Micro Four Third (m43) User Thread V1, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx
Jul 14 2009, 08:39 PM
10,783 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i'm wondering if olympus overpriced their camera since it's first and only kind of camera of its size in the market as for now.. if competitors came out with similar cam, then i believe price will dropped drastically.. so waiting waiting waiting for end of year, early next year
Jul 14 2009, 09:47 PM
3,196 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
sry no news on the canon or nikon on coming with PEN or slr size sensor camera in a compact body..better luck in year 2011
This post has been edited by hellfire8888: Jul 14 2009, 09:48 PM |
Jul 14 2009, 10:12 PM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Jul 14 2009, 10:12 PM
7,214 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kamino |
this little thing has caught my interest since its intro...
but only now i noticed...it reminds me of my ex-M8! this is not a good sign! i can use back my fav lense...Summilux-M 50! but but but... can anyone help me regarding the focusing? is there a way to do manual focus on this little baby? i'd do anything to have M8 performance...on a cheaper body! |
Jul 14 2009, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 14 2009, 10:12 PM) this little thing has caught my interest since its intro... Some one did use it:but only now i noticed...it reminds me of my ex-M8! this is not a good sign! i can use back my fav lense...Summilux-M 50! but but but... can anyone help me regarding the focusing? is there a way to do manual focus on this little baby? i'd do anything to have M8 performance...on a cheaper body! http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/sho...?threadid=76608 ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by gogo2: Jul 14 2009, 10:17 PM |
Jul 14 2009, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(navilink @ Jul 14 2009, 08:39 PM) i'm wondering if olympus overpriced their camera since it's first and only kind of camera of its size in the market as for now.. if competitors came out with similar cam, then i believe price will dropped drastically.. so waiting waiting waiting for end of year, early next year it's not overpriced....it's priced to rival the potential contender...G1....another micro 4/3 adopter... pricing may change in the future to reflect the current situation of micro 4/3 cams at that time... *dreaming on* a micro 4/3 Leica M! *dreaming off* Added on July 14, 2009, 10:22 pm QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 14 2009, 10:15 PM) gogo....thx for the pics... but i m not asking for pics... i can get that from Mr. String but i'd like to know how does the E-P1 handles manual focus... This post has been edited by xandman: Jul 14 2009, 10:22 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 01:13 PM
manual focus not sure..but here is the list of cons for PEN
http://lucifer-doom.blogspot.com/2009/07/o...-and-lousy.html |
Jul 15 2009, 01:41 PM
601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: I can hear Planes taking off... |
QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 14 2009, 10:19 PM) it's not overpriced.... You should read dpreview for the leica lenses infoit's priced to rival the potential contender...G1....another micro 4/3 adopter... pricing may change in the future to reflect the current situation of micro 4/3 cams at that time... *dreaming on* a micro 4/3 Leica M! *dreaming off* Added on July 14, 2009, 10:22 pm gogo.... thx for the pics... but i m not asking for pics... i can get that from Mr. String but i'd like to know how does the E-P1 handles manual focus... http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1041 Because i have read people using zeiss, leica, volt, nikon AND canon lenses on the E-P1. Manual focus apaprently is a dream on the e-p1 |
Jul 15 2009, 01:47 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 15 2009, 01:13 PM) manual focus not sure..but here is the list of cons for PEN Thanks. I can finally say I've found the lowest denominator in the human evolution cycle. Simply put, he's an idiot.http://lucifer-doom.blogspot.com/2009/07/o...-and-lousy.html |
Jul 15 2009, 01:58 PM
4,925 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No review this time around string?
