post Jul 28 2009, 04:40 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(Iambored @ Jul 27 2009, 06:58 PM)
i feel proud of you
Thanks, the support is surprisingly meaningful to me

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 28 2009, 01:27 PM)
Way to go farkinid smile.gif

Now that you got your mind SET, it's a matter of your phychology strength to keep it up.

Can I ask you a question : Do you still have friends who you think WILL invite you to smoke again? (eg. hey farkin, wanna go for a smoke?).

Oh, and do you still hang out with smokers?

Now would be the best time to sit down and ponder... What's so good about smoking? Think of the thick disgusting smoke that's not only smelly but causes tar buildups inside you.. not good rite? So what's the point of smoking? Better quit.

stay close to people who want you to stop smoking! That is your best friend for now!

I have stopped smoking for 9 days. Let's keep it up!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Yeah, i still hang with smokers but these are my best friends whom I've known for years. Oh btw, can you tell me how you avoid that feeling of wanting to inhale smoke? Thats the biggest craving I have now.

Today being the 3rd day is still difficult but I think its working.... i hope....

This post has been edited by farkinid: Jul 28 2009, 04:53 PM
neato4u
post Jul 28 2009, 04:56 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

keep it up. i think the main challenge is when your friend offer you a smoke or wants u to smoke with them. for me nowdays i just say no, and it's rather an impolite NO. why? because i tried doing that politely before but they just didnt take that seriously enough and i ended up smoking again. For me i just showed them that I am serious and it is not rude to be impolite as you are refusing something which is not good.

let's keep it up! gambate! laugh.gif
neato4u
post Jul 28 2009, 05:04 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Oh btw, can you tell me how you avoid that feeling of wanting to inhale smoke? Thats the biggest craving I have now.

sorry didnt realize your post. i had that too last time. What i will do is drink when i think about the feeling to inhale smoke. If I'm outside i will immediately buy a bottle of soya bean or something refreshing.

I know its hard for u to immediately stop after being a hardcore smoker for so long. for me i did it gradually and when i want to smoke, i'll buy the baddest taste cigi i could find (used to go with benson, every time i smoke i will feel like vomiting).

but yes of course? if you want to immediately stop, you should not do that and think of another alternatives. maybe the others can help perhaps?
kelvinftg
post Jul 28 2009, 05:06 PM

268 posts

Hi everyone, my last cigarette was in November 2008.

To be honest, its all in your mind. I got mind f**ked by reading Star health spread on Sundays every week. Continuosly reading about the good health you can have if you are a non-smoker, compared to the bad effects of smoking. Nonsense excuses like 'non-smokers also die from second-hand smoke' or 'we die anyway' or 'anyone can get cancer' are just nothing but EXCUSES.

I started smoking when I was 18 til last year, which is 7 years+. It was a one day 'effort' because the night before I quit, I had a yam cha session and I chained smoked close to a pack in that 2 hour yam cha session. The feeling I got after when I was driving home was seriously sickening. Which, in result got me to thinking what the hell am I doing to myself.

The ultimate question for myself was, 'What have I benefited from smoking and what have I gained?'

I smoked my last stick in that Starbucks and never looked back. What followed in the months. Yes, MONTHS, was withdrawal symptoms which included cough, flu, headaches, mucus and phlegm which was thick and green. Easily the worst 3 months in my life.

Now I can say I'm proud of myself. I can also say I will definitely NOT take up smoking again. Simply because I don't want to go through that 3 months of suffering ever again!

Majority of my friends smoke, but friends who smoke is not an excuse that you can't quit. You can quit if you want to quit. Wanting to quit is definitely better than needing to quit.

neato4u
post Jul 29 2009, 09:11 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Good story Kelvin.

You know what. I used to stop smoking once. And it lasted me for 5 years.

Then I started smoking back again because of stress (this year). And now on my 10th day run to quit for good.

When i started back, the first week, i was feeling dizzy and sick, and few months after that my whole body seemed fatigue and short breath. Tired and all sort of bad stuffs. That's what happen when you stop and try to start back up again.

And cigi does not taste good. So i thought to myself what the heck am i doin starting off again with this shit?

