Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 09:25 AM
Fanaddict!
@lwb, I haven't quite forgotten except I been all 'pecked' up by the new iPhone 3G [s] launch hence haven't been too active here. Also, like I said I don't know BJ well enough hence needed to put in a lil research - gee. .Y can't U ask me about places like Bandar Sg Long or somewhere I'm familiar with instead  If U wanna call, go ahead - I haven't had a chance to test my new 3G [s] on long calls anyways  @patricktoh, As much as it can rival the Ah Long's interest rates, they're much stricter than the Ah Long's hence the Ah Long's are still in business This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 6 2009, 10:26 AM
winner
Jul 6 2009, 09:32 AM
Er...what happens to this thread?  It is full of chillies, peppers, onions and garlics, and it tastes spicer than the curry mee I had this morning.  Let's start with something refreshing today.  Following the recent launch of CIMB/DA Visa Infinite, more banks are expected to join the fray. I received a call from a cc agent of SCB on Friday asking me to apply for SCB Visa Infinite. I understand that SCB is the pioneer in Visa Infinite in M'sia, and the its benefits are simply marvelous. After thinking twice, I declined to apply for it. It's because I prefer the 2%-5% rebate offered by my existing SCB Just1 Titanium, and I haven't fully utilised the max rebate @RM600 per annum. Has any existing Just1 cardholers received such call from SCB? I reckon banks are working hard to woo customers now. Earnings have shrunk but NPLs are on the rise.
Lineage
Jul 6 2009, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 5 2009, 08:31 AM) SCB JustOne or DA MC do give rebates for all petrol stations up to 5% or certain days. If you really want rebate for petrol, pump at Esso where every 1000 smiles point (RM1 = 1 smiles point) you get RM15 petrol or 1.5% rebate on top of whatever CC you use. Not many Esso near my area..i think not even 1.. any other recommendation?
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 10:31 AM
Fanaddict!
@Lineage, What about Mobil? Esso/Mobil same company one
Lineage
Jul 6 2009, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 6 2009, 10:31 AM) @Lineage, What about Mobil? Esso/Mobil same company one  no also..now I'm looking at UOB one card and petronas maybankard.. it is good to take?
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 10:40 AM
Fanaddict!
@Lineage, Er... U haf to ask urself what it is that you're after. I don't like carrying too many CCs and don't normally go with these 'short term' promos hence am not too familiar with it - perhaps U could wait for some of the other veterans to guide you  As for me, my aim is to collect as much points as I can *smiles* hence I've shifted to Amex.
Walbur
Jul 6 2009, 10:41 AM

"woah 30K CL, i'm just holding 11K CL Gold Card, that make me jealous."
i hope this is an answer everyone would like to heard that.
FD2r
Jul 6 2009, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 6 2009, 10:23 AM) Not many Esso near my area..i think not even 1.. any other recommendation?  How about petronas.. they do hav 5% rebate on it. and some1 from here mention, this applicable to Shell too, but u need to pay at the counter instead of the paying at the pump... some1 care to clarify or tried..?! thanks..
fylon
Jul 6 2009, 10:42 AM
Hi guys, just another quick question from me.  Anyways, guys is it by place a minimum amout of FD (eg. 5k) on bank and one can be eligible for applying credit card? Asking this question is be cause of one my fren (which is only having RM900/month salary but she place RM5k FD in MBB and the bank offer her Petronas CC. It just happened like month ago.
Lineage
Jul 6 2009, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 6 2009, 10:40 AM) @Lineage, Er... U haf to ask urself what it is that you're after. I don't like carrying too many CCs and don't normally go with these 'short term' promos hence am not too familiar with it - perhaps U could wait for some of the other veterans to guide you  As for me, my aim is to collect as much points as I can *smiles* hence I've shifted to Amex. I just want to rebate from my petrol only..because I'm not using CC often.. What Amex give you? QUOTE(FD2r @ Jul 6 2009, 10:41 AM) How about petronas.. they do hav 5% rebate on it. and some1 from here mention, this applicable to Shell too, but u need to pay at the counter instead of the paying at the pump... some1 care to clarify or tried..?! thanks.. petronas and shell is the best for me..my area got a lot of petronas and shell.. btw, what card is that? 5%? that is a lot compare to other CCs..
Walbur
Jul 6 2009, 10:47 AM

