176 Pages « < 146 147 148 149 150 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

jamesiukini
post Jul 12 2011, 04:27 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 12 2011, 04:06 PM)
I mean no disrespect but I honestly think you should start with ONE hedgehog first, experience the temperament and understand the needs of a hedgehog before you start breeding hedgehogs.

It's a difficult business and it requires a lot of research.

http://hedgehogvalley.com/hhogbreeding.html
http://www.exoticnutrition.com/brhe.html
http://www.essortment.com/breeding-african...hogs-23456.html

Here's just a few pages that you should read before venturing into this breeding thing.
oh sure thx buddy!!! no worries no hard feelings here.. i understand and i'm here to learn something!!! thx again bro!!
Salt&Pepper
post Jul 12 2011, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 12 2011, 02:17 PM)
Wah snowflake salt & pepper, I need to extra charge u liao  biggrin.gif ! Syu just gave birth to 3 hoglets this morning (I think so 3...)  rclxms.gif
ahaha...this is the wonder of hedgehog, sometimes the colour will be different after quilling.

Papoy have the features as the salt & pepper like hedgie except that his skin is pink. The true salt & pepper has black skin.
He also have a few of solid white non-banded quills.

Face is white with a light brown mask. There are light blue-gray rings around the eyes.
Nose is liver with some black markings

Belly is white fur . Picture taken when he's 2months,

Hedgehog Colour

This post has been edited by Salt&Pepper: Jul 12 2011, 05:07 PM
nethelp
post Jul 12 2011, 05:49 PM

97 posts

Sometimes kinda hard to tell the color especially for those non-typical color.

Here is link to color:
Color 1

Color 2

Salt&Pepper I also dunno if Papoy falls in which color based from the web above. sweat.gif

P/S: Ken.B if my cinnamon is still with u could u pls post some picture? He is the most "handsome" one in my 1st Batch, Big ear, long forehead spike and ruby eyes...

This post has been edited by nethelp: Jul 12 2011, 06:00 PM
shukri77
post Jul 13 2011, 12:02 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 12 2011, 05:49 PM)

Here is link to color:
Color 1

Color 2

Salt&Pepper I also dunno if Papoy falls in which color based from the web above.  sweat.gif

P/S: Ken.B if my cinnamon is still with u could u pls post some picture? He is the most "handsome" one in my 1st Batch, Big ear, long forehead spike and ruby eyes...
according to the colour, which colour is the most expensive in market?
Salt&Pepper
post Jul 13 2011, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 12 2011, 05:49 PM)

Here is link to color:
Color 1

Color 2

Salt&Pepper I also dunno if Papoy falls in which color based from the web above.  sweat.gif

I think it falls under chocolate/chestnut salt & pepper. The banded quills appear faded to its back & tail. If roughly seen, he has the darker quills at the head area & milder one from the back to tail
p/s: I dunno why, but I cannot view that webpage >.< .

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Jul 13 2011, 12:02 AM)
according to the colour, which colour is the most expensive in market?
So far the rare hedgehog colour in Malaysia is Pinto

But IMO, the most rare colour is Platinum brows.gif

They're the ultimate snowflake, with black skin, eyes & nose

This post has been edited by Salt&Pepper: Jul 13 2011, 12:30 AM
shukri77
post Jul 13 2011, 04:44 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Salt&Pepper @ Jul 13 2011, 12:14 AM)
I think it falls under chocolate/chestnut salt & pepper. The banded quills appear faded to its back & tail. If roughly seen, he has the darker quills at the head area & milder one from the back to tail
p/s: I dunno why, but I cannot view that webpage >.< .
So far the rare hedgehog colour in Malaysia is Pinto

But IMO, the most rare colour is Platinum  brows.gif

They're the ultimate snowflake, with black skin, eyes & nose

wow! so beautiful. what is the market price of pinto and platinum?
ix3Rukia
post Jul 13 2011, 05:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 12 2011, 11:08 AM)
You can buy one right here on LYN in the Pet Store. smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...086&hl=hedgehog
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...600&hl=hedgehog
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...741&hl=hedgehog

Or buy one from a local petshop if they sell 'em.
But it's adviseable to get one from a breeder here on LYN as you would know the health of the parents of the hedgehog and the hedgie would have received better care.

It'll cost around RM100 (plus minus 10) if you buy them at LYN.
In pet stores, the ones I know are sold around RM150.

They're not shy. They're defensive at first if they don't know you. The quills are sharp when they're pointing in every direction but when they're laid flat, they do little harm.
midvalley , RM290 LOLOL!
TeliLeti
post Jul 13 2011, 05:51 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 13 2011, 05:03 PM)
midvalley , RM290 LOLOL!
Tsk, come with the package I guess. Buying a pet from a large pet store set in a major shopping mall.
Rental fee's got to come from somewhere...

Smaller pet stores sell about 50 bucks above LYN price. smile.gif

Definitely best to buy them here.
shukri77
post Jul 13 2011, 06:38 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 13 2011, 05:03 PM)
midvalley , RM290 LOLOL!
what is LOLOL? biggrin.gif
nethelp
post Jul 13 2011, 07:36 PM

97 posts

Would like to share my FRESH hoglets 1 day photo.

Theoretically, it's not advisable to disturb the mother. However since I know Syu's temperament so it's not a problem for me to take the picture. I just turn of the shutter sound on my lousy 1.3M camera phone b4 taking the picture.... But I won't touch the hoglets b4 2-3 weeks times, too risky!

Hedgie has strong front leg compare to hind leg, looks very powerful flex.gif

Butt or Head ?