You just need to brainwash yourself to not smoke. And you DO know and ADMIT (deep inside your heart) that it is BAD sweat.gif

i just wasted my whole 5 years due to my stupid act.
andrew9292
post Jul 30 2009, 12:27 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

U guys inspire me so much to quit...i shall try my best! Still trying hard to cut it down from about 6 sticks to 0...... some days can, but when got stressful matters......all gone =\
nokai
post Jul 30 2009, 12:29 AM

try looking some patch at the pharmacy. it helps me a lot
FamousLastWords
post Jul 30 2009, 01:31 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 29 2009, 09:11 AM)

i just wasted my whole 5 years due to my stupid act.
..and also 5 years $$$ spent on dumb ciggies! ohmy.gif
Hashmi5
post Jul 30 2009, 05:20 AM

59 posts

Hey! have you seen beautiful pictures on cigarette pack these days, before lighting one up, have a close look at pic for 5 mins then close ur eyes & say, " I don't want to be like this, I don wanna... , Oh NO! plz plz plz I never ever wanna be..." here you go, Solved!
neato4u
post Jul 30 2009, 03:46 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 30 2009, 12:27 AM)
U guys inspire me so much to quit...i shall try my best! Still trying hard to cut it down from about 6 sticks to 0...... some days can, but when got stressful matters......all gone =\
Take something else instead. For me i drink something that's refreshing - soya bean is one of my fav laugh.gif also when you're stressed, dun get close to smoker. Else they see you and say, hey.. what's wrong? eh come on, let's have a smoke and chat.. then habis lor... sweat.gif

QUOTE(nokai @ Jul 30 2009, 12:29 AM)
try looking some patch at the pharmacy. it helps me a lot
Trust me, it doesn't help. All is in your mind. Save that money and get a focus on your health. All you need is self motivation to quit.

QUOTE(FamousLastWords @ Jul 30 2009, 01:31 AM)
..and also 5 years $$$ spent on dumb ciggies!  ohmy.gif
Yes sad.gif I was a heavy smoker back then. Always have 2 packs of cigi on me all the time. Just imagine if a day spent RM10, month is rm300, year is rm3600, 5 years is RM18,000!!! Gila can buy a 2nd hand car like that sweat.gif ahh rugi rugi~

QUOTE(Hashmi5 @ Jul 30 2009, 05:20 AM)
Hey! have you seen beautiful pictures on cigarette pack these days, before lighting one up, have a close look at pic for 5 mins then close ur eyes & say, " I don't want to be like this, I don wanna... , Oh NO! plz plz plz I never ever wanna be..." here you go, Solved!
Doesn't work. The guys at hot.fm got some callers to call, most of them says they just ignored it. Chinaman making big profit now because selling those aluminium cigi holder (they even hike the price up due to the grossy pictures!)

Anyway, all those who wants to stop smoking should visit this thread often and report or share their story for motivations.

Me on day 11.

This post has been edited by neato4u: Jul 30 2009, 03:46 PM
andrew9292
post Jul 31 2009, 12:11 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

okay smoked 0 ciggs for the last 24 hours...i feel like dying now, like my body is super super low on blood sugar levels...shaky.....
UnknownH
post Jul 31 2009, 01:50 AM

1,437 posts

wow..hypoglycemia??
try eat sweets/chocolate..
chingwooi
post Jul 31 2009, 03:19 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

Lol not hypo la, just side effect that ppl will face normally when quitting smoking.

Added on July 31, 2009, 3:20 am
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 30 2009, 03:46 PM)
Take something else instead. For me i drink something that's refreshing - soya bean is one of my fav laugh.gif also when you're stressed, dun get close to smoker. Else they see you and say, hey.. what's wrong? eh come on, let's have a smoke and chat.. then habis lor... sweat.gif
Trust me, it doesn't help. All is in your mind. Save that money and get a focus on your health. All you need is self motivation to quit.
Yes sad.gif I was a heavy smoker back then. Always have 2 packs of cigi on me all the time. Just imagine if a day spent RM10, month is rm300, year is rm3600, 5 years is RM18,000!!! Gila can buy a 2nd hand car like that sweat.gif ahh rugi rugi~
Doesn't work. The guys at hot.fm got some callers to call, most of them says they just ignored it. Chinaman making big profit now because selling those aluminium cigi holder (they even hike the price up due to the grossy pictures!)

Anyway, all those who wants to stop smoking should visit this thread often and report or share their story for motivations.