@Fylon, even if you have an saving account in Maybank more than 1 years, they will offer you either Petronas CC or Sony CC for free.
i just receive call from past few month, but i rejected their offer, since i do not need so many cc
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 10:50 AM
Fanaddict!
@fylon, Yes that could be possible but I'm not sure if it'll come FOC or not.
@Lineage, Amex gives 2x points + for now there's a 8x points promo if U use the card for petrol. I have this thing about not using too many CCs cause that'll dilute my reward points. However, because Amex is still not too widely used, my Citibank CC becomes my secondary CC.
@Walbur, Weird.. I've never ever received such calls from MBB but mine is a Premier 1 Account !
This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 6 2009, 10:53 AM
SUSzazaza2009
Jul 6 2009, 11:00 AM

I just called up the HLB card center on behalf of my friend asking to get a PLATINUM application details. The guy from the HLB card center is Mr.Au Yong and he said that if anyone has a credit limit over 18k of any card from other banks can be considered to have HLB Platinum, but the decision is from the bank's management. Also he said that a minimum annual income of rm180k is an added advantage to support the application. Website says rm70k annual income at least.
Hope this will help anyone who is looking forward to own HLB PLAT. The number to call to get info is 1800-3-888888, then press 1 and then press 1 again.
This post has been edited by zazaza2009: Jul 6 2009, 11:35 AM
Lineage
Jul 6 2009, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 6 2009, 10:50 AM) @Lineage, Amex gives 2x points + for now there's a 8x points promo if U use the card for petrol. I have this thing about not using too many CCs cause that'll dilute my reward points. However, because Amex is still not too widely used, my Citibank CC becomes my secondary CC. what Amex card you using? i don't understand what is the difference between Maybank Amex and Amex..
fylon
Jul 6 2009, 11:03 AM
@Walbur & tinkerbel Thanks for the feedback pal. In need i been to MBB last week, the staff told me that the bank had RISED again their annual income limit. For now on, they need RM30k. Because they dont issue classic card anymore.  So i was think, if im going to apply MBB petronas CC, i might thinking of drop some of my saving to FD.
lwb
Jul 6 2009, 11:24 AM
tinkerbel,
wahh a piece of gadget can keep you deeply engrossed and occupied? that's wicked.. can be interesting to do some sort of an endurance test, see how long that gs last..
i guess, you and i.. we live on such different planes.. i would not considered those places that you would.. it's a different value that we've been brought up, i think..
all,
back to credit card.. patricktoh does have a point regarding the convergence of cards as a product.. if you look at it holistically, it's basically a number game, market share, etc.. cost-wise, the banks are covertly trying to reduce them and it's these cost that differentiate the different categories of cards..
but not all cards have equal numbers to a bank portfolio, and thus leveraging with a certain merchant, it's difficult(and perhaps, too costly) to sticking it to a sub-segment..
but something in me says that.. differentiation will always be there, in it's root, it's a marketing strategy.. (you can't "see" credit limits, you can't "see" benefits in its intangible forms.. so somehow it has to be manifested physically.)
unless, if customization of cards (with fees attached, of course) makes a successful stay here.. i quite doubt its effectiveness as matured markets like the united states, it didn't really become mainstream..
so, the cheapest and safest way is to retain the generic looking ones.. and perhaps get some dumdig"z" excited along the way. *lol*
This post has been edited by lwb: Jul 6 2009, 11:27 AM
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 11:35 AM
Fanaddict!
@LineAge, Er.. I use the Amex Platinum Credit Card, issued by MBB. The difference is I don't get TreatPoints but MR points  @fylon, In that case, U just need to haf the RM30k or if U haf no problems getting a CC by putting in an application then go ahead and put one in. I'm not too interested in getting anymore CCs for now  @lwb, Actually, I was just engrossed on the launch of the 3G [s] and well, making the arrangements to get a unit for meself and a couple of friends  However I seemed to have lost all excitement by the time the unit arrived *smiles* but all is good  Battery life on the G[s] is apparently better but that also depends on how I use it. I'm fully maximising my push notifications hence that's quite batt consuming. Nevertheless, let's go ahead and give it a stress test, no problemos !  Ah well.. opposite attracts, or so they say?! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 6 2009, 11:41 AM
fylon
Jul 6 2009, 11:38 AM
@tinkerbel Haha! Well, i dun have that much of annual income thou. Needed one as for when the time internet banking and cash were not in ur hand, CC is the only survival that u can relay on.
winner
Jul 6 2009, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 6 2009, 10:50 AM) @fylon, Yes that could be possible but I'm not sure if it'll come FOC or not. He referred to MBB Petronas cc and thus, it is FOC.
tinkerbel
Jul 6 2009, 11:47 AM
Fanaddict!
@fylon, There are others so just check if U can qualify for another banks' card  @winner, hEHehhe.. oKies dokies.. FOC it is then This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 6 2009, 11:52 AM