1,868 posts

Congrats on the new thread!!!
way to go hedgie owners!
jitshiong
post Jul 3 2009, 08:23 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(runner999 @ Jul 3 2009, 07:35 AM)
Help! How to know if hedgehog got diarhoer? Any of u experience before? This morning Pepper's wheel is exceptionally dirty! There is some stools but the whole wheel is covered with like a layer of light brown stuff which I think is shit :-(
Pepper shit and run on the whlee
that's why the wheel and pepper is covered in shit

Added on July 3, 2009, 8:24 am
QUOTE(Izzulogy @ Jul 2 2009, 10:30 PM)
meiixiin, why ur name isnt on the list of hedgie owners??
my name also not on the list!!!
of course la...lol biggrin.gif
i forgot to PM Hao..
lol sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Jul 3 2009, 08:24 AM
jitshiong
post Jul 7 2009, 11:39 AM

1,868 posts

cry.gif I'm so sad.....
Mika passed away last night...
I have no idea what is wrong as well...
i just took her to see Dr Jenny on the 27th Last month.
n yesterday when i got home at 10...she already dead...
died in her sleep
sleeping peacefully...
i'm so sad...
cry.gif
jitshiong
post Jul 7 2009, 12:23 PM

1,868 posts

No injuries, no nothing...
i knew she was sick
that's y i took her to Dr Jenny....
but no signs that it's that severe....

jitshiong
post Jul 8 2009, 12:47 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Jul 7 2009, 11:36 PM)
Dr Jenny got look after for hedgehog?
My hedgehog getting problem, I don't know is it same as you jitshiong,
My hedgehog early get leg injured, bleeding... and feel like it hard to getting up when fall to 1 side, until now his totally cure for that injured but it still like to fall to 1 side and hard to getting up, now feeling it look like weak and skinny....
Any sick for hedgehog is look like this? My hedgehog eat not so well, sometime eat sometime won't like normal, I just add calcium powder to boost up I scare is the bone problem.
My Mika isn't showing the same symptoms as urs.
SHe drops her quills n lose weight...
next i know, she's gone...
jitshiong
post Jul 11 2009, 10:36 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Jul 8 2009, 06:52 PM)
sorry to hear that. dr jenny didn't have anything to say at all about the quills shedding?

how old is mika?
she has no idea...
she say could be due to the food, but when i tell her i feed royal canin, she say good enuff
then she say, maybe got parasites in the body...
so give her 'Revolution' and some medication to improve her skin...
but....it didn't work n she died...
n i have no idea y....

She's bout 2 years old...
i asked her if there's anything major..
but she say just monitor her...
sigh..... cry.gif

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Jul 11 2009, 10:38 AM
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2009, 12:41 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 11 2009, 10:13 PM)
dr. Jenny's clinic number is 03-7804 6539
clinic address is c-17G, Jln PJU 1/45, Aman suria Damansara 47301, PJ

Anyway, i think your hedgehog is just stress, no need to see dr.jenny unless the problem persist but i will need to visit her this week, got some problem with my hedgie sad.gif

Added on July 11, 2009, 10:19 pm

holyshit... my katchai also losing quills and getting thinner  cry.gif
if u do go visit her...
tell her my mika is dead....
i dunno if she remembers me though...
i brought 3 hedgies n 4 gliders with me the other day...
see if she has any idea on what happened
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2009, 01:14 AM

1,868 posts

nah...
she didn't call me
maybe some other guy

green poop are more likely caused by stress or scared...
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2009, 02:21 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 12 2009, 01:53 PM)
if no more green poo and its eating and poo-ing as per normal then i think a visit to the vet is unnecessary.

i tink my hedgehog got some mites problem and it might hav spread to the rest of my hedgehog coz their enclosure are stack on top of each other sad.gif

ta strange thing is they dont scratch much but quills are all over the hidebox and got flaky skin, anyone face this problem before ?
same case like Mika...
so faster get him to the vet
Mika dun have much flaky skin also..
only quills dropping

n she dun have mites as well....
i tot the quill droppings were caused by mites, but i couldn't notice any..
then bring to dr jenny...she confirm that there's no mites as well...