This post has been edited by gnome: Jul 15 2009, 01:59 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 15 2009, 01:47 PM) Thanks. I can finally say I've found the lowest denominator in the human evolution cycle. Simply put, he's an idiot. Hey string - some question.Where did you get your camera from? how many shots are you getting so far with one battery? How long the battery needs to recharge? |
Jul 15 2009, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 15 2009, 02:47 PM) Thanks. I can finally say I've found the lowest denominator in the human evolution cycle. Simply put, he's an idiot. would you please clarify your statement? most noob here would not know the real con of this PEN and i just share those info..so what the matter with that? unless u are not smart enuff to diff between fact n fiction between those line from my blog. |
Jul 15 2009, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 15 2009, 01:47 PM) Thanks. I can finally say I've found the lowest denominator in the human evolution cycle. Simply put, he's an idiot. I think he is just joking. He really wants to buy E-P1. But other side of him tell him not. So he try to findreason not to buy E-P1. QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 15 2009, 02:07 PM) would you please clarify your statement? most noob here would not know the real con of this PEN and i just share those info..so what the matter with that? unless u are not smart enuff to diff between fact n fiction between those line from my blog. I think he thought the blog is someone else. If he know its ur blog, I'm sure he won't comment is that way...Cool guys.... E-P1 is just a camera... Added on July 15, 2009, 2:21 pm QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 15 2009, 01:41 PM) You should read dpreview for the leica lenses info dream means what? Its good or bad? Hehe.. I can read it as "dream on la if you want to manual focus with E-P1".http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1041 Because i have read people using zeiss, leica, volt, nikon AND canon lenses on the E-P1. Manual focus apaprently is a dream on the e-p1 But for so many thread I read, Manual Focus is one of the best out there for E-P1. This post has been edited by gogo2: Jul 15 2009, 02:21 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 02:22 PM
ok chill ...anyway ordered mine not yet got stock..plan to use it with leica 25 f1.4 muhahaha
hopefully those con will be fix in EP2 |
Jul 15 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(gnome @ Jul 15 2009, 01:58 PM) Nope. The trolls here will tear my post apart if I do that. I'm happy with my Zen at the moment.QUOTE(seaotter @ Jul 15 2009, 02:04 PM) Hey string - some question. YL Photo. Around 300 shots.I left it charging overnight. There is some residual charge, but the amber light turned blue at less than 2 hours. I left it charging nonetheless. May be buying spare BLS-1 battery for those overzealous moments.Where did you get your camera from? how many shots are you getting so far with one battery? How long the battery needs to recharge? QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jul 15 2009, 02:07 PM) would you please clarify your statement? most noob here would not know the real con of this PEN and i just share those info..so what the matter with that? unless u are not smart enuff to diff between fact n fiction between those line from my blog. Your supposed "con" are contrived and trivial to me. To keep the E-P1 within its form factors, some of the things you posted there, needs to be sacrificed. But not to a point where it encroaches and impacts the usage and performance of the camera itself. Your post at that blog sounds more like excuses you are making for not wanting to buy the camera.Anyway, THIS is the reason why I'd rather keep things mum, than anything else. I left my BLS-1 battery pack to charge my posting power back at home, so I don't have the energy or interest to deal with things like this. |
Jul 15 2009, 02:39 PM
well i did not mention tat the con will impact the overall performance and usability of the camera....
Jul 15 2009, 02:51 PM
Then you shouldn't have tagged the title of that blog article as "Bad and Lousy" unless you are fishing for angry responses. I usually dont response to these "baits" but it was posted here, and it was my mistake to even click the link and continue reading it.
If it is meant as your own personal "deterrent" to not get poisoned into getting the E-P1, then I totally get what you mean, but it should be labelled appropriately on the title. But if it is meant as a "bait" to fish angry responses, well...I rest my case. This will be my last response to this, I dont want to drag this further. The thread is about the E-P1, not about trivial arguments between two strangers. |
Jul 15 2009, 03:10 PM
3,589 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Bolehland |
Cool guys, i think hellfire just being sarcastic in his blog.
It is ok to state pros and cons as long as it is fact. Let me analyze hellfire cons based on my own opinion and usage 1. No Auto focus assist light... -> this is really a pain of a$$ for me and the biggest doubt to my purchase 2. No build in flash.. -> it is important whn go clubing or yumcha, but if go out for travel, it doesn't matter as i'll use FL36 anyway. if street shoot, i won't use flash. Understandable due to the size reduction of EP1 3. No viewfinder.. -> I can live with it. If i want it, the only reason is to reduce power consumption from LCD 4. No remote wireless commander.. -> not an issue for me, i dun shoot wireless 5. Not much m4/3 lens available.. -> not an issue for me, no $ to buy anyway 6. No matching pouch at the moment.. -> dun like use pouch, love to let it naked 7. Not cheap -> True, i think fair value should be 2200-2300, if too cheap will eventually kill their own entry E-series DSLR 8. Resolution of LCD not the highest in industry.. -> higher is good, but sometimes higher made the picture in LCD looks much nicer than on PC, i admit that I fooled by nice LCD from the DSLR i have previously 9. No build in GPS.. -> not even in my mind at all 10. No buildin wireless card... -> not even in my mind at all |
Jul 15 2009, 03:14 PM
the more i stay here...
the more i want this PEN. argh! O Stringy One (Stringfellow). Poison me with your pics. |
Jul 15 2009, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 15 2009, 03:14 PM) the more i stay here... Heh.the more i want this PEN. argh! O Stringy One (Stringfellow). Poison me with your pics. Thank god you didnt go to the olympus user group meetup then. I was already poisoned since last year when olympus showed the mockup. Then the leaks started to get out a couple of months ago. By then i was already almost committed. Then Olympus did the E-P1 meetup. Habis. Now just waiting for my money to come in to get the camera. Also stringfellow: do you hang your camera around your neck or you have a small bag for the whole kit? |
| Change to: | 0.0316sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:51 AM |