Hmm... seems like there's 2 snp and 1 albino on this 3rd batch... hmm.gif Can see the skin is darker for hoglet in the right and center.

Syu is back to jail (my 2 feet container) for 2 months... I din put hiding box in the container so that I can easily observe the hoglets... I put a office carpet under the container to prevent cold floor temperature reaching the young.

Syu looks exhausted after giving birth blush.gif ... Just imagine how hard it is to give birth to a single human child and poor Syu giving birth to 3... not to mention 5 for 1st and 2nd batch... Will "gut load" Syu with mealworm and superworm in next week.

This post has been edited by nethelp: Jul 13 2011, 07:39 PM
l0cked
post Jul 13 2011, 08:52 PM

aw. they're beautiful! biggrin.gif
is their father rex too? biggrin.gif
nethelp
post Jul 13 2011, 09:04 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(l0cked @ Jul 13 2011, 08:52 PM)

aw. they're beautiful! biggrin.gif
is their father rex too? biggrin.gif
Yup, Rex is their father. smile.gif
l0cked
post Jul 13 2011, 09:21 PM

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 13 2011, 09:04 PM)
Yup, Rex is their father. smile.gif
they must be really handsome then wink.gif
Salt&Pepper
post Jul 13 2011, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Jul 13 2011, 04:44 PM)
wow! so beautiful. what is the market price of pinto and platinum?
I saw in PetStore@LYN, one seller sell it around RM400 for Pinto. Platinum is super rare in Malaysia, so not sure what's the price.

Added on July 13, 2011, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 13 2011, 07:36 PM)
Would like to share my FRESH hoglets 1 day photo.
They look like a thorny tongue xD

This post has been edited by Salt&Pepper: Jul 13 2011, 09:35 PM
nethelp
post Jul 13 2011, 10:15 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(Salt&Pepper @ Jul 13 2011, 09:32 PM)
I saw in PetStore@LYN, one seller sell it around RM400 for Pinto. Platinum is super rare in Malaysia, so not sure what's the price.

Added on July 13, 2011, 9:35 pm
They look like a thorny tongue xD
In fact I was thinking that Popay could be platinum. For platinum I think could go up to Rm1k+ base on what I see from foreign website. One good thing here is that dun required license to breed or keep tongue.gif .

LOL u got good imagination! I was thinking anything that look quite similar to them. Thorny tongue rclxms.gif LOL
ix3Rukia
post Jul 13 2011, 10:48 PM

18 posts

RM290 WITHOUT package!! Just the 'ordinary' hog itself !!

OMG UR BABY SO CUTE WEI!! Looks like a woodlice , only pink colour haha.
TeliLeti
post Jul 13 2011, 11:08 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 13 2011, 10:48 PM)
RM290 WITHOUT package!! Just the 'ordinary' hog itself !!

OMG UR BABY SO CUTE WEI!! Looks like a woodlice , only pink colour haha.
When I said 'package', I meant the 'package' of buying it at a big, fancy pet shop.
nethelp
post Jul 14 2011, 08:58 AM

97 posts

Bad news in the morning... Syu cannibalize one of the babies...

I was wake up in 3am this morning and I heard a loud squeak from down stair so I went down to check out what has happened. I saw Syu bite one of the hoglet's head in her mouth and the hoglet is squeaking. I thought she was tranfering the hoglets from one corner to the other so I din stay there and watch instead I went back to bed.

In 7am I go check again, there's onli 2 hoglets left! ohmy.gif There is no blood trail nor carcass left in the container! So the hoglet must be cannibalize by Syu doh.gif
jitshiong
post Jul 14 2011, 12:49 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

i saw one Pinto in PG once. At the CTY, the multi storey pet shop.
it was only going for RM 120...
wanted to buy it that time, but i just can't bear to lose anymroe hedgie...
so no more hedgie for me...
TeliLeti
post Jul 14 2011, 01:18 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jul 14 2011, 08:58 AM)
Bad news in the morning... Syu cannibalize one of the babies...

I was wake up in 3am this morning and I heard a loud squeak from down stair so I went down to check out what has happened. I saw Syu bite one of the hoglet's head in her mouth and the hoglet is squeaking. I thought she was tranfering the hoglets from one corner to the other so I din stay there and watch instead I went back to bed.

In 7am I go check again, there's onli 2 hoglets left!  ohmy.gif There is no blood trail nor carcass left in the container!  So the hoglet must be cannibalize by Syu  doh.gif
Ouch. Better not peek anymore. unsure.gif
If my calculations are correct, Chubster (my possibly pregnant hedgie) will be due at the end of this month.
I'm going to buy a Hagen ZooZone 2 cage so it'll give me more space from her so after she gives birth, I won't bother her with feeding and cleaning much.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 14 2011, 12:49 PM)
i saw one Pinto in PG once. At the CTY, the multi storey pet shop.
it was only going for RM 120...
wanted to buy it that time, but i just can't bear to lose anymroe hedgie...
so no more hedgie for me...
Wow, that's cheap.
Hedgie's are such adorable creatures. I'd be devastated as well if I lost one of them.

Speaking of adorableness, I visited Huffy at 1.30am today.

Huffy escaped his playpen (again for the 4th time) & pooped all over the kitchen. However, I found him inside his hidebox in the playpen.
I suspect that he heard me coming and jumped back into his playpen again. laugh.gif
Mum told me he escaped again after I left and she found him waiting outside the playpen for her to put him back in this morning. doh.gif

176 Pages « < 146 147 148 149 150 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:45 PM