could be something worse that mite...
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2009, 02:51 PM

1,868 posts

i dun think it has any concern with where i got her
she was ok till 1 month back
i was with me for more than 1.5 years de
she only show the signs in the last month
jitshiong
post Jul 12 2009, 03:07 PM

1,868 posts

nope,
my 3 other hedgies are doing well
so i dun think it spreads...
i give them all the same food as well..
jitshiong
post Jul 14 2009, 06:01 PM

1,868 posts

Mika n Chidori..failure
After 3 months of trying, i gave up

Bubble...bout 50%
she will only pee n shit at 1 are...
but only 50% of the time
jitshiong
post Jul 14 2009, 11:37 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(*Win Win* @ Jul 14 2009, 11:12 PM)
i'm so sorry to hear that....i oso cant imagine how sad i am if 1 day i find my hedgie pass away.... sad.gif
my condolence to you~
try get a new pet to help u to get over it~~
Get a new pet?
nah...So far, my hands are full
better concentrate on my other babies...
I only have 2 hedgie initially...
now i have 3 left after Mika passed away...
1 is given to my cos the owner abandon it...
then Bubble is Mika's daughter
I have enough hedgies de...

I'll post some pics of Bubble's babies tomorrow if i'm free

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Jul 14 2009, 11:39 PM
jitshiong
post Jul 15 2009, 12:00 PM

1,868 posts

Introducing...Bubble's hoglets
All 3 hoglets

Albino female rolled up into a ball

Male cinnamon 1

Male cinnamon 2

rclxms.gif
jitshiong
post Jul 15 2009, 06:28 PM

1,868 posts

nope, father is S&P-Spiky
Cos Bubble's father is Albino-Chidori
jitshiong
post Jul 20 2009, 05:56 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(kazeko @ Jul 20 2009, 04:42 PM)
Hi..
Just wondering~~
What if i wont be at home for a few days and the place i am going is quite far (cant bring hedgehog ) ... lets say few hours drive.. (hedgehog will sick )
is it ok to leave lots of food in the food tray for the hedgehog ?? will it eat till die?? ( like fish ) or will
the hedgehog lonely till die?? (left alone to play in cage )
Or can we like send it to a vet or a pet store to help take care of it??

Are there alternative ways?? like put worm all around a big room and let the hedgehog there?? lOl ..  tongue.gif
That's a very interesting idea.
LOL!

Generally, they dun like leftover food.
So if jst a day or 2 then u can put some extra food, they won't starve.
But if it's for a longer period, 3-4 days or longer, then it's advisable to get somebody to help u take care of it.
Cheers!
jitshiong
post Jul 21 2009, 01:35 PM

1,868 posts

Thanks!
Will it hurt?
A bit, but i'm used to it.
So, it's more like a lil itch.
jitshiong
post Jul 25 2009, 11:14 AM

1,868 posts

if u have housed a male n a female before, or if u are housing them together, chances are she's pregnant

her tummy will be big n tight, she wil eat more n she will start preparing a nest. is the male still in the same housing as she is?
please separate them. y breed when u not even certain of these things?
jitshiong
post Jul 31 2009, 03:30 PM

1,868 posts

fren...
dun touch it with ur bare hands....
u r increasing the chances of it eaten....
my god...pls read up on breeding first

jitshiong
post Jul 31 2009, 04:16 PM

1,868 posts

i dunno what to say anymore...
it seems that u have no idea about breeding at all....

probably that's one of the factor that contributed to the mommy killing the hoglets....
1st, u cannot hold them
2nd, u should not change the bedding, change in the environment will stress out the mommy....can't stand the smell? then shouldn't have bred them in the first place

sigh...
pls be prepared, dun wanna see this happen again
if u r not ready, dun house them together

hope u have learned ur lesson, 3 lives is gone becos of this

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Jul 31 2009, 04:17 PM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:25 PM