhm..... change SIM cards - this method however is a litle troublesome so heheh yeah perhaps the RM200 is worth spending biggrin.gif

@g3n0c|d3,
Yes the Hotlink prepaid plans are available on the i3GS as well as the i3G. Both plans give out 500MB FOC of data p/month for 12 months.
jackhammer84
post Jul 16 2009, 11:12 AM

209 posts

@tink

haha i can imagine carrying the extra SIM card and the little SIM ejector tool everywhere i go, lol.

i'm still trying to register for the iData plan for myself, a supp line, by using my principal line's details (with proper permission of course tongue.gif). i still can't select iData in the form, only prepaid option available. very weird lo. if by 12 pm cannot, planning to head to Maxis KLCC later during lunch to make noise.
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 16 2009, 11:12 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 11:06 AM)

@g3n0c|d3,
Yes the Hotlink prepaid plans are available on the i3GS as well as the i3G.  Both plans give out 500MB FOC of data p/month for 12 months.
good to hear that..... if that the case... im going to buy from here.... thnks again!
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 11:17 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@jackhammer84,
Can't help U on the form filling because I didn't go through the process but yeah do drop by KLCC if U really need to and I would suggest U take an early lunch to avoid the rest of the world who has the same thoughts smile.gif

The extra SIM card wouldn't be a problem but it would be quite a hassle to carry that SIM Injector Tool cause nanti misplace then habis!

@g3n0c|d3,
Yes.. the Maxis plans are priced pretty competitively against the rest of the surrounding regions. Might as well get it here because U get FOC data + it's officially unlocked + warranty biggrin.gif
davidgary73
post Jul 16 2009, 11:29 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Other matters concerning registration etc, please post it here @ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1071270

Utilise the thread above and keep this thread for rates and plans discussion.

Thank you

*I'll b cleaning this thread up, if your post is missing, it's either moved or pruned.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 16 2009, 11:34 AM
Superman7
post Jul 16 2009, 11:39 AM

11,086 posts

@Superman7,

Correct, but there is a little clause saying that you have to maintain your hotlink account in order to receive the free 500MB/month.
And if you're like me with the existing Maxis plan, you will not need an additional hotlink number right?
tinkerbel
post Jul 16 2009, 11:41 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Superman7,
Yes U will need to ensure the Hotlink number is active to get the free data. If U dont mind the contract period then go ahead and get the iPhone with the iData plan but otherwise U can choose to forgo the 500MB free data lor.
xenothrix
post Jul 16 2009, 12:01 PM

RB26DETT
1,394 posts

just curious, if i hv credits in my hotlink, at the point i convert to post paid plan, will the credit b converted back to my post-paid account or forfeited?
TSteikwing
post Jul 16 2009, 12:19 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(xenothrix @ Jul 16 2009, 12:01 PM)
just curious, if i hv credits in my hotlink, at the point i convert to post paid plan, will the credit b converted back to my post-paid account or forfeited?
from my experience, you will be asked by Maxis CS to finish up the credits before you convert to postpaid.

PS: a big thanks to tink for helping out to answer all of the queries. (you're really here 24/7?!) and davidgary for cleaning up the posts. notworthy.gif
deepan84
post Jul 16 2009, 12:22 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 16 2009, 12:19 PM)
from my experience, you will be asked by Maxis CS to finish up the credits before you convert to postpaid.

PS: a big thanks to tink for helping out to answer all of the queries. (you're really here 24/7?!) and davidgary for cleaning up the posts.  notworthy.gif
not really. dun force urself to finish ur ct. wen u convert to postpaid, d balance will be debited into ur acc. thus, lower bills.
jimnuz
post Jul 16 2009, 12:28 PM

109 posts

I plan to get maxis 3G S...but i don't understand the bold part
"If you bought your iPhone 3G from non Maxis dealers: To claim warranty you need the person who bought the iPhone which is under his name to be present. Most probably the person you bought the iPhone from purchased the iphone from a non-maxis dealer" quote from this thread **

Added on July 16, 2009, 4:29 ambetter i ask all the question here...
1). the maxis warranty will it be like 1 to 1 change if got any defect??
2). in what condition only it will cover by warranty, etc like battery, screen, accident drop?? any link to read pls direct me smile.gif
3). there are some rumors about the screen of 3GS is easier to scratch and the battery heat up faster... read from macrumors

hope someone who already have 3G S can let me know ")
pls move my question if i'm asking in the wrong thread..thx smile.gif

I plan to get maxis 3G S...but i not quite sure about something

1). the maxis warranty cover will it be like 1 to 1 change to new set if got any defect??
2). in what condition only it will cover by warranty, etc like battery or screen failure, can accident drop under warranty??
3). i read at front post the "existing hotlink users can keep their current account" meaning if I already had a existing prepaid number I can use that number to purchase it?------if can, I use my cousin numbers and I take the iphone, while the FOC 500mb he still can use at his own phone monthly right?

thanks in advance notworthy.gif
soonwai
post Jul 16 2009, 12:37 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 16 2009, 11:41 AM)
@Superman7,
Yes U will need to ensure the Hotlink number is active to get the free data.  If U dont mind the contract period then go ahead and get the iPhone with the iData plan but otherwise U can choose to forgo the 500MB free data lor.
So in effect, if one wishes to utilise the Hotlink free 500mb/mth data for the whole year, it becomes a minimum RM30/mth for 12 months contract.
TSteikwing
post Jul 16 2009, 12:37 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(jimnuz @ Jul 16 2009, 12:28 PM)
I plan to get maxis 3G S...but i not quite sure about something
1). the maxis warranty cover will it be like 1 to 1 change to new set if got any defect??
2). in what condition only it will cover by warranty, etc like battery or screen failure, can accident drop under warranty??
3). i read at front post the "existing hotlink users can keep their current account" meaning if I already had a existing prepaid number I can use that number to purchase it?------if can, I use my cousin numbers and I take the iphone, while the FOC 500mb he still can use at his own phone monthly right?

thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
1. in most cases, it's 1-to-1. however, from past experience of 3G users, you will get a refurbished set.
2. common conditions for all mobile phone dealers/distibutors. covers all hardware failures except those arise due to self-negligence. (ie. drops, water damage)
3. yes. that's a type of purchase know as a outright purchase. as stated on the first post. he can keep the sim to himself.

do read up the CAQ (commonly asked questions) provided on the first page for reference.
eekwan7
post Jul 16 2009, 12:51 PM

129 posts

if i m currently maxis postpaid user,can i purchase a i3GS via prepaid plan(rm2490),after that can i use my currently postpaid sim card in i3GS?and ignore the hotlink prepaid card? icon_question.gif

jimnuz
post Jul 16 2009, 12:57 PM

109 posts

btw guys, the CURVE there got maxis iphone 3GS roadshows for pre-order booking for iphone 3G S, can direct pay there

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 16 2009, 12:37 PM)
1. in most cases, it's 1-to-1. however, from past experience of 3G users, you will get a refurbished set.
2. common conditions for all mobile phone dealers/distibutors. covers all hardware failures except those arise due to self-negligence. (ie. drops, water damage)
3. yes. that's a type of purchase know as a outright purchase. as stated on the first post. he can keep the sim to himself.

do read up the CAQ (commonly asked questions) provided on the first page for reference.
thank u so much, everything clear now smile.gif, btw the curve mutiara damansara having roadshow for iphone 3GS pre-order, guys can direct go there pay without online booking..smile.gif

128 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:44 PM