Me on day 11.
Yup, you're burning ur money while ciga companies are happie counting ur money xD

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Jul 31 2009, 03:20 AM
triple02
post Jul 31 2009, 10:10 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

So many inspiring stories, good to see people are taking serious steps in curbing the addiction to cigarettes rclxms.gif

I was one time a smoker too, used to smoke the Dunhill small pack of 14s a box per day, it came to such a chronic stage that i was barely able to breath when i was climbing the flight of stair leading up to my apartments which was on the 2nd floor! had a alot to reflect that day on why im smoking, took on the challenge went cold turkey, yeap just bought a box of 14's smoked all out and went cold,

Pretty bad withdrawal symptoms, running nose, flu, cough, and i realised i got more hungrier after i quit smoking? i guess its true that smoking does supress hunger, ate alot of food and ice-cream before i knew it, i was at 90kgs! when previously i was 78! and that was like 4 years back, still hang out with friends who smoke but never even thought once of picking up a stick to smoke.
neato4u
post Jul 31 2009, 03:23 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jul 31 2009, 12:11 AM)
okay smoked 0 ciggs for the last 24 hours...i feel like dying now, like my body is super super low on blood sugar levels...shaky.....
Relax bro, it's all in your mind only. It's only that urge to start smoking again. Go hang out with someone that doesn't smoke, do something to keep you out of it - yes you can do it! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jul 31 2009, 03:19 AM)
Yup, you're burning ur money while ciga companies are happie counting ur money xD
Sob sob... sometimes i think they're like drug dealers. I dun think the big bosses smoke, but they sell smoke to others and see them die sweat.gif

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jul 31 2009, 10:10 AM)
So many inspiring stories, good to see people are taking serious steps in curbing the addiction to cigarettes  rclxms.gif

I was one time a smoker too, used to smoke the Dunhill small pack of 14s a box per day, it came to such a chronic stage that i was barely able to breath when i was climbing the flight of stair leading up to my apartments which was on the 2nd floor! had a alot to reflect that day on why im smoking, took on the challenge went cold turkey, yeap just bought a box of 14's smoked all out and went cold,

Pretty bad withdrawal symptoms, running nose, flu, cough, and i realised i got more hungrier after i quit smoking? i guess its true that smoking does supress hunger, ate alot of food and ice-cream before i knew it, i was at 90kgs! when previously i was 78! and that was like 4 years back, still hang out with friends who smoke but never even thought once of picking up a stick to smoke.
Hey Triple02, good to have you here too. How long had you stopped smoking?

Oh my withdrawal symptoms this time.. when i want to sleep.. i can feel like i'm not breathing.. was like scared shit man.. sometimes i wonder if my heart still strong as before or not, and i'm not even 30 yet! So guys - this smoking business needs to stop. Although if you smoke you will somehow feel awake (then dizzy a bit if you're not used) and you will think somewhat it will regenerate yourself, it's actually vice versa. there's nothing good - unless you want to do the filthy business of selling it.

Please motivate me more, and the others.. i can see the light on this thread thumbup.gif

My 12 days without smoke... flex.gif

UnknownH
post Jul 31 2009, 04:50 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jul 31 2009, 03:19 AM)
Lol not hypo la, just side effect that ppl will face normally when quitting smoking.
im sorry..
haha
too excited..

btw smokers please be strong..
say tak nak..
tongue.gif
TSjunxian898
post Aug 3 2009, 02:36 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Hashmi5 @ Jul 30 2009, 05:20 AM)
hahah. bro i used to b afraid of those pics in the beginnin. i bought dunhill fr the plastic cover u rmber? its like a transparency cover wit some shade to cover the spot where the pic lies. n bought dunhill lights coz the offer the steel case. hahaha. dat time i was reli reli scare. now i dun even care abt it anymor. alr used to it. zz. i like the baby pics. cz they doesn affect me. XD

nyeh. i stil cant quit. but i alr fix my date. my bday. comes in less than 2 weeks time. yea. i thnk this time sure succeed.

ppl, lets jz do this tgther. one day, jz post our 'successful' story here. cheers n gd luck to evry1 who thinks of quiting.
neato4u
post Aug 4 2009, 12:57 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

16 days of peace without smoke for me laugh.gif

earlier got sudden urge to inhale smoke. but think to myself say what's the use, smoke disgusting, smelly, girl dun like 2 kiss u.. then ok again laugh.gif
tamasan
post Aug 5 2009, 02:22 PM

eat candy....candy....candy....yoohooO~

neato4u
post Aug 7 2009, 08:50 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

19 days of free smoke for myself smile.gif

tamasan, it's not only candy. It can be anything, as long as not that disgusting ciggies.

My fav is refreshing drink, some might want to try chocolates, ice cream, or just whatever that is better than cigi laugh.gif

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:34 PM