Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

avars
post Aug 31 2009, 02:32 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(BulletsStorm @ Aug 31 2009, 01:57 AM)
guyz guyz FAST question:

-Are the Free call mins and sms in the ivalue plans applicable to another networks ? ? celecom.digi etc..

if not, i guess my bill will be far more than that rm100 per month.. therefor im wont be getting iPhone  cry.gif

considering also no built in SMS/CHARACTER COUNTER. wonder how u guyz cop with that especially we love to msg alot.
get Value Plus plan + idata then....

This post has been edited by avars: Aug 31 2009, 02:33 AM
aztechx
post Aug 31 2009, 04:21 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

im not sure if this question is allowed here..nor am i sure if this is the right place to post since theres so many topics that sounds the same.. tongue.gif

anyway..i was wondering if the maxis plan is worth it?im paying rm100 monthly for my current postpaid maxis line and the first option available for an iphone 3G seems to fit my usage..the thing is,is the rm1190 price of the phone worth it?or can i get it cheaper if i ask a friend from the UK to buy for me?

another thing is..the rm100 rate is including calls and everything else right?or is it rm100 above all the usage payments?
Intrigue
post Aug 31 2009, 08:12 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(BulletsStorm @ Aug 31 2009, 01:57 AM)
guyz guyz FAST question:

-Are the Free call mins and sms in the ivalue plans applicable to another networks ? ? celecom.digi etc..

if not, i guess my bill will be far more than that rm100 per month.. therefor im wont be getting iPhone  cry.gif

considering also no built in SMS/CHARACTER COUNTER. wonder how u guyz cop with that especially we love to msg alot.
i think definitely including other networks. If not i would definitely be damned~
megatron007
post Aug 31 2009, 08:54 AM

4,000 posts

if not mistaken the free call n sms is for maxis network

alrite... good news indeed smile.gif
fuiyo
post Aug 31 2009, 10:25 AM

Never Settle
1,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Aug 31 2009, 08:54 AM)
if not mistaken the free call n sms is for maxis network
Free calls are for all telcos whereas SMSs are limited to Maxis users.
Texting to other telco users charge you additional fees.
tinkerbel
post Aug 31 2009, 10:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@aztechx,
Am not sure what the prices in UK are but U probably can find cheaper handsets just that they'll be 2nd hand plus U can't guarantee it'll be an officially unlock handset. RM1190 doesn't seem expensive for an i3G if it's a brand new set coming from Maxis bearing in mind that also gives U local warranty [except I don't think Maxis sets are RM1190]

The RM100 monthly commitment is split 50:50 with RM50 use for voice calls + RM50 for data services. Anything above the RM50 voice usage U will haf to pay extra and SMSes too.
Intrigue
post Sep 1 2009, 12:45 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

tinkerbel. So if i hardly use for the data services.. does that mean i will lose out RM50 of the money i paid? Or is it can be RM70 on calls and RM30 on data? As i make calls more than on data.
nimrod323
post Sep 1 2009, 12:49 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Sep 1 2009, 12:45 AM)
tinkerbel. So if i hardly use for the data services.. does that mean i will lose out RM50 of the money i paid? Or is it can be RM70 on calls and RM30 on data? As i make calls more than on data.
let me answer this, i assume you are on ivalue 100, theres clearly a separation between data and voice at 50:50, so if you dont utilize your date up to RM50 you lose money i think, but if you use more than RM50 on calls, it wont eat up the data allocation of the credit hence you have to pay more for voice. If i were you i'd take value plan 50, plus idata 30 albeit paying for the phone more,at RRP.

P/s: what does the 500mb data cap on idata 50 translate into,in terms of hours of actual real world usage? im contemplating between the RM30 and RM50 idata, im not that big on the savings from the idata50, my usage is merely for emergency use of 3G only plus receiving mails and occasional tweets, reason why im asking is im always at wifi enabled places,college,home and shops etc etc.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Sep 1 2009, 12:53 AM
Intrigue
post Sep 1 2009, 09:14 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

thx nimrod.

A quick question.. How to check how much MB (for data) we had use?
mac.tay
post Sep 1 2009, 10:03 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 31 2009, 12:17 AM)
@mac.tay,
I foresaw there'll be a lot of secondhand sets available so I sold mine earlier smile.gif  If you're willing to sell it off at RM1.2k, I haf a buyer - please PM me *smiles*

Alternatively, put up a thread at Garage Sales and see if U can find a buyer smile.gif I doubt U be able to get it sold for more than RM1.8k today but it's worth a try *shrugs*
thx bro.
waiting my i3gs arrive den will sell my i3g
otherwise no fone 2 use tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Sep 1 2009, 10:09 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Intrigue,
Go to Settings/Usage and U'll see how much data U've used; apparently if ur phone's jailbroken the gauge meter isn't too accurate.

