QUOTE(shukri77 @ Jul 24 2011, 01:26 AM)
when Cika started to escape from my box, i will upgrade like yours... wah acrylic... how much is the cost? where to buy? how to cut?
there are 4 "brands" of acrylic afaik. plexiglass, perspex, lucite and acrylite. the most common is perspex over here. perspex is cheaper but once it scratches it's harder to flame polish it back (basically use a blow torch and "polish" away the scratches)
plexiglass is available in malaysia but they're mainly used to construct lab instruments for either students in chem labs or precision equipments in the oil & gas sectors. my cousin is under that sector so she hooked me up.
but i do know the prices, since before asking for her help i asked around on the prices. an 11" x 11" x 2mm (thickness) piece of acrylic would cost roughly 10myr. i used 15pcs to make the circumference. 15 x 10 = 150myr. (+/- 10 myr for two rolls of binding tape)
it depends on shops of course, some would charge you as much as 20myr for an 11" x 11" sheet. and it's always cheaper to just buy a bigger sheet. (e.g 2m x 1m)
cheat sheet -
1. you could get it from advertisement shops or plate number shops and some hardware shops.
2. to cut acrylic, you'd need an acrylic cutter that looks like this -
3. to bond acrylic together you'd need chloroform. it basically melts and bonds the sheets together. but mind you it is a controlled substance. it's basically what people douche on handkerchiefs and place over people's face to render their targets unconscious.
4. but for a basic playpen, binding tape is cheaper and easier to work with. (that and the binding tape which comes into contact with the floor acts as a stopper so that the "walls" wont be easily pushed.
5. if you find a cheap source for acrylic, habaq mai na :x
This post has been edited by olivur: Jul 24 2011, 10:20 AM