@mac.tay,
Makes no difference now and a couple of weeks I guess. And it's sista! tongue.gif
mac.tay
post Sep 1 2009, 10:12 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Sep 1 2009, 12:49 AM)
let me answer this, i assume you are on ivalue 100, theres clearly a separation between data and voice at 50:50, so if you dont utilize your date up to RM50 you lose money i think, but if you use more than RM50 on calls, it wont eat up the data allocation of the credit hence you have to pay more for voice. If i were you i'd take value plan 50, plus idata 30 albeit paying for the phone more,at RRP.

P/s: what does the 500mb data cap on idata 50 translate into,in terms of hours of actual real world usage? im contemplating between the RM30 and RM50 idata, im not that big on the savings from the idata50, my usage is merely for emergency use of 3G only plus receiving mails and occasional tweets, reason why im asking is im always at wifi enabled places,college,home and shops etc etc.
for me, 250MB is juz not enof for basic daily usage.
if u take RM30 for 250MB den u use extra 2MB oredi cost u additional RM20, den no different u take RM50.

most important is RM50 can save $ on RPP.

pls note lot wifi place cant connect at all or slow oso.
i prefer using maxis 3g anyw w/o turn on/off my iphone wifi tongue.gif
be honest maxis 3g speed now is ok compared last time.
nimrod323
post Sep 1 2009, 10:50 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(mac.tay @ Sep 1 2009, 10:12 AM)
for me, 250MB is juz not enof for basic daily usage.
if u take RM30 for 250MB den u use extra 2MB oredi cost u additional RM20, den no different u take RM50.

most important is RM50 can save $ on RPP.

pls note lot wifi place cant connect at all or slow oso.
i prefer using maxis 3g anyw w/o turn on/off my iphone wifi  tongue.gif
be honest maxis 3g speed now is ok compared last time.
hi thanks for the prompt answer! lol tahts something to think about,its better to have more bandwith than a bare minumum. yep i agree the coverage is better im using the maxis huawei modem, quite good i must say can get reception on the PLUS highway even!
mac.tay
post Sep 1 2009, 11:47 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:50 AM)
hi thanks for the prompt answer! lol tahts something to think about,its better to have more bandwith than a bare minumum. yep i agree the coverage is better im using the maxis huawei modem, quite good i must say can get reception on the PLUS highway even!
not bandwidth la, is data quota (volume)
for me 500MB is very good enof

bandwidth is speed like 384kbps, 3.6mbps
nimrod323
post Sep 1 2009, 11:58 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(mac.tay @ Sep 1 2009, 11:47 AM)
not bandwidth la, is data quota (volume)
for me 500MB is very good enof

bandwidth is speed like 384kbps, 3.6mbps
opps my bad. thanks for the correction, ok more allocation of data is good!
icechiller555
post Sep 1 2009, 12:27 PM

iLife
715 posts

Hey i have a question. This has been answered in the beginning but I am a bit unsure. Are all the maxis iphone 3gs unlocked, even the ones with the 12 month contract? (as in can be used with other telcos) or only the ones bought under the prepaid? thx, just need this to be clarified.
TSteikwing
post Sep 1 2009, 12:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(icechiller555 @ Sep 1 2009, 12:27 PM)
Hey i have a question.  This has been answered in the beginning but I am a bit unsure.  Are all the maxis iphone 3gs unlocked, even the ones with the 12 month contract?  (as in can be used with other telcos) or only the ones bought under the prepaid? thx, just need this to be clarified.
do read, read and read (and do a search) prior to posting your questions. and yes, it has been answered countless times.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1091499
tinkerbel
post Sep 1 2009, 12:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@icechiller555,
All Maxis iPhones are officially unlocked sets; whether or not it's purchased via a contract or not biggrin.gif
ashin83
post Sep 1 2009, 04:52 PM

35 posts

hi all, i started using the ivalue 100 on 18 August 2009 using the i3gs. I noticed my unbilled amount already up to RM57++ til 31 August. i rarely make calls and sms and i have use up around 35++Mb using 3G. i wonder what is this unbilled amount RM57 come from? Do anyone know about this?
I realised each time i used the 3g to surfing, fring or fb, the amount will increase.
tinkerbel
post Sep 1 2009, 04:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ashin83,
I believe Maxis will make adjustments later. Just wait till ur bill comes before U start uhm..... worrying biggrin.gif

128 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:36 AM